Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of PP Pension Potsdam This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Tieckstraße 4, 14469 Potsdam, Germany

#9 of 20 B&Bs and Inns in Potsdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 495 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel, very clean, excellent breakfast and only 10 minute walk to city.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Onsite parking was good but at 20€ a day it is very expensive.

    Excellent choice at breakfast. Bedroom was very large, bigger than expected with large sofa.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.8
    A house with a specific atmosphere and excellent breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is no lift (and no warning at the description on booking.com). The room had no wardrobe, the bedside lamp did not function. The internet connection often failed. The bathroom was spacious, unfortunately not very clean, the shower had just very tiny stream of water (sometimes not very warm). It was also a little bit cold in the room, when the weather worsened.

    Excellent breakfast (I travel a lot, but the breakfast was one of the best I have ever had: fruits, vegetables, cheese and ham of high quality, even sect and strawberries were on disposal :-)). Near the centre - in a quiet and safe neighbourhood, within walking distance, the bus stop round the corner, the famous Park Sanssouci reachable within several minutes. Everything green, fresh air. The house has its atmosphere, I also liked the small garden with seating facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a classical room. Check in was super fast, the lady who greeted us was friendly and kind and the property was absolutelly astonishing, me and my partner were really happy with our choice. We were then informed that we couldn't pay with a card, because there was a problem with the machine and were requested to pay next day by cash. No big deal. On my booking I informed that it was an special occasion and then we got a beautiful bedroom with a huge postbed. Bedroom was heated and some fruits, chocolates and a bottle of water were offered for free. Bathroom was big and spotless clean. We were happy until we figure out that the bed slat was broken. Since the bed had 2 mattresses instead of a double mattress and an improvised piece of wood was pinned at the middle of the broken slat to give it some stability, the matresses were not levelled, making it absolutelly uncomfortable to sleep on that bed. Even, we could't move, because of the cracking noises. It was obvious that the management was aware of the problem, since we found some cardboard between the bedframe and the slat, as an attempt to fix the noise. We figure this out a couple of hours after our arrival, but couldn't find anyone to come to assist us, since there's no reception and we were given no info about how to contact the staff id they're not around. Wifi didn't worked as well. The breakfast was good, but at 9.30am there was no more reposition (breakfast ended at 10.30am). At check out, no questions about our stay, no taxi offer. We paid over a €100 for a night and unfortunately it wasn't a good value for money.

    Bedroom was big and spotless clean. Very good location. Breakfast was good, omelets and eggs cooked by request.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.1
    At the given price, including the favorable location was a good deal.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness in the bathroom could be improved. There’s no option of “don’t disturb”. The heating wasn’t working at full and one of the heating bodys was actually cold, even when opened at max.

    The pension has no reception and also no personell after 4:00 p.m. nevertheless at a late arrival getting the key and accessing the room works flawless. Also the in- and outdriving to the parking lot works without problems. There is free wifi in the building. The breakfast is really rich and tasty with a wide range of fruits.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    6.7
    Not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lady who runs the Pension is very unfriendly. Room in the basement, mouldy grout between bathroom tiles, outlets hanging halfway out of the wall, bed lattice either damaged or so old that it doesn't provide any support any longer. Little brochure claims willingness to help with any request, however our request to change the room after the first night was rudely met with a "No!" without even a second of consideration. Same with our request for a simple water boiler, except there the gruff "No!" was first followed by "Because we don't have any!" and then that suddenly changed to "They're not allowed because they're a fire hazard!" A bit odd considering two of our previous hotels offered them without the need for a request... WiFi worked, but barely. Signal sometimes cut out, and bandwidth was severely limited the whole time.

    Good location, right across from Sans Soucis, and with a bus stop within one-minute walking distance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    You won't easily find a Pension with such nice breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed and sofas are a bit noisy as they have springs. But they are comfortable. The password for the internet (wi-fi) written in the welcome papers inside the room did not work. As it was late at night when we wanted to use it and we were there for only one overnight, we have just decided to not bother claiming for it. If you want internet immediately, remember to check it as soon as you check in.

    We had two rooms. The double room was huge. The single room were standard size like in normal hotels. Both had nice decoration reminding old times. Bathrooms and rooms were clean. The house has no lift and to carry heavy luggages upstairs can be hard. Fortunately the stairs are wide. The highlight is the breakfast, very traditional with many options and the breakfast room is simply a charm. The staff were very friendly and the location, near Sanssouci Palace and Park, is very attractive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    6.3
    Style over substance but great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An unfortunate and avoidable misunderstanding left us waiting on the street. I'm afraid the misunderstanding continued and our check-in was fraught (booking.com helpline was great). Once the misunderstanding was cleared up, we were shown to our very grand room with impressive antique furniture. The mattress was as old as the bed though and very uncomfortable with the metal springs coming through. En-suite was fine but not well installed/maintained (broken door handle, dodgy shower door seal, broken bin).

    Breakfast was an impressive spread and the location was great. Some basics could do with some attention though.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.5
    The breakfast was lovely, the rolls and amount of fruit was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On arrival, there were a few hairs in our bedroom. The mattresses were very uncomfortable. Our room was in the basement underneath the kitchen so we got woken up at around 7am both nights by stomping around in the kitchen as the ceilings were very thin.

    The breakfast was lovely, the rolls and amount of fruit was great. The room was spacious and the owner of the bed&breakfast was very helpful. The hotel was in a good location with easy walking distance to Potsdam Centre.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    7.5
    Great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was a basement room with one small window giving poor natural light. My soft mattress was enclosed in a wooden frame making it very difficult to get out of the bed.

    The breakfast selection was outstanding and beautifully presented.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    10
    Hidden gem in Potsdam
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely traditional house in an area of Very welcoming staff. Excellent choice of fruits, meats and breads at breakfast. Very close to Potsdam town centre. Safe parking available.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    7.5
    Great location, quiet well run hotel, fab breakfast.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed too springy for me, so put mattress on floor, so a very peaceful long nite's sleep' wardrobe top very dusty and some under bed, no english tv channels, no ketle in room.

    Fantastic well cooked breakfast with huge selections. Helpful staff especially to print boarding pass. very quiet location and lovely old house close to potsdam park and many amenities.Allowed check in half an hour early to leave rucksack.Good shower and nice hot water. warm room, black cat friend outside window, liked a stroke, calm easy atmosphere, good wifi.,Staff english very competent.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    10
    a gem on the border of the old center of Potsdam.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You have to like the superb 18th century furniture, persian rugs and wooden floors.

    the breakfast is in a league of its own, about ten different types of fruits even exotic ones, pension is nicely located just outside old center and quiet too. Staff very very friendly. a true find if you like 18th century furniture, i do.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    8.8
    A quiet location and an easy walk in to the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't book your parking through booking.com! We were offered free parking at 2 hotels who then couldn't refund us the money because we had reserved it.

    It was quiet and very comfortable. The rooms were enormous. Staff welcoming & efficient. Very good breakfast. Parking easy & secure. There is a bus stop and good bus route nearby.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    5.0
    Comfortable mattress, very good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old bathroom, not very clean carpets and under the bed (my ring fell and I noticed), carpets of the stairs were worn out, cold room

    Comfortable mattress, very good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    7.9
    awesom location, good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we had a room at the basement, which was fine and clean, but not too charming. furniture (in our basement room) wasn't as charming and antique like its shown on the picture. But bould have been in other rooms.

    great location, walking distance to most of the sights. so many different fruits at a hotel breakfast, all fresh and delicous.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.8
    Very good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very soft

    Very good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    Bad Wifi but quiet and great furniture
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very bad WIFI!!

    Quiet room, great furniture.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    One night stand close by Potsdam city center
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Calm location close to the city center. You feel like at home. Private parking place. Friendly staff. Very fresh breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful cute hotel in perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was awesome

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    7.9
    Great access to the city and surroundings & value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was cold.

    Fantastic breakfast. Kind personnel. Great parking lot. Near to the city and the castle of Sanssouci.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.3
    Breakfast was perfect!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No escalator while I stayed in the top floor.

    Breakfast was perfect! Great range of choices, made a excellent beginning of a day!! Thank you!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.5
    Historic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Historic House and furniture

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    Very beautiful room with antique furniture, friendly staff
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very beautiful room with antique furniture, friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    8.8
    excellent breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    mattress quality very poor

    excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    8.3
    Check walking distance. Nearer than we thought. A good base.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A minor detail really but the quality of the towels could be improved.

    Excellent breakfast for this star rating.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    5.4
    breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    8.8
    Great breakfast, nice old building, near old city.
    • Solo traveller

    Great breakfast, nice old building, near old city. I arrived at 7am after night train, the owner kindly allowed me to leave bags in room & collect key so I could return late from a conference.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    10
    Location of the facility was awesome keeping in mind our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No bad experiences...

    Location of the facility was awesome keeping in mind our plans of exploring Sanssouci Palace. The same goes for our Classic double room, it was like living in the past for a day! The breakfast was delicious with great choice of different food.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    5.0
    Breakfest
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The major disadvantage was the fact that central heating was off and with the room left open during the whole day by the cleaning service, the indoor temperature was as low as outdoor. Without central heating and no contact with the owner the room was extremely cold all night. Additionally, due to the need of change one single room was changed to double and I got a phone confirmation from the owner that it is not a problem because all their rooms are double. The only difference will be the price for one more breakfast. They also said that cannot send this confirmation by email and unfortunately during the check out we need to pay not only extra breakfast, which was already settled but also the extra charge for double room. In other words, differently that it was agreed by phone. We did reservation for the room by booking to get benefits from Genius discount and in fact we were latter obligated to pay regular fee of the hotel. If we would know this, we probably would make a reservation in different hotel. Summarizing, the problems with unreliable owners and lack of central heating make that it was one of the worst stays I ever had.

    Breakfest

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    9.2
    Excellent location, near the Sanssouci Palace and a bus stop.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    An iron and an ironing desk should be lent just when a customer asks for it.

    Excellent location, near the Sanssouci Palace and a bus stop. Great, very tasty breakfasts. Pleasant atmosphere. Quiet.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    8.8
    Pension is located close enough to all the main attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was a wedding on the day we have arrived so it was a bit noisy but not for too long so still managed to get a good night sleep.

    Pension is located close enough to all the main attractions. Room was good size and clean. Secure parking space. Breakfast was superb!

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    6.7
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The fact that we were not informed that a wedding party were booked into this quiet hotel and that there would be a disco until at least 1 am. Poor quality mattress

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    8.8
    very comrtable and quiet room with excellent beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nowhere to eat or have a drink in the evening

    very comrtable and quiet room with excellent beds extremely good breakfast perfect for sanssouci, but a bit off for visiting the town centre

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    7.9
    The location, being at walking distance from Sans Souci...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no staff around at all apart from breakfast time. All the information was in german, so it wasn't very helpful. I ended up going to the kitchen to boil some water to make us a tea and a coffee and never knew if I was allowed to do it.

    The location, being at walking distance from Sans Souci palace. The place is a nice old building with character.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    8.8
    Excellent breakfast with more than ten fresh fruit,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Large wardrobe, but only two hangers, no safe, dusty furniture and windows.

    Excellent breakfast with more than ten fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, whole wheat bread, good bed, good shower, functional bathroom lighting, large room, parking

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    9.6
    Great accommodation with real character and charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There is nothing I didn't like.

    Great accommodation with real character and charm. Utterly delightful. Although it was a little further out than I generally choose it is only a 15 min walk to the main street of the historic centre of Potsdam. It was easy to get a bus (#695) from the train station. Accom is a 10 min walk from Schloss Sansoucci. Room and bathroom were large (unusual for single travellers). The breakfast was one of the best I've ever had! Potsdam is so much prettier than I had expected and I highly recommend a visit to this charming little town and the lovely palaces.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    7.1
    The breakfast was great and the room was spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel was quite difficult to find, being hidden in a residential type area - there was also little confirmation that you were at the right address with no signs. There was no reception and you could only get hold of a staff member by ringing an intercom. The lady took me to my room and disappeared, without telling me when to check out or the wifi code. The staff were pretty hard to come by.

    The breakfast was great and the room was spacious. The bed was comfortable and they provided shampoo and shower gel.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    8.8
    Large rooms, clean, and recently refurbished.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location is a bit off-center and uphill. If you don't have a car, it takes a while to get to the center or the station. Ok you are a sport type, or need to be close to the castle.

    Large rooms, clean, and recently refurbished. Excellent breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff. Very good value for money. Silent.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    5.8
    Passing through, I wanted to reacquaint myself with Potsdam;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    See above.

    Passing through, I wanted to reacquaint myself with Potsdam; when I was young and it was in the east, I took a coach trip to Sanssouci from West Berlin; I'll never forget being dumped at the gates and then walking around that most beautiful and evocative palace. Now, Potsdam is quite posh around the palace area, Sanssouci is a massive tourist attraction, and this pension hides inside an imposing old mansion with massive doors and high ceilings, big rooms and surprising furniture. I never pay for parking usually but move on to the next offering, but in this case the cost of the room was very low with breakfast thrown in, so I was seduced by the location and positive reviews on this site, and coughed up the 8 euro. I wanted to take my car out in the evening, and the manager agreed I could, using the obviously new electronic gate thingy. But I should return by 9! I fear I don't find such a curfew for my transport acceptable, and not only when I am paying for the parking. In the room, no kettle or water or coffee, so be careful to bring your own liquids. Brilliantly quiet night. Then because I had been put alongside the kitchen and next to the breakfast room, and my room's door, though ancient and imposing neither fitted nor muffled noise, not only was I woken but the lack of feeling private was very marked. Others have spoken of the amazing breakfasts, well, it was okay for me and the coffee tasted of coffee, full marks there, but I wasn't impressed. You get what you pay for, fair enough, but the somewhat strained demeanour of the staff and a decided feeling of getting the bum's rush mean I won't ever darken those doors again. Damn uncomfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2015

    5.8
    Lots of fruit and vegetables for breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    First night the heating didn't work. Cold room and no hot water to shower. Second day the heating was on but no WiFi and still no hot water. Third day it all worked but then my trip was over. WiFi (when working) was 0.2Mbit/s = really slow.

    Lots of fruit and vegetables for breakfast. Spacy room with a good bed.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    9.2
    Location excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea or coffee making facilities

    Location excellent

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2015

    7.1
    Near the center
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No parking

    Near the center

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    7.5
    The location is perfect and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    it was cold in the room and the bed sheets were of the bad quality

    The location is perfect and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    5.4
    The breakfast was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No heating... it was really cold during the night and one of the chairs was dirty

    The breakfast was great

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    6.3
    Great breakfast even for RAW Vegan
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room, located at the same floor as dining room, was very cold and noisy. The Wi-Fi is absolutely unstable.

    Great breakfast even for RAW Vegan

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    10
    Location, breakfast, ambiance
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location, breakfast, ambiance

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    9.6
    It was quiet, clean, and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was quiet, clean, and comfortable. There was a good breakfast. It was easy to find.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    9.6
    Breakfast with plenty of fruits.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We expected one big siza bed, that were two single beds.

    Breakfast with plenty of fruits.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    9.2
    the people in charge are really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the people in charge are really nice. The breakfast is really good. The place is calm and nice. my best points to them.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    10
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    location breakfast facilities building staff everything was amazing!

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

Browse PP Pension Potsdam traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: