Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Pfrontener Hof

Tiroler Straße 174, 87459 Pfronten, Germany

#10 of 11 B&Bs and Inns in Pfronten

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 571 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.5
    Great location, hotel OK, though a little smelly, restaurant and bar could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was poor , outside area was run down.

    On the whole an OK hotel. However, the place smelled of cooking and the restaurant bar was dated and food quality was poor. This place has a fantastic location next the cable car station giving easy access to the mountains and its spectacular views. With some investment and smartening this could be a fantastic place,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    Dinner was very very good an also brekfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very hot and there was no air conditioning. The main road goes right next to the hotel and it is noisy, Also the train station is right across the street. On the other hand, this is a good thing for transport connections

    Dinner was very very good an also brekfast. Room was very clean. The car park is good and free of charge

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.4
    The room was clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel definitely needs a facelift. Furnishings are worn and dingy. The towels were frayed ,the sheets rough, and the pillows were lumpy.The street noise kept us awake. The breakfast was uninspiring but, the coffee was good. I would not return.

    The room was clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.3
    run-down place and lack of adequate guest attention
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upon entering the room we were treated to a nasty old sock/vomit stink. A thorough inspection of the phenomenon led us to the bedsheets - they weren't filthy per se but we still wondered where they keep them or how they wash them. Not nice at all. It was too late in the night to do anything about it though. The room fittings were basic, pretty run down and didn't inspire a lot of cleanliness feeling. The breakfast was a far cry from the golden German standard, featuring poor produce selection, very filthy table cloths, a crowd of massive flies hovering over the guests and tables and the owner removing everything from the buffet at 9.59 o'clock no questions asked. At 11.02, two minutes from the check-out time, while we were on our way to the door, we received a phonecall from the reception urging us to GTFO. Thanks. We won't be back.

    The location is great, remote, peaceful and right at the mountains. The owner is a pretty cheerful person which helps matters a bit. No parking problems.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.5
    Good place to stay, but be careful if you are coming in the winter.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were pretty hard. We had a sick child and could not stay another night, but were charged for the 2nd night anyway.

    The breakfast was good. Our room was quiet. Directly across from the train station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    6.7
    Ok but it can be better with a very small effort. I wish them all the luck
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is more than ok for the quantity, but the quality can easily rise: first of all, fresh fruits instead than cans. The internal decoration can increase its level, but it's already ok. I did not like at 100% how they managed a small divergence with us on the final price (in a room for two adults and a kid, they wanted to charge us the baby bed as an extra). Even if at the end they somehow kindly accepted our point of view, our conversation immediately became aggressive. In part, it is my fault and I sincerely apologize for this: I should better contain myself. In part, I think that a professional concierge should do its best to open with the client a fruitful discussion, avoid aggressive phrases, propose a compromise. The place remains a practical and pleasant one to stay, but sincerely, they could have obtained more (in terms of seeing us back there, reputation here, and even money at the end of our discussion) adopting a kinder tone in the discussion. Try to do a little better, the Pfrontener Hof has all the possibilities to become a very cool place, with or without snow and skiers. And if you still want the money for that baby bed, what about accepting a 50% / 50% compromise?

    The Pfrontener Hof is situated in a top level touristic area, and provides rooms that are very comfortable. It is ideally situated for people that are planning an overnight stay in a trip from Germany to Italy or Austria. The view is quite beautiful, and the terrace is excellent. The furniture, even if a little kitsch, is funny and quite decorative.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    Quiet location on edge of countryside, good transport connections.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were very happy to dine in the hotel. However, if you want other choices the hotel is a good distance from Pfrontener, so you may have 1Km walk or use the bus to reach the village. NOTE: be careful with the bus that returns from Fussen, there is a clock-wise and anti-clockwise route. If you pick the wrong bus you will be treated to a trip to Kempten first before returning to Pfrontener! Frankly we didn't mind, it was a nice sunny day, great scenery and very comfortable bus!

    Located at the southern limit of Steinach (near Pfrontener) the hotel is outside the main town facilities, but it has excellent connections. Directly opposite is a bus halt, with a direct bus to Pfrontener, Fussen and Kempten. Also directly opposite the hotel is a railway station, with connections to Kempten and Reutte (Austria). If using this as a base for viewing Neuschwannstein castle, then that is only 15-20mins away by car, although somewhat longer by bus... There is also a ski-lift next door, making access to the high ground very easy (seasonal). The hotel was ideal for our needs. The host was very friendly and helpful and the food was great. The menu was hearty, with very filling meat dishes, the venison casserole was a particular favourite.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.3
    Good breakfast, the staffs were friendly and efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Outside city, No activity around. You must have car

    Good breakfast, the staffs were friendly and efficient. It was a very comfortable; the view from balcony was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    7.9
    Nice freindly little hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant stops serving a little early (8) , so if you arrive around that time eat on the way there as nothing else around .

    Ample parking, beautiful surroundings, good breakfast, good beer, good wifi . Nice place to stop off on way back from Italy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.2
    Great little cozy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great cozy little hotel right next to a cable car. The gentlemen managing around the hotel were really nice and polite, always jokking around with the kids, chatting with all clients, offering advice on what to do and where to go in the area. Room was basic but offered everything we needed. We went there initially to visit Neuschwanstein castle which is just 14km away but discovered the area was really nice and actually went on top of the mountain.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    8.3
    Very cosy place with friendly staff and delicious breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of electric kettle and glasses in the room so we could make at least something to drink in the evening - I don't know if there was a separate room for this, we were not told about it. That's why I gave lower grade for the comfort as I believe this should be a standard nowadays.

    Very friendly staff, cosy place, good breakfast, nice view from the window, just next to the ski-lift, nice area in general

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.5
    Fine hotel for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator.

    Hotel was fine. Close to Neuschwanstein Castle.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Great place and tasty traditional Bayerische Gericht!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the host and the location. We had a great dinner and breakfast in the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Very nice place in a beutifull area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious appartment, equipet kitcheb, and a great bed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location. It's close to Bahnhof and the cable car. We loved this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    Close to King Ludwig's castles, but affordable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in staff were not very professional. Morning (breakfast) staff were fine.

    Excellent breakfast and comfortable room with a very nice balcony.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Warm and friendly place .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi needs to improve.

    The room was clean, Good breakfast. Our hosts were very friendly and helped us feel welcome.will back again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, good breakfast, cable car right next to the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.5
    The location is convenient to Pfronten and hotel clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Zweibettzimmer mit 2 Einzelbetten
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit older hotel.

    The location is convenient to Pfronten and hotel clean. Parking was good too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    6.3
    Room very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enought big option to choice for breakfast. Dirty glasses and sour cream for coffee

    Room very comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.5
    Stunning views
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stunning views

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    10
    perfect living experience
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    perfect location! friendly staff! Very very comfortable! Also perfect restaurant and breakfast!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    8.3
    Close to ski lift, very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No late check out

    Close to ski lift, very comfortable

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    5.8
    Staff were friendly, and right beside the ski lift station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There was an odd smell in the hotel and the rooms were small and basic facilities. The standard of the breakfast was poor.

    Staff were friendly, and right beside the ski lift station

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    7.5
    We were delayed 3 hours due to heavy snowfall at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were delayed 3 hours due to heavy snowfall at the Fernpass. At arrival in the hotel the kitchen was already closed, but the owner himself made a good warm meal for us.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    8.3
    Nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff didn't speak english very well, but they made an effort to answer questions.

    Nice place. Friendly staff. Had a great view of the mountains.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    5.4
    Hotel room was on main road with lots of noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel room was on main road with lots of noise. Too hot to keep windows closed, so lost a lot of sleep late into the night because of the highway noise right under our window.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    6.7
    It was good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    From the pictures in their site it looked said the hotel was up in the meadows. It was on a main road! It also had a major problem with fly's in the dinning room and bar area's

    It was good value for money

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    7.5
    Very clean, with comfortable beds and nice-sized rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location of the hotel was perfect for us, as we just needed a spot to stay on our way to Neuschwanstein the next day. It's a bit in the middle of nowhere however so if you don't like that it might not be right for you.

    Very clean, with comfortable beds and nice-sized rooms. Awesome breakfast! A full German breakfast buffet. Great views of the mountains, and adorable chickens cooped just outside.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    7.5
    located next to a cable car station, on the outskirts of a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There were so many flies in the restaurant you had to keep one hand free to be continually swiping the flies off your food.

    located next to a cable car station, on the outskirts of a small town, good room. Underground garage for our motorcycles.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    10
    Location and a very friendly atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was just as we had hoped.

    Location and a very friendly atmosphere. Also a very comfortable bed especially the pillows. Must try to buy some the same for my own home.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    10
    Great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great food

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    8.0
    We liked the room, food, the 2 friendly owners, their...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The female waitress in the evening was a bid on the grumpy side.

    We liked the room, food, the 2 friendly owners, their helpfulness and service.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    9.6
    Fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic location. Good choice for breakfast. Lovely walks for the dog right from the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    10
    The owner was very friendly, the food was delicious, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The owner was very friendly, the food was delicious, very clean and great views off our balcony

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    10
    service, decoration , location, food, all excellent
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    service, decoration , location, food, all excellent

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    6.3
    Bare necessities where fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little old fashion. Ware away carpet and decoration

    Bare necessities where fine. Clean, quiet, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    6.3
    Location, Friendly staff who speaks Chinese
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fries and bees are always everywhere in the restaurant , annoying people dinning, no Lift

    Location, Friendly staff who speaks Chinese

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    9.6
    Lovely Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely Hotel.- good food- friendly and helpful staff.- value for money. Ideal!

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2015

    7.9
    Value for money, spacious rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    In-house restaurant was closed on the Wednesday when I was there.

    Value for money, spacious rooms

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: