Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Vorm Würzburger Tor 10, 91541 Rothenburg ob der Tauber, Germany

#15 of 26 hotels in Rothenburg ob der Tauber

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2795 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.8
    Location , friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult at first to work out where the reception was as it is in a separate building to where my room was and the breakfast room Car parking distance to off load suitcases

    Location , friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    We arrived late in the night and we were gave detailed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The house is a little different from what I expected. But generally, it is good.

    We arrived late in the night and we were gave detailed introductions on late arrival. Actually, the hotel front desk runs till 10 pm, which is good for some late arrival people. The breakfast is excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.8
    Easy access to rothemberg city
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar staff ( male) were pig ignorant and rude until we told him a few home truths he then changed his attitude somewhat. One of the apparent practices was to walk away with your change and see if you called them back if you did they apologised and said they forgot ? Hmmm

    Easy access to rothemberg city

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    Cheap hotel with OK accommodations, finding it and parking was somewhat of a hassle. I'd go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking lot impossible to find. GPS couldn't locate hotel accurately (Google maps or garmin). Had to use booking.com's app and "share" the location to google maps and manually navigate to find the hotel. Garage is under construction, all parking (limited) is in a lot next to the hotel. Worked out once I was able to find the Hotel, and use their office map to figure out how to go around the block to the parking lot. Single room was tiny, but clean. No A/C like many hotels. Room windows opened up to beer garden and it was very loud, but they closed the garden at 10pm, so didn't disrupt sleep.

    Right next to city wall gate, very convenient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location and comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in the old wing, just outside the Old Town. Access is great for car users. The breakfast has a good selection and the rooms are comfortable. There is building work going on on an extension to the hotel. Work starts at 7.30 am so did not bother us. Good breakfast selection and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.8
    It was a hot night and the room had no air conditioning, not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a hot night and the room had no air conditioning, not even a fan was provided, (we asked the staff for it) we tried opening the windows but our room was on top of the restaurant so a lot of flies rushed in. The shower area is very very very small and we kept hitting the knob making the water cool every time. This was by far the worst hotel we stayed in in Germany.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location, great breakfast, cost for wifi and parking tho.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The free parking is poor, plus there was construction going on in the front of the building, we ended up parking in the lot next door ( $$ ). Checking in was going around one of their desk clerks blocking the doorway smoking a cigarette with others, and we were trying to get in the door with suitcases and she wouldn't move... That was my first impression... room was decent size, wifi was good at E 4 per day, the breakfast buffet was very good though.. but the parking is ridiculous.

    It is in a great location, breakfast buffet was wonderful - lots of selection, lots of coffee ( just had to ask for it ), very nice bier garten, very close to the old city gates.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    5.0
    Under repair without notice..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Under renovation and the parking lot was small, not close and very crowded. Room was old and not comfortable. Dealing with rainy weather and bringing luggage from the parking on muddy path was not a highlight.

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    The best with this hotell is its location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception area felt outdated and smelled from old days of smoking.

    The best with this hotell is its location. Right next to the city wall with a large free parking right outside the buildings.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Great location. Quiet and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed in new building which is owned by hotel. Was disappointed that we did not stay in the older facility pictured on the website.

    Location was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    A good hotel spoilt by noisy guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is used by Korean Tour Groups. These people leave early and a extremely noisy. The Hotel is aware of the problem and is yet to take appropriate action.

    Close to the old city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    Ok I guess. Wouldn't stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking was a big problem. Not only was there none available, the public parking was hard to find and difficult to discern how long the car could be left there. The staff was not especially friendly. They seemed harried and overworked. A very loud rock band played in a park next to the hotel. Until after midnight. They told us it was a special event.

    The place is right next to the main attractions. The room was ok, nothing special, but fine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.1
    Size of the Junior Suite very spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For Junior Suite would have liked a separate shower and bath. Major construction site right next door to hotel. Major hotel refurbishment and extension going on. Work was still in progress. Woken up at 7am both mornings by drilling right next door. Hotel manager was very apologetic and a satisfactory agreement was made.

    Size of the Junior Suite very spacious. Location very near to town. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Traveling with two teen boys this room was large enough for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It just feels very outdated in the rooms and the entry. The WiFi was not good. It dropped off line a lot, and took forever for information to download.

    Traveling with two teen boys this room was large enough for us to be comfortable, with 2 double beds in it. Facilities were generally clean. There is a lot of construction going on on the front of the building. I never heard it from the room however. It is about a block from the wall of the city so good location. It seemed to be about a 5-6 block hike from the train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.3
    Hot, but okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we was in was at the top floor and I asked reception for a room on a lower floor. And she lied and said there were no rooms available. When I looked at basement rooms and there were no tenants.

    Clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    The ONLY place you should stay in Rothenburg ob der Tauber
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had stayed here years ago and were in an older part of the hotel with a much larger room and was older. This room was in a new section. It was smaller than our previous room. The site is under construction but that doesn’t interfere with the stay. The check in and restaurant are not in the same building so you need to walk around the property to get to them.

    EXCELLENT location with free onsite parking. The walled city looks challenging to navigate with a car. Breakfast was good. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was good too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.9
    We liked the location having stayed previously its right...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    During our previous stay we were allocated a room in the annexe which was spacious and quiet. For this booking the room was adjacent to the terrace and cigarette smoke wafted into the room and closing the window in the hot weather was uncomfortable. The room was very small, the shower temp. could not be regulated and the bath to small to use. A small discount was offered as a gesture but I would have preferred the annexe room

    We liked the location having stayed previously its right where you need to be and currently has limited free parking. The breakfast is varied and plentiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were uncomfortable.. very hard. Parking was impossible but this was because we were there during their festival celebrating the end of 30 year war. Because of this, it was very noisy. Bands played until midnight and windows had to opened for sufficient air. However, the festival was very interesting and made up for the inconveniences.

    Location was great. Right outside gate into inner old city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location only 50 metres from old city wall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Major construction happening at hotel, we were woken at 7am to find a huge crane operating outside our window. Jackhammers going all day. (We were compensated 20 euro for the crane issue as apparently we were supposed to have been advised, not sure what difference that would have made). Will be a great place when development is finished. Towels were as thin as paper. You have to walk 50 metres down the street to the next hotel for breakfast at the moment.

    Great location only 50 metres from old city wall. Room was clean and staff helpful. On-site parking was great but limited.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no toothpaste and toothbrush. With that price I think they should've given at least one or a pair :| And, the room is not really sound proofing, I guess. I still can hear people in the next door chatting :(

    I like everything! The room is very cozy and clean. The location is also just a minute from the Old Town gate. It took me only 5 minute to the Train Station by walking. The staff is also very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception, the room, and the restaurant for breakfast are in 3 separate buildings. As there is a construction going on, it’s difficult to see the signage of the hotel. However, it’s quiet and I did not hear the construction noise. The step of the shower box from floor is quite high. Be careful.

    Great location. Great staff. They managed to help best. I requested for a breakfast box because I had to leave early, the box was very large and more than enough.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    We had a wonderful stay in Rothenberg. Everyone should visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like about the hotel. Only thing I didn't like was that I left my precious pillow behind!

    This is a great hotel to stay in in Rothenberg ob der tauter. It is situated just outside the walled town. We have stayed there before and we still enjoyed staying there. This was our third time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    Clean and comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very average. The carpets looked a little dirty

    Clean and comfortable stay. The hotel is very well situated and is walking distance from the Train station and the old town square.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    The newly renovated building was a pleasant surprise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asparagus buffet night was so crowded with no outside sitting area. Was disappointed with the 30 minute wait and went elsewhere to eat.

    The newly renovated building was a pleasant surprise. Large walk in shower that could easily accommodate two people and good room space.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    Only one thing to add, there is a major construction job going on in the adjacent building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a tad on the small size, but once we moved around a couple of chairs, it was fine. Bathroom was of ample size and very clean.

    Location, just outside one of the city gates is awesome, just steps away from shops & restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    Overall is ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor thing is the very loud when other rooms are closing the door. It is so annoyed.

    Overall is ok. We stayed at the room in the new building behind the hotel. The room is a bit small but it comforts. The car park is free and quite closed to the building so it is convenient for the luggage. The location is not in the town but just at the town wall, therefore, it took me just few minutes walk to marketplatz.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.4
    Not impressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioning and no ice machine, the front desk was staff was curt and not helpful. The hotel parking was full and was accessible for larger vehicles (Honda pilot). We had to park in the public parking for a small fee. Our room was facing the busy street and sidewalk and with no A/C we had to sleep with the windows open.

    family room had plenty of space

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.3
    If staying longer, check room view first
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite arriving at about 3, the spaces at the back of the hotel (access via Mannstrasse) were full. I parked in P4 Galgentor public parking very nearby. The front of hotel is not as shown on this website. There was a lay-by for two cars past the hotel for unloading. Our two rooms on second floor had zero views as a large building was under construction within metres of the windows. So little daylight and just views of breeze-blocks. Not related to hotel but souvenirs in the town were over-priced and geared towards visiting tour buses it seems. I'll choose another town for next A7 stopover.

    One night stay with family for long drive North on A7. Did not have dinner in hotel but restaurant was pleasant for breakfast in good decor with nice staff. Traditional buffet offerings with good coffee and fresh hot chocolate for children served in a pot which looked lovely!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    We recommend Hotel Rappen....great location and decent accommodation....reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The side-by-side twin beds had a very uncomfortable wooden edging which cut into legs when getting in/out and made sleeping close to your partner in the middle impossible. Also, there was a great deal of noise early in the morning as staff wheeled cleaning carts out of their equipment room next to ours (Rm 185). We complained and management was gracious, the noise did not occur again and we were given a complimentary small bottle of wine.

    Excellent location - next to Wall. Good breakfast. Decent sized room. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.0
    GLAD TO LEAVE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NO TEA / COFFEE MAKING FACILITIES. RECEPTION STAFF. VENDING MACHINE DID NOT WORK. LOCK ON ROOM DOOR DID NOT ALWAYS WORK. CONSTRUCTION WORK WAS NOT REVEALED . DIRTY BALCONY. STEAK HAD NO FLAVOUR.

    Breakfast and Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is a great place to stay to explore Rothenburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a great place to stay to explore Rothenburg. It's situated just outside the town gate, so a short walk takes you straight into the Old Town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.4
    just 50 m from old town walls, really convenient location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is bit old and not maintained well. There is a huge reconstruction going-on in the central place. Maybe the other part is waiting for its turn.

    just 50 m from old town walls, really convenient location for sightseeing beautiful Rothenburgs' old city .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Right outside the old city gate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right outside the old city gate. Free parking. Good hotel restaurant and breakfast with a nice variety of food.The room was spacious with one queen bed and two twin beds. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    Great Location, Good value for a cozy room with breakfast and free parking provided
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I like everything except it would have been great if bedroom slippers are provided as the bathroom floors can be cold.

    Cosy Room with a tiny balcony. Excellent Location to restaurant and town. It is right next to the town wall. Excellent Breakfast. Good price. Free parking. You can also ask for kettle and tea cups for your room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.8
    Appeared to be newly renovated, so rooms were super nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived later, so parking was tight, but they seem to be doing construction around this area (though this didn't affect our stay).

    Appeared to be newly renovated, so rooms were super nice. We had a loft with king bed and our son had the downstairs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.1
    Hotel was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff seemed very unfriendly. No kettle in room and the room feels a bit dated. Renovation going on in the building so had difficulty in finding the reception initially.

    The location was perfect, just at the gate of the old town. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Highly recommend. Location could not be better. Parking great. Would not stay within walls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all great.

    What a great cozy quaint and spacious little hotel. The views of the wall from our windows were incredible. Perfectly situated. Great breakfast. Staff is warm and welcoming. The town is incredible. Only regret was staying just one night. The restaurant had great food in huge portions. We tried many dishes between the six of us and all were wonderful. Would choose this hotel again and recommend to all.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Great Hotel for a busy family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had 4 in one room so one of the kids got a sleeper sofa that was hard and not too comfy.

    The location is excellent! Just outside the walls about a 100m walk to a main street within the old town that has interesting shops and lots of good restaurants. Parking for the car is easy and included. The breakfast was very good, but didn't eat other meals there. Rooms are super clean and modern and very quiet. Highly recommended for a family.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Just excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The room was a very good size, clean and warm. Clean towels and sheets. Right next to the old town. The breakfasts were included in the price and they were delicious. Great value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.8
    Good traditional hotel in great location for exploring Rothenburg old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfortable Hotel in an excellent location, right outside the old city wall. Good private car park, nice restaurant and charming staff - who even loaned us a brush to clear the snow from our car!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    A good deal for beautful Rothenburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a bit dicey, with limited spaces and cars not parked within their lines; BUT, parking was free and available, which can't be said of all hotels in the area.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Conveniently located to the old town. New and clean bathroom

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Perfect stay walkable to Marienplatz.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Martin had outstanding customer service. Went above and beyond making our family (with children ages 6 and 4) comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic. Parking was private (though added cost) and easy walk to Marienplatz.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.8
    Got a family room in the newly renovated part of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Got a family room in the newly renovated part of the hotel. Very nice and clean duplex room. Nice amenities. Good breakfast. Good location, just outside the inner city wall. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.5
    Good historic building, but not for all rooms!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When visited this hotel, we were given a room in a seperate building, not the old historic one described. In addition, we had to cross a workzone with our kid stroller every time we wanted to walk between our room and the main building with the reception and restaurant for breakfast

    Breakfast is of good quality although no much choices. Eating room decoration and atmosphere are excellent. Location is also an advantage to the hotel in spite of being outside the old town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Room was spacious and the location was perfect. Breakfast provided was great! You have a wide range of choices and the quality of food was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.6
    Who Could Ask For Anything More?
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was truly the perfect hotel.

    Perfect location right outside one of the gates to the old city (Wurzburger Tor). View of the Tor from my room. Outstanding breakfast with a large thermos carafe of coffee just for me. This place is pretty much perfect. There was even a "smoking terrace", so I didn't need to go out front to smoke.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.9
    Amazing breakfast available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little dusty and the queen sized bed is just 2 single beds put together

    Amazing breakfast available. A perfect spread and is almost inside the alt Stadt. Not even a 30 second walk away.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.5
    Average hotel with small bathroom and disappointing breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    many things were empty at the breakfast (too many people, and shortage of staff - they couldn't cope with filling everything at the same time), rooms are not modern, very small bathroom

    location, availability of parking space

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    7.9
    Ok for a stopover to visit the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ongoing construction / renovation of one of the blocks meant we had to go from one block to another for breakfast through construction area and the weather that day wasn't very convenient. The staff at the reception could be more friendly - guests shouldn't need to ask for WiFi, directions to breakfast etc, which should be automatically provided. The lady at the reception on arrival seemed almost annoyed when asked for the same.

    The location is convenient, just outside the city wall and near one of the entrances to the historic center. So easy to drive to and park. The breakfast is good and the restaurant staff are helpful. Our rooms (2) were in the newer building in the block at the back, next to the parking. The rooms were clean but basic. The restaurant in the older building / block is beautiful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.6
    A very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had, had two big chairs around a table at the foot of the bed. These were nice chairs, but we're placed at an awkward position that cut the room in two. This was annoying for our suitcase, but otherwise didn't bother us at all.

    The location is perfect, only 5-10 minutes from the train station and right before the city gates. The hotel was undergoing construction (they were expanding and reconstructing a whole wing, which is great for them) but it was never an inconvenience in terms of noise or dirtiness or lack of services. The breakfast was yummy, they had way more selection than I expected. Finally, everyone we talked to from the staff was incredibly nice and friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly and helpful staffs. Clean and cozy. Christmas dinner was great! It's a very comfortable hotel and I am happy to be there for my Christmas.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    5.8
    The hotel website and your photos do not reflect what the property looks like
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a building site. No bar, no focal point, had to traipse outside to reach restaurant for breakfast dinner. So had to put on coats each time.

    Hotel tried to make amends by giving us an upgraded room for what was not the Christmas hotel and break we were expecting

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    The location was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was fantastic. It was about a 5-minute walk to the Christmas market. The hotel staff was very friendly and the breakfast was great. My family and I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    10
    Fantastic location with big rooms and delicious breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location right outside the city walls was perfect! We had easy access to walking the walls and the Christmas Market in the center of town. Our room was much bigger than expected and breakfast was delicious! We definitely recommend this wonderful hotel!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    6.7
    Rothenburg is really a beatiful city !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was in another building , reception is not friendly. Breakfast was less than ok

    Room was clean and confortable Space of the room was generous.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    9.6
    Nice location and property for a fun trip to Rotenburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet code system seemed odd. They give you a receipt that has a code. It wasn’t the easiest.

    Our family room was nice and large. Plenty of room for 6. We only had 4 total.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel in a beautiful location with bad cleaned rooms
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - On arrive we immediately noticed the dirty carpet in the room. We asked at the reception desk to clean the carpet the next day, but they did not do anything. They did only the beds and replace towels in the bathroom. We had a dirty floor during our stay. - There are some missing facilities like Minibar and Safe for storing values.

    The rooms are beautiful. Very comfort bed. Very good location. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    The hotel is in a great location just outside the walls of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in a great location just outside the walls of the old town and takes less than 5 minutes to walk to the Christmas Markets. The restaurant at the hotel is amazing as was the breakfast. The room was a great size for a family. Parking is available at the property.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    Overall a good stay at a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only thing was the contruction coupled with the heavy rain that evening made it a little bit difficult to figure out which entrance to use to get to the room from the reception.

    Breakfast was great with lots of variety. Hotel room was nice and the gentleman at the reception was extremely helpful and spoke good english.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    5.8
    Bathroom and room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception, breakfast, dinner and room are all in different buildings. There was too much noise around due to on going work. Large vehicles and workers were right at our window. Bathroom tap made a huge drilling kind noise when turned for hot water. Elevator was not freely available again due to workers. Breakfast was very average. Generally in other hotels I am not charged for an extra pillow for child but here they charging 10 EUR for it. Some of the wooden piping with nails was loose in the room which can potentially hurt the kids if not noted.

    Bathroom and room was clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    6.7
    It was OK for what we needed for one night, but would stay someplace else if more than a few nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpet in the room seemed dirty. The Combination soap/shampoo was absolutely awful. Amenities need to be improved or just bring your own. A coffee pot/tea kettle in the room would have been fabulous. The "family" room is only good if you have small children. The pull out sofa was very uncomfortable. "

    Very close to the old city of Rothenburg o.d.t. Bathroom was very nice and large. Room temperature was perfect. Pillows and comforters were great!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    9.2
    Great for a stopover and Rothenburg is beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In different building from restaurant but looks like they're building a link at the moment. No onsite bar - out of season! No coffee/tea facilities in room

    Good traditional German fare Large room and modern bathroom with great shower

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.6
    We enjoyed the location of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were a bit hard.

    We enjoyed the location of the hotel. The hotel was right outside the wall and had an outside playground for the kids. Our room was very clean and spacious. The breakfast was great and the staff were extremely helpful and kind.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was construction going on, so it's ugly and could be noisy during their working hours.

    Good location, not far from the train station. Price was good and the breakfast was tasty.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.5
    Nice location with immediate proximity to an old town tower and walking access into center of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is massive construction occurring between the two hotel properties which made it difficult to go from one building to the next; I had to walk in the street with my suitcase.

    Large room in centrally located area, very comfortable, high walkability score. As a whole, the hotel was very quiet and well maintained.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    4.2
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    most of staffs was not warm. Room space was not large as expected and was not clean. There was some dirty things can be found under the bed.

    Location is good. Very near the gate of Rothernberg. Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel information said that there was parking behind the hotel for guests. Unfortunately, they were doing some construction and the parking wasn’t available. There is a public parking lot very close to the hotel which only cost €5 for a day, which isn’t bad. I didn’t realize breakfast was included in the price until we checked out.

    Location was very close to the medieval city part. The staff was friendly. The room was nice and very clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    5 stars!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    5 stars! Comfortable rooms, friendly/helpful staff, great breakfast, easy walk into the center of town, large kid's park next to the parking lot. We enjoyed two wonderful nights there with my parents and our 4 year old daughter.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Cozy, quiet, great breakfast included in price, and just outside the wall of Rothenburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The light switch just inside the door turned on the entire overhead lighting rather than just the “entry” area where the closets were. Made it a little difficult to search for clothes without waking up everyone else in the room.

    Loved the friendly staff and the close proximity to the city center. The apple juice flavored pack of gummies on the pillows were delicious and available for purchase at the front desk. Hotel room and bathroom were both very clean and spacious. Convenient parking too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Would highly recommend this property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They are adding to the hotel which created some rather tight parking options. Everything else about this property was outstanding from the staff, to the room to the restaurant. The location, just steps from an entry to the Old Town proved to be perfect as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.8
    Very close to the old town of Rothenburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival the lady at check it insisted that a pay for our rooms, hence I paid in full before our arrival and still she argued with me that the rooms have not been paid for. Only when I showed her my payment confirmation receipt she acknowledged payment. The system was not updated properly

    Very close to the old town of Rothenburg. Entrance to city gates is about 200 meters. Very convenient

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    5.0
    Beware- romantic room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked the romantic room. Though the description stated that not all rooms come with a balcony, it was also described as one with a direct view of the castle. There was no view, unless you stand right next to the window and look out. Also the windows were small, the room dark, small and cramped, with barely enough space between the bed and bathroom door. Two people can't walk at the same around the bed. Managed apologised saying they fully booked and unfortunately can't do much other than giving a 5€ discount. Breakfast was nothing great. Bread and boiled eggs, some fruit.

    Absolutely great location, if you're wanting to stay near the alpsee lake and Neuschwanstein castle...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    The separate adjoining bedroom for the children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't like having to walk outside from the hotel block we were in to another section for breakfast. If it had been raining we would have gotten very wet.

    The separate adjoining bedroom for the children.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.2
    Would definitely stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bottle of water in the room but there was a charge of €2,50 which was rather extortionate considering you could buy a bottle around the corner for €0,40.

    Lovely hotel, just outside of the city walls. Large comfortable room with balcony. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Free access parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction. But that couldnt be helped by establishment. So no complaints about establishment.

    Free access parking. Breakfast included. Easy access location close to city sites

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: