Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Quality Hotel Ambassador Hamburg This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Heidenkampsweg 34, Hammerbrook, 20097 Hamburg, Germany

#181 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 309 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 18

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    Good for value hotel that also provides a good customer service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The hotel is located a train stop away from the Hauptbahnhof on S-bahn 21 and 1, and it's only 4-minutes walk from Berliner Tor Station. At just under 100 EUR for a double-room, it's good value for money. The customer service was excellent; check-in and check-out were easy and they even ironed my clothes for me. Although my room was facing a busy motor-way I didn't not hear a beep because the windows were well insulated against outside noise. My room was clean and spacious. There's a mini-bar in the room. The wifi worked very well. I like this hotel and I'll recommend it to others. I'll surely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    6.7
    Big room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not walking distance to any main sights. Quite old. Stained carpet. Should be cheaper.

    Big room. Lots of facilities including a baby bed & kettle. Close to train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.7
    Croissants were kept warm at the breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was extremely hot without, it was not possible to cool it down. The furniture and facilities are a bit old fashioned.

    Croissants were kept warm at the breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money but do not expect to much
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of the hotel is a bit confusing. The rooms were not sparkling clean. The amenities were ok but the wardrobe has a strange door which might even come off if you do not use it properly. Otherwise, the hotel is good and good value for money.

    The location is good but its a bit confusing to walk from the train station to the hotel. The staff are very friendly and nice. They took extra care for us and even gave us a free upgrade along with a baby cot. The rooms are nice and have large bright windows.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    A Home from Home in Hamburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service from the Staff was absolutely fabulous. Everyone was friendly, polite and could not have been more helpful. The Bar was excellent and the food was even better. We chose the location as it was close to a Concert Hall we were attending but it was superb for all the major attractions of Hamburg including the Christmas Markets, Fish Market, Hafen City and the main centre. The next time we visit Hamburg we will book the Ambassador!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    9.2
    Just what I needed for this part of my trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's not something for which the hotel is responsible, but better lighting under the adjacent railway bridge next to the station would improve the local experience.

    Friendly staff, clean room. Allowed my to leave my hire car in the car park until the afternoon of my departure - thanks!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.6
    On the whole I was very satisfied with my stay and would recommend it to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom decor was a little dated

    Friendly and helpful staff. Good menu with excellent local food at reasonable prices. It's proximity to the city centre and train station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    9.2
    The wifi was very good, vastly improved over past times.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At breakfas, the wait staff should put small thermos pots of coffee on the table, instead of serving a cup at a time. It si very annoying to have to attact wait staff to get another cup.

    The wifi was very good, vastly improved over past times. Breakfast is always good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    Small but comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airco. For the price I expected more facilities.

    Small but comfortable room. Easy to get to the hotel from Berliner Tor station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.1
    Clean and well appointed rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    View from room and graffiti on roof.

    Clean and well appointed rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. New mattresses. Lovely powerful shower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.6
    Work in Hamburg
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms fairly small but are well equipped

    Good location Clean rooms Great staff Very flexible

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Generally the staff was very friendly and forthcoming and the location was ideal for our purposes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room door didn't reduce sounds, so other customer were very noisily heard.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.2
    nice staff, early check in
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bad wifi. connect and crash and again

    nice staff, early check in

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean rooms Reception bar tender and breakfast staff great professionals

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2015

    9.6
    English speaking staff, swimming pool and gym, large...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    lack of controls on heating/air conditioning.

    English speaking staff, swimming pool and gym, large selection at help yourself breakfast. So near major station for local trains.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2015

    9.2
    The location is very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Poor breakfast; No bottled water in room; No kettle, tea and coffee; Not cheap price

    The location is very good. It is nearby Berliner Tor station. Very close to central touristic places and not far to the airport Good Wi-Fi

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    7.9
    Everyone was very nice and was a great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed was a bit uncomfortable; too firm of a mattress for my taste.

    Everyone was very nice and was a great breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    2.5
    Customer service was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nating sp

    Customer service was ok

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 18

Guests also reviewed these properties: