Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Zum Schwarzen Ross This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Marktstrasse 10, 91161 Hilpoltstein, Germany

#7 of 7 hotels in Hilpoltstein

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 369 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 22

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was a bit narrow and the stairs are complicated, but my bag was carried, so everyting turned out fine.

    It's a nice place. A historical Inn in a very good location, right in the centre of Hipoltstein. The rooms are narrow but impecably clean and the owners are really frindly and helpful. Overall I liked it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms too hot and there wasn’t enough hot water in the mornings.

    Cosy inn with comfy beds. Good food in the restaurant- typical Bavarian hearty cooking And breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kitchen and restaurant closed earlier than stated on the website. We arrived at 20.30, thinking that the kitchen would be open until 21:00 and the restaurant until 22:00, as stated on the website. But on arrival we were told that the kitchen was actually already closed so we had to order by the speed of light. Our food came quick, and then at 21:00 the restaurant closed and we had to leave. Then the lights also went out in the hotel hall and all the staff left, so bringing in our suitcases from our car was a bit of a spooky thing to do. We were also left wishing for coffee and dessert and something to drink, which wasn't available. Going upstairs, we found out that one of the two double beds in our hotel room was broken (it had collapsed). Instead, a sofa bed was made up. Not only was this sleeping coach too small for our two teenage sons too sleep in together. It was also broken: one of the legs was missing, leaving the sofa bed slanted on one side. However, there was no one present to discuss this matter, so we had to lay one of our sons on another sofa with a sleeping bag we accidentally had with us in the car. When we mentioned the broken bed and the broken sofa bed the next day - not accusing at all, very polite - the lady at the front desk started to play the murdered innocence about the broken sofa bed. She kept asking what exactly was wrong with the bed, which we tried to explain over and over in our best German. She did not apologize or said she was sorry for the inconvenience, nor did she offer any compensation: we just had to pay the full pound. We mentioned one more time our surprise about the broken double bed, and only then did she say that unfortunately it had been broken the night before, and they had not had time to repair it. Isn’t it very strange and unfriendly and unprofessional that she did not report this to us on arrival?! We made a reservation for a room with two double beds, not for a room with 1 double bed and a (broken) sofa bed.

    Good breakfast, nice location in the middle of a charming village

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was excellent, rustic with original beams and full wood furniture but at the same time modern, with new and very clean bathroom. High quality, local food was served for breakfast. We had a great dinner, also with local ingredients and, of course, beer...

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a little English spoken but enough to get by

    Great spot! Fantastic restaurant downstairs! Nice place to explore nurnmberg from without bring in the city. Great value considering the cost of accommodation in the city.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was perfect

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice bier garten, good meals. A very good location in a lovely old town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi ... we must created new login after log out

    Awesome friendly staff, clean rooms, fantastic breakfast, verry good ktchen

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More fruits and vegetables can be included for breakfast. However, the breakfast was still good. That an idea for improvement.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lovely place to stop by for one night during a long trip

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    poor breakfast

    very nice place, old, cozy interior

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attic room was a bit hot despite small air on unit

    Lovely old building, great food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice Biergarten, but overall a bit outdated.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WI-fi was slow.

    Amazing atmosphere! Great people, good menu in the restaurant, nice and quiet town.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not all of the staff speaks English

    Very nice place

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The rooms are basic, but comfortable and clean. The Location is good, in the centre of the old town. Breakfast is included. Really good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Pillow coud be better.

    Old athmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very nice place!

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Not very friendly staff

    Very clean but hot

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    small room

    cleanness

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing's

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    bad wifi signal at the second floor

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 22

Guests also reviewed these properties: