Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Renaissance Bochum Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Stadionring 18, 44791 Bochum, Germany

#10 of 39 hotels in Bochum

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1049 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    5.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Was a great hotel good location and a very good breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually we havent got any complaints we will come back whenever we are visting Bochum or Dortmund again

    Was a great hotel good location and a very good breakfast also nice and good staff!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no wifi in the room...come on Renaissance we live in the 21st century, it wouldn't kill you to make wifi free everywhere including the rooms!

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    A good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although we chose this location because in the Booking Com we asked for free, we found that the internet connection cost ... 10 euros per day! This is unbelievable for our times. Air conditioning did not work. The windows do not have mosquito nets. Food at the restaurant is very expensive

    Breakfast is great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.8
    The breakfast spread was very good.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very expensive for the location and facilities it offers. There was no coffee or tea maker in the room. Setting up the wifi was hassle for various devices.

    The breakfast spread was very good. The hotel staff were excellent - responsive and polite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Renaissance is a very comfortable place where I like to go. Also very friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Once a barking dog nearby. Proposed to move to a suite for free. I did not like the barking dog and would hope they refuse dogs there, but I did like the way the hotel managed the problem, even if I refused to move as it was late and meant packing everything.

    Monthly trips to Bochum. Always stay at the Renaissance. Excellent hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    Quiet, comfy and clean with really nice staff. Thank you for a really pleasant stay :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a dog barking and howling for its owner for about an hour in a room near me but thankfully it stopped early in the night otherwise I would have gone insane. Other than that it was really quiet and peaceful and relaxing.

    The staff were really nice. The whole place was lovely and clean. It was very quiet and I slept really well. I would highly recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel, great value
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a room at teh front of the hotel and the street was quite noisy early in the morning - not a major problem, but a consideration.

    Great location and very stylish hotel close to the city centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.7
    Nice hotel, but very calculative, addtional charges for wifi...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel, but very calculative, addtional charges for wifi in the room, addtional charges for car park, I didn't expected Renaissance can be so calculative for these type small amount charges. It will be great if they include it in to room charges, instead of telling customer 5 Euro more charges for the Wifi.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    4.6
    Allways clean hotel with very good bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad old room, showering in a bath is bad when the ceiling is lie and the shower is too low to stand under. Maids knocking and entering my room at 9 and 10 in the morning!!!

    Allways clean hotel with very good bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.5
    + Broad variety at the breakfast buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Problems of some sort at the check-in, so it took longer than it should have - Two single beds instead of one double bed and no other room avaliable for us - air in the room was very dry - no music at the hotel bar (not even radio)

    + Broad variety at the breakfast buffet. + bathtub in the bathroom

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    4.2
    The location near the highway
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant is very expensive, with prices that are not justified. Internet costs 2,5 eur/day - a detail that i find very annoying - considering that it is for free in lots of public areas. The parking costs 10 eur - another detail that I found at arrival. The room was nice, but not for that price. you can surely find better rooms at cheaper price. Overall, very expensive prices which are not justified, you have to pay for every single detail. I would definitely not recommend it.

    The location near the highway

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.3
    Perfect Hotel for RuhrCongress
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Personnel

    In room no free internet In lobby to go to internet with hotel's computer was not free As a frequent traveller I did not see the culture and mentality of being at service of guests in the personnel, some of them easily refused or delayed or did not eagerly do what you wanted One example of few issues: Breakfast was until 11:00 open. We went to breakfast at e.g. 7:20, we said that we have now only 10 minutes to just very fast eat something but we will come back at 10:30 and the waitress told us that it is not possible!?!?!?!?

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    6.7
    Hard bed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Th bed was rock hard - hardly slept. This is a Marriott hotel and normally (in the US, at least) they are known for their excellent beds. In fact, I selected this Marriott-affiliated hotel because I was expecting a good bed. Wasn't. Orange juice at breakfast was undrinkable - the very icky tasting type.

    Overall neutral decor, easy parking

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    8.8
    MOSTLY OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room (201) was immediately next to the elevators, so it was noisy. Hotels of this standard should not charge for wi-fi. We did not take breakfast because the price is way too high (more so than other major chains). We took a late check out but keycard failed after standard check out time despite four attempts to reset it at reception.

    A decent location quite close to the autobahn, but maybe 2km from the city centre. Reception staff are helpful. Rooms are clean and well equipped. Wi-fi worked well. Secure car park only 10 euros per day.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    10
    Good but charging extra for WIFI ? Not smart.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was nice but overpriced at Euro 19. Plenty of pillows on the bed but they had no substance

    Staff, location and room were great. Wifi was an extra charge?!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    very positive I rate this hotel ,nice service, rooms clean ...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very positive I rate this hotel ,nice service, rooms clean ,breakfast delicious

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Good for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid and slow internet

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    top! starlight!
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    starlight 2 minuten zu fuß! top!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    Paid Wi-Fi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Paid Wi-Fi

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    4.5
    Room service personal was great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost everything

    Room service personal was great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.1
    Average
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No kettle for coffee / tea in the room. A hotel of this type needs that. I don't want to use a minibar all the time

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.5
    Was all in all an good stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No, Free-Wifi

    Good Location close by to every important spot!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet in the room without paying for it

    Next door to the event venue

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    Paying for wifi in room is no more industry standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for wifi in room is no more industry standard

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.3
    Nice Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi for extra cost, Limited English skills of staff

    Nice Hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.6
    Plan your transfer. Had to queue for over a hour to get assistance with train transfers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would of liked coffee/tea making facilities in toom

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.1
    Went to show Starligh Express, very short walking distance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar staff rude and disorganised.

    Went to show Starligh Express, very short walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.8
    nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    slow wifi - high speed available but not included

    Nice hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.9
    Correct hotel in city centre of Bochum
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi not included

    Correct hotel in city centre of Bochum

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.9
    Clean, accessible
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, accessible

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.5
    If you heading to bochum football game. this is the best spot.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NO free parking lot.

    All good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    5.8
    Check in and check out took time;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in and check out took time; not enough staff at the reception

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    7.9
    great location, good breakfast, friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    my room smelled like cigarettes.

    great location, good breakfast, friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    8.8
    Loverly hotel comfortable and welcoming all the staff spoken English which was Brilliant
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to pay extra for Wi-Fi, should be included with the cost of stay

    Very comfortable bed slept well

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    10
    Fantastic location for us (football and Starlight Theatre)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    showers could be a bit more modern

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    9.2
    Very comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Malfunctioning safe.

    Very comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast. Quick accesss to hotel from the underground parking. Looking forward to stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    7.9
    Good location for the congress center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only a buffet for dinner in the Restaurant. Parking was full on arrival, so I had to park on the street. Rooms were too warm (in March)

    Good location for the congress center. Overall nice hotel. Staff was friendly.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    6.7
    Nice hotel, ideal location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Air conditioning did not work in my room. When I asked at reception, they said they can only have the whole hotel on either 'heat' or 'cool' mode. Even with my window open, it was still very hot in my room and made it very uncomfortable to sleep in.

    Nice hotel, ideal location. Nice bar & lobby area.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    8.8
    Staff were very friendly and breakfast was plentiful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Free wifi is only for one device so if you are a couple and both have a device one of you has to pay for it. Little deceiving as its advertised as free wifi. I guess it's in the small print.

    Staff were very friendly and breakfast was plentiful and fresh. Very clean!

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    6.3
    The bed and pillow are too soft hurts the back.
    • Family with older children

    The lobby .. The friendly staff ... The rooms are ok

    The bed and pillow are too soft hurts the back.. The staff mostly nice but not all ... Wifi is really bad and weak signal

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    7.5
    Very good toilet and good service response
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Very good toilet and good service response

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    10
    Ideale Lage zur Starlight-Express-Halle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ideale Lage zur Starlight-Express-Halle

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    9.6
    Rooms are very nice and the bed is super!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Thecleqning ladies wherea bit noisy in the morning

    Rooms are very nice and the bed is super!!

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    9.2
    comffy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    pay attention on dusting in the room

    comffy room nice food for good prices staff super friendly!

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    7.1
    Comfortable bed, friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was a bit noisy because of outside traffic.

    Comfortable bed, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    9.6
    Excellent dinner, great breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I have great memories to my stay ; I don't have any dislikes.

    Excellent dinner, great breakfast. Plenty of choice.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    7.9
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    N/a

    Everything! Large room with a comfortable bed and plenty of space. Breakfast offered so much choice and staff were very helpful

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    8.3
    Good location and very clean environment, friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No tea coffee making facility

    Good location and very clean environment, friendly and helpful reception staff

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.2
    Your staff at reception were wonderfully helpful and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Your staff at reception were wonderfully helpful and very efficient. A lady at the desk named Eva (?) in particular made my stay very pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.6
    The comfortable bed and the excellent facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only one device can use the wifi

    The comfortable bed and the excellent facilities

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    10
    Internet whas not so good thansters up on THE room ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet whas not so good thansters up on THE room ok

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    9.2
    Efficient, professional friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Efficient, professional friendly staff. Comfortable modern room.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    7.1
    Excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    To far from city. When hotel was full breakfast bar was not replenished as things disappeared

    Excellent breakfast

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2015

    9.6
    Excellent restaurant with very agreable personal!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent restaurant with very agreable personal!!!

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    9.2
    Comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Comfort

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2015

    10
    Charged twice for parking because I lost the card to exit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Charged twice for parking because I lost the card to exit.

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Browse Renaissance Bochum Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: