Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Pieper This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Thebäerstraße 39, 54292 Trier, Germany

#12 of 43 hotels in Trier

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 449 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.3
    Would likely not stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an event which did not end until 00:30. I had a very early start on my motorcycle (as advised to the staff) and due to the event I had a poor nights sleep so not best pleased. The staff could have considered this and put me in a different room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.2
    This hotel was awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift

    This hotel was awesome! I didn’t even mind that there was no lift. Fantastic breakfast buffet included. On a quiet street yet near enough to walk anywhere. Loved it!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.5
    The stay was not as good as expected. The lack of a lift was a major issue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is no lift. Carrying luggage up 3 flights of stairs is not so easy for senior citizens. While hotel advertises itself as having a restaurant, it was never open and seemed to be used only for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.7
    Hotel closed to center, main street, good breackfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ussed 2 bedroom, one doble room and one singel, singel room the bed was too small my son is 185mts, he was unconfortable. The hotel was midium renovated, room yes, but no the rest.

    The bedroom we liked, was renovated. Good breackfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    They run a very wonderful. hotel. I would love to stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only downsides were 1) no elevator and 2) it was hard to understand how to contact the desk if you do not speak English.

    Very friendly. Excellent breakfast. Has a nice homey bed and breakfast atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Clean, comfortable and great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking may be an issue as you could get blocked in, but I suspect they have their ways around this! I imagine any German guests would make sure they were available to move their cars. You can park on the street.

    Cleanliness, friendly, helpful staff and owner. Lots of local information. Not difficult to find. Free WiFi. Water in the room. Great breakfast and great choice. You could even make tea in a teapot! I would stay again. Rooms were incredibly clean. Great shower We requested twin beds and got them. Very comfortable beds with extra pillows. Next time we are in Trier I'll stay there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    My stay was really great. I would recommend this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Most of the staff only speak German, which was a bit complicated sometimes. It would be good if the written signs could also be in English (and not only in German). The hallways smelled cigarettes.

    Everything was as excepted, very good and comfortable facilities, great food and very clean. Very quiet and calm place. Good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.2
    A cozy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were at Hotel Europa Life and the room was a bit too small for two people (had to jump around after we laid out suitcases on the floor and there is no luggage rack).

    Breakfast was included and plentiful. Easy walking from the train station. Staff was nice and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.6
    Made a very nice short break Trier always good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a problem we got parked on arrival but had to get people to shunt cars about to get ours out luckily we needed ours early afternoon I would have tried to do it at 6-30 am when we left Hardly any parking on the street Also with a hip problem it was a long walk into town

    The breakfast was excellent Staff very helpful when I requested a room on the lower floor

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    6.3
    Not memorable or pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grumpy staff person....not a “welcoming atmosphere”. And while not the fault of the hotel, one bedside lamp did not work and there was no one to speak to about it. Also, a loud beeping sound began around 4:30 pm (quite sure it was the battery in a fire alarm that needed replacing) but no staff person was around to take care of it. It was still beeping when we left around 8:00 am. While no other lodgings on our trip were absolutely perfect, this stay was a low point.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    A peep into history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Typical of the older buildings expect to carry your belongings. We were on the 4th floor. It was a good workout.

    Within walking distance of the inner city this family run hotel was perfect. The breakfast was one of the best.....but not included in the price. Our clean, modern room in the attic had been recently renovated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    6.7
    Economical- you pay for what you get!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift. However, the guy on front desk did carry one of our bags up four flights of stairs. Hotel was just old and run down.

    Very quiet hotel .Bed comfortable. Updated bathroom - very small though. Good position for train and not too far to walk into the old town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.3
    Tired front but large lovely modern room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance /stairwell smelt a bit of smoke (due to smoking room downstairs). Parking limited and tight but free.

    Good large modern room, brilliant breakfast choice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    We,d stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything. The location is very good not far from town centre. The room was lovely very comfortable & spacious & bathroom was very modern & clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant 2 day stay in a hotel that was within easy walking distance of the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was a little difficult but adequate.

    The bedroom and bathroom were furnished to a very high standard and felt brand new. Very, very clean! The breakfast was exceptional with incredible choice from the buffet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.9
    Good enough, but would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs. Walking four flights. The neighbors kept their door open and had noisy small children. We asked them to close the door, no response. Reception was cold and unhelpful. There really was no good restaurant nearby. It's a walk to all the sights.

    The breakfast was varied, wonderful food, just fantastic. The room was spacious and the bed comfortable. We liked having enough room, and a table to spread out our stuff. The neighborhood was safe for walking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.8
    Nice, clean, basic accommodation for reasonable price in Trier. Great breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The doors don't really isolate from the noise in the hallway. Earplugs solved that issue for me.

    Breakfast is really delicious (good value - only 7 Euros)! Everything else was basic but clean, comfortable, and decent location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    Peacefull neighbourhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Note: no elevator, stairs to also 1st floor. Ventilation keeps one of the breakfast rooms too cold.

    Breakfast is awesome! Friendly staff, nothing to complain! A very good choice if you don't mind the (short) walk to Old town. Quiet neighbourhood, which is lovely if you want to sleep, not party.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly staff in a beautiful town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The communal room was a little unwelcoming.

    The staff were brilliant and helpful. I had intended to return later in the week, having left my car there and spent three days cycling. At the last minute, I had to alter my plans, and the staff at the hotel could not have been more understanding and helpful - particularly since they were actually losing custom! Very well done!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    Perfect stay for city trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything! Silent location close both to the center and train station. Clean room with excelent bathroom facilities. Tasty breakfast and tea cups that made me feel at home. City maps with hotel history. Thank you :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.8
    Excellent value for money and location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Getting my luggage back. Not used to guarding luggage after check out.

    Location is excellent, within walkind distance of Hauptbahnhof. Place is clean and staff are friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    7.1
    Room and bathroom OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is available but only nice if you are on time and not having to go out with the car during your stay. Otherwise you need to leave your key so they can shift you car to lett people go out/in. Our stay was from Friday to Sunday. Friday evening I was able to get to my car and have a drink at the bar. Saturday evening coming back from the city we noticed that the bar was closed and also I could not reach my car because the gate and doors at the back where closed. Nobody did say anything about that, very strange?

    Room and bathroom OK. Breakfast is nice! Some parts of hotel needs some refreshing.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    8.8
    I would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    --Parking situation was somewhat of a problem (can only accommodate 5 cars, but late in the evening 8 cars were packed back there. Needless to say, nobody was getting out that night)--Had to call the owner to request a wifi password late in the evening (suggestion would be to give the wifi login info when customers get the room key)

    Limited free parking, good wifi, friendly staff, overall good value

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    9.2
    Hotel Pieper
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No lift available, so this can be a hike with luggage and motorcycle gear when on the 3rd floor.

    Excellent location, less than a 10 min walk from the city centre. The hotel has a car park for approx 6 cars and a garage for motorcycles and cycles at no charge. Quality of the rooms and hotel was excellent and the breakfast was superb.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    7.5
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Swamp cooler was very humid!!!! Wish coffee was available in the room

    The area was far enough away from the busy downtown but yet a short walk. Quiet hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    8.8
    2 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely family run hotel. Excellent breakfast, everything you could want, one of the best we found touring around germany. Off street parking a bonus. Easy walking to Porte Negro

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Stayed several times, very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t fault

    Stayed several times, very good. Garage for motorbikes and good buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    A typical two star German hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great alternative to city center hotels

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Quiet hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was adequate but a bit on the small side.

    Garage for our bicycles. Good breakfast. Not far to town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    Nice staff, easy walk to attractions,clean and affordable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were very clean and recently modernized. The shower was very nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    6.3
    Excellent breakfast , absent front end staff. Almost surreal !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absence of staff for checking in and then for checking out procedures. .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    the hotel added to our experience in Europe
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Good breakfast, clean and modern

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.2
    Convenient location with a great breakfast available for an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not given the password for the internet when we checked in.

    Convenient location with a great breakfast available for an extra fee.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.2
    Clean and comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing special.

    Clean and comfortable room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a bit of a walk to see everything on the list of sights.

    Nice place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.5
    Nice little basic hotel close to the centre of Trier
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of toiletries in room. Small sachet enough for one hair wash on arrival but not replenished

    The location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.2
    Very good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is within easy walking distance to the sights of Trier. The rooms are very well equipped and the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    8.8
    Close to train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is quie silent neighborhoods

    Close to train station. Less than 10 mins

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.8
    Very friendly personnel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly personnel! great breakfast! all by all a place to recommend.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    6.7
    Walking distance from the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sound of water running from other rooms was quite loud.

    Walking distance from the center. Basic hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    9.2
    great spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location value for money breakfast €7.00

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    8.8
    perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    perfect location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    9.6
    Great breakfast and a very good hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a bit small.

    Great breakfast and a very good hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    10
    Staff were very helpful, rooms good,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Big choice of food

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    9.2
    Family run hotel with very comfortable rooms and luxury breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm welcome. Friendly hosts. Very good room, super clean. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    9.6
    The bathroom was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A soundless airconditioner. It woke me up during the night!

    The bathroom was perfect! New, very clean and stylish.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    9.2
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not connect to wifi

    very nice people are running the place. Good rooms and easy to walk to the old town. Good value for money breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    9.2
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No elevator could be a drawback for some people.

    Location was good. Room was excellent.... clean and comfortable. Breakfast very good with plenty of choices.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    6.3
    Nice and modern room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really bad /hard bed and pillows. Couldn't get a decent bed night rest. Very Hot in room, although there was an airco, but this is central regulated, shut down at 22:00 hours. So the moment you need the airco the most, it isn't working. Very high room prices compared with what you get.

    Nice and modern room. Breakfast excellent. Naar city centre, only a couple of minute walk. Free and coverend and closed parking for our motorcycles.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    7.9
    -Really amazing breakfast;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    -Unfortunately, my room had been smoked in so all the permanent fabrics (mattress, chairs, pillows) smelled of smoke. You could tell they tried to get rid of the smell and I tried to air out the room but it didn't help. Even my pajamas smelled after I left. Such a shame as it would have been a perfect stay otherwise.

    -Really amazing breakfast; everything you could think of, even gluten-free options -Newly renovated rooms with spa-like bathrooms -Great location right near the train station and walking distance to everything.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    4.2
    Breadfast is good;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of communication; the hotel should send an email inform us regards no restaurent service at all. If we knew no restaurent service during that period, we would not book a room with them.

    Breadfast is good; we did not get the first day morning as did not know the breasfast clsoed at 10:00.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    9.2
    The breakfast was additional but excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds were very hard.

    The breakfast was additional but excellent.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    8.3
    free car parking, great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    free car parking, great breakfast. 5 Min. walk to Port Nigra. and room clean with good wifi access.

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    10
    Very friendly and helpful people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly and helpful people. Delicious buffet. Bedroom clean and comfortable .we will come back👍

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    7.5
    Breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    With a bad knee, I should have had an elevator.

    Breakfast was very good. Was close to most places one would need.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    9.2
    Location was perfect and the breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing the room was as expected.

    Location was perfect and the breakfast was excellent. I and still talking about the peach I ate there

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    8.3
    The hotel is close to the railway station and to the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is close to the railway station and to the city center. Very good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2015

    8.3
    The pet friendliness was much appreciated.
    • Solo traveller

    Old buildings tend to have stairs.

    The pet friendliness was much appreciated. The bed was comfortable, and the breakfast was such a nice treat.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

Guests also reviewed these properties: