Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pension am Schloss

Goethestr. 67, 19053 Schwerin, Germany

#7 of 10 B&Bs and Inns in Schwerin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1107 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    The magical city and the chateau within easy reach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment Type III (Max. 6 People)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our accommodation was not directly in the pension but about 100m in the neighboring street (Heinrich Man Strasse). On the ground floor is a bar for smokers. Probably has ventilation connected with the apartment. Sometimes I smelled cigarette smoke.

    The apartment is very well equipped. Quiet place. Helpful staff. Very good and quite rich breakfast was in the pension. The center is just a stone's throw away. Possibility of leaving the car even after check-out on the parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location - very close to the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet was OK, but sometimes little bit slow or did not work.

    Great location - very close to the city centre. Very nice room, nicely equipped, we felt like at home. Everything was clean and the staff was very nice and professional.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.3
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very simple, not inviting, though there are no complaints about cleanliness. No elevator.

    Locaion was very good good neighbouring free parking Staff is friendly Breakfast was tasty

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Nice place located close to the Schwerin Castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment Type II (Max. 6 People)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absence of elevator, a minor inconvenience.

    This is a small hotel located close to the city center and the Schwerin Castle (5 min). We spent only one night there, but the room was big, clean and had a fully equipped kitchen. From our room we could see part of the castle. The breakfast was good, staff were nice and helpful. Recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    4.2
    Basic overnight stay, not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment Type III (Max. 6 People)
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a basic, basic overnight stay. Room did not have the number of beds booked made-up, one kid had to sleep on the sofabed and we were asked to put that together ourselves. Moreover the rooms were not in the advertised address but around the corner in a shabby house, right overhead a "smokers" lounge. The tiny bathroom smelled bad and had lots of mold in the corners, the shower was not working ... overall not recommended. Pretty noisy from the tram...

    Breakfast was good, double bed in the room was comfortable. The equipment in the kitchen and living room was relatively new and clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    Good for the price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedspread was weird, and there was no elevator. Also, only the lady who worked in the morning spoke any English - the one who works evenings does not. And just fyi, they close the lobby at 8pm - I had a train to catch at about midnight, and there is literally nothing in Schwerin that stays open past 10pm (which is when Subway closes).

    The shower probably had some of the best water pressure I've ever experienced. They also let me check in early, and I was able to store my luggage there till 8pm after I checked out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    5.4
    Rude staff, but mostly clean accommodation.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We checked in very late (which we had advised on our booking ahead of time), and never received the wifi code. When we called later, the reception was closed and so it was impossible to connect to the wifi. Also, our shower was not working properly. When we checked out and informed the staff about this, and requested a discount, the staff member was incredibly rude, said that they were well aware of the shower not working properly (yet had rented out the room anyhow, at the normal rate), and said that it was our own fault for not asking for the wifi code first upon arrival. She begrudgingly gave a 5 euro discount.

    It was at best adequate.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.3
    Basic, but good, would have liked the wifi password
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Type II
    • Stayed 1 night

    No information about wifi, other than it would be "available in public areas". There was a network with the hotel name in the room (strong signal) and a range extender on the same floor, just no information about a password anywhere. Room was on the top floor, which is awkward if you have a lot of packing or have difficulties with stairs (no lift). We were unsure if we had parked in the correct place and the staff at check-in didn't speak English, nor did the staff at the nearby "lounge bar" (where you do out of hours check-in), but it seemed using one of the numbered bays was the correct thing to do.

    Room was basic, but spacious. The view outside the window was of a wall, but on the other hand the location was close to the city centre as well as the castle, so can't complain. Bed reasonably comfortable, even though mattresses felt like they wanted to slide off the bed at times (they didn't). Entrance/exit to the stairwell leading to the rooms was outside.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable apartment
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property where you collect your key and check in is on a different street to where you stay so you need to bear this in mind especially if you struggle with directions in German.

    Very comfortable apartment with excellent sleeping and cooking facilities. There is a TV in each bedroom. Everything is very clean. Trams, buses and Schwerin Mitte bahnhof are only a short walk away and shops are nearby.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.9
    Large modern apartment with everything we needed - all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment Type II (Max. 6 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some new equipment didn't work well. The drain on the shower was very slow so we nearly flooded the place and the plug in the sink got stuck so the sink couldn't be emptied. Small issue - Not enough working lghts in the main room so very dark for reading in the evening.

    Large modern apartment with everything we needed - all looking new and in good condition. Location was perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    Great value for money, good location and very clean with nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment Type III (Max. 6 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment we were in was above a smoking bar so there was a bit of a stale smoke smell sometimes and the sofa was a love seat so not the most comfortable for a family of four to relax together. I tried to email a couple times to arrange parking in advance and no one ever responded.

    The apartment was awesome, the car park was easy, but a five minute walk from the property.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    3.8
    ...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No heating.. Very cold room - September this year is super cold in Germany. Windows open fully, with 7 mosquitos in the room... AND THE TERRIBLE SMELL OF CIGARETTES!!! (thats why the windows open). I am a non smoker and this room was obviously for smokers.... I don't think a room I got is even on the pictures of the property, because there are also "apartments" :(. Forget even about the wifi speed...

    Parking for 6.50EUR and really nothing else to like...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.3
    Good location to city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment Type II (Max. 6 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No lift to the upper floors available.

    Very convienient location, breakfast OK, nice apartment. If you want to visit Schwerin Winzerfest, castle or city you have this within walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    6.7
    Excellent location, very close to castle and shopping...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment Type II (Max. 6 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no water-outlet in the bath room. There is always condensation water on the floor in the bath room

    Excellent location, very close to castle and shopping center Parking close to apartment

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    Very nice, cozy, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Practically no wi-fi in the room (honestly, it does say that there is free wi-fi in "public space", which is probably restaurant at the ground floor)

    Great location, with its own parking (though it was little muddy), cozy, spacious room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    6.3
    No smile, no English, no wifi in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in the room, I had to sit on the stairs. They are not replying on emails. The check in was very calm, no good impression.

    Location Big and comfortable room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    7.5
    Very spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment Type II (Max. 6 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walked up 3 flights of stairs. Hard to talk to owner who knew no English. Wifi kept dropping out.

    Very spacious. Good views. Very close to centre of town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    7.9
    Tea and coffee making facilities would have been good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Type II
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tea and coffee making facilities would have been good. USA, Canada, Australia, New Zealand etc all have this. Great for weary travellers to make a cup of tea or coffee.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    10
    We highly recommend this hotel to other guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I missed WIFI in the room. We had to go to the lobby to receive and send mail

    The room is very tidy, clean, spacious and quiet, with a luxurious bathroom. The service was excellent. We even got free coffee in the morning even though we did not take breakfast in the hotel. WIFI in the lobby was good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.1
    Not too bad.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Type II
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff doesnt know a word of english. Very hard to ask anything.

    Very big appartment. Close to castle, close to centrum.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Great place for relaxation, rest and walk!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in very good location. With great family amenities. Parking and breakfast were impressive. I highly recommend it to all travelers.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.5
    all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Type II
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    all

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Super place for visiting city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WIFI was broken

    Really good place to stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.9
    I 'll be back 😉
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment Type II (Max. 6 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far to visit again soon...

    Location, value for money (apartment type II), clean, fully equipped.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    It was really close to the beautiful Schloss.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was really close to the beautiful Schloss. And the city center was also not far from the pension.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    All was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment Type III (Max. 6 People)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, the previous guests smoked in the apartment.

    All was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.1
    I recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Apartment Type IV (Max. 4 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive!

    Castle just 5 minutes ☺

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would prefer to have breakfast included in the price.

    Location Cleanliness

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Big and modern appartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment Type II (Max. 6 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet does not work.

    Wonderful appartment. Really big, wonderful kitchen and everything clean. Perfect location to sightseeing Schwerin.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Close to Intercity and large clean
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment Type II (Max. 6 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to Intercity and large clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    Close to the city centre and the castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Type II
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the city centre and the castle

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.1
    Tram
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tram

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.4
    I thought it is expensive for what they offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment Type III (Max. 6 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a room on the top of a lounge bar that belongs to the pension. Stinks cigarette!

    Breakfast was really good!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.3
    The reception and restaurant is closed at 10 p.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Type II
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception and restaurant is closed at 10 p.m.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.6
    We got more comfort and value than we anticipated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ? Nothing negative

    Great breakfast. Comfortable, clean rooms and bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    Very good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    5.4
    Large apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment Type III (Max. 6 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In another building. Not so fresh. Looks different on the pictures.

    Large apartment. Close to old town and castle

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.9
    Cozy place in the nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't speak English in reception. Not enough parking places.

    Rooms were big and nice. Location is perfect. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.6
    Positive surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment Type II (Max. 6 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Huge appartment :-)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.2
    enjoyed it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Type II
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows

    Spacious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Type II
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was as expected and pleasant. The food excellent and everythin was very close to the property.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    9.6
    Good location, nice service
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room Type II
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, nice service

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    7.1
    Good Apprtmentmens in City Center
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment Type II (Max. 6 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good appartments

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    9.6
    very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    Wi-fi around the hotel, also in the rooms! Situation near the railway station (Schwerin-Mitte) and near the center. All good !

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    7.5
    Fine location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast in the bar room No private parking

    Good location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    10
    it was the best i have been in
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Type II
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was the best i have been in

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    10
    Great room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment Type II (Max. 6 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We Onøy stayed one night, but the family room was really nice and the beds comfy. The staffasje was also very helpfull and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    2.5
    Commiting Fraud with credit card details
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Type II
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel stole 300E from credit card with no communication. Accused us of stealing from the room. Booking.com accepted no responsibility

    Nice room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    7.5
    It is comfortable and handy to town and lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is very handy to to harbour and the Schloss Good parking

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    9.2
    Great place for a stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Apartment Type II (Max. 6 People)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the staff did not speak any English but was helpful anyway.

    Very good location. Very big apartment and well equipped.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    7.5
    Like comfort and kindness
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Grumpy landlady, overcharged I think

    Spacious and comfortable appt; superb view of the schloss

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    8.3
    Good breakfast, good location, spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff do not speak English, however they were friendly. WIFI was in the lobby only.

    Good breakfast, good location, spacious room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Apartment Type II (Max. 6 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment borders a small passage where people pass, which can be a bit noisy

    The apartment was spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    9.2
    Very clean, spacious apartment with comfortable beds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    If you are travelling with older people or with lots of luggage, ensure you secure a room on a lower floor as there is not elevator.

    Very clean, spacious apartment with comfortable beds!

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    9.2
    We booked a room for three people for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff was friendly, however, they only spoke German. The location is somewhat tricky to reach by car. Wifi was bad, we had no signal in our room. We had to go into the hallway outside of our room to get a signal. Our room was also not soundproofed, we had a room at the end of the hallway. Everything we said in our room (with a closed door) could be heard very clearly in any part of the hallway. I don't know if it was just our room. This didn't matter to us very much, because we spoke Czech, so we didn't worry about eavesdroppers. It could however be a concern for German or English speakers.

    We booked a room for three people for one night. Room was quiet, clean, and the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom looked very new. The location (on foot) is great, only 10 minutes from the Schwerin schloss. Breakfast was excellent, nice variety of foods.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    7.5
    Nearby castle, so location good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Nearby castle, so location good. Spacious room and bathroom. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    10
    Clean well apointed and spacious for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean well apointed and spacious for the price

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    9.6
    Spacious pleasant family apartment with a possibility of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Spacious pleasant family apartment with a possibility of cooking. Close to Schwerin attractions (the castle).

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    10
    Der Service und das Entgegenkommen, das wir später erst...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Der Service und das Entgegenkommen, das wir später erst auschecken brauchten. Wir hatten das den Fünf Seen Lauf teilgenommen. Vielen Dank nochmal!

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    7.5
    The bedroom was small, but very clean, with a newly...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The heater was not particularly strong.

    The bedroom was small, but very clean, with a newly renovated washroom.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    7.9
    Very close to town & the castle with a good sized room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very close to town & the castle with a good sized room & a comfortable bed, very good breakfast & helpful staff. Good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    7.5
    Good room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The rather dismal staircase.budget

    Good room. Decent wifi. Very good breakfast for 6.50 euros

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Browse Pension am Schloss traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: