Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Prinzhotel Rothenburg This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

An der Hofstatt 3, 91541 Rothenburg ob der Tauber, Germany

#16 of 26 hotels in Rothenburg ob der Tauber

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 202 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Paid WiFi

    4.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was very hot in the hotel (room, corridors, restaurant for breakfast). Having the window widely open was necessary to cool the room (but easy solution to get rid of the heat).

    Very pleasant, helpful people working in the hotel. Modern hotel, spacious room. Very quiet, good for sleeping well. Good bathroom with well working hair dryer, nice soap and shower gel. Perfect breakfast with fresh bread, boiled and fried eggs, fruits, yoghurt, cheese, all kinds of tea etc. A nice place to come back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A sign over the front door to direct you to reception would be helpful Pushy mass of bussed in tourists frequently coming and going Bathroom air vent very dirty

    Staff and facilities

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have luckily found a parking spot right in front of the hotel but there weren't plenty, so better make sure with the reception before you arrive. Parking is for free during the night, fee has to be paid during the day (ca. 1,5Euro/hour) or daily pass at the reception. Despite the room was very nice and clean, shower was not so great. Flow of the water was very unstable, one second hot steam was coming out of the faucet, the next second ice cubes were coming out of it :D And also we at first heard some snoring from neighboring room, but nothing too bad!

    The hotel has the perfect location for exploring the city centre of Rothenburg. It is within the city walls and it is just about 10 minutes walk to the very city centre. Perfect stay especially for the Christmas Market. Room was very clean, bed comfortable and the breakfast was just SPLENDID! Great stay!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paid wifi is not reasonable with this price. I am travelling to many countires and cities and it is quite rare to see the hotel I have to pay for wifi. (Even restaurants, cafes and public spaces supply free wifi.) It should be free wifi as most of hotel these days. Including breakfast at the point of booking is much cheaper. We had to pay 16.50 Euro per person to include it at the check-in point.

    Location is good to look around a city and closes to parking lot.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is inside the walls, so you can walk to everything. The staff are very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the area. Would stay there again and highly recommend it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unlike the much more expensive hotels nearer the centre, this is a new building and lacks the romantic charm of the rest of the town. There are no storeage facilities for luggage on checkout day other than to leave bags in sight of the checkin desk.

    Just within the City walls it has parking outfront and nearby, and Rothenburg is small enough that it is only a short walk to the centre. It is functional and well appointed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was a bit difficult to find due to Google maps telling me that my "destination was on the right" yet I was lead to public parking lot P4. All I could see from there was the town wall, not the hotel itself which is on the other side of the wall. I relied on strangers who gave me their city map to find the place. The hotel is located on a very small street. From P4 it is a bit of a walk to get to there. I suppose one could park outside the hotel, take luggage to hotel and then drive around the wall to P4 or pay higher parking fees to be within the town wall closer to the hotel. I felt there were a few "hidden" costs (or at least I wasn't aware of them). Things like WiFi, parking, breakfast and small amenities, like tissues, that one comes to expect in a 4star hotel, were not available. Also no a/c which might be an issue for some in warm weather.

    Clean, centrally located, spacious, mini fridge

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a historical town - everyone in the town, not just the hotel is focused on taking your money as quick as possible. I wish it was not so in your face. We are trapped there, we are not going anyway. Slow down - we are going to spend money.

    Location excellent, good wifi, and mini bar

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Have to pay extra for mediocre WiFi (come-on it's the 21 century). We did not eat at the hotel since there are cheaper locations for breakfast and for 12,50 euro the Prinzhotel breakfast seemed expensive.

    Massive bathroom with a comfortable bath/shower space (much bigger then the standard corner shower in most European bathrooms).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a problem - too far from property. Wifi very unstable and slow. No airconditioning in middle of summer

    Loved the hotel facade and staff. They were all good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom sliding door was quite cumbersome to open/close.

    Very friendly staff - made special effort to acknowledge my birthday while there which was nice.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been included as it is in many European Hotels.

    Great location and very nice hotel. Our room was huge when compared to many hotel rooms you find in Europe.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    An extractor fan in the bathroom would have been helpful but this is a very minor gripe!

    Beds were comfortable and the shower had power and plenty of hot water. The location was very convenient for the main sites with parking close by at a fair price

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing special

    The best location and the comfortable room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Inside the wall!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast, great location - fantastic

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location and inside the wall. Close to the train station (5-8 minute walk). Room, WiFi, and Breakfast great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Modest breakfast. Required improvement.

    Excellent Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Receptionist was extremely helpful. Room very quiet. Location was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Inside and next to the wall, close to main square and major Rothenburg attractions, quiet location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi should be better.

    The location is excellent. You can park the car outside just 2 blocks away from the hotel. Beds were very confortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very stylish hotel considering that it's housed in an old building. Staff very warm & helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location inside old town. Clean and modern facilities

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Paid wifi is bogus and the breakfast was subpar.

    Location was great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    15€ pet charge seems a bit steep.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to sleep because of the noise from the courtyard.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    When I first walked in I could tell this was the place for me. It was clean and the decor was a soothing green with a good layout. I would recommend to anyone staying in the area.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wash cloths. Not a big deal but we have noticed in southern Germany, Bavaria, every hotel we stayed in didn't have these most essential of items.

    Quiet. Quiet. Quiet. Hotel is near the altstadt wall so you miss most of the noise from inconsiderate tourists who are too loud and or drink too much

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The description of the hotel made it sound like they had parking available for guests, which was not the case. We understand not having air conditioning, but they could have opened hallway windows once the sun went down to cool the upstairs off, the hot room made for poor sleeping conditions. Of the 4 different hotels we stayed at while on vacation in Germany, they were the only ones not offering free wifi for their guests.

    Being inside the walls of the city. The bar staff was extremely friendly.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    my intention was to stay in a 4-star hotel. While "booking.com" classifies it as such, this does in my opinion not meet with reality. As such, I will not recommend it.

    central location of the hotel within walking distance from the historic city center

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    There is no free WIFI. Even in restaurant. If you need internet to work you will pay. 12 EUR / 24 hours. Breakfast - nothing special...

    This hotel is OK, but just for sleeping.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking available on an evening outside the hotel and the staff were very friendly

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Welcoming staff. Clean big room. Lots of hot water. Good food.

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All hood

    Great location and vety comfortAble

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was EXTREMELY cold.

    Very cozy, nice, pretty,modern, comfortable hotel, right in the centre! Perfect to enjoy the views of the city centre.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Good location within easy walking distance of old city's town hall and square. Great breakfast buffet with excellent coffee.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The location was great & the staff was very friendly & accommodating.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent staff and great facilities.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is no free wifi. and Wifi is too expensive.

    location was perfect and parking was good. everything was clean.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cost of wifi

    Location in altstadt

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: