Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Platzl Hotel - Superior This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Sparkassenstr. 10, Altstadt-Lehel, 80331 Munich, Germany

#8 of 349 hotels in Munich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3306 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con was out of service for most of the weekend and given the location of the hotel it’s quite loud in the evenings with the windows open.

    If you’re looking for a place near to the center of old town, this is a great choice!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    poor erratic internet (but fairly compensated by a discount on parking ), small room, few international canal on Tv, Expensive breakfast...

    Great location, large confortable bed , big and confortable lobby , good bar service , vallet service for parking ,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked an earlier check in time. 3 pm a bit too late

    The breakfast were amazing. Staff were so friendly. Great location. And just a charming hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning in the room did not work at all A very hot humid unpleasant stay thank god the window could be opened and the night breeze saved it the first two nights. Also the mini bar fridge did not work at all.it was broken.

    I loved the rooms and the hardwood floors no messy carpet. Also the complimentary water was spot on. The staff were good and helpful also amazing WiFi

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic location, 5 minutes walk from the old town, and hotel parking right next to the lobby. Rooms are a decent size, clean and comfortable. Shops and restaurants all within easy reach. Location alone makes this hotel good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms were extremely small. The double room was not more than 12-13 m2 and it was announced as 21 m2. It was so small that the bed was against the wall and could only be accessed from 1 side (not really nice that in a double room you have to go on top of the other person to go in out of the bed).

    The personnel was very nice. Location excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    first superior room for 1 night -no air conditioning second room(not superior-WHY ??) for 3 nights- air conditioning but smaller than 1-st room

    location personnel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the time of our stay the air conditioning was not working. We were offered alternative rooms and eventually settled for one particular room so not much to complain about. Anna, I think, on the reception was extremely patient and understanding and also very helpful in finding us an alternative room

    The location is superb. Only a two minute walk to Marion Platz. The staff were exceptionally friendly and very helpful and made us feel very welcome

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The aircons were not working properly but we were informed about it. Can be a bit noisy depending on which side of the hotel you are located

    Breakfast was excellent. Reception staff were professional and polite. First time stay at the hotel was really good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location with lots af restaurants, cafées and the shopping area within walking distance. Ask for quiet rooms if you want to avoid some noice from the street. It's also easy to travel from and to the airport by S-bahn. It's a five minute walk to Marienplatz where the station is. You can buy tickets before you get on the train and according to the hotel information tickets are also available in the reception.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    obscure idea for transport, basing on order message, there is airport shuttle service, but no one has a clear idea.

    Excellent location, plentiful breakfast, friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we checked in, they did not tell us the air cond wasnt working. no doubt our room air cond was working but it was extremely weak, cooler to be outdoor than being in the room. we had to ask for a fan n left the window open in the nite. after speaking to a lovely receptionist named Angelica, she gave us 20% refund on the price we paid.nevertheless, i would have opted to stay somewhere else if notice was given earlier about the lack of air cond.

    location of the hotel, near to popular sights

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioner was being replaced and it was not mentioned on the website so I didn't find out until I checked in. It wasn't very hot that day and they were offering fans if we wanted one..

    This hotel is very nice and in a great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They had problems with the air con but were very up front about it and it worked sufficiently in my room.

    Friendly, multilingual staff and nice touches like cake and fruit drinks in the lobby as a welcome make this a welcoming place. The property encompasses a variety of places to eat and the drink menu at the bar was over 20 paged long! Wood floors and soundproof windows, crisp linen and well appointed bathrooms were also appreciated. I really liked this hotel. Location was also excellent for exploring Munich.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air-conditioning in the hotel wasn't working when we visited in the first week of May 2018. The weather was cool, but with the windows closed, the small rooms were very stuffy. Opening the windows were not an option because of the light and noise from the street below. The front desk clerk didn't tell us about the faulty air-conditioning when we checked in and she should have. We might have decided not to stay. In the end, they offered us free parking (worth Euro 90 for the three days) as well as breakfast for two on one of the mornings, so in a way, they redeemed themselves. We'd stay here again, but need to make sure before-hand that the air-conditioning is working : )

    The hotel was nicely designed, modern and comfortable. The location is wonderful and is a very short walk to Marienplatz, Victuals Market, the National Theatre, and all the shops around the area. The famous pork knuckle restaurant Haxnbauer is on the same block. But beware that you're right in the busy area so make sure that the air-conditioning is working because if you have the windows open, there is a lot of noise from the street below.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No hotel restaurant. There was one but it was open to the public and only reached by going outside and walking round the block. No lounge area just bar and lobby seating. whole area very busy and noisy.

    The location would be ideal out of season but not at this time of year. Beds were comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in the room for the whole week - the system is broken. Almost permanent absence of wi-fi - due to a technical problems, as the manager said. In total - inconvenience during stay and, consequently, disappointment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very poor service with check in. Sent away twice with a promise the room would be available in the hour. At 330 the room configuration we had booked didn't seem to be available despite being told it was being cleaned for the last 3 hours. We eventually were given a different configuration only to find out ( had non been informed) that the air conditioning was broken. The room was hot and due to the proximity to the Hofbrauhaus and the noise we were unable to open a window. We eventually were offered a very small room. We struggled to open one suitcase at a time, The reason for the air conditioning not working was different from each staff member. The Internet is terrible and they have poor bathroom products (one dispenser of combined body/ hair shampoo and conditioner in a single pump pack on the wall). For the price this was extremely disappointing.

    Great location. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had booked a superior room (extra espace, what is a must for me) and also requeted parking 2 months prior to arrival. When we got there, they could ot honored the room and neither the parking place. They put us in a tiny room where there was literally no room for a piece of lugagge. Even though the quality of the hotel is great, the size of the standard room is a joke. I paid cash but they still keep pending USD 800 on my credit. I´m still dealing with this situation

    The location is everything in this hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was not working on the floor. We weren’t told about the situation once we arrived and spent a terribly hot night.

    Excellent location. Good breakfast. The staff was helpful regarding the air conditioning problems once we complained about it. It would’ve been nice to be told in advance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The choice of pillows is superb, incredibly nice aroma in the corridors, lavender pillow sleep spray was provided which is awesome and the mini bose speaker makes everyone feel like at home !

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room assigned to me faced the Hofbrau and was very noisy. Second room was at rooftop level the size of a Rapunzal shoebox and very warm. While a fan was provided ( since there was no a/c) I woke up to pigeons sounding off at 5:45 am due to the room location. By the 2-3 day I went to management to ask for a different room. Hanging light fixtures, exposed fire detectors...etc. was not what I thought this hotel would be like.

    Major construction was going on when I arrived. I had no prior knowledge that there would be construction and/or no air conditioning available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    I was very surprised at how clean and attractive it was, both room and lobby. Staff were very helpful in retrieving luggage lost by the airlines.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    our room was very small and had no coffeemaker.. the bathroom was so small only one of us could use it at a time.

    The location of this property was excelent as were the staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not the fault of the hotel, but the noise from surrounding bars and hordes of young people around at all hours was not pleasant, and I was knocked to the ground by one group.

    the bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked based on the hotel having air conditioning but it was not working the 5 days I stayed there. Can be noisy at night because of Hofbräuhaus nearby.

    Location is centrally located. 20 min walk to train station. Can get to train station via subway in the Matienplatz which is about 5 min walk from hotel. Breakfast is excellent with many options.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    AC not working, poor communications regarding the same; location and view and room not so great. Fine restaurant has no carry out; room service is very limited menu.

    Staff, location, amenities; breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is wonderful at the front desk and in the restaurant. Excellent choice of breakfast foods at their buffet. My family has stayed their twice in less than 10 months and I will be returning in just 3weeks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cons: service was generally indifferent but adequate, renovation in common areas was underway and the fitness room was closed.

    Pros: great location, great fit and finish to the rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was convenient and well laid out. I had a little problem with the air-conditioning and they couldn’t fix it and immediately move me to another room which I didn’t mind. When checking out the lady behind the counter gave me €50 for the inconvenience. I was astonished and very pleasantly surprised

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning not working due to renovations. Staff offered a discount on our rate to compensate which was very fair and considerate.

    Excellent breakfast. The hotel location cannot be bettered. Staff attentive and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    wifi does not work in certain areas of the hotel. that was the reason why we asked to change our room (which was immediately done, thank you).

    very close to the opera house - perfect hotel to stay if you are planning to go to opera

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    None.

    Front staff were very friendly not only offering us upgrade (with a small fee) to a larger room but helping us print out the train tickets. Beautifully decorated modern room with quiet courtyard view (highly recommended). Great location, very close to the New Town Hall and everything else. Would definitely stay there again if going back to Munich.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel in a great location. You are in the center on Munich in a very lively area.Very good breakfast. Very nice and helpful staff. If given the opportunity, when in Munich, this would be my hotel of choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THE ONLY THING IS THAT ROOMS OVERLOOKING THE STREET ARE VERY VERY NOISY.

    EXCEPTIONAL SERVICE , DELISIOUS BREAKFAST . SUPER LOCATION. BEST REGARDS EMILIA

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was changing log in methods for the wifi, and we were not able to access or experienced slow service.

    GREAT location! One block away from roasted pig knuckles, Hofbrau Haus, and several bier Gardens. A few blocks away from MarienPlatz, and a few blocks away from the open air market. The staff was happy to make a dinner reservation, call a taxi, point out directions on a map, schedule a tour, print a boarding pass or tour reservation, etc. Extremely helpful! Especially if you do not speak German. The room we had was much larger than normal rooms in Europe, which we were happy to see. Also very thankful for a REAL shower, and not a bath tub.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the summer, I would avoid the top floor rooms out of concern the AC would not be adequate. In early April in the low 60s, we got by with opening the windows. I wish that the €29 per person full breakfast buffet was not the only option, other than room service. It is lavish but once is enough, I can't eat my money's worth. Coffee in the lobby or the bar would be most welcome.

    Location, comfort, cleanliness, efficiency.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, staff and room. Higher cost than many in Munich old city area with no breakfast included nor extras, but it was very comfortable and a convenient location from which to enjoy our first visit to Munich.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedrooms on the side of the big pub (Hofbräuhaus) can be a bit noisy until the pub closes. But we were prepared so not an issue.

    Breakfast was really wonderful and bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing much - breakfast room gets a bit crowded at around 0900-0930 but it remains open until 1100 (1200 sunday and holidays)

    Excellent breakfast. Very central location. Excellent staff in all area of the hotel. Associated restaurant was excellent too. Near Hofbrauhaus, so expect a bit of street noise, but otherwise very much acceptable. Downstairs shop specialised in Bavarian wear, worth a visit for great quality traditional dress - very enjoyable experience all around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Everything was perfect.

    The location of the Hotel is in the heart of the city of Munich. WiFi works great in all areas of the Hotel. The staff is super friendly and always make sure that you feel welcome. I will definitely book it again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location of this hotel was wonderful! The rooms were very nice ( A bit small) It was probably on the pricey side but the location and overall experience was worth it. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was hard to get in and out of. Older visitors would find this type of bath- shower difficult. Ask the staff before booking if this is a concern.

    Location!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small for a 4 star hotel and the furniture looks a bit dated (although it is very well maintained and preserved). The bed was too soft for our liking. The price of the breakfast is very high having in mind that you can have a nice meal (with drinks) for 2 persons in Munich for under or around EUR 50.

    Location is perfect, staff is very polite and helpful (albite cold and distant as usually in Germany). Hotel has a nice traditional look and atmosphere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The showers in the Suana could work better

    Superb breakfast, excellent sauna, cosy bar and two good restaurants. located conveniently for the old town and the S-bahn. Staff were extremely helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small-even by European standards. There is a bench for a suitcase, but if you place a suitcase on it you can not maneuver around it easily to get from one side of the room to another. There is a desk and chair that probably could be removed as they are positioned in a way that they are not very usable and take up precious space. The building is old. While there are several plugs around the room-there is nothing next to the beds, which is inconvenient. The WiFi in the rooms is terrible and, quite frankly, not acceptable in this day and age. I had to walk down to the elevator area just to log on initially and occasionally just to check messages. My traveling companion wasn’t WiFi dependent, but had trouble with cellular connection in the room. Since we traveled from abroad and were dealing with a significant time change this was an issue for communicating with family. The building is old, which likely contributed to noise level. On the first night we could hear music (possibly from the Hard Rick cafe next door?). The cleaning crew was working at 4 a.m. I could hear the vacuum in the room across the hall.

    Excellent staff! Very helpful and polite. Location is outstanding. Easy walk to all main attractions in the city center. Beds are reasonably comfortable and the room has all the necessary appointments plus some nice additions such as an umbrella for guest use. We also appreciated the large size personal care items in the bathroom (e.g., shampoo) as we always seems to run out with the tiny bottles. The hotel has a lovely reception area with ample seating for a drink, tea or to access the WiFi (which doesn’t work well in the rooms). We ate at both the restaurants. Both were good. The informal Barvarian restaurant had classic food (too heavy for my taste, but good) and excellent beer. The formal restaurant was lovely, but quite expensive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms facing the hotel’s courtyard can be rather noisy (smoking area for the staff, back entrance to the restaurant, offloading zone, etc.) if you want to get some fresh air, but with the closed windows you can barely hear anything.

    Great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel upgraded us to a room adjacent to a large dinner party that went well past its promised 11pm ending. Grateful for the better room but its proximity to an event room is bewildering. Expect a lively atmosphere if you stay here.

    Location is one of the best, next door to Hofbräuhaus. Modern-ish rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    a bit loud at night from the HoffBrauhouse next door. But not really an issue if you are jet lagged or very tired.

    Great location and fantastic stay. We would go back if we ever head back to Munich.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room but perhaps it was the category of room booked.

    Great location for exploring Munich, close to shopping, sightseeing and restaurants. Helpful staff and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked a Classic Queen Room 2 months in advance. When we arrived to the check-in the reception staff informed us that "the hotel is fully booked" and the only option is a normal size bed. The question is - why to book in advance , if the hotel can't supply the promised? The second thing - our impression was that the room size was downgraded too......May be - only the impression....

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best location in Munich, authentic Bavarian hospitality, lovely breakfast, cosy room! Amazing birthday surprise :D Thanks to all the staff members at the Platzl, we will be back soon.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I picked anything, it would be the low lighting but that's something that is typical in Europe (unlike the US).

    Breakfast food selection was the best we've ever seen - bio-dynamic teas, organic options, real honeycomb. In addition to the usual european breakfast items. Amazing! Location was better than expected being so central to old town Munich.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Brilliant location in a quiet street. Handy for walking to the Marienplatz and other sights. Friendly staff. Comfy bed and pillows. Would stay there again if visiting Munich.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa area was disappointing.

    Visiting the hotel I worked in 30 years ago when I was a student! Lots of changes, very modern and comfortable. Great location, good room size, massive bathroom and wardrobe space. Great breakfast, lots of food to choose from, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite being upgraded to a King Room I thought the room felt small and cramped as it was on the top floor with sloped ceilings and one small window some 4ft by 2ft. Breakfast was OK. The dining options apart from breakfast are NOT really in the hotel but are linked bar-restaurants. The floors on the bedroom floor I was one were all wood and inter-room soundproofing was not 100% so you could hear children talking and running around.

    Friendly welcome and clean rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, very close to Marienplatz, but not so close that it was too noisy. Friendly staff and very nice public areas. Close to great restaurants and bars. The hotel bar served the local Ayiner wheat beer which was very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-Fi could have been stronger. The Internet was too slow and usually congested then dropping our emails.

    Super Location. The staff was excellent. They were always smiling and willing to help.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little bit small

    The best thing this hotel has is location. It has a very nice restaurant at the basement and breakfast is good, a little bit expensive but good. If I ever go back to Munich for sure I will stay at the same hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything!

    Loved the fact that I could make my own freshly squeezed juice!! 👍👌 The coffee was very good. AND the fresh honey dripping from the honeycomb!! Loved that.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    İ said three times for changing our sheets but they didnt change. İ need this because my husband is allergic thats why he needs new bed sheets. İ can not understand why they didnt do it

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At checkin, the person struggled with the fact that this was not our first tme at the Platzl and that we had, in fact, been guests 12 months previously . Checkout, however, was a smooth, pleasant process

    Central, modern hotel. The staff are generally professional and helpful. Breakfast is an excellent buffet supplemented by freshly cooked items from a backboard menu.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Super location and very comfortable old world feeling Bavarian city hotel. Short stumble from Hofbrauhaus ;-) We loved the lobby bar. The breakfast is really good but it is priced as a top tier hotel breakfast so we only splurged one day. The rooms are nice, but they are pretty small. No complaints, but as an older very centrally located top tier hotel, expect very nice though not over-sized rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bavarian Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Some troubles with the heating system. Although this was generously compensated.

    We stayed in the cosy Bavarian suite, traditionally decorated and very comfortable (nice living room, next to ample bedroom). Breakfast excellent, though little overbooked, but that's because of the season. Staff very friendly, especially in the breakfast-room. Location can't be better! In the heart of Munich, close by everything!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very beautiful hotel in an excellent location. Great services including restaurants. Highly recommend. Staff, hotel, and location means it was a highlight of our travels.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    As yet the rooms have not been upgraded to incorporate usb ports. Their restaurant (Pfistermuller) while good tries too hard to be 'fine dining' and charges accordingly - unfortunately it doesn't quite cut it.

    Regular visitors to this hotel over the past 20 years. Ideal location being in the middle of the City. Staff are always very pleasant and eager to please - reflects the fact it is family owned and managed. Rooms both facing the Courtyard and the street are quiet due to double glazing. The breakfast is always fully stocked and replenished with a great variety on offer.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast was not included and was very expensive

    very central to lots of tourist attractions and close to but not too close to train station and airport

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found the heating of the hotel too warm. I wanted to open the window for fresh air but the street was very noisy. The air conditioning did not work.

    Perfect location, friendly and helpful staff. A beautifully decorated hotel which created a wonderful Christmas atmosphere! The breakfast was superb - with raw juices, wonderful selection of tea's and off course the champagne!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent loction- very close to Marienplazl, Hofbräuhaus is just a minute walk distance. Exceptionaly helful staff, very comfortable beds, generous breakfast. Despite the fact that our room was with street view thre wasn't noisy at nighttime. Both restaurants are very good with a great choice of delicious food and beverages

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Location 2 minutes walk from main square and city centre. Very comfortable rooms with very good facilities. Staff knowledgeable, courteous and friendly. Breakfast has great variety of choice. Beds very comfortable, pillows and mattress excellent. Courtyard facing rooms very quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only downside is that it is located near the Hofbrauhaus, which can create street noise in the area. One other recommendation is that they could use more power outlets in the rooms for all of our electronics!

    This hotel was the best hotel we stayed in during our 8 day trip throughout Bavaria/Salzburg/Switzerland. The rooms were in keeping with the quality of a five star hotel and the service was top notch. This hotel has a great location right near Marienplatz and all the shops, restaurants, sights in that area. We took a train from the Munich airport and it was an easy five minute walk with our luggage to the hotel. Get off at the Marienplatz station to get there. The breakfast was superb with lots of options, even for my vegetarian daughter. Huge selection of breads, cereals, fruit, yogurts, meats, eggs - and the largest selection of gourmet teas I have ever seen on a breakfast buffet. Also, their more casual restaurant, Ayinger's, has really great Bavarian food options, beers, wines and great service. Much better food than the other touristy restaurants in the area and very reasonably priced. Only downside to the hotel is that it is near the Hofbrauhaus, and there can be shouting, singing people who have had too much to drink, which can be annoying if you are trying to sleep. However, this does not go on forever, and it did not ruin our stay in any way. To me, the price of the hotel was worth the money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was a little pricey and good. No complaints--just a bit expensive vs. walking out on the local economy and getting as good/better breakfast for less money. We ended up having breakfast 1 of 2 days--that was about right!

    The location was superior! We had a second floor room with window view of the Hofbrauhof. The room was quiet, linen was fantastic, and staff was so helpful & friendly! This hotel is a home run. You can't beat great shower water pressure in Germany too! Parking was included and prompt getting our car with a well deserved tip to the staff. The paid breakfast was good--you can venture locally and get great german pastries and breads and save some money if you are adventurous. We will stay here again..wonderful!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was fine. Very centrally located. Nice rooms. Lovely staff. No issues at all. However, the Pfistermüle Restaurant on Christmas Eve was not good. (Basically overbooked, I would say.)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    €70 Taxi ride from the airport - catching the train with luggage was not easy, so the cost for a taxi if a single person is a lot

    Excellent location for the Christmas markets and very easy from the main station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Platzl Hotel was perfect for a three day trip to the Munich Christmas markets. The hotel was beautifully decorated, the staff very friendly, location perfect and the breakfast was delicious! Highly recommend!

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Platzl Hotel - Superior traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: