Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Royal Inn Regent Gera This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Schülerstr. 22, 07545 Gera, Germany

#8 of 11 hotels in Gera

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1274 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 26

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.9
    Lady at breakfast & waiter in restaurant extremely...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had asked for reservation of smoking room & parking, both were not done. Had the feeling hotel was very understaffed, poor lady who looked after 50 people at breakfast also needed to handle reception. Lightbulp in my room was broken I fixed it myself. No tea/coffee making facilities in room.

    Lady at breakfast & waiter in restaurant extremely friendly. Food in restaurant excellent, portion very good. Price very reasonable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    4.2
    All in all, a stay is not recommended. The pictures do not match reality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was racist. We travelled with a friend who has Italian heritage, when we checked the in, the heavily tattoed and like stale smoking employee at the reception huffed at us: "we only speak German in this house" her sentence contained several grammatical errors, laced with a heavy East German accent. Our friend, who has a German passport by the way, speaks excellent German with no accent. Just saying.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    I liked it very much and would come again.
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My first given room I was trying to open the door with my key, was not possible to come in - it was already occupied. It was a little bit strange, but the lady at the reception gave me another nice room and to my friend also near to me. It was all ok.

    The staff was extra friendly!!! I nearly felt at home.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    6.3
    Good German Hospitality with late checkout possible.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast - we came at around 9.40 - almost every type of warm food was gone. Had to ask the lady from the kitchen to prepare at least some omlette. Very old type of a hotel. Classic German hotel from the 70-80s movies. Renovation required!!!

    Good German Hospitality with late checkout possible.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    9.6
    An Excellent stay in the best hotel in Gera
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1- Paying a Landline call when is free on all German's Landline's network. 2- I think that, the internet supposed to be free of charge for the guests. I hope that, the management department would think about these cases.

    I was surprised to see that kind of comfort in this Hotel according to the price. My stay was wonderfully perfect. Very professional's staff. I received a very warm welcome from the woman who worked at the reception when i reached the Hotel on 16/11/2016 at 19h. She knows about a customers service care. Thank you a lot. In my opinion, the Royal inn Regent Hotel is the best in Gera. Good location and very practice. I am proud of the hotel. Bravo. I shall come back again and again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    9.2
    The hotel is very quiet, the staff professional, the rooms...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's funny that in the year 2016 that you have to pay extra for the internet. 3 Euros for two hours. Also the coffee in the breakfast was not good.

    The hotel is very quiet, the staff professional, the rooms are great and the location is nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    5.4
    Not really "Royal"
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I've booked 3 rooms in different names since we were accompanied by two other families. First thing that strikes me is that staff present is not really that good at English although they state they do know the language, fortunately my school German is sufficient to get us all checked in although staff looked really confused although I had all paperwork and paid in advance, they even managed to get all names mixed up (!?) The room we got (Junior suite) was quite bland (looks better in photos) and had that "old people smell" all over the place. The AC unit did not change temperature when changed using thermostat, resulting in a cold night and silicone around bathtub had seen better days.. Also they were charging for WiFi access which is kind of crap. On my way back through Germany we booked a room at a Ibis Budget hotel which was cheaper, closer to Autobahn, more comfortable and had better entertainment options and free WiFi. Sufficient to say, we are unfortunately not staying here again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Had to pay for parking.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to pay for parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    Our Stay in the hotel was very nice and I did not need anything more.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillow was too big = zu hoch und dick.

    Das Badezimmer war sehr schön.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.1
    Very bad wi-fi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad wi-fi

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    5.4
    Large room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned, No english speaking staff, horrible city

    Large room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely time in Gera overall with a comfortable stay in a lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good.l

    Good location, lovely hotel with secure parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    4.6
    Motell class not hotel standart
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One pillow, no shampoo, mot much helpful staff, somebody worked on the bathroom door and not finished when we arrived

    Not much, elevator

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good value for money. Clean with good facilities and professional staff. Garage provided for bicycles.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.3
    Big triple room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Big triple room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    10
    A very good downtown hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were helpful e.g. with finding a parking space in a crowded car park late at night.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    8.3
    Perfect and clean room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect and clean room. Staff was very helpfull and friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    9.6
    I was told that there were smoking rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not being asked if I wanted a smoking room BEFORE I booked!

    I was told that there were smoking rooms.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    9.6
    Evrything was fine.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was good but expensive.The wi-fi access was poor ............................................................................................................................................

    Evrything was fine....clear,nice friendly stuff etc.................................................................................................................................................................

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2016

    9.6
    very spasious and clean room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    very spasious and clean room.nice comfortable beds.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    7.9
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    €239 is pretty steep for one night in a 3 person room and a basic two course dinner.

    Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    9.6
    Real value for money.
    • Group

    Nothing.

    Real value for money. Very quiet and comfortable room. Very helpful staff. Gera is a gem of a town when you explore it.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    9.6
    Food was excellent, nice and clean room!
    • Family with young children

    Food was excellent, nice and clean room!

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    9.6
    Position
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Need jug to make coffee

    Position

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    9.2
    everything's clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    breakfast is just ok.

    everything's clean

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    4.6
    nothing
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Very small rooms! WLAN (Wifi) not free!

    nothing

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26

Guests also reviewed these properties: