Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gewandhaus Dresden, Autograph Collection 5 stars

Ringstr. 1, Altstadt, 01067 Dresden, Germany

#10 of 106 hotels in Dresden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 728 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poorly trained reception staff - The young man at the Reception had a demeanor that was hardly welcoming and when I told him I had come off a long flight and could he please send up our luggage as soon as possible told me to wait while he helps the next guest first - I complained the next day to the Manager who just apologized nothing more - unacceptable service for a five star hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Superior room did not comply with my expactations. it look like a standard one. Breakfast just normal, nothing special, I waited for omlette finally not beeing served in time, young lady forgot about it and gave me a receipt which was redundant as my breakfast was included, neither excuse nor saying sorry from the staff. Hotel was nice, very pleasant, but comparative standard in nearby ones is at lower cost. details: baths in room looked a little disused, jacuzzii did not encourage to be used, superior room should be better equipped , larger, door electronic key much unreliable , breakfast not sufficient for those who arrive after 9 (lacks of some sausages, fruit or caces ),

    nice building, sauna spa

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing I can complain about!!!

    The traditional Dresden cake from the pastry shop is fantastic, don't miss the chance to try it! The restaurant is great, the bed super comfortable, cleanliness is top! and the design not only modern and nicely looking, but also highly functional.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In general all the service connected with restaurant and breakfast was not appropriate to the 5* hotel level - during dinner staff forgot about our order and we had to remind ourselves; couple of times staff did not appear for 15 minutes. During 2 out of 3 breakfasts staff again forgot what was ordered or what we have asked for kids etc.

    Nice hotel, really warm and nice rooms. Really welcoming and helpfull staff at the reception. Great location for the center of Dresden. Great swimming pool.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are stains in the bathtub. The cleaning lady got into our room while we were still sleeping.

    Location is perfect. Close to the Christmas market and good restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were no tea making facilities in the room - only coffee.

    The location was excellent and the breakfast top notch! Service was very attentive but not invasive

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have been several times at this hotell. This time we were unfortunate to have a midnight fire at the hotell, (at 02.h am., with a complete emergency evacuation, firefighters, etc. Fortunately the fire was under control within a hour, but the day after, when I have asked for some compensation for the 2 hours spend outside at 2 dgr. C. I have been offered parking and breakfast free of charge. Not a particularly customer friendly behaviour!.

    Nice location, but rather disengaged and unfriendly personell

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the moment we walked through the door we knew we had made a great choice. It is a lovely property in a good location with nice rooms and facilities, made perfect by the staff who ensured our stay was most enjoyable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    See above

    Solid luxury hotel in a good central location. We were upgraded to a spacious room which was nice as we were touring for a week. Ok for a luxury hotel. The sauna wan’t working and the pool had limited seating. The breakfast buffet was fine and plentiful. The bar backup onto the reception desk which is a bit odd. They had enough room in the lobby area for a proper bar area. Perfectly comfortable but not great. Would try something else next time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably the lift, it took ages to come down or up, hotel has only one lift from the lobby and we found it not being enough for the hotel.

    I loved the hotel itself, it has beautiful inner section with some remarkable architecture details. The restaurant was more than we could think off. Food was excellent. We treated ourself to some nice dinner there and were surprised how well all food was cooked. Breakfast was also more than we could wish for. Huge selection of everything including champagne. Rooms spotlessly clean with comfortable bed and pillows. Staff was very friendly and helpful to us. Swimming pool and spa area was also great with two saunas and swimming pool. Also small gym available with good quality machines. Hotels location very good. Has safe parking just outside the hotel.Hotel also offers afternoon cake and coffee serves in downstairs garden restaurant and around lobby area. Very pleasant with great choice of coffees and cakes. Basically you don't have to necessary go outside searching for good food because starting with the breakfast throughout the whole day you find the.l best food in the hotel. If I visit Dresden I will probably most definitely stay in the same hotel. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is not worth the cost (not included in the price), to our liking at least Wi-Fi did not work inside the room, had to stand by the door Bathroom was cold and not ventilated (not a pleasant experience after #2s :) Water was on the first day only, No tea pot in the room! (Noncence for a five star)

    Parking is convinient Very near food places and bars, museums and churches Quiet location and hotel Very responsive ang polite personnel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was amazing, but the waitress was quite rigid and grumpy. We had a glass of wine at the bar downstairs, per the somm's suggestion-discovered it was 11 euro per glass!! Quite steep!

    One of the nicest 5 star hotels we have been to-above and beyond standards. Everything was spotless, comfortable, and really felt special. Prices drop if you book less than 2 weeks before arrival, so good value for money for us too. Staff really nice-a very pleasant stay, and Dresdin itself is a hidden gem!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    excellent facilities and amenities, very helpful staff. very good breakfast. spacious rooms, comfy beds - top quality restaurant and cafe in hotel. somewhat removed from the thick of the old town but this is a good thing. parking was easy. great stay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very well sized rooms and very nicely decorated. Close to all major parts of Dresden, an amazing town in itself that we think more people should visit and with a place to stay like Gewandhaus it is a must. We drove and parking was very easy to access and directly across the road.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our MacBook charger blew up at the hotel, despite being 3 months old. Not sure if it was a problem with their power. Room was quite small.

    Beautifully decorated hotel and room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Do not eat any of their bread products. Tried 4 of them - all pretty bad. Very strange for a 5 star hotel.

    One of the most beautiful hotels I've been in (and I've been in many). Great jungle themed indoor pool. Jacuzzi bath tub. Easy parking. Right around the corner from the main restaurant area. Although the restaurant is focused on steaks, the waiter had a tasty vegetarian solution for me.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    High cost for breakfast - save your money, walk to the nearby starbucks. It's a loud hotel - I'm not sure if there is little insulation or the cleaning crew are just loud in the morning

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was only a double (smaller than queen), room was small, dark and pokey. Fitness facilities were not in a condition suitable for use.

    Good quality soaps, responsive and friendly staff, who went above and beyond for a special request.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heating is outdated and done via noisy fans that keep coming on and off. Uneven quality of staff esp. at restaurant. Some are great even remembering orders from previous day. Some rude and brash.

    Location. Style of the common areas

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Queen room is a little small but still nicely furnished.

    The hotel's interior and exterior design is beautiful, the bar which hosted the Jazztage was cosy, the breakfast was generous and the swimming pool was pure fun.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the top floor and the window was tiny, felt claustrophobic and didn't meet my expectations.

    Good location, nice swimming pool and sauna

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic spa and very beautiful hotel. Small but luxurious rooms. Good value for money. Loved the breakfast. Loved the bar area in the atrium. Fantastic location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Reception and housekeeping staff were helpful and friendly but found some of the waitresses a little curt..

    Beautiful hotel with excellent facilities. Good location in a stunning city.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 20 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Early housekeeping.

    Great location, friendly staff, luxury rooms. I strongly recommend if you want to spend some time in Dresden.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms size! For a 5 stars hotel, for sure it is an unappropriated room size.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk service was first class

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Visitors tax when paying our bill.

    Proximity to Everything. Nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Atttntive and friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were very rude!! Specially one lady that was working as a waitress in the breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Top breakfast nice personnel big room close to the old city a good choice for a weekend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bubble bath!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi reception was intermittent in our room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite small rooms.

    Staff was helpfull, everything was as it should be. Quality of service and breakfast extraordinary. Nice lounge.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was awkward- giant tub- too big

    Variety of choices for breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was too expensive at € 22 per Person

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con too hot beautiful hotel in

    Decor and design first rate, restaurant excellent, service excellent too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    food was basic

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice breakfast and great location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive breakfast (€ 22 per person). High charge for pet (€ 25).

    Great location. Excellent beds. Easy to park the car (€ 15 for 24 hours).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't work in our room at all. The staff offered us to change rooms.

    Excellent location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room tight space wise - it was a superior room

    Staff - efficient and charming. Restaurant - steaks amazing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful swimming pool. Staff exceptionally helpful in sending on my passport which I had left behind.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no real bar

    authentic style building with superb inner court yard, stylish with well refurbished rooms

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free breakfasts as was promised when I booked the hotel through your site

    Staff was very helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price for car parking and price for breakfast

    Wellness area excellent

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have seen 4* hotels with higher standards. Parking at a public parking lot for extra charge.

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was a little patchy

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not to much to complain, directly

    Excellent location, clean, comfortable

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of breakfast

    Everything was as expected in a first class hotel

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift took forever.

    Lovely room and close to attractions and public transport.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free parking

    A luxurious Hotel with jacuzzi in the bathroom and all the trimmings. Breakfast was good

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit to tight , a bit expensive ! T

    Location is perfect , rooms very nice but a bit small , breakfast excelled , staff very nice and helpful!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty elevator floor,

    Perfect location in the city center, nice atmosphere in the lobby with wodden open fire

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A moderately priced breakfast would have been helpful

    A beautiful hotel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tolles Hotel....TOP !!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location wonderful services

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive parking

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, beautiful rooms and very friendly and helpful staff!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only one thing...window of my room was facing stairwell of restaurant/lobby; no fresh air, a bit noisy in late night and early morning. So please be careful when you reserve "queen room".

    Friendly and helpful staff. Very good and quiet location to explore old town. Restaurant on site offered very good meaty food (although it was a bit expensive for me) and buffet breakfast. Nicely decorated room with free bottle of water.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. One of the best hotels we've stayed in.

    Our room was upgraded and had so many extra touches - deep jet tub, mini bar, great shower and hair dryer. The building is beautiful and in a perfect location - close to historic Dresden, but far enough away from crowd noises. Also, the entire staff was excellent and spoke English!

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Couple

    Great combination of luxury and comfort, tasty breakfast and lovely atmosphere. Wellness zone pretty kitsch but comfortable pool. Deluxe room with private whirlpool without negative comment. Super!

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing..... except that we always had to walk round the building to get to the entrance when we walk back from the city center sights. would have been nice to have a side entrance.

    The room was super cosy and well-furnished. The highlight for us was the large (fits two comfortably) whirlpool bathtub in our room! We used it every night after being out in the cold all day sightseeing. They also have an artisan-style cake shop in the hotel lobby which makes for a nice late afternoon tea time break.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    only three nights, would have loved to stay longer.. 8-)

    Queen-room was superb -> Clean, quiet with a spa bath. Mattress was firm and linen/pillows nice. Lobby personnel were helpful and professional.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was not included in the price and was rather expensive so we opted to go to a cafe near by.

    helpful staff, beautiful building and room, perfect location for sightseeing, the cake shop was divine

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bakery in the lobby wasn't open yet when we stayed there in September 2015. And the front desk is attached with a lobby bar which was a little strange.

    Beautifully renovated property in an extremely convenient location. Walking distance to everything and good restaurant options nearby. Do take advantage of their steam room and sauna, it was the perfect way to relax after walking all day in the beautiful city.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the hotel was overbooked, we (colleagues) were offered to stay in the same room. this was no option for us. we were offered another hotel, however it was only for one. not very convenient

    location is in the middle of the center, however you can get out of the center very quickly

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I still don't understand why breakfast is 22 Euro Per person we eat yoghurt and muesli....so we did not have breakfast in hotel but around the corner.

    We stayed for long weekend. Dresden us a very nice city. Hotel is perfect.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    not working massaging stairs and waterfall at the pool

    Wonderful place-10 min by foot to the shopping street, 5-10 till the old center. Beautiful hotel, nice service

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Window view

    Swimming pool, sauna, breakfast excelent!

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing it was very good.

    The steaks in the Meatery are absolutely superb.!!

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Family with young children

    we need more type of dishes in the restaurant, not only steaks

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The sound of the whirlpool bath from the next door bathroom

    V comfortable room and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Modern design & great value for price

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great hotel

There are also 34 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Gewandhaus Dresden, Autograph Collection traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: