Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Schloss Reinach

St. Erentrudis-Strasse 12, 79112 Munzingen, Germany

#1 of 2 hotels in Munzingen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 683 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel for a relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stylish, comfortable and efficient. Big but still charming. Good facilties ensure a relaxed stay. Nice little village near Freiburg. Rooms clean and OK but some are reaching the point of renovation, especially when it concerns the bathroom. Still, all in all a place to come to back to. Lovely garden. Great breakfast with nice variety.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.5
    Convenient location & wellness options
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was quite old-fashioned and just a single white curtain for the window meant a lot of light in the room once the sun was up

    Situated close to highway on our travel to Italy, access to wellness (nice and included outdoor pool) included in price en garden with multiple restaurant options

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    Sad experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the room, underneath the roof, was very hot! I could'n open the window, and go to sleep, because of the noisy patio of the restaurant, which is just under the windows of all second floor rooms, and it is open until 1am . Also some guests were smoking cigarets and flavored cigars underneath my window, so all the smoke went directly to my room! Very sad experience! I don't understand, why there is no airconditioning!

    Breakfast in the garden

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.4
    Nice but not excellent
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there were no dark curtains or blinders. We woke up very early. The cleaning of the room could improve.

    The suite was nice and the bathroom excellent. The outdoor pool was great. The breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.8
    Clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room ( a superior one) is big as surface but has a strange form ( very long, so a lot space is almost without value). The bathroom has just a sliding glass as door which can not assure the air-proof and sound-proof between room and bathroom...The shower is Italian style without any separation door, so very complicated to not flood all the bathroom during shower. Fortunately in bathroom is a floor heating. the breakfast is good, varied but not really excellent as it is presented on the reservation site.

    Clean. Big room. Quiet. Good internet. Very polite staff. Very nice building.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    More than happy with my stay.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A truly excellent hotel. I am slightly disabled and forgot to ask for a room with lift access but this was rectified immediately on arrival. Bathroom very slippery although wonderful fitments! I will be back next year. The local wine was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel for an overnight if travelling through Germany or for a longer stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful hotel with great facilities. Excellent breakfast, Local cuisine restaurant was superb. We had a lovely meal with great local wine. Really helpful staff especially in the restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    3.3
    3 Star, Dull on most counts, except the wonderful Spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First of all th room overlooked the inside of someone's apartment in a block of apartments a few meters away. That was unbelievable. When I told the reception this, I was told they had other rooms but these were suites of a different category. I would have had to pay more than 60% of the room rate. This room was max 3 Star, and one look outside the window I would give it 2 Stars only. People at the reception were bored and not welcoming. No one offered to help with bags. Absolutely Nothing Castle-like about this Schloss. It was a big disappointment from the start. We ate out. To keep out the 'view' we drew the curtains and the room felt even smaller. Rooms and bathroom were basic but nothing special or inviting at all, i.e. "lieblos". Personnel across the board were dull, and indifferent. Even at the restaurant. They coudl learn basics from the lady at the Spa who was very pleasant and positive and made us feel better about our stay. The waiter at breakfast, too, was friendly, smiling and had a good positive attitude. This was to have been a great start to our Italian holiday, but was quite a dampener and a letdown.

    The Lady at the Spa and the waiter at Breakfast saved it for us. They were very nice. The Spa itself was perfect and we spent most of the time there and at the small pool. Everything else was a disappointment.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.9
    great spa facilities, nice restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff appear overwhelmed with the crowds at breakfast. It was super busy and questions were met with little enthusiasm, I got the impression I was being a nuisance because I asked for coffee. We had indicated we were staying for a wedding anniversary. I've known other hotels to acknowledge that in some way, be it an upgrade, a bottle of wine or even just a fruit basket or welcome drink. Schloss Reinach missed that opportunity to impress.

    great spa facilities, nice restaurant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.5
    Fine stop over close enough of the motor way in a small...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fine stop over close enough of the motor way in a small village, very calm, quiet room, good bed, all what you need to sleep and eat after a long day on the road. Obviously a popular place for the locals to have banquets. This time it was a wedding. Only one of the restaurants was open, a pity I suppose. We had a meal but nothing spectacular. Did not use the spa department. Typical large buffet breakfast for a four star establishment, nothing special here either.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.6
    Definitely book and stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing negative to say here at all - except out own fault for staying only 1 night!

    We stayed here 5 yrs. ago and loved the property, so decided to return. We upgraded our room to a king bed by the pool. When we went to our room, we were totally delighted to find that we were in a new wing (not quite 1 yr old yet), very modern and chic, with small terrace that looked right out onto the pool area and we had total access to the pool right from our room! We were so sorry we had only booked 1 night here! They do cover the pool around 9pm and no access after that. We wished we had another day just to hang out by the pool for a day. All staff extremely helpful and kind. We love this hotel and want to go back to this area specifically just to stay here again! Great buffet breakfast, too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    6.3
    Breakfast, venue -nice patio-
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air con was in the corridor and not reaching the beds, even being on the whole day. A fan would be better! ime of spa and swimming pool, closing too early

    Breakfast, venue -nice patio-

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful hotel, beautiful spa, friendly staff, excellent...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thin curtains let light in early, but it was the Longest Day.

    Wonderful hotel, beautiful spa, friendly staff, excellent Badisch restaurant and delightful courtyard for breakfast under the trees.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.2
    Good hotel to stop at for a driving holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to not like

    A large hotel sympathetically modernised to give comfort to many quests . 3 restaurants will take care of most appetites. Rooms large and comfortable. Would stay again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    9.6
    fabulous luxury hide away from busy Freiburg
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They forgot to charge for the dinner I had on check out and I was phoned while travelling in a car to get it charged to the credit card. Yet I never received an invoice which is a problem for a business traveller on expense account.

    Superbly appointed property with high quality furnishings.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    9.2
    Almost everything was wonderful: staff, fantastic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not aware that room 101 would be so close to a very active residential area. Not really an objection but not as good as expected.

    Almost everything was wonderful: staff, fantastic breakfast, superb restaurants, pool, grounds, wines and location. Mostly staff with good English skills.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    7.9
    Great if you get a good room
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room I got was one of the older ones, also there was a huge mirror right across the bed which I didn't like.

    The pool was warm, even in the winter. Very cool atmosphere, beautiful garden

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    10
    Fantastic SPA very relaxing after a long drive on the auto...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic SPA very relaxing after a long drive on the auto Bahn. It was magical to swim in the fantastic lit coulor changing pool outside in the snow covered garden. Rooms spacious and very confortable beds.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    9.6
    Extremely enjoyable stay near Freiburg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great breakfast, very good restaurants (several!), very nice and peaceful sauna & pool area with plenty of space, extremely helpful staff (on top of everything else, they posted us the phone my son forgot in the hotel room). Definitely recommended when staying around Freiburg, especially if driving.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    9.6
    Smart, well run hotel in the Black Forrest.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, ticks all the boxes.

    Stylish, well maintained, family owned hotel. Very quiet bedroom, a must for me. Comfy bed and feather pillows. Splendid. Very dog friendly. Good (rather than excellent) restaurant. (The posh one was closed.) At the very generous breakfast, a flask of coffee supplied rather than the single cup technique prominent in Italy. Spotlessly clean. Easy access from the motorway after a day tearing down the autobahn aiming for Italy. Recommended and I will aim to return.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful stay & you will remember breakfast & the outside dining
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't get the blinds to close so the sun woke me early This was a texhinical issue fixed after breakfast when i told the reception - they fixed it straight way !

    Entrance hall and staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    2.9
    One night stay when on holiday travel between Italy and The Netherlands
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The description says we should have Airconditioning, the room did have it, but it didn't work. With fan at max and temp at lowest we had a room with 25 degrees all night. The Airco was one of the reasons why we choose this hotel. So we were very disappointed by this. Later the reception told us we should come to the reception at midnight, but that's not the service we expected. We think the airco should also be inspected by the hote before we arrive and should just work when in the description. Also, the description says 750 meters from highway, but in fact you need to drive about 2-3 km before you reach it.

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    4.2
    Never again.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not informed that there will be a concert in the hotel on the night of our stay and all restaurants are closed. We were not offered any assistance with regards to our dinner but we're told to go to the village restaurant, which was closed. After 11 hours drive from Tuscany to Germany we were tired and famished. We ended up buying some cold food from the grocery store. Hospitality??? Non-existent. When I made the booking it says that thus property is a luxury property, 4 stars. Imagine my shock when finally we went to bed (after the concert was finished, as we can clearly hear the music and shouts of audience in our room - THE DIRE STRATS - cover band was playing), found that the bed sheets are clean but tattered and all sewn up. Luxury property????? Please see attached photos.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    7.5
    Nice hotel with awful wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi is dreadful, should be advertised as non existent. When I queried it I was told they are fully booked so it is slow. This is not true as at 2 in the morning on a Saturday it was still non existent. They need to upgrade wifi

    The rooms were spacious and the restaurants had a good Menu

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location even with kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and friendly atmosphere. Excellent wellness and super 3 restaurants within the compound.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable hotel with splendid spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Goed restaurant, splendid wellness and pool, good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.8
    relaxed and confortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a little bit noisy due to wedding party

    clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location, very good spa area, too plenty breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    keep it as is

    Convenient room, fantastic spa/pool area, very good breakfast easy to get in and out , convenient parking area. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    suurounding of the property, little nice wine-village
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    suurounding of the property, little nice wine-village

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    10
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    amazing place

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Really brilliant, also for spa and food lovers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Superb experience

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Gorgeous Place. Will be back for a longer stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wish we had booked for longer

    Fabulous hotel. 3 good restaurants. Great pool. Fabulous scenery

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Perfect setting the relaxed atmosphere and the courtyard was beautiful to eat our evening meal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not have enough time to use your facilities so we will be back for a few days next time.

    The compact but spacious setting was amazing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    5.4
    the basic room is really an unexpected disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the basic room is really an unexpected disappointment

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    7.5
    Generic hotel with good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty generic hotel/motel room. Pillows were very thin.

    Good restaurant and breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    uncomfortable bed, mattress appears to be of cartonboard, parking is difficult

    lovely ambiance, good location and good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    9.2
    Actually the best hotel in Freiburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking

    The service and the restaurant

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    8.3
    Lovely location, variety of choices for restaurants on site...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was a bit dated in style and amenities, although comfortable.

    Lovely location, variety of choices for restaurants on site (3) and very kind staff.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    5.4
    Price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Single room was small and dated, staff could be friendlier.

    Price

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    9.2
    Busy but quiet and distinguished.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Busy but quiet and distinguished. Lovely inner courtyard with three different restaurants. Excellent room and varied, well presented breakfast.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Browse Schloss Reinach traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: