Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of pentahotel Kassel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Bertha-von-Suttner Str. 15, Bad Wilhelmshoehe, 34131 Kassel, Germany

#34 of 54 hotels in Kassel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1631 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.9
    Goof place , if you need to be in kassel area
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff could ask where the car is parked. Infront of the hotel there is a big square which you could mistake as the hotels parking . It is a private parking lot however, poorly marked , and you do get fined

    Goof food , good breaffast , nice clean rooms, quick checkout possible , professional .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    4.6
    I will never book again in one of your Hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Plus Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    During the check in the receptionist blocked me 25 Euros from my bank account. She was not really friendly but I understood the money would have been unblocked directly after the check-out. During the check out nobody asked me my credit card. I am still waiting my money to be unblocked. THE CLEANING SERVICE ENTERED 2 TIMES IN OUR ROOM: THE FIRST TIME WITHOUT WAITING ANY REPLIES (WE WERE STILL INSIDE THE BED), THE SECOND TIME OPENING THE DOOR (WITHOUT KNOCKING) WHILE WE WERE GOING OUT FROM THE BATHROOM AFTER A SHOWER. A such great experience. And clean the windows.

    Nice hotel, close to the station, not to far from the beautiful Bergpark.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    4.6
    No wifi, no coffee, towels and everything in room not renewed. No consideration for requests. Defini
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I am very disappointed in our stay at the hotel for so many reasons. The wifi might be free but it is non existent. It is so slow that it can't be used and your phone will frequently switch back to mobile data. This comment includes the so called high speed option. Bring your own toiletries and everything for that matter. You're shampoos and soap don't get refreshed after the first night, nor your towels or water. We specifically asked for a quieter room at the end of the passage or similar. Needless to say this was ignored. They not only ignored us but placed us the right by the staircase and lifts with all the traffic. This room is right on top of the foyer and bar which is anything but quiet until midnight hours. The windows of the room faced the fire escape where kids where left to play all day everyday. Kids were running up and down the fire escape stairs (which make a lot of noise) while screaming and shouting. The coffee that you have to buy, because of course you don't get anything from the hotel, was awful. It was over extracted espresso with clumps of dry foam. Is a 4 star hotel not supposed to serve coffee? Reception is crazy slow and you have to fill out so much detail at the desk. Surely this would be easier to do online before? The receptionist kept insisting that I make a payment until I had to prove to him that it was already made. No wifi, no coffee, towels and everything in room not renewed. No consideration for requests. Definitely won't recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.9
    Pricey accommodation but close to some of the attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - During preauthorization of a credit card, additional 25€ "for extras" is blocked on your card. We were not informed about that beforehand. - The room was a bit too small considering the size of bed, which takes 2/3 of the space - Breakfast was quite expensive - Expensive parking so we parked somewhere else

    - Delicious breakfast with many options to choose from - Comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    The price of the rooms were excellent.
    • Solo traveller
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had to pay 3 euros at the check-in and as I asked the receptionist to communicate it in English I didn't really understood it. Since it was such a small fee, I didn't make a big deal out of it.

    The price of the rooms were excellent. The price of the food in the hotel itself was expensive. The fact that cleaning came around at 12 was good as well as I hate getting up early :-).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    3.8
    Very disappointed 😞
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was two single beds in our room next to eachother, one of them I think was missing a leg cose was moving badly so we had to sleep on one of them only. Before getting there I asked for a double quilt instead of two single, booking.com sent an email to confirm that I will get that and when I got there I was told that they don’t have any in their hotel. Breakfast was nice but overpriced. They tell you internet is free and it’s very week even the highspeed one which they charge €7.50 per day. At the check out try to charge again for the room after being charged at the check in the full amount plus deposit of €25 per day which on booking.com is not mentioned. I am still waiting for the deposit to be refunded to my account. Overall it was a bad experience, stuff not very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.2
    We like this Hotel ^^
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only small problem we had was the internet was very slow. And the Room was smaller than we thought.

    The staff were very friendly. Good location, right next to the train station. Free ticket for public transportation. The room was clean, the bed was large and comfortable. Free billiards :D

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Good value overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On-site parking was very expensive, so we parked off-site at a meter, which was ok for an overnight stay. We had to keep feeding the meter every 2 hrs, which would not have worked if we had stayed more than one night.

    The breakfast and the room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.8
    Nice place and was good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows were very soft. Parking was quite expensive but we were lucky to find a spot out on the street.

    The bed was large and comfy for two people. Room must have been renovated recently and was a cool retro theme.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    5.8
    Terrible shower Room 602. Otherwise pleasent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath/shower had a cheap fitting. It was stiff to operate and incorrectly plumbed. I needed all my strength to change to shower mode and then couldn't control the water temperature for a proper shower. There is a sign explaining basic shower control - like the management blames the customers for being unable to control the cheap and badly installed fitting. P.S both shower and wash basin are plumbed back to front (hot/cold mixed up) Room 602. Very poor service for an expensive room. Check out was too busy in the morning to report the problem. Breakfast is overcrowded and needs more spaces and settings...or a cutlery box where customers can collect their own rather than scavaging from partly occupied tables.

    Nice atmosphere in lobby, bar , restaurant. Comfortable bedroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    Great stay for a last minute booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a bit small. The restaurant menu was not very extensive but the breakfast was great. Can't think of any other issue that is worth mentioning. That is it. Really. Can i stop now???????????

    Located right next to the train station is convenient. Great interior design. Breakfast was super.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    Good medium price hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only issue was that there was no air conditioning. Not a problem in September, but in high summer?

    Everything was good and the staff were very helpful at breakfast in providing gluten free bread, The location was excellent for arrival by train and exploring Kassel using the tram system.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    5.0
    Good location but not much else going for it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location but not much else going for it. Had to change rooms as nasty smell emanating from bathroom. Bath water was orange. The 2 female front of desk staff were excellent. When we checked in in the evening another female member of staff who worked in the bar didn't explain things well as regards payment and required deposit. Overall I wouldn't use this hotel again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.5
    Convenient and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing for that price.

    Good location, 2 min walk from the main train station. Free tickets for public transportation during the entire stay. Easy to reach Documenta as well as the Schloss Park.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    5.4
    Ok, but could improve.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Plus Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking, front desk. Cost for value.

    More interested in being a bar/club then a hotel at night! Tough to get help at desk since they're all serving drinks and running a bar. Staff at front desk wasn't the friendliest at most times, even when not busy. And the parking issues were a drag. And expensive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.3
    Good for short stay especially during Documenta.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air-conditioning was a bit weak and it can be noisy in the morning because it is next to the train station. The window can block the sound but the room gets quite warm if it is closed.

    Good location, right next to the train and tram station. Good value for the money and the staff was friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.0
    We were upset by the gendered steoretypes - men like...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were upset by the gendered steoretypes - men like football and women like shopping. This was obviously ment as a joke. We didn't find it funny.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    5.8
    Convenient but pricey standard accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was small, excessively hot in the late afternoon and poorly ventilated. There was no minibar/refrigerator and no air conditioning. The two small, slow elevators/lifts are grossly inadequate, and there were always long waits at check-in and check-out times (mid morning and late afternoon). Male front-desk staff were at best indifferent. The female staff were far more efficient, far more helpful and friendlier besides.

    Given that the hotel is near the railway station, it is remarkably quiet, and it also benefits greatly from the trees, plants and grass in the immediate area. There is an underground parking garage, but the price (€17 per 24 hours) is awfully high for a hotel in Wilhelmshöhe . . .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    2.5
    Never again! - after our 4 night stay. We did not get initial cancellation after advance notice.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    But what i hated was their refund policy. After informing them way ahead of time of our inability to come on the date reserved, they still charged us. We told them we were booking again within the month. But no refund. So they got double the money. I will not recommend this hotel to anyone. They got double the money from us. We got ripped.

    proximity.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    3.8
    Not worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    (1) Staffs were not helpful at all. Very slow response, no smile, even not bother to speak. (2) Desk and chair in the room are very uncomfortable, way too small. (3) The bed is low quality (4) I specifically asked for a non-smoking room, but I got a smelly smoking room eventually. (5) No air-conditioner, too hot in the room.

    Close to the train station

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    6.3
    Good place for overnighting when touring
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one person on duty for the morning check-out. Very slow although the member of staff coped very pleasantly

    Comfortable place to stay in spite of the building's forbidding appearance

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.5
    Interesting hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception is part of the bar when you walk in which was/is fine but the receptionist could have been more friendly /more helpful. I think the room as over priced for what it was. Room was good, nothing special but clean and functional. Hotel is in a very quite area.

    Hotel is only a few km from Bergpark Wilhelmshöhe

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    6.7
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I felt the toilet smelled a bit. Wifi didn't work properly in our room.

    Friendly Staff. Good Bar/ Restaurant Next to lobby. Didn't try the food but had drinks there and it was nice. Room is average. Felt very hot during our stay. It's quite expensive for what you get.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.1
    expensive during events in Kassel, probably feels better value normaly.
    • Solo traveller
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was small for two. Hot drinks from the bar at extra cost. The lifts where very slow.

    It's quiet even though it was close to the railway station (room 411). It's quiet trendy and busy. Room was big enough/average.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    6.7
    I had a very unpleasant experience during the checkout, the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I had a very unpleasant experience during the checkout, the attendant was very impolite and not able to clearly explain the hotel policies, additionally he said that he had no time for me. A guest. The hotel has charged my entire stay on my personal credit card where it should be used only to guarantee the reservation on booking.com. It took 3 business days after that unpleasant checkout, where I paid my stay in cash, to get the charged amount reimbursed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    5.4
    Not worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one of the lifts worked and you had to wait for a few minutes. The room was extremely warm even with the windows open. I expected higher standards.

    The decor downstairs and the club sandwich.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    4.2
    Not worth the four stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Why this hotel has four stars beats me. Small stuffy rooms, no airconditioning (also no fans provided), no fridge, almost no cupboard space (and none of the space there was could be closed off with a door), no safety box. Good bed, but pillows that guarantee neck and shoulder problems (without the possibility of changing them). But above all: staff that clearly wants to be somewhere else. Maybe in Documenta times, when the town and hotel are super busy, they all long for the quiet in the four years between to editions of the festival. I've actually done the test: in the approx 20 times I walked in or out of the hotel I got a reply once (= 1 x) to my clear and loud "good morning, afternoon, or evening". Guests are a nuisance to front desk staff (only one exception to this fact). All in all: not worth your Euro unless some changes are made and the staff gets some training. Poor price/quality ratio

    When arriving or leaving from Willhemshöhe station - the location is excellent. Also very quiet. If your business is in the city center: not so good. The hotel provides you with a free public transport pass - but this fact is not exactly made very known to the guests. I learned by accident ... and did not have the feeling it was given to me with great enthusiasm (see the minus side). On the plus side as well however: excellent breakfast, good bed and as hotels go: well equipped gym.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    4.6
    no air condition. no sleep.
    • Solo traveller
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air condition! It was boling hot inside and no source of oxygen for the rooms, no ventilation at all! You also can't really open thew window since the hotel is right next to the train tracks. Didn't sleep the whole night and left at 6am with the first train out. Not again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    4.6
    It is more or less clean, and the breakfast was nice,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is rather far from the center and you have always take taxis or a tram... The staff is incredibly unprofessional. For example, when i asked the receptionist what he can do about the fact that the room is exceptionally hot and there is no air conditioning, he just moved his shoulders. Another time when asked about whether his colleague succeded reserving a restaurant for me he simply puffed and squeezed from himself that he doesnit know... The food in the restaurant in the evening is not good even acording to the already low food standards of Kassel...

    It is more or less clean, and the breakfast was nice, especially coffee, which is surprising.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    2.5
    Never Again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While booking it was written with air conditioner, but it was a lie! We were in 4th floor, by temperature of 23°C outside, inside was heated up and was IMPOSSIBLE to sleep at night even though the windows were completely open! The Internet worked on the first day very slow, hardly could open a website, the second day it didn't work at all! The bath tub was not clean, some hair on the corner. The towels WERE NOT changed on second day. So they took the wet towels and hanged them there again! I am not at all a picky person as you can read in my other reviews but this hotel was just terrible!

    Nothing to like in this hotel!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    6.7
    Close to the station but too hot.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was too hot and stuffy; I had to open the windows (a plus) and the door for 15 minutes after I checked in at night. Thankfully there was a cross draft, powered by a gentle breeze. When I did keep the windows open, I had huge moths fly in.

    Property quite close to the train station; convenient to get to. The lobby area was the Bar as well; quite a pleasing front face to the hotel. The rooms themselves weren't bad - though they were a bit on the smaller side, which is not unusual for Europe outside of the big cities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.9
    Convenient, modern and great value for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well, the bathroom would need a renovation soon.

    The location is great, just around the corner behind the railway station, the bar/reception area neat and staff always nice, polite and helpful. The room was rather on the small side, but I enjoyed the view on Wilhelmshöhe. The toiletries in the bathroom really made my day, they are not your usual hotel fare but much better.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    5.0
    Not a good hotel for tourists.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No front desk. Check in at the bar. Staff appear to be more bartenders then hotel staff. Was told at check in, appx 9 pm, that extra pillows were not available because no other staff working and had to wait for next day. No free coffee for guests. Very few if any amenities. Such ad no free coffee available for guests.

    Location is very good. Right across from train station. Near all the tourist attraction.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.3
    Kassel Castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were fine, but not much interaction. Please a kettle in the room, to make a cuppa!

    Location was fantastic for travellers. Next to tram/rail hub. Rooms beautifully clean. Great snack machine on our floor with a tiny bottle of lovely French merlot for €2 in it!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    5.0
    First time - there probably won't be a second
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not use the hotel parking, far too expensive at € 24,- As was the hotel breakfast at € 17,- per person. We had no warm water at 17:00 In the other room the shower head fell off as my son was taking a shower.

    Location close to city centre Bottled water in the room. Easy to find when you come off of the motorway

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    7.1
    Pleasant, easy to reach hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to change rooms as the toilet did not flush was a nuisance, especially as we already had unpacked. Bathroom very small.

    High-quality beds and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    8.3
    Nice hotel will definitely come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was too slow, its even difficult to use google map. The heater was not enough.

    Great location just next to Wilhelm station. Room was clean and big enough for two adults.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    7.1
    Useless Wifi sold as "Free internet"
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was nice and the room was clean. But the poor Wifi sold as "Free interner" was really not working !. When leaving the hotel that was the only fact I had in mind - therefore I won't visit the hotel again.

    Room was quiet.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    9.2
    Very nice personal and great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not included in the room and had to be ordered and paid for separately, the additional cost for the breakfast was however very much worth it. Complementary wi/fi was very slow and high speed internet connections was associated with and additional fee.

    Very nice personal and great breakfast. They have free guest parking in the basement.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    5.4
    Nice hotel but disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No enough parking area. Toilet in my room doesn't be cleaned, still have something that someone left behind...super Eawww

    The size of bed and room. Staffs are nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    8.3
    Penta Kassel - position, position, position
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • penta Plus Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wanted to book two rooms for June 2017 and it seemed impossible. Online did not get in touch although I was advised this was the only way forward. So I booked another hotel (which I can cancel) while I still wait for Penta Kassel to reply.

    Location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    5.4
    Good location but no air condition.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • penta Plus Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wasn't able to provide a fan when asked. Was informed that all fans are used up. It was hot period and very uncomfortable at night.

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    8.3
    Best breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet connection wasn't as good as I would expect in a larger city.

    I thought the breakfast buffet was better than just the traditional "Brötchen" and jam you get at other hotels...we had fresh fruit, breads, pancakes and eggs and for those who like it there was smoked fish and meats and cheeses.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    7.1
    Decent value for money
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was very hard to find -I arrived at night and after 30 min of driving around I saw a small sign pointing to the hotel -very frustrating! There were disco-like lights in the lobby -if one is not used to them ,they can give you nausea and headaches.

    Nice clean room. Good insulation. Good location for those who need to take the train.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    8.3
    Good location, nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Breakfast was good, but with EUR 17 completely overpriced (the second day I went to the railway station and got breakfast there) - No aircon in rooms

    - Excellent location next to railway station - Good layout rooms, clean - Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    4.6
    tacky and cheap hotel - way overrated. poor value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I chose this hotel based on website pictures and rating from Booking.com, looking forward to a yummy breakfast, the fitness room and getting some relax time in the sauna after a busy day of meetings and long hours of driving. I'm a solo business traveler - I booked this hotel for the boutique hotel kinda flair it's supposed to offer, for a change from the usual clean but impersonal business hotel I usually stay at. The price for the room only is pretty fair but then, everything costs extra. Count 12euro for parking overnight. Count 17 for the breakfast. The free Wifi is ridiculously slow (can't even check my emails) and be ready to give your credit card details for a decent connection. They boast a "free video on demand TV program", which doesn't work, and when asked about it at the reception, she answered this was actually Sky TV (1 sport channel and 1 movie channel) This is not what advertised. The fitness room has the bare minimum, and is weirdly furnished with dimmed light and retro-tacky exploration inspired cheap decoration. The sauna is okay and clean, there is two longchairs but one wouldn't get relaxed because of the cliché world music track playing on repeat in the background. By the way, the decoration and style of the room is pretty poor too, made of purple, orange colorblocking and black and white flower-sticker wallpaper - like a cheaper version of ikea catalog from 15 years ago. Everything feels like this is an old hotel that was cheaply turned into a wanabe boutique hotel. Last but not least, or actually worst: there is no AC and in the night I had to open the window which gave to the street side. the hotel is near to a train station and it was very loud. noise + heat = no sleep. Thanks to the train station, the location is pretty convenient to go to Kassel city center, but past 22:30 there's no way to get food in the area...

    the bar/restaurant looked nice - even though I didn't try any food or beverage.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    7.1
    Nice hotel but not for summer time!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning!!! It was 36 degree outside, it's freaking warm at night, and I got a room on the first floor facing the street. Didn't feel safe to leave the window open all night. The stay was a very horrible experience.

    Clean, comfy room, friendly staff, excellent location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    4.6
    Sorry, but I will not go there again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service at checkin was terrible and unkind - we felt like intruders. My German is perhaps not the best but I speak fluently 3 other languages - still had big problems communicating. If it wasn't for the fact it was a prepaid booking and it was very late I wouldn't have stayed there. It was really hot and no AC in the rooms. Bathrooms could be cleaner as for a 4 star hotel too.

    Good value for money but probably only cause I booked a last minute deal. Good breakfast and sopacious, nicely furnished rooms. The service at checkout was very nice and professional.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    10
    Cool place to sleep over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect place near train, even with secured parking lot. While we wanted to go to the castle and garden, we received day-ticket for train and bus for free (y) Perfect

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    10
    Well done - on of the best Hotel concepts in the world...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slow Wifi connection - needs to be renewed to today's standards.

    Penta concept is one of the best I have seen around the world. You feel very welcomed and atmosphere is very relaxed. Hotel Standard is 4 stars plus at a very competitive price. Can only recommend to everybody to give it a try...!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    7.5
    Good hotel and would definitely come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like in many German hotels : a smell of cigarettes/smoke in lobby,elevator and room.

    Friendly staff. Good food. Absolutely gorgeus rib eye steak. Many different details in the hotel. Kind of Boutique style. Nice with all the small activities, like ex pool,soccertable,ps4 and so on.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    2.5
    Rude boy at the check -in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude boy at the check -in. No manners. He should not be working in the service industry. Not a pleasant welcome. Rooms are hot! No airco. Kitchen is closed at 2200 on a saturday no roomservice no food. Not enough parkingplace in the garage and parking on the street is a challenge. If you arrive late probably no parking. And the pillows were like napkins. No international tv. Only cnn and a channel with old movies.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    3.8
    Would stay away from this one ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No acceptable free wifi? The free wifi was soo slow, if you want faster wifi? Pay! That's really bad. And no safelocker in the room or even air-condition? Come on! Even some cheaper hotels has this as standard. Also rooms need renovations, old standard. Would not recommend this hotel, from a standard and also value for money-point of view.

    Restaurant served good food. Bed was comfortable. Very close to public transportation, to get in the city center of Kassel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    8.3
    Good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you come with a car you have to pay for their garage. It is not included and it's around 18 euros. But you can park in front of the hotel where it is free from 20.00 till 9 am in the morning. They don't have AC in the rooms. City center is quite far, you can't go by foot. One day or day and half is enough to see all the sightseeings.

    Good price. Nice, clean rooms. They have also fitness.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms had no a/c or fans and they were quite warm even with windows open .

    Easy access to tram and nice bar and dining area. great staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Love this place, but only when it is cool weather. No a/c
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning in rooms!

    Nice staff, met every request

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    of course next year again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Helping to find my razor

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.7
    Pity about the room size
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny and had only one chair

    Restaurant bar and lounge very nice Very comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.7
    The room was too hot and too loud because of the closeness...
    • Solo traveller
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too hot and too loud because of the closeness of a train main station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.7
    Close to park and train station
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad quality cleaning of room.

    Close to park and train station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.3
    very big bed
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast too expensive

    very big bed great location new

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel, but a bit expensive, exceptionally bad wifi
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced, terrible wifi, expensive parking

    Very good facilities, clean, comfortable, very nice breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, rooms and facilities are great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    Great Breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great Breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.3
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were not comfort

    The location close to the train station They kept my bags for 36 hours after chicked out

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Nice hotel and its quite clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel and its quite clean. Nice resturant with pool table. Good stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.9
    I really like the concept of the Pentahotels!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was fulfilling, many different things to choose from.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    5.4
    Sad face if the crew
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadness

    Sad face if the crew

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.1
    Good value stay in funky hotel but expensive parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very expensive parking

    bar area large bath

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.3
    Friendly personnel
    • Solo traveller
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly personnel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    6.7
    staff r friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no refreshment

    staff r friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    6.7
    I'll try again ...second floor...
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy heater (room 106 +107) Noise of the parking gate

    Very nice deco

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.1
    No aircon
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.5
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WiFi (Free) is slow! Expensive parking places.

    Good breakfast, good dinner!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.8
    comfortable convenient property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was good but too pricey.

    Excellent location, close to transportaion.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse pentahotel Kassel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: