Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Rappen am Münsterplatz This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Münsterplatz 13, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany

#30 of 50 hotels in Freiburg im Breisgau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1067 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Situated right in the Münsterplatz, with views of the beautiful Münster and the market bustling below. Wonderful buffet breakfast, hotel quiet despite being in the heart of town. Staff were lovely. Rooms and beds very comfortable. Can’t wait to return!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard to find Hotel and parking....but it was our fisrt time driving in Germany and it was dark out. Make sure you have clear instructions before going there, Shower door was confusing but we had a good laugh about it.

    Great location!! Quaint old style building. Recommend it for sure!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture, the room did not have refrigaratior and had a very small tv. The wc was very small. They did non change the sheets for four nights. The price without breakfast was too much.

    The gay at the reception

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared toilet. The drainage of bath tub was not working well. I stayed on the fourth floor, the elevator stops at third floor.

    Air Condition would like to have. The day I stayed,the weather was warm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you travel by car you have to expect issues and rather high additional cost for parking. I didn't bother because I was travelling by train (which I always recommend for ecological reasons).

    Location is excellent, even if a bit noisy on weekends. Breakfeast is really great, staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints:)

    Fluffy bed, beautiful view, lovely staff, delicious breakfast spread, central to all amenities, flexible check-in, room with all amenities, vintage feel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location right in the Munsterplatz. Warm and cosy as the outside temperature was -10C. Can take a number 4 tram from the train station (Freiburg Hauptbahnhof) to Freiburg Siegesdenkmal and you walk 150m down the back lane and you are there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The elevator was out of order during our stay. We have to carry our luggage up to the reception on the first floor and then to the room. A lobby/cafe/bar room would be great. During the cold and rainy/snowy days you have to stay in the room.

    Breakfast was excellent. All the food was very tasteful presented. The staff we met at the reception specially and also at the service have been very kindfull and helpfull.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lift wasn't working and my room was on the 4th Floor. Good morning exercise, but for someone who is not so fit, Mission impossible!

    Although I had a single room in the attic it was really charming and had exactly the view I wanted of the Münster and City sqaure

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lift was broken, that happens and was fine. They offered to carry my luggage. But that you cannot get into the hotel when you arrive, having to stand out in the cold waiting for someone to come open the door in the middle of the day was odd. Its a tiny thing though

    The staff were all really nice. The bed was super comfortable and the breakfast was great. But lets be honest. The best thing about this hotel is the location. Having the Münster directly in front of your window was pure magic.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wine tavern was unfortunately closed on Saturday evening. My husband joined me one day later, but the hotel charged his breakfast anyway....that wasn't fair.

    The location is excellent, in the Center of Freiburg and the weekly market is on the doorstep. The restaurant serves hot meals throughout and the rooms are very spacious and clean. Pets are welcome.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Location, location, location! breakfast was awesome. Very nice polite friendly staffs! Would recommend to my family and want to come back again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely traditional hotel in a perfect location in Freiburg's old town. Good sized room with a great view overlooking the Munsterplatz. Excellent breakfast and very friendly, helpful staff. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet could have been working better.

    The location of the hotel is excellent. The room was rather small but very cosy. The view was very nice. Although it was a central location, but very quiet. Very good isolation system of the windows and walls. There is market every Friday and Saturday just in front of the hotel. We also ate at the restaurant downstairs, but it was rather expensive (you can find twice cheaper for the same quality). All in all, the hotel is worth staying in for the location and cosiness.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upgraded to ensuite room #15 appreciated however no view, not private and tub/shower restrictive ceiling height.

    Location great breakfast, cleanliness and elevator. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking near hotel. You must park in a nearby parking deck, although you can park at the hotel to load and unload. A bit too noisy. We anticipated some noise as it is right next to the Cathedral where there is a daily market. But we did not anticipate that the vendors start setting up at 6:30 a.m. Also walks are a bit thin as we could hear the TV in the adjoining room quite clearly.

    Friendly staff. Clean comfortable room. Good location. Wonderful breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment for 2-6 People
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking place which is understandable from the very in-town location of the place. Check-in process and location was a bit confusing, need to ask for the way to check-in counter, the way to the room from those busy but kind restaurant staff, the hotel could have posted better sign or instruction.

    Perfect location. Spacious room (we took the multi-room apartment option). Nice breakfast. Best place if you want to stay in town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Security entrance door did not work. I had to ring the bell for some one to open it, though it was in the morning not late night.

    Location play plus and minus. It is in the center of touristic places, but far away from rail station. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little firm, but I still slept well. In order to enter the hotel through the main door you have to enter through the restaurant on the main floor. Otherwise, the room key does work for a side door/lobby which you do not have to walk through the restaurant.

    The location is spectacular, right in the main market square called Munsterplatz across from a gorgeous cathedral. Farmers market daily with vegetables, fruit, food stands & some goods for sale. Shops all around the area (some for souvenirs & many types of other shops & department stores for all shopping needs). Freiburg is a lovely place. It would be best to enjoy it in this great location of the old town cobble stone streets (mostly just walking streets). Staff are lovely & helpful here. Please note, Saturday is very busy in square & I believe all shops & market are closed on Sundays! Plan accordingly. Also, there is short walk over a bridge to waking trails that go up a hill to a spectacular view of town & a cute little outdoor cafe at the top with a gorgeous view!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Late night, very noisy with loud talking outside our window very late. Also, didn't know that they had their market while we were there and they set up around 4:30am and was loud. Of course, it was warm out so we had our windows open so we obviously were going to hear everything.

    The location was perfect. Our view was of the square and church.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was quite expensive (almost 100€/night) didnt have toilet or shower ( was in the hallway) and was very loud

    nice and helpfull staff big breakfast buffet and a very nice and central location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was in a great position, had dinner in the restaurant and it was one of the best we have had. Lovely room with views of the square.Staff were friendly and would stay again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    trying to find the hotel with all the road construction around the square made it difficult to find the hotel. but after we did, we found the parking lot at the mall down the street.

    we only stayed one night, so we didn't really "vacation" there in frieburg. but it was in a nice location in the town square. restauannt had good food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cathedral bells ring early and often in the morning. Facilities could do with a bit of renovation.

    central location Breakfast was good and staff very friendly and accommodating. The restaurant of the hotel is also very good and good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air conditioning was a major problem. We left the windows open to try to cool off and had to hear bells ringing every 15 minutes. We changed rooms and found it much quieter on the other side away from the cathedral, but no view. Had trouble checking in since no one works there after 10:00. Didn't get the code for the door.

    Excellent location! Beautiful view of the cathedral. Breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Motel is in a great location close to everything. Our room was very comfortable and the staff were very friendly and helpful. An added bonus was the street market that appeared each morning which was great to wonder around. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent location Freiburg is a very interesting city, took lots of photos, found a local brewery and had a lovely meal. hotel had a cosy feel, and lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately our room was on the top floor and it was too hot. No air-con, just a fan but not enough to keep cool. We did not mind a shared bathroom but the access to use the shower and bath was awkward in such a small space.

    Excellent service and welcome. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not easy to find - being in the old town it doesn't have its own car park and nearby parking is quite expensive. There is no air-conditioning - the temperature was over 30 degrees even at night and we had to sleep with the windows open. But the hotel is right next to the cathedral and the clock chimes every 15 minutes....... plus on both mornings there was a market in the square which started setting up well before 7am. Probably better in cooler weather.

    The staff were lovely - really helpful. The breakfast was very good and we had an excellent meal in the restaurant. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable and it was lovely to be able to sit in the minster square to have drinks and dinner. It's a good base for a stay in Freiburg and the south of the Black Forest.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Cathedral bells will woke you up a couple of times during the night if you do not close the windows or if you don't have earplugs. Bathroom very very small. A little bit to small for me.

    Great location just 30 meters from the Cathedral in the heart of the old city. No way for a better location. Super polite staff , very helpful. Great breakfast every morning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel outside is very lovely, typical Southern Germany style, on the inside, the bedrooms not so.

    The lady who managed to move us after asking for a room with a shower.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the location! Our window looked over the square with food carts, a farmer's market and a beautiful old cathedral. Great complimentary breakfast- best we had the entire trip.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would suggest taking a taxi if you come by train. It's not that far, but the cobblestones are very hard on luggage with wheels. The taxi was around 8 euros. I had read several reviews that mention the church bells. Some thought they were terrible and others had no problem. That's because sometimes they ring much more often. For at least 5-10 minutes in the middle of the night. The best explanation we received was that it has some religious significance.

    It was very close to Freiburg sights & many good restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were abrupt, I arrived early which I knew and all I wanted was to drop my bag but was told in no uncertain terms that I was early. When I got the room found that my on-suite was at the other end of the corridor so you had to unlock and relock your room and unlock and relock your on-suite and the reverse on the way back. I noticed that the pillow in the room had blood spots on it and got to maid to change it, she said nothing about it. I should have twigged, the bed was infested with bedbugs but it was to late when I noticed. The food in the restaurant was over priced for what was offered. Do not stay here.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved this hotel.

    This hotel is the perfect place to stay when visiting Freiburg. It is opposite the Cathedral in a beautiful square. The rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean. Ours had a view of the Cathedral which we loved. Breakfast was good quality and the breakfast room is very pleasant. The staff were charming and could'nt have been kinder. The hotel is pet friendly and our small dog was made welcome too. We would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    You right next to a church and the church bells chime but the very good windows keep out most of the sound and you hardly hear it. You in the middle of the old town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was limited front desk operating hours. With only one key to our room and no one to let us in at night we always had to stick together and could not wonder around by ourselves otherwise one of us would get locked out.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that I didn't like at this hotel!

    Hotel Rappen is located right at the Freiburg Catheral square! There are restaurants, food stands, flower/fruit farmer's market right there. I had the best "Freiburger Lange Route" there! A short walk to the bustling streets with all kinds of stores and restaurants. It's only a 10 minutes walk from the train station. You can walk all over the city easily! My friend highly recommended this hotel to me when I decided to visit Freiburg where she went to college for 9 months but It was full originally when I checked. I snatched a room at the last minute when it opened up while I was waiting for the train in Frankfurt airport. I was very happy! There are only 18 rooms at Hotel Rappen, with windows looking out to the square. You can hear the bell ringing hourly but you don't hear it once you close the window. My room was simple but comfortable. They provide wonderful free breakfast buffet in a large room in the back of the restaurant. A lot more than what the B & B usually provide! I highly recommend Hotel Rappen if you should visit Freiburg! It's a very nice town to visit!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you have knee problems, remember that the lift will only go up to the 3rd floor, you then have to go up the stairs to the 4th floor. But it was good exercise for us both.

    Great place to stay for all amenities. Not much noise at all from bells,

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think is a little bit too expensive for a room with shared bathroom.

    The Hotel is just in front of the cathedral, this means a perfect location to walk around and discover the city. From the room, there is an incredible view. The hotel is also very near to the train station, it can be reached by tram or foot really fast. The room was very clean and comfortable, the shared bathroom was also clean. The breakfast that was included was also OK with different options to choose.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is centrally located-just right in the square of a church! So close by to any place of the city. The rooms were clean and the bed was very comfortable. Even though the bathrooms and the toilets are shared but we didn't have any difficulties with that-no queues waiting ahead. The room itself has a sink too, what it made our stay more comfortable. The stuff was friendly. Thank you for a great stay!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding the hotel was not easy! Room 12 needs better lighting but o/w was comfortable and very clean.

    Breakfast is fabulous...huge amount of choices & very good coffee. Bed very comfy, incredible view right out over the cathedral. Fantastic market on Friday AM. Freiburg and

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff really helpful, friendly and kind. Clean and comfy room and hotel in a central position. Our room had a small bathroom but was not a real inconvenient. Generous Breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    basically nothing

    incredible view on the Munster!! and we did not wake up for the bells :-) delicious and abundant breakfast. we also got a free bottle of sparkling water and chocolate. overall very happy with our choice, we will come back here when in Freiburg!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance to the hotel is through an alley to the left of the restaurant. The private bathroom to my room was outside, across the hall - a weird layout but no major issues. You can hear the Munster bells quite clearly, but that's a side effect of the location, that is great otherwise.

    I stayed in a single room. The location is good, as central as it gets. The staff was helpful and the breakfast was great!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed wasn't double, but two single mattresses pushed together. The bathroom was shared (though always very clean) but our room was next to it and we never saw anyone else use it- may be an issue when busy.

    The view from the room was right onto the main square, the staff were wonderful, the included breakfast was really good, much better than I expected- great coffee and a big selection. The location is perfect for getting around, it was very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit small.

    Excellent location; quiet during the night; spotlessly clean; good wifi; rich and fresh breakfast in a beautiful room. Helpful and friendly staff!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It could have been better to have 24 hour reception and in case of transport it's limited - only tram, bicycles and walking because it's closed for cars, buses and etc.

    I liked the location, rooms, restaurant, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location with view on the mediaval Münster. The room and all facilities very clean; lavish breakfast buffet with local breads and toppings; best german roasted coffee. And last but not least very friendly people.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment for 2-6 People
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.....we would stay there again.

    We stayed in the "apartment"....two bedrooms, living room and bath. Very nice, looks new. Dinner we had in the dining room was the best of our trip.....brisket with horseradish sauce. Breakfast was great and staff was wonderful and arranged a great walking tour of Freiburg with "Christina". I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant staff were friendly and the food was very good. The hotel is opposite the cathedral. A market selling fruit, vegetables and other items takes place daily from 7 am but our room was so well insulated that we didn't hear a thing!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't really dislike anything, but for some the hourly ringing of the cathedral bells right next to the hotel might be too noisy, but we found the busy environment very enjoyable. We also found the entry very difficult to find, but once we did all was well.

    We could watch them set up the market each morning right outside our window, noisy a bit, but very fun! Excellent breakfast buffet and the best coffee we experienced in Europe!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is excellent-we enjoyed looking out at the market every morning. The room was comfortable,the staff were pleasant and helpful,and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Church bells and market traders setting up their stalls was a little disturbing at 5am. . Parking wasn't ideal

    A very central hotel, excellent staff and clean room. Lovely continental breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had a room with shared bathroom. It was a lot better that I know from other hotels. There were Bathroom and WC very close to my room, very clean, even with a bathtube! So the most time I didn't see other people using it, so I think it was only for two rooms. Really great!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard bed, very noisy square below hotel also late at night, unbearable noise from cathedral bells 50 yards from room windows

    Location, staff, cleanliness, breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The arrangement with the car park didn't work so well so we ended up paying more than we should have. The hotel is fine but pretty basic for the price.

    The location was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Apartment for 2-6 People
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovation of the church which is across the plaza was noisy. Nothing of the hotel's fault.

    Location was unbeatable to visit the old town on foot. The quality of breakfast which was included in our stay was superb. The apartment was very clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 surprised first time I see Sharing two room with one toilet. If you want go to toilet you must wait the strange people come out from toilet. So bad. Advance charge if you want to private toilet. 2 Wii fi is poor. 3 small breakfast menu and big restaurant from same hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Apartment for 2-6 People
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE HOTEL IS LOCATED IN A RESTRICTED AREA. IF YOU TRAVEL BY CAR, YOU MUST BEAR THIS IN MIND. I TRIED TO ASK DIRECTION FROM THE RECEPTIONIST BUT SHE SAID IT WAS TOO COMPLICATED TO EXPLAIN ON THE PHONE. I RECOMMEND YOU CALL A FEW DAYS IN ADVANCE TO ASK THE HOTEL TO SEND YOU A MAP OF HOW TO GO TO ITS BACK ENTRANCE TO UNLOAD YOUR BAGGAGE. OTHERWISE, IT IS A 10 MIN WALK FROM THE NEAREST CAR PARK. AND DRAGGING YOUR LUGGAGE ALONG COBBLED STREET OF THIS OLD CITY IS NOT A NICE EXPERIENCE. AND YOU CAN EASILY DAMAGE YOUR LUGGAGE WHEELS! THE OTHER ISSUE IS THE NOISE. WHEN THE WINDOWS MUST BE LEFT OPEN AT NIGHT IF YOU STAY THERE IN SUMMER, YOU CAN BE WOKEN UP BY DRUNK PEOPLE WHO PASS BY OR BY GARBAGE COLLECTORS EARLY IN THE MORNING.

    THE HOTEL IS LOCATED IN A CONVENIENT AREA NEXT DOOR TO THE MUNSTER AND RESTAURANTS AS WELL AS SHOPPING. THE APARTMENT IS BRIGHT, SPACIOUS AND VERY CLEAN AND WELL MAINTAINED. THE RECEPTIONIST IS HELPFUL.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Apartment for 2-6 People
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is not nearby - it is on the other side of town, and no information was given prior to arrival about where it was. This was the most expensive hotel on our tour though Europe, but was not really very special. The welcome was not especially warm. It was quite noisy, being right in the centre.

    Breakfast was good. Hotel is well placed, right in the heart of the town.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not the hotels fault but the Cathedral bells ring every hour all night. Get directions for parking before you arrive, Freiburg is a nightmare for cars.

    Friendly staff, good restaurant, full of character and located in the old square.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic view of the dome and Munsterplatz, but beware that the big bells toll every 15 minute and a lot in the early morning - as there is a lot of noise from the marketplace fom 5-6 in the morning No airconditioning - does add to the noise even more by having to have all vindows open on warm nights

    Fantastic location Great view Great Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find in the centre of town, cathedral opposite being renovated.

    The staff were excellent and very accommodating. They showed flexibility with regard to check out and were extremely helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Constant noise from wine festival stalls, (evening) and market stalls (day), plus bell tower rings every quarter hour and chimes every hour, even during the night. No aircon, (as expected) but no room fans, so stifling if you shut the windows to keep the noise out. Or open windows for air, but then get no sleep due to outside noise.

    Right on the Cathedral plaza, old town. Good continental breakfasts. Right outside the Cathedral and square. Town centre attractions are all walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment for 2-6 People
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. This hotel was superb. The cathedral was being cleaned when we visited and was covered in netting and scaffolding. The parking for a car was a bit of a walk but worth it for the location.

    This hotel is located in the main market place directly in front of the Cathedral. It has it's own restaurant with cafe style seating outside also. Shops all around you and a early morning farmers and handcrafted goods market in the square.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi extremely slow in the evening.

    Nice location in Freiburg.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff. Abundant and declious breakfast. Comfortable room right on Munster Platz. Beautiful views.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, breakfast, friendly & helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was wonderful except for the WiFi which was pitifully slow. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was a bit small.

    The location was fantastic!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment for 2-6 People
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No food or bar options close. too much construction

    Central location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed was two singles out together and was too hard so I didn’t sleep well

    Fantastic location with great view

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Apartment for 2-6 People
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no lift even though the listing states that there is...also no view of square or church.

    Near the Christmas Market

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Rappen munsterplatz was not like the photos. Not as beautiful as the photos.This is a deception.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: