Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Pfauen This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Hugstetterstr.2, 79224 Umkirch, Germany

#3 of 3 hotels in Umkirch

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 312 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    3.8
    Unpleasant and Uncomfortable
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The female owner was extremely grumpy, dictating and impolite. The beds were very uncomfortable; hard mattresses and flimsy pillows and looked and smelled unclean. When I asked for an extra pillow, she bit at me the one pillow is the norm. The small bathroom smelled of sewage. There is a strong smell of fried fish all over, coming from the Thai kitchen. The first thing the woman asked (almost begged) when we checked in was if next time we could book directly with the hotel because booking.com takes 15%. As if we were interested, apart from the fact that we would never visit the place again. When we asked if we had to reserve a table for dinner, the answer was that the restaurant was fully booked. We were told the we could have a table outside on the terrace. We checked outside and told the woman that we found it too cold. She suggested we put on a coat!!! Do I need to say more??? (yes, forget this place)

    The food was good but too expensive

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    Ok location close to the main road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They are very focussed on their Thai restaurant. I had to walk into the restaurant to get someone for the reception as it was not manned.

    Ok location close to the main road. For us this was only a stop on our way to Italy. We asked for a baby bed in advance and it was already in the room when we arrived.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    5.8
    Location is ok but not worth for price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the property or rooms the Price is too high, The breakfast served is below average.

    It is not very far from Freiburg City, for public Transport user it is 0,5hr by Tram and bus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    However, the bed was very soft and as a result quite uncomfortable.

    The location was great. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast had a lot of variety to suit all needs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    4.6
    Rubbish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel concentrates more on there restaurant than the hotel as you are told were to sit for breakfast and outside is not a good place when they have work being carried out. during the day you cannot get a cup of tea as there are no facilities in your room and the owners are difficult to get hold of.

    Room was clean and bed comfortable and it was an easy bus ride into Freiburg.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.1
    Pleasant overnight stay while on holidays
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Internet access in rooms on second floor, noisy road next to hotel, some personnel somewhat stressed out, others friendly and composed

    Covenient location close to Autobahn, very nice terrace for breakfast and dinner. Thai restaurant offers very good food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    8.8
    A great stop if you are taking in a concert in Freiburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although very clean, the shower sprayed out onto the bathroom floor as soon as i turned it on, which is unfortunate because it looked like they had invested some money in it, it was nicely designed. Ok, that happens a lot in european bathrooms anyways. There wasn't any soap in the dispenser so its a good thing we only stayed one night.

    The room was nice for the money we paid, and the bed was really comfortable and clean, with those clean crisp sheets that you get at the higher end hotels. The bathroom was newly renovated. It wasn't a luxury hotel, but thats ok, the price was great. The people were nice, but hard to find. We came in the middle of the week, so there were no other guests, which is probably why. A bell or something by the front desk or a way to find the hosts would be useful. I wanted to check out, but couldn't find anyone, so i just left the key on the desk. I would recommend it and go back as a stop over. It was really easy to access.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    8.3
    Nice clean hotel close to Freiburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV was small. We had our little dog with us and although it was mentioned in the comment box of the reservation on the booking.com it came as a surprise to the employee. When checking out we were charged with additional 5 EUR to the rent of the room. This should have been mentioned in the booking confirmation.

    The Hotel was easy to Access. The room was functional and clean.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    6.7
    Relatively costly for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nobody at the reception desk. Owners not over-friendly. Quite cold actually. No space to spread out your jars and things in the bathroom - which one likes to do when staying for more than one night. Just happened to have spent two nights in another hotel previously to this one, and the contrast was obvious. Pfauen was more expensive but not up to what we'd just had.

    The bed was comfortable. The room was clean. The decoration of the restaurant was fabulous. The paid staff of the restaurant was friendly. We appreciated the car-park underneath the building.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    5.0
    Strong fish smell!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Pillows and bed sheets were oddly sized and quite dirty. 2. There is a strong smell of (fried) fish all over, coming from the Thai/Japanese restaurant on the ground floor.

    Good breakfast (still with background fish smell)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.8
    excellent value for money and excellent the villa thai...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent value for money and excellent the villa thai ristorante.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    The room was very clean.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everyting was fine

    The room was very clean. The thai food excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Great Thai restaurant & decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great Thai restaurant & decor

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.6
    Overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly , helpful staff . Very attentive Relaxed atmosphere , good quality furnishings. Very comfortable and clean .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.6
    Everything is great.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing...

    Everything is great...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    Very very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very clean

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    8.8
    A surprise packet near Freiburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a good hotel away from the town of Freiburg The best we had so far Staff was very courteous Ambiance was excelent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    2.5
    Schlecht
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was next to the staircase. I did not sleep the whole night. Very noisyl

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    7.1
    it is a well cleaned hotel with spacious rooms and really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -no elevator -poor breakfast no air conditioning in the rooms

    it is a well cleaned hotel with spacious rooms and really dog friendly. the rooms are large and clean and the bathroom is spacious.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    7.9
    Easy to find, parking available, friendly staff that speaks...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No elevator, so if you have heavy luggage, be prepared for long stairs to reach the upper floors. The breakfast is OK, but I would expect more for such price (at least a couple of hot dishes).

    Easy to find, parking available, friendly staff that speaks English as well (quite rare for Germany)

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    8.3
    Great staff and lovely food :)))
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great staff and lovely food :)))

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    6.3
    The Restaurant
    • Couple

    The view

    The Restaurant

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    5.0
    Very surly management and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very surly management and staff.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    7.9
    Great sushi :)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great sushi :)

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    10
    Very helpful and good-humored staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very helpful and good-humored staff. Very tasty and elegant restaurant. Great place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    8.8
    Very accommodating staff and excellent restaurant featuring...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very accommodating staff and excellent restaurant featuring one of the finest sushi chefs in Europe.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    9.2
    Great to have quiet hotel with a super Thai restaurant in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great to have quiet hotel with a super Thai restaurant in the same house in Avery quiet suburb.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    10
    Excelent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excelent staff

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    7.5
    Friendly staff and good service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bed mattress worn out, sunk in the middle!! Not enough parking.

    Friendly staff and good service!

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    7.5
    Excellent Thailendish food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent Thailendish food.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Browse Hotel Pfauen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: