Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ohlenhoff This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Ohlenhoff 18, 22848 Norderstedt, Germany

#4 of 17 hotels in Norderstedt

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 677 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is close to the Hamburg Airport flight approach. I didn't find this a distraction; others may. Very close to Hamburg Airport - good value and saves having to drive into Hamburg or congested suburbs for accommodation.

    Comfortable good value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arriving just before 7pm, the front desk was closed already - I had to make a phone call to get my key - what if I didn’t have a phone to call à German number ? What if I had a request to make about the room ? In fact the command of the water flush in the bathroom seemed to need repair (it worked but the plastic was all displaced) and the windows were with a view on green and trees but also, looking down, on large garbage bins, not super nice - also, I got a phone call at 11:25 am asking me to expedite checkout. Last, the place is in concrete and quite noisy when someone walks in the corridor-

    Large room - comfortable bed and linen

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is outside Hamburg so calculate with 1 hour to get to the city center. Hardly any public transportation so better take a car.

    Good breakfast (though should be included into room rate), friendly staff, clean rooms and bathrooms, quiet (except when planes descent from north direction).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was closed but indicated only at the outside not from the hotel entry.

    Arrived Christmas eve and received good info on entry/getting the key, babybed was made and ready. Friendly staff next morning and good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff; my German is school girl German [ I understand more than I can speak], and the staff had limited English, however they were very helpful, and patient with the dumbfounded English people. Very clean rooms, comfy beds, fantastic breakfast, the staff were very attentive. It was a real family friendly hotel, with a number of other families staying there, all of which appeared to be very happy, and said good morning to us. Great communications before arriving with emails from the hotel to explain how to access the property as we were getting there after 7pm. They use the key safe method. Free car parking in front of the hotel. It's next to a riding stables, so the next morning we saw the horses. Good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was noisy, because of the vicinity to the airport but also because of the traffic from the street in front of it.

    Very close to the airport, restaurant accessible from inside the hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff, some could speak no English, room poor, reported light didn't work, reported chair squeaked-no respond, windows didn't open properly, front desk dark after 5pm, not friendly, not helpful, flys and mosquitoes, no extra blankets or pillows, TV small,

    breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    fly's and mosquitoes in room; not enough plugs; some didn't work, no maintenance staff; Chair squeaked, no one to fix or oil it; no iron to press clothes; English not always available; no one at desk after 5pm; dark;

    Breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast should be more diverse. The only hot dish which was available were scrambled eggs. There should bigger choice of hot dishes like sausages and casseroles. I was missing also some salad.

    One of the best hotels in Norderstedt in terms of price/quality ratio. Very spacious and clean room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Language differences in associated restaurant. I speak Spanish, so it worked out as the waitress was from Brazil and understood Spanish. But it was all a bit confusing.

    I loved the location near a horse barn!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - every 5 minutes, planes are traveling just above the hotel, it's very noisy. However, the windows reduce the noise a lot and there is less traffic during the night

    - good breakfast - comfortable mattress - spacious and well equiped room - the place is nice if you want to be near the motorway but there is nothing to do there

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    So clean and well operated. Nice attendance at the arrival. Has a restaurant in the hotel Close to Hamburg airport Quiet surroundings with horses and fields

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast buffet was ok but a bit boring.

    The room was spacious and the beds were good. At the back and around the hotel there are stables and lots of horses. It was really cosy. There is an Italian Restaurant at the hotel - I think it's another owner. The food there was some of the best Italian food we ever had. The town is really nice. And the asses to the hotel from the highway was easy. The morning coffee was really good. The key was easy to get from a coded box by the entrance. And wifi was also really good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not internet Connection. However the staff Really tried to help out but withour succées. Afterwards I realised that the ROUTER at the Hotel must be changed in the security settings. Not my or other guests Telephone, which the statt att the reception helped me to try. So please check up the router settings.

    There was a lift even it if was only two floors. Big room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No clear instruction as how to get into the room at the time I arrived (that was indicated beforehand)

    The hospitality and countryside location just outside hamburg

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there was nobody in personal to guide by arrival. But we knew that the possibility after a certain time was there. And the hotel nextdoor was closed.

    The fresh large room with big beds

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the evening staff didn't know a work in english, and the resturand was closed even though it was supposed to be open

    the breakfeast was great, the rooms and the view are super, and we loved the huge stabels that were on the property.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All in all a super nice place to stay, Good beds, easy to find, nice staff, and very good value for the price. Only disadvantage, you have airplanes just above the place because the airport is nearby. Also lovely horse stables at the place.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant was closed.

    Looking out the window at the horses and the horse arena. It is also very close to the airport which we needed. It has a U-Bahn station closeby to access Hamburg. With the windows closed the jet noise is not bad.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant was not open for a light dinner when we arrived at 7:00PM. The breakfast roles were NOT fresh OR warmed for our breakfast. (I must explain that we ate breakfast earlier than regular breakfast time, due to an early fight, so items were put out quickly.) Cheese variety was not great. Quark would have been nice to eat, with a non-commercial, packaged, preserve on a German style bread. Any of packaged containers at the breakfast counter are not healthy.

    The bed was comfortable. Pillow was VERY comfortable, as well as the cover. Very helpful in acquiring a taxi for our trip to airport at 6:45 AM.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We thought the hotel was a little noisy, the planes taking of and landing from the nearby airport were very good to hear (although it didn't interfere with our sleep) and the new laminate floor in the hallways carried the sound of the trolleys very far. We arrived on a Sunday and it was hard to get hold of staff to find out the code for the WiFi.

    We liked the location of the hotel and the breakfast was good. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To close to the airport

    A nice area for an afternoon walk

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. I’ll be back

    That the staff called me on an overseas phone number. Excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable room and bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient location for me

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is rather poor, far from airport , it took around 15 min driving a taxi in stead of “very close” should have according to info about hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Public transportation inconvenient, needs car; airport noise.

    Friendly staff, good breakfast, large rooms, cleanliness, quiet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean and well presented

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hamburg Airport is very close. Leaving the Windows open is not recommended unless your hearing is impaired.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a simple but nice room. Nothing to fancy, though a lot of space, which is always nice. Comfortable bed, quiet, what else can one want?

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thin pillows, hard mattress

    Near airport

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent place

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location to airport

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only annoying part are the airplanes sometimes.

    Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location close to the A7. Bed linens were clean and the breakfast was superb!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Open window means : street noise

    Value for money, meets the expectations

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very near airport, clean and friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good value for the price... good beds and breakfast, nice friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet doesn't work in the whole stay.

    I like the staff and service

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was given a smoking room. Or it used to be a smoker room, I don't know, fact is that the room had a bad cigarette smell.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carafe of coffee was brought to our breakfast table

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NONE

    VERY GOOD FOOD IN THE ITALIAN RESTAURANT..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    good breakfast, good service !!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only black coffee at breakfast. Old yoghurt and fruit salad.

    Staff. Parking. Room. Kindness to children. Easter chocolates.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the frequent noise of aeroplanes due to how close it was to the airport but it wasn't too bad

    Very Clean and it is worth what you pay for.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast !!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Simple clean family run hotel. I would go back.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Free cheese and wine Monday evening. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    We had some issues with FINDING the WiFi network - it was not visible in the 2nd floor. But connecting in the lobby did the trick and allowed continued high-speed Internet thereafter, also back in the second floor. Must have been a wrong setting in the access point...?

    Awesome breakfast - the bacon scrambled eggs are the best. Great assortment of German breakfast items, not to mention REAL rolls (Brötchen), crispy and freshly baked... And try the hot chocolate, made with MILK not water.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Despite for requesting a non-smoking room, when we arrived late at night we were unpleasantly surprised that one of our rooms was for smokers and it was too late to do anything. The wifi is there, unfortunately not strong enough in all the rooms. And yes, a light sleeper might struggle because of the nearby airport.

    The hotel is in a convenient location. Due to key machine it is possible to check-in at any time. Lovely breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise reduction (airport close by)

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Very nice place when traveling from Hamburg Airport.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Queen bed was confirmed by hotel, however it was 2 joint single beds

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nice staff. Went looking to the horses.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    too many flies

    good price

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Close to HAM.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not Wi-fi in room! Is very problem!

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I asked for non smoking room however the room was smooking one

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no internet in room

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location helpful staff.

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Browse Hotel Ohlenhoff traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: