Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Reichs-Küchenmeister This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Kirchplatz 8, 91541 Rothenburg ob der Tauber, Germany

#10 of 26 hotels in Rothenburg ob der Tauber

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1820 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious. The bed was very comfortable. The restaurant’s food and service was excellent. The family has owned it for five generations and that pride of ownership is evident at every turn. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.5
    The hotel placed us in a modern appartmenthouse 100 meters...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel placed us in a modern appartmenthouse 100 meters from the hotel we booked The reason for choosing this hotel was the historical atmosphere

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    6.3
    One night stay in Rothenburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff, elderly lady, was extremely rude when I questioned why she copied my passport. When questioning her she became agitated and somewhat offensive,

    Nice accommodation in the middle of Rothenburg

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.9
    This hotel is very conveniently located in the heart of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking needs to be requested in advance, which wasn't clear when I made my reservation. We were able to arrange to park within a locked garage area, but the process to drive and park was really a hassle, especially since driving inside the city walls is jammed with tourists. We didn't need to access our car during our stay, but there are no easy 'in and out' privileges you might expect. The check in procedure for us was very efficient, but we had to wait more than 20 minutes for the one person in front of us, which was frustrating.

    This hotel is very conveniently located in the heart of the city. The entire area is quite quaint, and despite the concentrated area, it wasn't super loud in the evening. Church bells were quite robust in the morning, however! Our room was on the fourth floor, and there was actually a functional elevator - a plus for such an old hotel! The breakfast was very crowded but had a good selection. There were few Americans at our hotel, despite this being a heavily touristy area. We only stayed one night; after checkout we were able to leave our bag and car while we visited the Museum of Crime & Punishment (worth an hour or two). Not having to check out the car and pay to park on the streets was a helpful convenience! Bring your walking shoes -- this city is worth the overnight stay!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Best Hotel In Rothenburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was great for our stay. It is so close to the market square and had the best restaurant in Rothenburg! Staff was friendly, immediate on site parking for only 12 euro a night. Had English maps and the room was cozy and clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    extraordinary hotel and restaurant in a picture perfect town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    our visit was great. loved the hotel. service, room, location and extraordinare restaurant. the restaurant terrace with the view of the church, pedestrians, and truly great food. the restaurant seervice was impecable as well. We were there two nights, could have stayed many more. bertha and daniel/usa.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our rooms were not cleaned as to our expectations.

    I love the location and our room has a balcony. Everything was excellent but cleaning leaves something to be desired.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.3
    Right in Centre of Old Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initial receptionist very officious (others nice), but won her round in the end.

    Very character hotel. Right in the centre of old town. Lovely comfy room & good breakfast but as hotel was busy we had to eat our breakfast in a side room, initially on our own. Great car parking facilities.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    5.0
    Sad traveller
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    VERY NOISY. COULD NOT CLOSE WINDOW. COULD NOT SLEEP. ROOM WAS MODERN WHEN EXPECTING OLD CHARM PRESENT IN MAIN HOTEL. SO TIRED COULD NOT MAKE BREAKFAST. HOSTESS VERY SHORT AND FIXED COFFEE AND ROLL. COULD HAVE BEEN MORE ACCOMMODATING. HOTEL WAS EXPENSIVE.

    Very charming

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Great stay in medieval Germany.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That we couldn't stay longer.

    The size of the rooms were large and well equipped. Beds comfy and location was nice for our group to have rooms right next to each other. Great location right in the perfect part of town. And restaurant with wonderful outdoor seating looking over the churchyard.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location in this historic town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were very nicely appointed, gave a good impression when first walking in, spacious and nicely furnished. The location is excellent and they had secure parking available. The restaurant is popular so it is advisable to book.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel in the heart of Rothensburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant is very expensive. Not the price of the drinks, but some of the meals, but there are plenty of other restaurants about, so we eat out and then come back for a drink.

    The room was very comfortable. You could see the beer garden from it. The hotel had character. The staff very friendly and helpful. It was brilliantly located. Right in the middle of Rothensburg. Restaurant expensive, we only eat there once and then in the wine bar, which was only open the one night. Shame because it was very cosy. Breakfasts 10 out of 10.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    6.3
    Location is very good but anything within the ‘city walls’...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It very much puts me in mind of an old-style coaching inn - ie. big and regular through-put of guests. Nothing wrong with that , of course, but it’s hard to maintain the ‘welcoming spirit’ above & beyond the perfunctory. If you want your weekend hotel to be ‘centre stage’ I’d probably advise something less ‘stack’em & sell’em not-so-cheap’. It lacks a personal touch which isn’t reflected in the price ...but you are really paying for location here. So, good but why not try a hotel outside the town and drive in: the town is not a massive buzz at night so the attraction of being within walking-distance is diminished somewhat for your ‘inner-wall’ hotel. Better value is probably found outside ...and then come in for a meal instead.

    Location is very good but anything within the ‘city walls’ is central anyway. Generally well run. Nothing that would put you off returning. They have a private garage about 100 m away in a private block which is handy if you’re sensitive about your car.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location, very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think due to the age of the town visitors should be pre-warned about driving through the narrow streets and limited parking facilities. This hotel does have it’s own private parking yard and the staff take you there on arrival

    Great location, very helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    A perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We met some rude waiters in the restaurant but I don’t remember anything else. The background noise was part of the Rothenburg feeling for me.

    I really liked the place, it was clean, cosy and friendly. My TV didn’t work when I’ve arrived but after I indicated it, the staff replaced it in the same day! There was a noisy terrace and square below my apartment but I really liked the life it brought to my room. If you would like to get a quiet room you should ask for one placed in the other side of the building.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    5.8
    We were in an anex in a separate building from the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in an anex in a separate building from the hotel. It was modern. The main hotel is traditional with a beautiful terrace restaurant. The staff were polite and efficient but not warm or welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.1
    Rothenburg is a very nice town, perfect location of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To expensive for the service they offer. 4 star hotel - not even a complimentary water in the room, noisy rooms - you can hear the noise from neighbour room,

    Rothenburg is a very nice town, perfect location of the hotel. Quite noise at the time of events in the town, Not convenient for big size cars

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Magical city, lovely hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy in the morning. We had to have the windows open as our room wasn’t air conditioned and the road noise from outside was significant from 6.30 am

    Location, how interesting the building is.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location, good breakfast, very clean and cleaning...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of people coming and going from this small hotel creating a bottleneck at the small front desk.

    Great location, good breakfast, very clean and cleaning staff were very thoughtful (letting us know when our room would be ready). Amazing bathtub. Good restaurant onsite.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    The hotel is charming and the room was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like that you cant eat breakfast on the patio. The breakfast area is too crowded so would have been nice to go outside and enjoy the weather.

    The hotel is charming and the room was great. Wouldnt have changed anything. No AC but the windows all opened to let air cool the room a bit. The staff was amazing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    Above average but quirky
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bizarrely, no bar nor lounge in the hotel, so nowhere to relax with a drink or newspaper. Over-priced private car parking right next to a cheaper public car park - so don't bother to book it !

    Busy restaurant (indoor and outdoor) with good value typical German food; good wine list. Friendly hotel staff, albeit somewhat overworked.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    You will be glad to drop your car keys and explore this wonderful place from an excellent base.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This fits in with the very old (in a very good way) feel of the town. Lovely looking building with winding staircase and open reception area. Car parking is by way of large private lock up garages. Very helpful guy at reception who helps with the parking and cases. Very nice restaurant and beer garden but there is also a smaller dining area and relaxed bar towards the rear of the building. This right in the middle of the town and within minutes you can be in the shops, restaurants or the surrounding park area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.8
    Probably best location in Rothenburg; terrace real bonus; staff excellent. Bells could disturb sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Night-time and especially the 7am bells of the adjacent church a nuisance for many of our party, particularly those on the top floor of the annexe, which is separate from the historic main building. Although staff would attend quickly, lack of free access to the secure car park was restrictive.

    Historic property in great location, very good food, very nice rooms, great staff. Terrace under trees (possibly unique in Rothenburg) overlooking church square was great to enjoy meals / refreshments, especially in the exceptionally hot weather we enjoyed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Central location, tradional high quality hotel with brilliant reception staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its a German thing, but loads of smokers at dinner on the terrace, not the end of the world. Slow drinks service at dinner.

    Fabulous setting in the heart of the old walled town. Great welcome from the staff and help with the PRE BOOKED parking. We had a small suite which was beautifully furnished and spacious. Very good traditional local dinner, sat in big terrace overlooking the church. Good breakfast. wanted to stay longer!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Great Rothenburg location, one block from the Markt-platz.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    With the window open, it was a little noisy from the beer garden. However, on a Monday night that went quiet promptly at 11PM.

    Excellent location, staff, and atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    3.8
    The propriety is walking distance from the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air condition in the rooms: it was really hot and they recommended to open the windows which we did and between the street noise, mosquitos and hot we were not able to sleep The hotel has two buildings and because we booked in bookings they sent us to the annex . The room had no WiFi . Just toilet paper and soap .

    The propriety is walking distance from the center

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi fi was rather poor. That is the only major negative. Receptionist ladies were very polite and made us feel welcome, but the waiters in the restaurants are so slow and not a single smile for the customer.

    Location is perfect, right next to city church, in the middle of the pedestrian zone. Hotel has a lot of charm and character. Beds were super comfortable. And everything was impeccably clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location, in the middle of everything, but no air conditioning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning at all in the hotel/room! And we're in the middle of August. At least provide a small fan in each room, so it's not so miserable.

    Extremely central location, great staff services, excellent breakfast!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Treated like a king
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything. Excellent location, history surrounds you, including the hotel building. The staff was friendly and welcoming, happy to make us a dinner reservation. Breakfast was in a lovely setting and had a nice variety. The patio restaurant attached to the lobby was a fabulous place to relax with an afternoon drink or enjoy a delicious dinner. Rooms were clean with a spectacular view. We enjoyed the night watchman tour that meets steps from the hotel lobby. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.6
    A great hotel in the middle of one of the worlds best preserved medieval towns in Europe
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ended up in the more modern part of the hotel, very comfortable but lacking in ambiance compared to the original part

    The Stachelbeermarmalade, the ambiance, the terrace under the chesnuttree, the kindness of letting me buy 4 wineglasses (Römers) that I took a liking to and could not find in any store ( yellowish foot) the great parking serve ( reserve ahead directly with the hotel)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    6.7
    Reality didn't meet anticipation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is multiple buildings, which is fine, but our building ended up being further back from the square and much more plain looking. The procedure for parking is odd, but given that there's so little space in the old city, it's understandable (i.e., I'm not sure there's a better way inside the city walls). The person checking me in kind of scolded me for booking two people into the "double" room package, and claimed that there was a different option for two people (though I'm sure that it wasn't as obvious as she claimed, since when I booked the first time I noticed the confirmation said for one person, so I canceled and tried to figure out how to add another person to a new reservation and never figured out where the two person option was...also, not sure why you'd call a single reservation a "double").

    The location in the heart of Rothenburg was excellent. The garden cafe was a very nice setting, and the outside of the hotel from the main road is super cute. Breakfast was very nice (served in the indoor cafe area, which was nice and comfortable). Rothenburg itself was fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.9
    the location could not be better, the restaurant is amazing,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the roon is so small and the bathroon s door is made of glass, so you wake as soon the sun comes up. terrible.

    the location could not be better, the restaurant is amazing, the building is charming.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.3
    What a fairy-tale town. Fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little more direction would help you navigate the tiny streets in a one-way system.

    This is a quaint hotel within the walls of a really picturesque town. To find the hotel you have to pass through one of the narrow fortified gates of the city walls but once inside, what a place, like going back in history. It should be more famous!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    The best rothenburg hotel i have stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If i had to find something “wrong” i’d ask for extra pillows in the room, though i did not ask for any.

    Terrific location - next door to cathedral. Beautiful building, great rooms. To get the AC to run all room windows must be closed. Garage parking - perhaps 150 feet away - cost €12/day. This was my sixth trip to rothenburg and this is my favourite inner city property.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Great place to stay - couldn’t have been more central!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missed having a kettle and tea/coffee making facility in our room.

    Very nice family run hotel with a lot of history. We had a lovely bedroom with a patio area - a superior double. En suite bath 🛀 and shower. The hotel couldn’t be more central facing on to the main square and the outside terraced restaurant was a very popular eating place and for drinks too. Wise to book your table! Good varied breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel in the beat spot in the city. 5 stars!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking cost 12 euros per day and was very limited. It worked out fine but definitely something to he aware of.

    If you want to experience Rothenburg as it SHOULD be experienced, this is the place to do it. We had a lovely room with a nice big shower. The restaurant was very good, though European speed is a bit different (slower) than we are used to in the USA. The best part of this hotel is the proximity to Market Square and the church, likely the 2 biggest attractions in the whole town. They held our bags when we arrived early so we could immediately begin enjoying all that RodT had to offer.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant enough but probably wouldn’t stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the fault of the hotel but guests should be aware that the proximity to two churches meant a very disturbed night with both church bells sounding every hour. Impossible to sleep through.

    The location was good for access to the old town. Comfortable enough room but a little small. The parking was a bit awkward to manage but the porter was very helpful. Breakfast was average.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly. Rooms were nice and big. The location was perfect. We could walk everywhere. Such a beautiful town. So worth the stay. It was a plus to have a car park as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    The staff were amazing and wven were able to arrange a second night on short notice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so comfortable. Our view was of the cathedral. So beaitiful. Our breakfast was of great variety and lovely. We drove into town and the hotel arranged a special parking spot a head of time. Quite a luxury in this town. Being in town at dusk when all the people and tours leave was magical. The church bells ring at 7am so you are sure to be ready for your days adventure.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Great location and service was above average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great location and service was above average. Parking is a bit of a pain but what do you expect for a medieval walled city?! The restaurant had great choices and service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Breakfast was good and the attached weinstubbe provided a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking and finding the location was daunting for neophyte travelers but a common problem in old towns.

    Breakfast was good and the attached weinstubbe provided a good evening break.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    Easy parking in the heart of the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant meals befitting a three star hotel.

    Provides an opportunity to stay right in the in the heart of the old town, yet with efficient parking. The staff meet you, take you bags (HINT: have all of them ready) then escort you to the car park three streets away. Equally helpful on departure. Restaurant staff helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room temperature was a bit too warm for us. If the room had an individual temperature control it would have been perfect.

    Location was perfect, room was quite comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    rooms charming with character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wonder if they were short staffed for breakfast. They wish to have the staff seat you and bring you beverages. We were initially served, but 2 in our party came a little later and had to wait 30 minute to get their drinks.

    rooms charming with character. no parking but public lot a few blocks away. Beer garden was pleasant and the food was good. Breakfast choices were quite limited which was surprising. I must have made mistake when reserving rooms online, but the staff was able to accommodate the necessary changes. I would stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    The property was very well situated as it was very close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The property was very well situated as it was very close to the town square, just one block away. Owners Cristof and staff were very friendly and accommodating. Cristof took his time out to check on us and have a chat every breakfast meal we had during our stay. Food in their restaurant was excellent! No wonder they never ran out of customers, day and night. Would definitely recommend Reichs Küchenmeister for future stays in Rothenburg.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Best Hotel Ever in a Great Vacation Spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little close to the clock, which didn't stop at 2200 as advertised by the City but everything else exceeded my expectations!

    Wonderful place. Fantastic, helpful staff. Delicious food, great selection at all meals. The included breakfast had everything! We ate lunch and dinner there too and were equally pleased. The room was very nice, spotless, cozy, comfortable, roomy and beautifully decorated. Great location (we came by train). I've stayed in many 5 star hotels and this beat them all! Unfortunately we didn't stay long enough to try the sauna. The family who runs the place made us feel like friends rather than just customers. I will tell all my friends to stay there and I hope to return someday.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic find and will surely be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything about this hotel. The location is fantastic for sightseeing and walking the entire old town. The staff was more than accommodating in any request we made. We stayed in the annex immediately across the street from the main hotel and our room was spacious and well appointed with a modern bathroom. We loved the restaurant and outdoor terrace and ate there multiple times. The breakfast was excellent with abundant and delicious foods. Although in the heart of the Altstadt, the hotel has some parking and there was a wonderful attendant who helped with finding that and getting luggage in and out. This hotel is a gem!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel with best location in fairytale town, but not a great sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are quite thin and you can hear anything else in the hotel. I could hear the guy in the next room snoring all night. Our room also faced the church and the bells kept us up.

    Firstly, my wife and I are traveling extensively through Europe. When I booked this accommodation a week in advance, I accidentally booked the wrong date. The girl at the counter- I can't recall her name - was only too happy to switch the dates for us. She was wonderful. The hotel is beautiful and decorated traditionally. The location could not be better and we ate lunch at the hotel restaurant outside. This was the best meal I had in all of Germany.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Would certainly stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have used air conditioning as it was very warm, unseasonably so. Everything else was totally satisfactory.

    Exceptional location. Wonderful old world charm with tons of character. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.9
    Charming Little Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was ok If you are driving, be mindful it is very narrow streets and many people walking within the town so you will need to drive slowly Can be a little noisy as you are in a central location but this wasn't too much of an issue

    Location was great, very central in the town/village. The room we stayed in (second floor) was good size, including bathroom as well. WiFi was included and good speed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast, cozy hotel,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Impolite staff. We had a probelm at the check out, the receptionist told us that we are not allowed to drive our car out of the old town till 6 PM because of the feast hapening that weekend. After I told her that nobody informed us upon ariving about these traffic changes she said that do not believe in me. I felt being called a liar. Afterall, we were not the only one with this kind of the problem- there was one more couple from Belgium that also was not informed about traffic changes in the old town.

    Very comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast, cozy hotel, center location of town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Great location in the centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location in the centre of town. Garage parking for our motorcycle. Excellent dinner in the garden restaurant. You should book - very busy and popular. Excellent stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    A true gem in the middle of a beautiful town
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As other reviews have said, it is a bit noisy, but that should be expected given the location. The hotel did a good job of installing double pained windows to cut down on the noise, but when it is warm and you have the windows open, no avoiding it. It did not distract from our stay, but wanted to note it for others.

    I can't say enough nice things about the staff... We did not indicate we were bringing dogs, but they were able to find out a room that could accommodate them. I also appreciated that they were patient enough to let me practice my nicht gut deutsch! The suite we stayed in was spacious and charming, and the interior of the hotel was full of history and fun to explore. Can't beat the location and the breakfast was great... even had pancakes with real maple syrup, a real treat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Convenient location in Rotenburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We splurged on this hotel because it was for a special occasion and the photos were SO beautiful. When we arrived we were placed NOT in their main hotel, but in their secondary hotel. It is clean and perfect for the business traveler, but not beautiful or worth the splurge. I complained and it was pointed out that photos of both hotels are on the site. I just checked in this is true, but MOST of the pictures are from the main hotel so it was easy to miss the others. Be sure you request the original hotel if you want the beautiful rooms! We wished we had stayed at a much cheaper hotel for what we got.

    Convenient location. Clean. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    Great location. Lackluster customer service. Room not as comfortable as it could be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would not recommend this hotel to a single traveler. The staff was not accommodating to a single traveler, especially in the restaurant. For example, half way through my breakfast I was asked to move to a different but identical table (both had 4 seats, the smallest available) that was in a high traffic area next to the buffet because the table i was sitting at was 'for 2 persons'. The table I had been at was not re-seated until I was finished with my breakfast. Also, there was no shade on my bathroom window and with a translucent bathroom door, the light shone directly on the bed at sunrise.

    Great location. Historic hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel in heart on Rothenburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent hotel in heart on Rothenburg. Parking just a few blocks away in gated lot. staff was very friendly and accomodating. Hotel restaurant was excellent as was the breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    It was very well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a little hard to locate especially if you are staying in the annex. Ask for a map before arriving as that helps.Also there was a very nice man that helped us with our car. There was no ac but it was cool during our stay. There was a space in our room for a refrigerator but there was no refrigerator. It would have been nice to have one as we had a sitting area in our room and wanted to have a glass of wine.They did allow us the put our wine for picnic in hotel fridge.

    It was very well located. It had a lovely breakfast and staff was very helpful.Very nice outside dining beer garden.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Picture perfect German hotel in a picture perfect village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel has got to be the most picturesque hotel in all of Rothenburg ob der Tauber. Upon check in the lovely staff, welcomed us with a smile and were incredibly accommodating. We woke up the next morning to the sounds of bells in the square, and had a delicious German breakfast. The staff let us store our bags in a secure locked room while we explored the town and we picked them up upon departure. The value for money was fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Great Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wine bar/pub in the back was a perfect spot for drinks and food if you're a late nighter. The restaurant and breakfast were very high quality. Great spot to stay. Our only dissapointment was the hot tub/spa area was being renovated and removed :(.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    I stayed at the hotel for four days.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed at the hotel for four days. The room was neat and clean. The reception staff was courteous and pleasant. The breakfasts were delicious and everything I asked for adding was gracefully excepted. The restaurant at the hotel is great, the food varied and tasty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    Stammgasten
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about!

    The hotel is in a perfect location with covered and open private parking. The staff are extremely friendly and polite. Great breakfast and good internet make this our favourite hotel in Rothenburg.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    Rather overpriced for what it offers
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    In general, we found the hotel is rather overpriced for what it offers. Some pieces of furniture were old. The beds, the doors and the floor were creaky, which doesn't help when people are trying to sleep (we could also hear the steps of the people staying in the room above our own or walking in the corridor outside our room). Yet the worse part was the loud sound of clock bells ringing every hour throughout the night, with a special "orchestra" of bells ringing at 7 a.m. making sure no one can sleep longer...

    Excellent breakfast (best pancakes ever tasted and very good grapes marmelade) , very friendly and helpful staff and excellent location, just a few steps away from the town hall. Comfortable matresses and spacious, sparkling clean bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Will be back next year and again and again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was ausgezeichnet!!

    Amazing location with a spacious room Outstanding and friendly staff with the owners Corrina and her husband personally supervising the hotel and the restaurant and meeting and greeting the hotel guests. Home away from home.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    A nice romantic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a hot weekend and they lock the air con. So only windows to get cool which is hard when there is no breeze. If was way too hot.

    We stayed in the Junior suite and it was beautiful. The wine bar was great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Great Hotel stay in Rothenburg, Germany!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing I didn't like

    This hotel is fantastic! The staff and facilities are above expectations. Perfect for traveling with a pet. Hotel restaurant and wine bar were active and food delicious! The free breakfast was extensive and variety of breakfast options. I will be staying at this hotel again and bringing friends and family to experience Rothenburg:)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location and hotel for a weekend in Rothenburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We enjoyed our stay in this charming hotel, styled in a traditional German way. The rooms have been recently renovated and the location is central. There is also an excellent buffet breakfast included. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The secure locked parking down the road was also very convenient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Loved everything about our stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything about our stay here! We stayed here 15 years ago as well. We arrived late and so appreciated all the help from staff - walking us to our 3 rooms in the annex and helping with luggage; showing my husband where to park rental car; and reserving table for 6 of us to sit together at breakfast next morning. Excellent customer service all around. Attached weinstube perfect as we arrived 9:45pm and needed food and drinks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    Breathtaking
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to leave

    Definitely a fairytale place to visit 💕 Hotel was amazing very clean and comfortable the rooms were amazing, the food excellent and the owners and team couldn't do enough for you will definitely return

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    A lovely hotel,centrally placed in the old town. Traditional and cosy,very welcoming and friendly .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee facilities in room which would have been lovely for a cup of tea in bed. Bottled water in rooms €2 each 🙁

    Really comfortable bed and cosy room with lovely views over the rooftops and of the cathedral

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    6.7
    Very friendly staff, big room, clean, nice design.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa area was on reconstruction. A bed is not very comfortable, too hard mattress, and on double bed there are too small ones which is not so comfortable for a couple. It was very very hot in our room and it was not possible to lower the heating

    Very friendly staff, big room, clean, nice design. Good breakfast. Location is great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Amazing small hotel right in the heart of the fairy tale
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked two similar rooms. One looked very freshly renovated and stylish while other looked a bit more simple.

    Wonderful hotel in the heart of the town. Excellent service and breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    We (family of 3) stayed at the hotel for 1 night and were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast buffet was a little limited, although of best quality.

    We (family of 3) stayed at the hotel for 1 night and were delighted by its central location, medieval atmosphere and modern comfort ! The excellent quality and service offered in both the hotel restaurants (Weinstube and Korkenzieher Restaurant), as well as the late dinner possibility are among the hotel's highlights. We definitely recommend the Reichs Kuchenmeister as the best accomodation in Rothenburg!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location in Rothenberg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the location of this hotel in the Old city of Rothenburg! Perfect for our Christmas market visit! It also snowed while we were there making the trip even better! Great breakfast included in the room rate too!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    This is one of my favorite hotels in the whole world!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is one of my favorite hotels in the whole world! It is in a historic building right behind the square where the Christmas Market is located. The building is beautiful and some of the rooms have wonderful old-style German furnishings. The staff are friendly and helpful. The restaurant is wonderful. I especially like to eat in the little Weinkeller, which is SO picturesque. There are many wonderful hotels in Rothenburg but for me, this one is the best!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel in Rotheburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely nothing

    Just an overall excellent experience. Very, very well located and could walk anywhere with ease. Room beyond wonderful including a small lighted Christmas decoration in our window (we could turn it off). Incredibly charming and wonderful restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: