Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Centro Hotel Ayun 3 stars

Deutz-Muelheimer-Str. 184, Mülheim, 51063 Cologne, Germany

#214 of 223 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2601 hotel reviews

6.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6

  • Location

    6.4

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are photographs on the website showing very nice, updated rooms. Maybe if you stay in one of them your stay will be pleasant. We staying in a very run down room which needed updating. It advertised the rooms as soundproof. Very good, but it doesn’t help when a train shoots past just a few meters from your window.

    Underground parking if required costing €8 per day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Talked beforehand to the night Portier and asked for extending our check out because the phone doesn't seem to work since a few weeks (only for 1 hour). Suddenly the next morning the manager almost beats down our door and says with a really loud voice that we have to check out. Incompetent people work there.

    It's cheap for beeing near the center of the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom on the snug side

    The room was clean and tastefully decorated. The staff were amazing, nothing was too much trouble and they were extremely friendly. Great location for the Lanxess Arena

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had a hairdryer in my room however I wasn't able to use it because it was attached to the wall but no plug available. Also the hallways smelled of smoke even though smoking wasn't permitted in the building!

    The breakfast was lovely, with a lot of choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room very very very small as well as the beds to tiny My advice no one stay in ground floor it’s so noisy and people smoking out said so when you open the windows all the smile will come in the room

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ventilation in the room and in the bathroom. Many noisy guests, I had to wake up during the night to ask to be quiet (different groups). There was no telephone in the room to communicate with the lobby. Bad location.

    The bed is good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's was raining ☔️Thunderstorms⚡️⛈ I've asked in a email prior checking in if I you could stay and check out bit later as my flight was bit later during that evening. However they were overbooked, that was my only disappointment with this hotel.

    Nice breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very poor bathroom - shower unexpectedly hot and then icecold water - showerhead broken unkind and uninterested staff (except for 1 girl upon arrival) breakfast in complete chaos - constant empty foodplates - knives, forkes not present - large pile of dirty laundry in front of the breakfasthall - kitchen complete mess - serving staff in very bad mood ... expensive drinks in the bar - bartender totally not interested ,serving with earplugs listening to music

    coffee location near to fair hall

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ground level: No real windows, quite small, very noisy, some of the staff seem to be overburdened by simple tasks - like finding your reservation or showing you where your room is.

    Nice interior design. Close to the Dock.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really small room with two really small “beds”. The beds were uncomfortable, on wheels?, and I’m 185sm 95kg person, which constantly was going to fall down from the bed every single night. The bath was really small, with small sink that when you use it, you hit your head somewhere. The toilet pod was in the corner and when you sit on it, you touch the wall and the sink with your arms. The hotel was near the turkish nbrhood. We paid 450€ for three nights.

    The staff and the breakfast(9€ per morning additional payment) were great. The bath was small but clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was maybe too little. The view was really bad. Bathroom is also very little. Maybe they should add some of fascilities in the bathroom also, like a bigger cups for water and lotion for body.

    The stuff was really nice. The hotel is very near the center of Cologne. The room was very, very clean. Also in the near is local shop/market Lidl, which is very nice. * For party people, awsome place!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Showers were terrible, toilet was too small even for a normal person. Far away from public transportation (10-15 min walking distance). no telephone in the rooms. few channels (4 or 5) on TV. Not light enough.. No restaurant at the hotel nor near area... No refrigerator in the rooms.. No water (2.35 €).

    Very close the to Koeln Messe.. Internet was fast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in was a long time as they had to change my payment from pounds to euros after letting me pay in pounds. The hotel is not very central and is a tram and a train journey away from the main area and can be difficult to get to and from. Tram stop is about a 10 minute walk away as well so can take 45-mins to and hour to get to the central area. If you get a taxi it will cost 10-15 euros a journey, so if you add these up over the weekend better of paying a little more for a hotel in a better location.

    Modern room, clean in room and hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    List of unpleasant things unfortunately long: 1) size of the DBL room - tiny - demand for two single beds - in reality there was 20cm space between the beds (ask for room on floor 2 - they might be better) 2) wardrobes or shelves - not sufficient. one small wardrobe with 3 hangers! for two ladies for 5 days trade fair - impossible. when you want to leave belongings in suitcases - there was no space on the floor for it. 3) TV not working (after urgencies, the receptionist came and after 15 minutes tryings, fixed it) 4) hotel located right next to a busy street and next to a rail road. We were unlucky to get the room with railway view and some asphalt plato. Fair to admit that from the other side residental area. 5) towels changed every day. why?! they were not on the floor, just hung somewhere... what a wasting! (at the same time the environmental awareness stickers in the bathroom..) 6) one receptionist (Spanish?) didn´t speak enough English - complicated negotiations about invoice 7) I had sent them question via Booking before my arrival - no reply till now 8) no fridge in room 9) every noise from the corridor nicely hearable.. 10) except for LIDL 2 block away, no restaurants and cafes in the neighborhood It resembled the hotels in Paris - tiny, shabby rooms for inadequately high prices. I am sorry.

    The only positive thing is the proximity to Messe (15 min walk, 3 tram stations) Oh, and one (male) receptionist very helpful and kind on the phone.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite far from the train station and about a 10 minute walk to the closest metro station.

    The staff were really friendly and helpful! The beds were very comfortable!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room we get nº45 are complete different than the ones we choose on Booking, beds are too bad, very small, too much noise, ver very expensive for the conditions we have, not recommended at all :-(

    Near the Cologne messe, only this advantage nothing more.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bar was closed for 2 weeks during the period we stayed. Our booking was completely messed up, had to share a double bed with my colleage after booking a twin room.

    Close proximity to exhibition centre

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was expensive. View was of block of flats . No not drinks in the room or after 10 am in the lobby. Double room was twin beds pushed together .

    Quiet rooms and clean . Room was cleaned each day

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The internet was did not work very well and the location was a bit out of the way. Also, the cab company that the staff called for us was considerable more expensive than the standard cab we found in the city.

    The staff were friendly and the hotel was clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room is very small, no toothbrush, no tooth paste. With the price of more than 160 Euro/night, that's really very expensive, I will never stay there again.

    Breakfast is quite ok

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk through the disused factories and the ‘park’ opposite was a bit scary at night! Not a pleasant area.

    Great location for staying if you are visiting Claudius Therme, although......

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Give breakfast a miss not worth the money unless you like fruit meat and bread No kettle in room and nowhere to buy a coffee Tv all German

    Room basic but clean Wright Location for us But not site seeing type

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was very close to Ostend station which means, although relatively out of the way it was extremely easy to get to even during the nighttime. Staff where extremely friendly and helped us locate the things we needed to. And even made recommendations to us based on their knowledge of the local area. Really enjoyed my stay, plan on visiting Frankfurt Again and this hotel night just be the one we stay in.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from the city center and public transport stops. It was terrible chemical smell in the room. I guess it was because of cleaning.

    It was clean, cozy room. Nice for buisiness trips I guess.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cleaning staff woke us up early while talking in the corridor, so does our neighbours...

    The room was good, comfortable beds, the bathroom is correct too.The reception staff was kind and the hotel is very nice. Definitly the plus was the parking for free +++

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were too thin, could here staff in the morning - rooms are not sound proof as advertised. Distance from Cologne centre, too inconvenient by tram as tram stop is 10 minutes walk from hotel. Double bed was actually two singles pushed together, not good for couples

    Room was warm

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a hotel that I will never recommend to anyone! The worse ever what I saw. Hygiene is very bad. We went there for three nights, the first day we came back from a whole day walking the room was still not cleaned and we had to complain and got another room, so we were so tired and still had to move all our things to another room! There is no phone to call the reception(?), so any complain(and there are a lot) u have to go yourself downstairs. The bed and pillow r so bad. As for the noise in the hall that’s just unbelievable!!! We couldn’t sleep with al the loud noise and the staff doesn’t do anything! It was raining when we were going out so we asked for an umbrella, we had to pay 10€ as a deposit!!! The staff is not friendly at all at all...there is only hand soap in the bathroom, so have to take take shower with hand soap!!! An advice to anyone who wants to stay in this hotel...DON’T!!! U will regret it.

    NOTHING!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small. Asked to park car, but wasn’t informed of parking charge, but when queried waived it, thanks.

    Very very helpfull staff helped with flat car battery after checkout. clean rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was not at all what we were promised. The photos on the site were false advertising. The room was old, tired and very basic. We were disappointed. The location was also much further from transport links/ city centre than is ideal

    Reception staff were helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is a bit out of the way and a lot of construction work being done on surrounding buildings. No kettle in room.

    The hotel was modern, clean but basic. Staff allowed us to check in early and were helpful with directions.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As soon as I sat or laid down on the bed I sank deep in the bed. The outlet for the hairdryer is outside the bathroom.

    The price is not so high. The room is not so big but still worth the price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff didn’t knock before entering room, bathroom was a bit grubby and was a bit of a long walk from the train station, ok if you get the tram but a bit out the way.

    Beds were comfy, complimentary sweets on pillow, maps available at reception, rooms were warm.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See general comments in 'like'.

    The check in staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel seemed a little disorganised with the bar shut on the Saturday night due to the barman being 'ill' apparently. There was no-one able to cover and after a day walking round Cologne, we just wanted to sit and have a quiet drink before retiring to bed. There was no suitable alternative venue nearby so we were stuffed and were in bed by 9pm! The following morning, at breakfast, it was a constant lack of something. Forks, then glasses, then coffee cups. The previous morning had been fine. The breakfast (for which we paid extra) was good. The usual array of continental things and a really nice, proper fresh fruit salad and yoghurt selection. The coffee machines were a bit hit and miss and very slow with so many guests. The staff did clear tables quickly and again, were friendly and helpful. Just a bit understaffed/disorganised I'd say. The room was compact but clean and comfy without being oppressively hot as can be the case. The location of the hotel is further out than I'd expected and in an area undergoing heavy renovation, which didn't look too appealing but will probably be a lot nicer once complete. That said, we felt safe and the walk into the city was fine. (30-40mins) Equally we used the tube from the nearby station which was easy. (5 min walk and 10 mins on the tube.) We didn't pay a fortune and I don't have any serious gripes. I like to think I'm a fair person. We might have just been unlucky but I would say the hotel needs to be just a bit slicker, having stayed in other, similarly priced similar style hotels elsewhere.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I thought it was a bit expensive considering it was not that central, however, perhaps prices were inflated due to the Christmas markets which had started before our stay. To get to the main train station we had to walk or get a tram and then another train. The water in the shower seemed to go between hot and cold.

    Standard, comfortable hotel accommodation, clean and the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very soft and small beds, not possible to sleep! Kind of strange smell in the rooms. Hotel is made from iron containers! No more. Be aware.

    Nice lobby.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed are really bad. The position Is in the middle of nowhere. No parking available. Staff really unpolite. Check In really slow. Breakfast with very dirty dishes and without anything interesting.

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was small without fridge or kettle. Bed was extremely soft. For me it was average hotel for reasonable price.

    We took this hotel for 3 nights. It is not so far from city center.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    worn-out mattresses – one was even broken, mattresses were too soft outlet in the shower – water remained in the shower basin above the ankles during showering cleaning of the room despite the sign “not to disturb” tiny room/small bathroom – not enough space - everything squeezed on a small area

    quiet environment for undisturbed sleep breakfast - average choice, but tasty nice dining room for breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked for 2 singles and got a double, no water in the room which would have been a welcome as the room was warm during the night. I would really have appreciated the shuttle bus for swift transfer

    Room was cozy and staff were extra friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it is a "box" hotel with the walls of cardboard panels, where the high-speed train passes through your window. you couldn't believe there is such a hotel !! the pictures don't reflect the reality there

    absolutely nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Terrible hotel, instead of twin beds you would get single beds that are the size for kids. Really uncomfortable and price per night for this was ridiculous.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst hotel I have booked in 45 years all my life ! The location is bad ! The stuff are so not friendly at all and tuff ! And it was so noisy ! I couldn't sleep ! Th smell in the room was so discasting! The bed was not comfortable at all !! I moved the muttress to the floor just to be able to be better and sleep ! At the end was sooooooo bad !! I would never do it again and I don't recommend any one to book there !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are 7 free parking spaces for the complete Hotel. The rest of the parking is 8 Euro a day for underground. There are two choices of views, a busy street or the rooftop and Train tracks in the back rooms. The train is not too loud but you hear it. The bed has a thin single spring mattress that lays on a wood pedestal. Not so comfortable for people 90+ Kg.

    The staff was nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning. Specially the carpet. The vacuum cleaner hadn't passed through the areas under the beds. And judging by the smell of the room, it's floor had never been steam cleaned. To add up, the walls were sprinkled with stains which could have been removed with a simple chlorine scrub. Finally, there were to hairs (not mine) in the shower cabin as I stepped in for my first shower.

    The price. I benefited from a promotion during my stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tinyiest room I have ever stayed in. You couldn't get around! Bathroom so small , sitting on the toilet you touch the doors with your legs ! Terrible idea of such a small rooms ! Service not to helpful ! Wen I asked about convinance store around - they don't know, however store was about 50 meters away :/ No fridge or water in the room !!! What standard is this ?!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact it's far away from the shops and restaurants. The joined to single bed into double bed. It was very uncomfortable. I asked the male staff for help. Every question had the No answer. But the female staff was very polite and helpful.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Rooms were awful value for money. No air-con in mid-summer. Very small for two people. Almost no sound-proofing from loud train line just feet from bedroom windows. Shower weak and vacillated between hot and cold. Shower basin was blocked so it filled up and nearly flooded bathroom. Fittings were an awful, cheap plastic faux-chrome which were both easy to scratch yourself on and felt like they'd break at any moment. Not the most pleasant area for walking late at night.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful (excellent English), lobby area was very nice, breakfast was fine. Excellent location of visiting or working at the convention centre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room which is normally 44 euros a night was up priced 500% due to the convention and was not worth any of the extra money. There was no fan, mold in the bathroom, no restaurants without walking a km. My husband and I even left early due to the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC, noisy rooms, we booked two weeks in advance and we asked for a double bed, when we got there we were given two single beds because they didn't have doubles available. Also the water from the shower went from really hot to really cold all the time, no matter how you set it up. Too expensive for what it is.

    It was close to where I had to go

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy neighbourhood, surrounded by dilapidated buildings and construction sites. Not as close to the city centre centre as I wanted.

    Well designed small room. Friendly welcome helped us with parking downstairs.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -couldn't get much sleep. very uncomfortable beds.so soft that you can't even get out of the bed so you slide off, also very narrow. Don't suggest it for seniors or hanicap. -Street strangely busy/loud for middle of the week.

    -It's clean. -Nice breakfast. -Reception tried his best to keep us happy with the room choice. -must have a car

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I almost died in that hotel . i got locked up in my room bathroom. the door lock was broken and i screamed for over an hour and hurt my hands and feet from knocking on the door, hoping anyone would hear me. only to my luck that my room window was open and someone heard my screaming and reported to the hotel. i almost died because by the time they got me out i almost fainted and was i had low blood pressure. they wouldnt have probably even discovered anything until a day or two would have passed with me in the bathroom (i had the no disturb sign as well on the door, so no house clean would have walked in) the crazy thing is i spent the whole night in a hospital because they suspected i broke my hands from all the knocking as it s was so bruised and i performed really bad for the conference i was supposed to speak at, the following day (the whole reason of my stay in the hotel was that i was a speaker at a very important conference) and i did not manage to do well. they upgraded me, to a better suite, and a 50% refund of the first night. is that ok ??? in such circumstances where my whole trip got ruined and not only that, but i almost died. i should get a compensation in the first place for what i encountered. I NEED TO UNDERSTAND : How can they hand a room which is poorly maintained that way? I did not even have anyone from their hotel check on me the following day ?? I couldn’t sleep that night because I was terrified, I almost faced death I was about to faint in the bathroom, because I freak from closed areas and have low blood pressure. I could have spent several nights in that bathroom before anyone would have found out I am missing. IBASICALLY HAD MY TRIP RUINED BECAUSE I STAYED IN their HOTEL AND ALL WHAT THEY HAVE TO OFFER IS 50% OF THE FIRST NIGHT ??? WHAT IS THAT SUPPOSED TO BE . I require a proper compensation for all that I had encountered in THEIR hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think this may be a more general problem with some hotels but when there is a double bed it's not a single double mattress but two single mattresses put together leaving an awkward gap in the middle. Also, I would recommend travelling to and from the hotel when it is still light out as the walk from the U-Bahn Stop at night time is not so well lit down some roads.

    The room was clean and the bed was generally comfortable. Everything that was needed was provided, toiletries, towels, hairdryer. WiFi connection was good and the information is easily found on the desk in the room. The staff were also very friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude and unfriendly staff Rooms without AC or even a fan. Rooms are tiny. No proper bathrooms. No tea kettle or a fridge in room. While booking they (Booking.com and hotel staff) said 4 guests are ok to stay in a room. After booking they declined and forced to take one more room for a family of 2 adults and 2 kids of age 4&7. Booking has promised some refund, let's see if they do so. Will use Booking.com again only when that's the last option.

    Literally nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    * There was no parking spaces and we weren't allowed to park around in the around near the hotel. * There was a lot of noise coming to the room because it was next to the train tracks.

    The breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Book this location only if you travel by car. Everything is (very) far if you plan to use public transportation. I didn't found the "many restaurants near the hotel" specified in the hotel description.

    The room was ok.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The BEDS are quite uncomfortable, way to SOFT !! Parking facilities & even around the street it is hard to find a free spot if u arrive "late".

    Perfect location if u plan a Night out at the Bootshaus Club or to visit the Messe of Cologne

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was facing the high-speed train track which was about 20m away from my room window, so some noise due to that even if the window was closed.

    Breakfast was great. some really great quality fresh rolls for breakfast. In combination with a great selection of sausages and cheese was a great start to the day. Great recommendation of restaurant in the neighborhood.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not sound proof. We could here everybody on the floor. Especially early in the morning.

    Very nice hotel. The staff were friendly. The room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms where very dirty, under the bed was trash, the shower was stuck. The breakfast was finished before 9:30 even though they said they served until 10am, value for money definitely not !

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All. Under our bed there is a bottle of beer. Who knows how long its been there.

    Nothing. Staff was not helpful. Way too far from the center. And the neighborhood was bit scary

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Uncomfortable Bed, Used towels on the floor forgotten. Bathroom was a bit moldy.

    Very close to the Koeln Messe. Parking on site. Nice staff. Free internet. Fair price for what it offered. Nice restaurant with a lot of space.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm being picky and a typical English person! Would have liked to if had some drinks facilities in the room but I understand this isn't as common in European countries. Would have liked some English channels on the TV but then again I was in Germany!

    Nice modern and clean room, 45 min walk from the centre and close to public transport spots

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom was cramped and impractical Car Parking very limited Train noisy / corridor noisy

    Friendly welcoming staff Good breakfast selection 24 Hour Reception

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are very small and not comfortable No ventelation inside the bathroom No enough parking slots for guests

    Location is near from the city center specially lannex arena 2km walking

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is just a little cramped. Just enough space. But it is a great hotel.

    The hotel is really Nice, the staff are always friendly and helpful. The breakfast is great.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large numbers of people had come for breakfast at the same time, leaving supplies depleated, took awhile to restock, so had to go without somethings as also on a schedule. Thats all, can't be helped

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cleanliness!!! Founding a heap of hair from a stranger next to the bed is aweful! Hair on the bed side table. The breakfast was until 10:00 o'clock but the waiter was already cleaning up at 09:45. The buffet was closed at 09:58. The area doesn't feel safe at all. I've stayed at hostels that where better then this hotel. The pictures are anything but realistic.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The maids constantly interrupted in the morning, two people from the staff that worked at the lobby were rude, i.e. a girl was simply not interested in helping me find a place really well known (western union) and a gay made several questions to give me the room card that i usually left there, i felt interrogated. There was no room service.

    The place was clean

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor location, no transportation near around the hotel (10mins by foot to get tram asp it's difficut hard to get the central and it feels not safe in that area in the evening. I can hear another person's voice whoes stays an another room throughout the toilet

    Low price Relatively clean

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny even though I booked for 2 adults and 1 child (2rd old) the hotel had no cots left when we arrived so my daughter had to sleep in the bed with us which was small, the reception of the hotel was lovely but the hall leading up to the rooms was a bit dirty, could do with some paint. The location of the hotel wasn't great, its like as if its built in the middle of a housing estate and is a 20min walk from the town

    The breakfast was lovely as were the staff, they couldn't be more helpful

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was so small and not good organized for example the toilet paper holder so close to the WC and the breakfast was not good they should do a lot better

    The room was clean

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like the fact that you could hear between walls and that the room was dusty. Thereby we could only shower for 5 minutes because the douche was constipated.

    I liked the fact that we could by in the city of Köln by 10 minutes by tram. The breakfast was of could quality and worth the price.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not in a very nice area at all. Nowhere near town centre. No tea or coffee making facilities in room. Very few parking spaces, unless you pay to use underground car park. Staff not very helpful or friendly. Check out is 11am, but had cleaners banging on door at 9am wanting to get in.

    The hotel was modern and clean. Although rooms were quite small they were clean, tidy and modern.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was a little far from the attractions

    The breakfast was delicious, The parking garage available was very conveniente and the rooms were cozy

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Centro Hotel Ayun traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: