Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of relexa hotel Bellevue an der Alster This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

An der Alster 14, St. Georg, 20099 Hamburg, Germany

#123 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 818 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 64

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I always prefer a shower box and not shower with bath tube, for safety reason. The gasket of the glass door of the bath tube has to be changed. Spots of corrosion and not nice dirty spots. The breakfast staff is a little bit too slow in serving. If you want a Cappuccino you pay an extra fee, but it is exactly the same you can select form the public coffee machine.....

    Beautiful hotel. Beautiful room. Beautiful Sight on the Ausser Alster. Nice inner garden where you can be daily served "Kafe und Kuchen" in the afternoon. Perfect staff: thanks again to the lady who suggested me on 05/06 evening the Restaurant Frau Moeller in Lange Reihe.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    disappointing : a little room groundfloor with window direct on the parking = impossible to live without the curtains and not funny when an idiot played with his moto. The bed was not uncomfortable but pretty hard for the back For that price I'd rather pay the Ibis Alster : more comfortable (bed) and no groundfloor. I think it should be worth it when paying more for a room with a view on the Alster,

    good location, near the station but in a nice area in front of the lake Alster nice breakfast : what one can expect from an hotel of this category, but not more the staff was all right

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It gets hot during summer days. Property does not have aircon.

    It exceeded my expectation. Beautiful waterfront authentic building. Very stylish rooms with beautiful lake view. Excellent price/quality. Friendly staff. Arranged early check-in for me.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight slight smell of cigarettes on the pillow. Shower rose broken. Tv remote not working.

    Close to town and restaurants nice walk along the river side. Room was quite.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was a big problem for me because in the rooms don’t work the WiFi or my phone internet .

    I liked the location of the hotel you have the Alster in front of the hotel with very nice views also is located on a very nice area with bars , supermarkets and restaurants . You can go by walk to the city center .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    noisy,noisy,noisy. No airco, so window had to be open, a lot of noise on the courtyard. Room was very outdated, stale smell. Would not recommend.

    Friendly staff, good location, big room/big bathroom

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a triple room. 3rd bed was a sofa bed, which was ok but not the most comfortable. We had 2 showers in the room which was good for enabling us to get ready quicker, but 1 of the shower holders was broken which meant it had to be left at the lowest setting, so had to be taken out to shower above waist height! Also, when we got back late in the evening, none of our room cards worked as the electrics in the door had stopped working. We were offered no compensation from the hotel for our inconvenience, despite having to wait in the hallway for over 30 minutes to get into our room. Also, breakfast wasn't included despite the room costing €190 for 3 people. That was disappointing in terms of value for money.

    Rooms were clean, and the hotel was only a short 10 mins walk from the train station. Staff were helpful in booking us a taxi and welcoming on arrival.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I honestly can't believe I found such a quality room for this price. The room was cute/chic, the bed was comfortable, and the staff was exceptionally friendly! I definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was only a bathtub in the bathroom and no proper shower / no metro station in walking distance

    Excellent breakfast, friendly and professional staff, large rooms, location is 1) right next to the beautiful Alster lake and 2) close to the lively area of Lange Reihe where one can find plenty of good places to get a decent meal

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The wifi is not working (low coverage) - The breakfast is standard, but 15EUR is incredible tooo much for that - Heating of the the room was wrong (one night not working, 2nd not possible to switch one) So, app 410Eur for 3 night with breakfast was wrong decision.

    If you are lucky youcan see the alster. 900meter the u-bahn.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We didnt have a car, but parking would be hard in the area

    Fabulous area, good price for the location - right outside of the Hamburg lake. Great area for restaurants just two blocks away. Service was very friendly and although we stayed with two kids we felt really relaxed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some construction work nearby when I stayed there, but not annoying.

    Good location in front of the Alster lake. Public transport bus nearby and also within a 15 min walk to the main train station. Good breakfast. Quiet, comfortable room. Some rooms with view on the lake, some others at the rear: you can choose when booking (different prices however). Numerous restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi available in my room. The service is provided by T-Mobile, but the coverage in my place was almost null. Pity.

    Good location. Lovely staff. Little details that makes you smile. It was a good stay!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent situation in an animated area of Hamburg. Room very cosy with all you need. Fantastic breakfast! Very friendly and helpful reception. Parking available. Tip: try the restaurant ''Frau Möller''

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some rooms offer nice lake view, but it's too noisy because of big street with lots of cars and it didn't allow us to sleep well. next we changed the room and everything was nice. .

    What was good We liked this hotel - the rooms are spacious, very clean. For breakfast large selection of dishes is offered, so delicious! Staff works great. They helped us with our problems, many thanks for Mrs. Catherine from reception. We will recommend this hotel to our friends.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Apparently there are different types and sizes of rooms. I stayed in the back side, certainly based on the bookings rate. The room was small but ok for a one person short stay. Wifi only from the hot spot area, which did not work for me.

    Nice location, interesting hotel with a nice bar/restaurant..

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked for a late check out (1 hour). The receptionist asked his senior sitting at back. He saw me with his lowered spectacle and just said one word.....'NO'. His body language and tone were naturally not friendly. Incidentally, there are many more ways to politely refuse.

    The location and breakfast was good. Though room was small, it was decent. Slightly more lighting would be helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room decor is a little outdated (this did not affect comfort)

    Excellent location. Room was basic but spacious and comfortable and the bathroom was modern. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being put on the 4th floor (because it's quiet) and then being told the lift didnt work. My disabled partner found that a struggle.

    Location by the water is very good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noisy in main building, but only with windows open. Bathroom a little small, but to be expected in main building due to buildings character.

    Beautiful view of lake from main building. Decor in keeping with high ceilings and age of building. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Great location near restaurants and cafes.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was pretty small, but nevertheless cosy...and I couldn't figure out how to turn off the heating

    The staff was really helpful and open. Picturesque location and pretty close to the Main Station.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed sheets smelled, made me wonder if they weren't clean or maybe just overused. My room was on the ground floor right beside the parking lot so it wasn't practical to keep the window open during the night and there was no other way to help circulate air so it felt humid inside and not comfortable to sleep (a small fan for example would've been helpful). There is a door also that opens into the parking lot from the ground floor hallway and from there people can walk in from and out to the back street. There is nothing to monitor the comings and goings through that door and no key card is needed either, which could be a security concern for some. I've been to a few different hotels in hamburg over the last few summers and other than the room decor and the great breakfast selection they had, the rest was more like a 2.5/3-star hotel in comparison.

    Location, friendly staff, good selection for breakfast

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the location very suitable , the rooms and cleanliness. the staff very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very helpful woman on the nightwatch, supplied plenty of hot water for tea when i asked if it was possible. Important kind of service😉

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location, breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price

    I think it was too expensive for that kind of facility. Not enough ligh at the room Quality of bathroom is not so good also

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The size of the room. Breakfast was also nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and good service! Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was a bit noisy

    All.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great view across the lake. Staff was friendly and helpful. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was an small leak in the bathroom sink.

    Comfortable bed. Easy to reach. Good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was not working for one fax

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was all fine

    comfy pillows nice staff great location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's pretty old hotel. Bathroom facility is very simple.

    Location is in front of Alster lake. However, my room is facing inner side.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small, outdated room. Lift was not working.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The broken elevator made things more difficult.

    Great service, comfortable rooms and very good location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet in the backside Hohenzollern

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillow , Towels , Bed

    Location ,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    very weak Wifi signal

    room is very nicely designed, adequate size for a single traveller good location, specifically for visitors of St.Georg

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift was broken for entire five night stay

    Staff was pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice location, close to the Railway Station. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In general all was fine

    Location, service

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Great location, friendly staff, modern bathroom, size of room ok, nice view to the Alster, good wifi. (Thanks for the consideration. ;))

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location in front of the lake and in a very nice area St Georg. The hotel has a nice Restaurant

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only stayed one night and was pleased with that.

    Old fashioned hotel with an excellent breakfast, liked the area surrounding.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It can be a bit noisy in the mornings.

    Located in a nice trendy area.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We loved it all. Excellent service, great value for money. The TV reception could have been better, sometimes a little bit off but it might have been the storm!

    We loved our stay! The staff was superfriendly, the location is fantastic. The breakfast buffet has everything you need and the food in the restaurant was very good as well, huge portions so be prepared!

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The noise! The windows are not soundproof and with nearby roadworks, woke up to very loud noise at 6.30.

    The look of the hotel. The fact that it was old with modern comforts. Great breakfast. Very spacious and comfortable room.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel staff however never tried to give you a good warm feeling staying at their hotel. No smile, no "Good morning" or "Hello". Questions answered but without enthusiasm. Totally ignored when we tried to get in contact with staff because there were no available seats in the breakfast room. There are many hotels in the area at same price level but with much better service. We will choose different next time. The hotel staff could learn from the Greek restaurant 100 meters down the street (Kouros). Extremely friendly staff and excellent service. A very nice and recommendable experience.

    Good location. We had a nice view over the Alster lake. 15 min. walk to Hamburg Hbf. Size of room ok and cleaning also ok.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    In the new part of the hotel the rooms are smaller and get hot on very hot summer days. However there are not to many hot summer days in Hamburg.

    I stayed there multiple times: Friendly staff - big old rooms with high ceiling in the 'old' house. Rooms with nice view of the Alster. Great location!

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    Graceful,period building. Spacious room, lovely view. Well soundproofed windows. Lift. Superb location. Lange Reihe parallel road excellent for unusual and arty shopping.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I came in the night.The guy in the main desk was seemed totally uninterested.The staff at the reception desk in the morning were not at all helpful.Details further below. The Wifi was the worst.If you pay close to a hundred bucks for a room you would expect good wifi.They give you the cheapest of the range which never functions.Crikey give me a break!!! Therefore I had to use the hotel phone to ring an acquaintance of mine.I rang the reception in the morning for call rates and they had no clue about it.What the flip.Staff get 0/10 from me. Location is not good either.It says river side and I could not see the river from my window. No trams or frequent buses running that way.Do get a cab its 3kms from the station.

    The Room was very clean and tidy. Bed was comfortable.12pm checkout time.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Solo traveller

    There was something about the price of a single which i really didn't understand. It was higher than what was stated on your web site.

    Excellent location. Changing from double room to single room upon arrival was very nice.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Far from the city centre, no good connection by public transportation. Quality of the meal I had in the restaurant was poor. The staff must work on their English.

    Good location, close to the place where I had the business meeting.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    i thought the staff was generally helpful, but considering the reception desk is the first greeting from the staff, they could be a bit more welcoming instead of , dare i say, robotic.

    i liked the decor of the room and i loved the bathroom though a bit cramped. i loved the room service, menu, and food. i loved the location though i wish i could have been in a room looking out over the street.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The rooms were really nice! Very comfortable, spotless, and the bathroom was ultra-modern and immaculate! Good location, just an easy walk to the HBf which was important for us. We would stay there again, happily!

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast - and the super location!

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The location is perfect and the breakfast is very good

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the view, the room, brightness

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Spacious room. Excellent variety for breakfast. Good location

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A little bit far away from S-Bahn and Metro.

    Clean and nice hotell!

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Small singel bed

    Location

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Wonderful view, perfect place to stay in Hamburg, gorgeous views of the Outer Alster

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing to complain about.

    Location, comfort, price.

There are also 34 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 64

Browse relexa hotel Bellevue an der Alster traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: