Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Polo am ZOB This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Adenauerallee 7, St. Georg, 20097 Hamburg, Germany

#267 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3323 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    4.2
    Would not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area that the hotel is located in is not the best, although it is very close to main station. Very noisy streets at night, and received a room on the lower floor right at street level, which made it difficult to sleep.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    5.4
    Poor area which was expected near the central railway...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor area which was expected near the central railway station of Hamburg. To commute from here is easy to airport and other destinations. The room was quiet and calm and the reception 24/7 which was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.9
    Value hotel a bit rough around the edges.Breakfast was fine location great and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed (3 Persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife was a little uneasy walking down the street to get there.There are a lot of refugees in this street however I found it very safe and quite interesting the way it has been almost turned into a middle eastern market

    Location was great easy to find from the bus or rail

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    It was very conveniently located about a block from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything!

    It was very conveniently located about a block from the train station and across the street from a wonderful museum! Good breakfast and helpful staff!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.0
    Hamburg is a great city with lots to do but hotel was very disappointing after our hotels in Munich
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed (3 Persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poorly appointed rooms, no air conditioning, cigarette smoke from other rooms, poor breakfast - no fresh fruit or other healthy food, poor quality muesli. Location is very convenient for central station but seedy area with gangs of men hanging around.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Ideal place to stay in Hamburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything.

    Very welcoming & friendly staff. SO close to bus station & very handy to train station. Very comfortable & spacious room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    A nice hotel with a good breakfast and service-minded staff in the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv set could be larger and placed closer or on the other wall, facing the bed.

    Close to the railway and bus stations, the underground, interesting buildings. I asked for a quiet room and I got it. There is a large wardrobe. The bed was comfortable. The staff was friendly. The restaurant was large and the breakfast was good (not only cakes snd coffee).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff, value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location was rather noisey at times as on a main road and across from the main bus stop -

    The room was on ground floor as I had asked because mainly stairs in the building - it was a good size and comfortable and in a reasonable location - near to the Yellow line. Staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    4.2
    Average place to stay. Not recommended if you are going in summers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed (3 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning available. Not even portable fan was available at the hotel with temperature soaring. The lift is not available at the ground floor. Reception itself is at first floor. So carrying luggage is a problem. We were lucky to get balcony room. But most of the rooms don't have balconies.

    Staff at reception is good. They tried to help as much as they could.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.9
    The location is ideal for travelers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed (3 Persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All ok apart from room facilities. No teapot in the room.and no AC.

    The location is ideal for travelers. Close to Bus Stations and to Central train station. And the crew members are friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.1
    The room is quite big and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed (3 Persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi connection was not good... especially when you want to used in the room...

    The room is quite big and clean. Closing the main station and easygoing everywhere! Breakfast was also good!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    3.3
    Wasn’t a great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area around the hotel was totally depraved, we didn’t feel save there at all. Until late at night there were lots of drunk people on the street, we’ve seen drug addicts and it was very loud.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None at all!!!!

    PERFECT LOCATION!!!! Tourist bus stop, lake in 20min by feet, nice walking during 40-50 min and you are in harbor!!! Highly recommended hotel!!! Clean, friendly staff!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.8
    You can do a whole lot better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overhead lighting was pathetic; I literally had to use my smartphone flashlight to read. WiFi came and went, and was weak. It wasn't clear if you could even buy a bottle of water. The street it is on is shabby.

    Close to Hbf and U-bahn, high ceilings

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.5
    very good location, near the main railway station.
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was never cleaned for 2 days. Very small room, tiny bathroom, no wardrobe.

    very good location, near the main railway station. Good choice at the breakfest. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    Good centrally-located hotel for short business trip.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not enough lighting in room to work effectively.

    Large room which was nice for the space. Decent breakfast. Friendly staff. Everything correct. Good shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location, did the job for a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room seemed a bit tired, although generally clean. The breakfast was not what it could have been - in particular, the fruit was tasteless and the cereal bowls tiny. The location of power points in the room was workable but not as convenient as it could have been; to charge my phone by the bed, I had to unplug the bedside light.

    The staff were helpful and the location excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.1
    My son used the Hotel.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My son used the Hotel. He have quite good time there, The people speak spanish and was perfect for him. Small Hotel, but perfect for a young person like him.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    8.3
    Ok if you travel light and just for a few days
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a number of stair steps to get into the hotel and more to get to reception. No ramp so very difficult with luggage. Then there was an elevator to get to rooms. But arriving and leaving was really difficult. In the room the safe and electricity outlets were under the night table, on the floor. So you had to sit on the floor to use them There was no closet, no shelves, just two very small drawers and a clothes stand. I had to put my clothes on the desk. Bed quite uncomfortable. Mattress kept sliding off

    Breakfast was good. Location was great. Staff friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    7.1
    Close to train station but also in a ‘dodgy’ area of Hamburg...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to train station but also in a ‘dodgy’ area of Hamburg - was literally on the wrong side of the tracks. Hotel itself was good, clean and hospitable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly and helpful receptionist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area didn't feel all that safe at certain times. Breakfast could be a little fresher.

    Very friendly and helpful receptionist. Room was comfy, clean and a good size.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    If you're stopping in Hamburg for a short time this place is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is little to dislike. Though this isn't classed as a nice part of town, I didn't find it uncomfortable at all. There are people hanging around as the main train station is so close. I didn't try the breakfast so I cannot comment on this.

    Solid three star accommodation. It is right across the road from the main bus station and a two minute walk to the main train station. There are restaurants and theatres within a short walk. The location is great for people who spend less time in their room and more time out doing things in Hamburg.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    4.2
    Terrible hotel. Nasty service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rude, unwilling staff. We arrived at the hotel and ordered a cab for 2:30 am. When we got down to the reception, no cab was waiting for us. We asked for the reception man to please order another one for us, and he did not do so until we had to ask 3 TIMES! Plus, when the cab arrived, he didn't even help us with the very heavy luggage - preferred to smoke instead! Just watched as we struggled. HORRIBLE SERVICE. Do not stay there if you can avoid. It's not worth it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    6.3
    Hotel is just 1 km from townhall
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1 We booked the room with kid's bed. When we arrived there was no bed in the room. We informed the staff, they brought the bed. Bed, but no bed linen. We informed the staff and the brought the linen. Linen, but without sheets. And only after the third request we got everything. 2. When we came back in the evening of the second day of our stay, room was not cleaned, and towels were not changed. We needed to request the staff to change the towels. 3. There are minor slits in windows plastic frames. As result there was a draft near one window, and small puddle on the windowsill near another window (it was rainy weather) 4. Carpets definitely need to be cleaned.

    Hotel is just 1 km from townhall Staff is welcome (regardless of all issues)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    8.3
    Too much noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a ventilator on the roof, we had a room on third floor, and the ventilator made so much noise that you couldn't have the window open, and you couldn't sleep. Find another hotel.

    Good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    6.7
    A nice hotel in the worst street in a city full of surprises.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice place in the worst street. Dirty, neglected street. Photos of the interior were deceptive.

    Very central to train and bus. Staff friendly and helpful. Room spacious and comfortable. Breakfast extensive. Hamburg well worth the visit.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.8
    Very central location, clean and good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room looked out onto the main street so a lot of traffic noise. However, earplugs soon sorted that out.

    It is really close to the central station and easy to get to. Staff were helpful and friendly and speak good English. There was a good choice of foods for breakfast - something to suit everyone. Room was very clean and temperature controlable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    8.8
    Christmas markets on every turn!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was dismal.. cereal & toast. . No pastries , chopped fruit did not look appealing.. water should have been an option also! May not bé the best option for a weekend stay.. theRe seems to be a nightclub nearby which was really loud on Sunday night.. but nothing mon- wed

    Bed very comfy, super close to main trainstation, room was warm

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    5.8
    Big rooms, but not a lot of furniture in them.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed (3 Persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Building unexpectedly had a power-cut for about 4-hours just when I arrived in the evening. Was due to some problems with the buildings fuse-box. It was somewhat out of the hotel staffs control, but there was a lot of confusion about what to do and who to call (perhaps an electrician?). Was eventually fixed but could have been handled better.

    Big rooms, but not a lot of furniture in them. All amenities were there though. Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value for money and for location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress not as supportive as it could be. Building has a lift but first you need to climb about 10 steps before you get to the main floor.

    Excellent value for money. Breakfast was good. Brilliant location close to wonderfull shopping. Building has a lift.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    4.6
    good location, friendly staff but lousy hotel, would never stay there again!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed (3 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night

    room smelt bad! no mini bar, very few services, beds old, everything old and needs replacing or renovated.

    Room smelt bad! breakfast bad! old hotel in need of renovation

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    The staff at reception were friendly and welcoming.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The area immediately surrounding the hotel isn't the nicest but the hotel is located so close to the main train station that it is extremely easy to get a train/bus/metro to everywhere else in the city and beyond.

    The staff at reception were friendly and welcoming. The cleaning staff did a great job. Not only was everything very clean, but one morning, I left a t-shirt thrown over the chair when I went out, and when I came back in the afternoon, it had been neatly folded and left on my bed for me. I love that extra touch. The wi-fi was always strong and fast whenever I was in the hotel and my bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.9
    Nice place to stay for a short period of time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Wi-Fi connection is really bad! In some rooms it doesn't work at all. We asked to move to another room with better Wi-Fi connection and without any doubts we were given another room, but still it was far from perfect.

    The room was nice and clean, even rather spacious. The bahthroom was clean, as well as the towels. Small Haribo was given as a welcome gift. The breakfast is fine too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.5
    hotel had nice breakfast options and they were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there were no tea/coffee facilities in the room and the bed was dipping quite a lot on one side.

    hotel had nice breakfast options and they were very accommodating with the baby cot.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.5
    very close to the train station, good breakfast and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was a bit on the wrong side of the train station, so there were a few dodgy characters around, however, this didn't have an impact on our stay. if coming in a wheelchair or with a pram, there is no easy access up to the reception as there are a lot of stairs, otherwise there is a lift within the hotel itself.

    very close to the train station, good breakfast and very decent rooms. Easy access to the main shopping street and very easy to get to from the airport.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    5.4
    Great location, poor bedroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are given Room 507 ask for another room. Room was too hot (stayed end of October) and tiny velux window. Asked for a fan to be told they have none. Two very uncomfortable nights sleep. Pillows are so thin they are non existant.

    Location was good for central Hamburg, metro and bus station proximity

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    5.0
    Due to transport We arrived late and the hotel tried to...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Due to transport We arrived late and the hotel tried to charge the wrong account for the stay as they assumed we would not be arriving. No consideration at all and the should have waited until the following morning to charge us. Especially since we arrived within the check in time of 10pm!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    2.5
    Do not ever book this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was the worst hotel ever!!!!! The room had slanted ceilings. My husband couldn't stand up in two thirds of the room. He kept hitting his head. The neighborhood was terrible. We were afraid to go outside. We just sat in the room until it was time to leave the next day. And it was one of the most expensive hotels we stayed in during our entire 3 week travel through Europe. That rating you gave above of 2.5 is NOT my rating! I would give it 0.

    NOTHING!!!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.3
    It was clean, near the main train station, and restaurants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed (3 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was clean, near the main train station, and restaurants and bars were nearby. We stayed only one night, and did not have breakfast as we had a flight to catch.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    6.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was small and uncomfortable. No closet, no drawers in the room. When I made the booking the pictures of the room had a closet. On TV, only one English channel (CNN) and few hours per day BBC world.

    Good location. Close to ZOB and Hbf. Breakfast was just OK (nothing special)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    2.9
    A TOTAL DISASTER
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overpriced property, one night for more than 200 euros - and not breakfast included? At the same cost we rent a 5 star Marriott. Old and dirty furniture, no glass cups, almost no lighting in the room, tiny shower room (if one can only call it a "room"), a bad that is impossible to sleep on- you wake up with the back pain... Perhaps the hotel owners connected to the booking.com owners, pay them - to force the hostel to be included in the list among the other incomparable and much better properties. The worst experience I had ever in my life with the hotel stay.

    This is a HOSTEL, ZERO STARS, not three stars. I did like absolutely NOTHING about this property. If I could give NEGATIVE points- this would be the case. The area is full of refugees, emigrants, you just afraid to come back later on than 6 pm. One night for more than 200 euros - at the same cost we rent a 5 star Marriott just a week ago in Hamburg.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.1
    An enjoyable visit to Hamburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the surrounding area. uncomfortable pillows

    Central location although the area around the station is crowded and does not feel safe. very clean. Large, airy rooms. Very helpful staff. Quiet

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    3.8
    I am really sad to spend that money
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When i stepped by the hotel at noon on My Second day, i found my door wide open; not even closed, away from locked. Cleaners did not bother to close the door. Maybe may luggage would have been by the time i arrived. misspellig the to room's number resulted in reseptionist calling me "LIAR". non-smoking room was stinking like hell, it was definetely smoked in; smell lingered for days. there were small piles of dirt in shower cabin panels. wifi was so archaic, functioned as if it's 90's.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    6.7
    Shabby but not chic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are 8 or nine steep steps up from the street. The hotel is shabby; the air in the halls smells stale; only two hangers in the spacious closet; there were no drinking glasses or tissue; the sanitary bag holder was empty. The lighting in the bedroom was terrible - very high ceilings with what felt like 20 watt bulbs. The bedside lamps (from Ikea) were impossible to read by. The bathroom light was fine. The pillows were flat but that seems to be a northern German 'thing'. The walk from the train station to the hotel means passing through large numbers of drunks drinking - sleeping, begging at the station and more drunks and layabouts across from the station on Adenauerallee and the neighbouring street. There is a big tent set up for Black Lives Matter and it's a hang out all day and, I suspect, some sleep there. There is garbage. There is construction on the street with what looks like a sporadic work schedule. I was not afraid - no one ever said anything to me but it's the first impression of Hamburg I had and not a good one but then I discovered other parts of the city and realized it's that entire part of town that's unpleasant. That hotel could be the nicest in Hamburg and I still would not want to stay in that area again, i.e., Kirchenallee and that entire side of the train station. If I owned a hotel along there, I'd be having a word with the city about why they allow those people to mill about all day.

    The hotel is very close to the train station with access to public transit and across the street from the inter-city bus station. It's within walking distance of all the good shopping and the restaurants in Sankt Georg neighbourhood. My room was huge with a spacious hall between the bathroom and the room. It felt like another room. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.1
    Reasonable value but only good for one or two nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom. Toilet not working properly. It would have been helpful to know that there are steps up to reception. Small room in attic.

    Pleasant breakfast room and staff and good selection. Helpful receptionist. Reasonable value overall. Near railway station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.2
    Ideal hotel for a quick trip to Hamburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one pillow. Which was a little flat. Could have had spares. Neighbourhood is not the best.

    Clean room. Comfy bed. Breakfast was good the scrambled eggs especially. One minute walk from the main train station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel in a weird street
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is a bit weird. It's one block away from Hauptbanhof but the street in which it is located is just not great to look at: lots of people doing nothing on the street. I didn't feel unsafe but I did feel uneasy. There is also a refugee tent on the corner which didn't bother me because they have a big reason to be there. But that street is just not the best, for sure. If you walk towards Hauptbanhof and past it you will find a really nice walkable area.

    Breakfast was fine. Bedroom and bathroom were good. Staff was nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.5
    It was very good, specially the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed (3 Persons)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no good view to street in the room.

    The wifi was very good and also some of the reception staffs were very good and friendly. The room was clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    5.0
    A good location let down by cleanliness of the room.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower had mouldy grout in tiles. Room was on street and very noisy.

    Very good breakfast but advertised free but when room was booked was not included.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    6.3
    Staff could be more friendly and have some logic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I made this reservation for my fiancee who stayed there, I booked a single room for her, on the second day, I went back with her after 22:00 to the hotel as we were having a discussion and there was not where else to stay in any other cafes or in the street, the receptionist was telling me that I can stay only for 10 minutes and he was very rude, after a very long discussion he let me stay in the room with her until only midnight after me showing him that I have another reservation in another hotel, and that the room is very small for 2 people to be sleeping in and that we only needed to talk a bit as everything outside was closed and the neighborhood wasn't that comfy, many homeless people drinking and hanging around.

    The location was very close to the main central train station which was very convenient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Great, professional yet very friendly staff !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    one of the breakfast staff could not allow me to take hot water for an extra cup of tea, shortly after breakfast end time 10 a.m. One has to get comfortable with the occasional transmission through the floor, for the train.

    exceptional helpful, courteous and friendly and happy staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    2.9
    Dont stay there
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything should have been better

    It is by any measurement the worst hotel I have ever visited. Personel absolutely not helpful, very noise and room not clean. Completely overprized considering the level of this hotel which would have difficulties to be classed as merely a hostel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    4.2
    The hotels location is not in the best area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotels location is not in the best area. Staff was very little helpful. Didnt help us with the timetable for the trains or any other question We had.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    6.7
    Comfortable stay in average neighbourhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The neighbourhood in which the hotel is situated does not seem very safe and is filled with beggars/loiterers and homeless people sleeping on the street in the middle of the day. The breakfast was quite average with limited choice.

    Very central location with central station and city centre only a few minutes walk away. We were able to check in a bit earlier and could leave our bags at the hotel after checkout. Good wi-fi connection in our room on the second floor.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    5.0
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Moved from a double bed room because the window was broken and not safe at nearly street level. 2nd room was single bed. The shower was tiny and the curtain clung to you. The plug in the basin was too small so water drained off immediately. Mattress was very uncomfortable

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not that it was expected, but a kettle in the room as I am a tea addict, but there is a Mc Cafe just across the road from the hotel

    The location as it was very close to the main train station, also I opted for a quiet room and got one.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.2
    It was really nice to stay at Polo am ZOB!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air circulation sometime wasn't good because it was a bit warmer at night, even after the window is opened widely. The pillow isn't very fluffy.

    The bed is so comfy! The bathroom is clean! The breakfast is basic but totally acceptable. And it's very close with the public transportations. Overall it's matching with the value for money. Suitable for business/leisure trip for people that would stay in the room only for rest and you'll be recharged well for tomorrow's activities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    6.3
    Good location and breakfast. Need renovation to meet the hotel standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building and the room required renovation to meet today hotel standard. Need to carry the luggage to the first floor where is the reception and elevator.

    Good location, it is only 5 minute walks to the bus and train station. Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.9
    Hotel polo
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apart from the bed all reasonable The approach in the street is very dirty with lots of groups of men hanging around But once in the hotel I felt safe and pleasantly surprised by the good standard

    The bed was a little hard and the pillow too soft The bathroom was very clean The breakfasts were great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    3.8
    Near centrale station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Claim stair before the reception with awful smell of old unclean carpeted floors in hallways and in the bedroom Bedroom door looks also very old &dirty from bottom. Very small bathroom. Not 3star for us.

    Near centrale station

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    5.4
    The price was right.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an issue in that the shower door didn't close. The young woman at the desk offered us another room, but that one was much smaller, and we declined. Neither of those is a big deal, we aren't that particular. But here attitude was quite unpleasant throughout the exchange. The location, while handy close to the train station, had a bunch of men just hanging out outside, up and down the street, and were quite noisy up until 10:00 at night. Wifi was slow, sometimes non-existent.

    The price was right.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.8
    An ok place but pretty expensive booking
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even though I got it on a discount (according to Booking.com) the price was pretty steep paying € 89 for one night ... I tell myself that it might be cheaper next time if I book the room a month or more in advance. And the carpets were worn out here and there plus in my room.

    Best breakfast (and fair price) on my 14 day InterRail Trip.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.5
    Cheap, nice room close to the Hauptbahnhoff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was around the corner and in a tight, single lane access underground lot - it was hard to get in and out of and the light system in there wasn't very intuitive.

    The breakfast was good and similar to most other German hotels and the room was reasonably sized with an ok bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    3.8
    Noisy hotel, don't expect to sleep!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very hot and noisy. Could only open window a fraction. No air conditioner or fan! Noisy with road traffic even with window closed. Even though we had requested a quite room when booking. Only 3 coat hangers in wardrobe. Uncomfortable pillows Reception staff unfriendly Hotel wanted 50€ deposit for safe key! Staff unfriendly

    Bathroom good. Towels good. Breakfast good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    5.4
    Close to station , dodgy location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom floor was never cleaned during our stay, I think they just straightened up the bed and gave us fresh towels, no fridge no kettle or cups, this seems to be annoyingly standard in this part of Europe!

    Lovely large bed and beautiful large window that complement high cielings

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    8.8
    Would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed (3 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no complaints.

    5 minutes walk from the main railway station and directly across the street from the bus terminal, with connections to the subway. Very quite during the night. (We were in a room on the back of the building. Breakfast (included in the room price) was guide adequate, with a good variety of food . Check-in was quick, easy and efficient, as was check out.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    8.8
    A Good Hotel To Stay In
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Surrounding areas are not the most welcoming (looks like an immigrant area) but did not feel any threat walking around

    1. Close to Hamburg Hbf, about 5-8 minutes' walk and easy access to places of interest via underground trains (U-Bahn) 2. Fairly good number of restaurants in the immediate area/train station 3. Good buffet breakfast in a lovely dining room 4. Large room 5. Quiet environment 6. Discount store (Penny) on the street behind hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    7.1
    It is not the best hotel I have stayed at during my many...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. There was no fridge (and no kettle) in my room. 2. I was made to pay for the stay at check-in rather than check-out, which I did not expect. I therefore had to use my credit card and so ultimately paid more.

    It is not the best hotel I have stayed at during my many travels. But it is quite decent: clean and with good breakfasts. It lies in the middle of a vibrant and colorful next-to-the-railway-station neighborhood full of homeless people, peep show theatres and Turkish kebab shops. There is also a large improvised tent set up by African refugees near the hotel. But one's safety is never compromised. Plus witnessing this kind multiethnic commotion and polylingual buzz is, in my opinion, an experience to seek, not to avoid.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    4.6
    Might be better to take taxi to Train Station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed (3 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location did not feel safe in the hood!

    Location is right near the train station. We were taking a train in the morning so we wanted to be familiar with the station, tracks etc. The neighborhood is tropical of low end city location. Best we could do for dinner ---was McDonald's does that tell you something!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.6
    Business trip
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed (3 Persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a parking lot but you need to pay for it. The facilities inside room are rather old. But if you are on business trip or need a good location it doesn't matter

    Good hotel in the center of the city, near trainstation. Nice staff. Good breakfest.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    5.4
    I paid 245€ for the room which was exaggerated between 120 and 150€ would be appropriate.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a room at the frontside of the hotel, better insulation of the windows and the room would have helped a lot ( street noise and noise of other room with loud tele).

    One reception clerk did a good job, the other less. The good clerk was friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was ok and well priced.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel with helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit "unsafe" feeling of the area. But okay for a young and strong man like me.

    Very helpful staff. Answers all the questions about the city. If not sure, they double-check.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    9.6
    Value for money & enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As the hotel is situated close to the main train station and bus interchange, it is very busy at night, but also it can feel a little dodgy (although, there is little noise heard in hotel from outside). Nothing too much to worry about, but may be best not to venture out alone in the evenings, but this is to be expected with all cities near major train stations. However, the proximity to everything is fab, so as long as you're not daft going out in the dark on your own, it shouldn't be a problem.

    Staff were very helpful (English is widely spoken by staff at hotel too)& property is very clean. Breakfast was also delicious with a good selection to choose from. The hotel is situated around a 5 minute walk from main train st, Hauptbahnhof, and the ZOB bus interchange, so it is very convenient. Tourist bus tours leave from outside the station and the Kunsthalle is a 10minute walk away at max, which is well worth a visit if you like art! It takes around 15minutes to walk to the Rathaus (town hall), down the main shopping street, so that is also very close by.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    6.7
    Cheap, OK, Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed (3 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our stay was cheap. And the hotel reflected that. It was clean and suited us for a night away. Definitely not comfortable, but we didn't expect much. Best thing was - GREAT location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.6
    Nice place but the sausages didn't turn up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been better... a couple of sausages, fried eggs, bacon and beans would have been great. Otherwise, all good.

    A quiet little hotel, neat and tidy with a really friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Polo am ZOB traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: