Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Hotel Plaza Magdeburg This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Halberstädter Straße 146 - 150, 39112 Magdeburg, Germany

#21 of 28 hotels in Magdeburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 802 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    6.3
    September 2017
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attitude of the lady at the reception who demanded to have any extras paid straight away (2euros!) when they had an unlimited withdraw availability on my credit card. Old rooms and very old bedding. Not at the level of a 4 stars hotel.

    The guy that checked me in at the reception was so helpful.cleaning regular and well done.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    5.8
    Breakfast was decent, cheapest price in Magdeburg for this...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very hot and lacking air when we arrived and due to the traffic noise, we were unable to keep the windows open. Rooms (especially carpets) looking very "tired".

    Breakfast was decent, cheapest price in Magdeburg for this night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    4.2
    Confortable, calm hotel not far City center
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    During my 2 nights stay, the WI-FI did not work

    Spacious inner yard good for children The Tram stop going to the center is located in front of the hotel. Center can be reached in 10 min

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    3.3
    Breakfast is tolerable.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost everything. I dislike their attitude, and the bathroom smells awful and really dirty. But when I asked them for house keeping at 6 pm, they said there's no house keeping then. Then I clean the toilet by myself. Location is bad. Wifi totally doesn't work.

    Breakfast is tolerable. And you can get some gummy in the room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    9.2
    The bar carried an excellent lokal beer.
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no menue on display for the dinning room. The only announcment for the dinning room was on a chalkbord with 3 selection which didn't excite me at all. We therefor went around the corner to a lokal restaurant.

    The bar carried an excellent lokal beer.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    7.9
    Safe underground car park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Safe underground car park. Nice secluded courtyard area for drinks and meals including breakfast. Room of a good if a little ordinary standard. Breakfast had good choices and staff helpfull. Trams ran past hotel so good position for exploring.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    7.5
    Great location, excellent service, and affordable.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillows were uncomfortable and no air conditioning nor fans as it was a hot day of 30 grad.

    Affordable pricing, large spacious rooms, excellent service and very good food at the hotel restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    8.3
    Quiet place
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room with Street View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    air conditionning and mini-bar in the room could be a plus

    cleanliness spacious double room large and clean bathroom including all accessories (hair dryer and others stuff) very pleasant and helpful staff efficient wifi and numerous TV channels free parking Quiet place

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    8.3
    Plaisant & Quiet Hotel
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location a little bit far from the center (cons), in contrary, calm district (pro)

    rooms and bathroom really spacious and comfortable cleanliness Really helpful and pleasant staff Media equipments (Wifi) and TV with a lot of channels available Breakfast Quiet interior garden for having a drink or dinner

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    8.3
    Business stile hotel
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast - Omlet must be ordered- not served on the common breakfast table, it is took time while You recieve it, from vegetables just tomato and cucumbers

    Friendly restaurant staff. Good equiped bathroom, however hairdryer did not worked. Breakfast - wide selection of sausages and cheeses.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    8.8
    Great hotel no wifi or bad wifi
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi

    Lovely place to stay , but unfortunately due to very bad wifi was unable to work from the hotel , so ended up costing me to use my own personal data , wifi is a must for me when I'm working away so advitising free wifi should mean it works !!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    5.0
    You get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Street View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed there for 23 days. Church in front of the hotel rings its bells every hour. Staff don't speak English. Very bad internet connection despite numerous times I complained about it. Rooms are very hot and no optional fans.

    Some of the staff were friendly. Relatively cheap prices. Rooms are clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.8
    Really friendly staff and a very quiet hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really friendly staff and a very quiet hotel. Great for a short stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    5.4
    Restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.2
    Very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Tram station just 2 minutes walking from the hotel’ good parking area outside the hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    7.9
    Friendly staff and good location for traveling with car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff and good location for traveling with car.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Very nice place.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice place. Lovely and helpful stuff. Would recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    4.2
    It was really bad experince staying hotel plaza.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was really bad experince staying hotel plaza.i never been to 4 star hotel with such a bad faclities no tea cofee in room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    5.4
    never again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the staff were extremely rude

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    8.8
    Breakfast buffet
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    10
    I stayed here
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    Staff were very polite, accommodating, and friendly. Hotel was very clean and well-kept.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    5.0
    Too many extras charged (for kids) - in total, better...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too many extras charged (for kids) - in total, better quality of hotel could be purchased in center location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    8.8
    good value hotel short stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    free parking complimentary Sauna Large room and bathroom

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    7.1
    My bed and bedsheets werent long enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    My bed and bedsheets werent long enough.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    8.8
    Confy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brealfast, Location, Stuff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    5.8
    I've been to better hotels
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to change room no internet served my side dish for main meal after I had dessert was told they had forgot it Parking very limited

    Easy to find

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    9.6
    Holiday with dancing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit of noise at night from the restaurant.

    Staff was very kindly. Equipment tasteful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    9.6
    Very nice place and location, all clean and breakfest was so...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice place and location, all clean and breakfest was so good!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    9.6
    Very good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was a little bit noisy

    1. Nice staff 2. Nice room 3 Good breakfest

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    6.7
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poorly ventilated rooms, uncomfortably hot.

    Good location. Plenty of parking space.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    5.8
    The restaurant was good with local, traditional German food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Smelly place, old carpets, not in good condition. Having windows open the whole night I got still blocked nose from the unhygienic air. Waitress does not use gloves for buffet preparation if nobody has yet entered the breakfast area, once some guests appear they start using cloves for show...

    The restaurant was good with local, traditional German food. Good check- in.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    5.4
    Wifi was shocking and as away on business we needed to have...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Wifi was shocking and as away on business we needed to have wifi. This meant that anything good about the hotel was over shadowed as wifi is a must when away on business

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    5.0
    Overall it was a horrible experience =>
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a). Overall: When we arrived at the hotel, looks like the staff could not find our reservation. 'Looks like', because they were searching it for around 10 minutes, talking to each other in German. After that they gave us a key and Informed(!), that it is a smoking room, since it is the last room in the hotel. It was almost midnight, and we were tired after a long drive, staying there in the hall with a lot of luggage and waiting how they are searching and imagining, what they are talking about. The mistakes can happen, either from booking.com side, or from the hotel side. This is understandable. But: smoking room for non-smoking people means, that the next day all their clothes will stink with the smell of cigarettes, and that they will get up with a headache because of the smell in the room. And we did not hear any excuse from them, not a polite word even, no explanation at all of what is happening. I ma not talking about discounts.free breakfast / whatever. Just an excuse, a suggestion to sit down. Is it a 4 star hotel!!!??? Will never suggest this hotel to anybody. b). Hotel location: we did not care about the location, because it was (at least was expected) a sleeping place in between the driving. So I just rated it blindly as good. Free parking is indeed available. c). The room is nice, cute and clean and the bathroom is very very nice (with a tube). If not point a), it would be a nice experience to stay in this hotel.

    Overall it was a horrible experience => put everything in 'did not like' part.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    9.6
    very clean, helpful staff and very comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very clean, helpful staff and very comfortable bed I was a bit disappointed with the breakfast as the selection of food was limited (price - 13 euros)

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    7.9
    Suitable for business trips.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast wasnt too well-rounded but enough for get belly full.

    Suitable for business trips. Quit to sleep, no hippies to keep up all night. Clean and simple with history and sights around. I liked a very much.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    5.8
    Very good breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had a streetview room and because of a lack of air conditioning I didn't have any sleep.

    Very good breakfast! Unfortunately they don't serve gluten free.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    9.2
    + Price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    - Wi-Fi doesn't worked all night - No breakfast - Hotel parking cost 12 euro (or free on the street)

    + Price + Clean + Rooms I can recommended this hotel. Really good quality/price.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    6.7
    The shower was good but hardly no water pressure from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower was good but hardly no water pressure from the shower head. The breakfast was okay a nice buffet but the food was cold and drying out because they did not cover it and keep it warm.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    6.3
    free WIFI, quick check in&out
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    poor breakfest bad access to parking shower bath with plastic curtain(like raincoat) confirmed non-smoker room but free was room for smoker only

    free WIFI, quick check in&out

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    9.6
    Spacious room, free parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    To find the free parking you need to drive around the block.

    Spacious room, free parking. Breakfast was not included in my rate, but it was well worth the money.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    6.3
    So-called free Wi-Fi was not available in my room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    So-called free Wi-Fi was not available in my room. I had to sit in the corridor to work. Also, Free car parking is in another street, I did not check. The car park in the same building costs 12 EUR per night.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    7.1
    Room is comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi connection not stable

    Room is comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    9.6
    Very good!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Smeel, but I'm smoker and smokers room, me is no problem:D

    Very good! I'm happy! :))

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    7.1
    Good breafast, Good service and information Support.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Good breafast, Good service and information Support.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    7.1
    Apart from Wifi problems in the room no major complaints
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Apart from Wifi problems in the room no major complaints

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    10
    Extremly friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Extremly friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    6.7
    Cheap in reference to the rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little bit old Far away

    Cheap in reference to the rest No issues with parking

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    9.2
    Good hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Underground parking quite expensive.

    Good hotel.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    9.6
    Horrible Wifi-reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Horrible Wifi-reception.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    7.9
    Cheap and practical!
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom could be cleaner!

    Cheap and practical!

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    9.2
    Good sauna, very good dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good sauna, very good dinner.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    6.7
    good bed, good location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    no ventilation in room. had to open window. toilet was cleaned with stinky rug.

    good bed, good location.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    7.1
    Hunderwasser house
    • Group

    Hunderwasser house

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    6.3
    Friendly Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A Lot of Noise from Traffic, No Air Conditioning, therefore Windows should stay open during Night

    Friendly Staff

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    7.1
    Breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Payment issues

    Breakfast Calm

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Browse Mercure Hotel Plaza Magdeburg traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: