Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Posthotel Ettal This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Kaiser-Ludwig-Platz 18, 82488 Ettal, Germany

#7 of 8 hotels in Ettal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 266 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    5.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    2.5
    Worst place ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where to start! The owner is the receptionist is the cleaner is the chef is everything. One person can’t run the hotel. I booked two rooms for myself and my family, the owner decided to give us two different rooms at different floors although the hotel was empty. She charged us for breakfast even when we already paid for it online. The breakfast was open for one hour only with very basic stuff and nothing heathy at all. The rooms are very dirty, the heating system doesn’t work, toilets are never washed properly and above all the towels are extremely dirt which you can’t use for cleaning the floor. This hotel is a scam and don’t even bother complaining to booking they will do nothing. Don’t waste your health and money in this place.

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    We immensely enjoyed our stay at the Posthotel Ettal and highly recommend it to everyone!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing could improve our fantastic experience!!

    The property is beautiful, well kept and convenient. Mrs. Fischer was simply the most gracious host we have ever known. We highly recommend this hotel and would return without question. The breakfast buffet was a treat each morning and the rooms, beds, patios were superb!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable stay, good access to Overammergau.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location with access to Oberammergau. Enjoyed the walk across the street to the church, and locale restaurant. Rooms were fine, security was good. Comfortable, and some good character.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    3.8
    All of our hotels in Germany were great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Check in time was 4:00pm. Hotel operator was nowhere to be found. Had to call booking.com who called owner. Was on the phone 10 minutes and will now have to pay international phone charges. She showed up after 5 and expected me to understand a note on a decorative stand written in German stating that she wouldn't be back until after 5. 2. No heat. We froze all night & had to sleep in clothes. 3. Bathroom so small you couldn't bend over sink without opening the door. 4. No accessible outlets next to bed for CPAP 5. Lumpy ticks and pillows

    Only the location was good - nothing else

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    2.5
    NOTHING!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOTHING! The woman who helped us was racist. Treated us poorly because we didn't speak perfect German, although we tried to speak German from the start , our German is broken. The heating didn't work. There was trash in our room when we arrived. There was a slug in the sink. The internet did not exist. The light next to the sofa (seating area didn't work either). I mentioned about the heat and the internet to her because of my children, asking if she could fix it, but she suggested we leave. This is hands down the worst place I've ever stayed. NOT WORTH IT!

    NOTHING! The woman who helped us was racist. Treated us poorly because we didn't speak perfect German, although we tried to speak German from the start , our German is broken. The heating didn't work. There was trash in our room when we arrived. There was a slug in the sink. The internet did not exist. The light next to the sofa (seating area didn't work either). I mentioned about the heat and the internet to her because of my children, asking if she could fix it, but she suggested we leave. This is hands down the worst place I've ever stayed. NOT WORTH IT!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    3.8
    The worst experience ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was reserved for 3 adults and 2 children ages 5 and 18 mos. we were questioned who was the third person as soon we checked in. It was my self, my son, his wife and two of my grandchildren the ages stated above. The hotel keeper lady was rudely questioned my son's presence made me explain to her that the booking was clearly stated the persons be lodging. She was rude and that lasted till the last day of our departure. There was king size looking two mattresses bed, normal German bed and the second bed was a love sit opened something looked like bed but it was and felt nothing like bed. Wires sticking out.,.. pretty much something was picked up of a junkyard offered to me since I let my son and wife sleep with the baby on the big bed. I slept in this wire sticking out bed three nights since there is no other option. The rooms was not kept up properly the three days we were there. She was the only staff there made it very hard to reach to ask if there was any needed situation. I hated it but our vacation with my kids was important. We tried our best that this horrible accomadation to ruin our time. Sir/ma'am we have being booking rooms from Booking com many years and very frequently and this is first time I ever had a complaint.

    The hotel was located walking distance to other food and gift shop.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    6.3
    Would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff barely checked us in and didn't offer any additional tourist info. She gave us the key and a form to complete then walked away before we completed the form. In the morning she asked my husband what he was doing in the breakfast room and if he was a guest in the hotel. Very rude and dismissive. (Although, if you spoke fluent German she seemed chatty and nice.) The room and bathroom were SO SMALL. And the noise level was too much--neighbors next door and upstairs and the traffic on the road. Poor pillow selection, harder mattress than normal for Germany hotels.

    Good location in town that had easy access to surrounding outdoor activities. Very small but quaint room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    9.2
    Great place to relax in and explore the area from
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking on site was limited so ended up on the street.

    Great view from the balcony. Opposite the monestary, and easy to walk around the village and clear routes to neighbouring towns and sights. Breakfast was yummy.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    6.3
    Nothing better than ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only six parking spaces (six rooms on my floor alone) so you're parallel parking on the main road/highway through town. Wifi is so slow that I disconnected to use phone data just to get a weather page to load faster than 10 minutes (no exaggeration), so don't expect to upload your travel pics. Typical German place with no air flow, so you sleep with the door open, as are all you neighbors, with no privacy between the rooms like the half wood wall you usually find. Shower was ankle-deep by the time you're done. We put the extra blankets under our pillows to try and make them as unflat as possible. Checkin and breakfast/checkout are a max of two hours each - so you adjust your travel plans to accommodate the hotel. No typical tourist or lodging info was offered at checkin nor in the room. Had to go back and ask what time breakfast was and for the wifi password. Again, all fine. Nothing horrible - but nothing extra nice or great to make up for it being just ok.

    All was just fine/ok with nothing to make up for the bare minimum. Breakfast is ok. Room ok. Service ok. Good place to base yourself out of for Linderhof, Garmisch and Oberammergau.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location, all the sights can be reached in 5 minutes
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, all the sights can be reached in 5 minutes

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel charged extra for baby beds and charged seperate cash for city tax which was already included in fare

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    This was my second stay at this hotel, and I plan to return in a couple of years.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All good. No negative comment.

    The location is perfect, with views over the monastery and within reach of the hourly bells.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    4.6
    The lady had no time for us because she was telefoning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady had no time for us because she was telefoning

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful place to stay in southern Germany. Close to many places to visit. Small German gasthaus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Mrs. Fischer is a wonderful host. Easy to talk to. Very helpful. If we return to Germany, I guarantee this is the place we will stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Great location and value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drain in the shower was very slow

    Comfortable and clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Great town, central to most attractions in Bavarian Alps. Owner was very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location, breakfast was very nice. Beds very comfy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.1
    Very nicely maintained hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nicely maintained hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    5.4
    Nice plain place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice plain place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    Close to Garmisch-Partenkirchen and several attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee or fridge in the room.

    Close to Garmisch-Partenkirchen and several attractions. Large and very nice rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    8.3
    The beds were very comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were very comfortable!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    10
    TOP OF HOTEL IN GERMANY
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Misses Fischer SUPER COOL 😎

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    10
    Enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming hotel with spacious comfortable room. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    10
    Ideal base
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location and facilities are super. A quiet restful place just close enough to the biggies (Oberammergau, Linderhof, Garmisch).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    3.8
    Not what it says on the tin
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attic room and having to sleep on the floor

    Area

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    8.3
    The lady that runs the place was really nice and hospitable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was a little hard but I guess that is common in Germany. Internet was a little slow but you are in a tiny town.

    The lady that runs the place was really nice and hospitable. The breakfast was continental and had a nice enough variety.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    8.8
    Breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Renew some of the stuff in shower. Even if we usually didn't watch TV on vocation we noticed old CRT taking a l lot of place in room.

    Breakfast was great. Staff was helpful even when we were running late to check-in.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    10
    We found this property every well suited to our need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We found this property every well suited to our need. The rooms were clean & comfortable. Each morning we had a wonderful continental breakfast served to us in the beautiful breakfast area. The host family was very friendly & answered any questions we had about travel times, directions, & special attractions in the area. We also enjoyed the free Wi-Fi provided This hotel is located directly across from the abbey in Etall. There were a number of small restaurants within walking distance from the hotel. The location was perfect for the many day trips we had planned.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    7.1
    Breakfeast was good, the room is big
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We arrived late (unknowing that the latest check in time is only 6 PM), the lady did not leave a (phone) message , and in a very unfriendly way first she did not want give our reserved room.

    Breakfeast was good, the room is big

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    9.6
    Location is just accross from Ettal Monastery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    This is a quick stop hotel in the late evening. There is not much to see at this location. Close landmarks are Linderhof Palace and Ettal Monastery.

    Location is just accross from Ettal Monastery. Great location.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    9.2
    Location, staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Me and my husband had separeted beds. It is ok, but was too small - widely! Pity!!

    Location, staff! I forgot my wallet in reception desk and nice lady in reception, save it for me and gave me the wallet with all money, cards and dokuments! Thank s again!! :))

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    7.5
    Kloster Ettal is just on the other side of the road and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked a "superior room with a view" and got a dark room without a view. It was absolutely nothing like the picture.

    Kloster Ettal is just on the other side of the road and there is a good restaurant down the road - at hotel Ludvig der Bayer.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    5.0
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    noisy - you can hear everything through the door difficult to find staff = owners if you need something, not very customer oriented approach the cleaning lady wakes you up every morning by strongly knocking the door (no sign to be putted on the door which would protect us from that) early check-out one of our two rooms was very cold even with the heating on maximum small parking place in front of the hotel (always occupied) incrustation without ironing (hygiene :-()

    location

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    10
    Our hostess was very pleasant and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our hostess was very pleasant and welcoming. Everything was spotless, breakfast was lovely.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    7.5
    Lovely little town, this hotel was close to restaurants and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely little town, this hotel was close to restaurants and monastery.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    9.6
    Really lovely building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cramped parking...but that can't be avoided! No complaint!

    Really lovely building. Great location. Wonderful breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    9.6
    Poor wifi signal, no credit card acceptance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor wifi signal, no credit card acceptance

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    5.4
    Wireless or extremely slow or did not work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wireless or extremely slow or did not work. Small parking lot. Cancellations will cost you 90% of the hotel price.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    8.3
    Very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi in rooms

    Very friendly

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Guests also reviewed these properties: