Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Rennschuh 3 stars

Kasseler Landstr. 93, 37081 Göttingen, Germany

#17 of 24 hotels in Göttingen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1713 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very small, with little room to move. If someone is sitting in the only chair in the room, you can't go into the bathroom without that person getting out of the chair! The internet is very very slow, very frustrating.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly, they all spoke English which had made things much easier for us. The rooms have good size shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It's not the first time I stop at this hotel while travelling. It has a very good location for motorists - close to the highway and to the town of Gottingen (in case you want to do some sightseeing). Friendly staff good breakfast, free parking near the hotel, excellent value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I guess the bathroom ventilation was not so efficient, since we got some wet towel odour for our whole stay :-I

    Free sauna from 18-22hr. Swimming pool (135cm depth) Very relaxing Extremely worth breakfast. Very friendly service by the hotel people. Overall, it was a wonderful stay :-)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool looked bigger than it is, but it’s a nice little one nevertheless.

    It was overall a good experience. I recommend especially the restaurant right next to it, the waiter was really nice and the food very generous and tasty (Gasthaus Rennschuh)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    They only give a big pillow, but no little. Noises are heard from the corridor.

    A quiet and peaceful place in terms of traffic, just a short far from downtown. The hotel's sauna and breakfast are excellent!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The personal is terrible, and I am not a demanding person. They simply ignored us during our whole stay. Staff serving breakfast were ALL looking grumpy and they did not say neither welcome, good morning or good bye. Plain rude staff. The hotel is good, but they just lost a costumer that actually goes to Gottingen frequently for being very unkind.

    Breakfast was good! Lots of options. Room was OK, very clean and new. The place has a sauna and we can stay in the room until 11 am, so no rush after breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have the problem with the internet and two time came to reception for help .It is immediately after my check -in ,about 19.30.But the girl -reception don’t like to help and said to me only one word „ read instruction in the room paper „, I try to explain that there is not Instruction but only the User name and password but She don’t like to understand and don’t help me.How can a person worked in reception of this hotel and don’t like to help the Guest .I don’t understand and appreciate it .My Problem don’t find solution and I don’t use Internet.Very bad

    Parking ,Breakfast,Cleaning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park very full with large badly parked vehicles

    Good breakfast buffet. Very close to motorway Friendly and uncomplicated welcome even though we arrived after midnight

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being a family with young son we used a three beds-room, which was tiny and not so comfortable.

    The breakfast was good and included in the price. The sauna and pool provides extra charm. Public transportation to hotel is easy. But not through the Herz Strasse, which lays back side of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was great. It is located quite far from the town centre, but so are most hotels in Goettingen. Bus stop is minutes away.

    Everything was nice. The breakfast was rich and delicious, the room was tastefully furnished and well equipped, we have a large bathroom and shower, a very comfortable bed and very sunny. The rooms are extremely quiet and restful. The staff is great. There is a nice bar near the reception.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was absolutely no Internet in the room and the staff checked the room and admitted that Internet didn't work. Breakfast was absolutely so poor for vegans. Staff was nit helpful to solve any problems regarding Internet and other problems. As there was no Internet in my room I used Internet during the breakfasts at the breakfast room. But once a staff came and told me that breakfast is over at 10 am and I was still there at 10.30 am. I explained that I'm only sitting without eating or anything and she was pissed. There were insects in the bathroom. The rooms are so small and no fridge or minibar to store any beverages or food. The money I paid is extremely high for these poor standards.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In the "new part" a new WiFI was installed and the week-end we were there... it was not good... so; check if it works well if you need it...

    Nice breakfast; good hotel; away from the city.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A minor thing: There was an eco-friendly system where when you didn't need your towel to be washed, you left it hanging and the staff was supposed to leave it there. But this arrangement was ignored and we got fresh towels every day. (Which was convenient, but the towels didn't really need to be washed so often.)

    Free parking right at the hotel. Just a short drive to the town center. A nice swimming pool. Rich breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here, the hotel is quite large, but the staff are very friendly and helpful, they made me feel very much at home, highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the staff members could be a little more friendly and helpful.

    Despite the busy road where the hotel is located, the rooms are very quite. Parking: very good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The WiFi setup is very poor and we were not able to consistently connect to the internet unless we sat in the lobby. This problem needs correction.

    The breakfast was very good but the breakfast room was very crowded when many guests came at once. There are not many places to eat dinner nearby, however. It is not clear if the restaurant on site is really open or not.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed cover too heavy.....can you please provide something light?

    Breakfast was very good as the annex restaurant. Staff is kind but not ask anything before 6:30 am

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you are 3 people, don't go there. The room is a bunker (looks like a back room) and the comfort is absolutely awful. Only one person out of three could conect to the wifi and with very bad signal. One of the mattress had a hole and my head was under the window, so I had all the light right to my eyes. The size of the room is very limited and there were not enough plugs. Really bad place to stay... but only if you are three people. The double room looked nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was ok with scrambled eggs and cheese and cold cuts, as well as jams, even peanut butter!

    Great Little Swimmingpool Pool with top notch Sauna.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My mother had an injury of which the hotel management was informed. We were given a room on the top floor which needed to be accessed by lots of stairs. No help was offered with luggage. We only stayed one night because the room was extremely cramped and front of house staff unfriendly.

    Breakfast was very nice and here the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel was suppose to be handicap friendly. IT IS NOT. Also, receptionist had a room for my 90 year old mom who could not walk well at the entire end of the hotel. She did nothing to get a better, closer room. We were NOT happy with this!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air con.

    Quiet room, well decorated and clean ok for a few nights. A nice walk in shower. Excellent breakfast. Good off road parking. Gottingen center is about 40 min walk or jump on a bus 2min walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were very narrow, room very tiny

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    in winter it the room tempreture is okay but in summer it is so hot and there is no air coniditioning

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi was out of order

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds very comfortable and the breakfast was delicous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location for those who travel by car by A7 road. A lot of restaurants around and a huge Aldi supermarket.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The picture of the swimming pool is taken very cleverly... It gives you better impression than reality.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception was very unfriendly and impolite. I reserved a 1st floor room but I got a ground floor room.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is ridiculous small without heating and old. You can try another hotel but not this

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sauna. Swimming pool. Friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean spacious room. Cordial staff. Lots of parking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast, no parking places.

    Small and quiet hotel...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above Great breakfast

    Poor WiFi, TV not working properly, very uncomfortable pillow (far too soft),silverfish in bathroom

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast a bit chaotic.

    ideal position for a stop-over, not for visiting the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well, the place is not charming. It is situated on the entrance of the city, near a McDo, petrol station etc.

    the swimming pool.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free parking, good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loud music till 23 pm. Pillows should be changed.

    Good breakfest.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds have'nt been very comfortable for tall people.

    The location near to the Autobahn and the good restaurant near by.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room was too small for 2 persons. Some problems with internet connection and slow connection. No minibar in room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small jugs of coffee at breakfast-bigger jugs would have been nicer

    Bread rolls nice and soft

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expansive for the quality of the hotel, for all the rest it was accettable

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the staff not coordinate in English

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    internet was a bit slow

    the breakfast was excellent... bed was nice

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit run down. It felt dirty even though I didn't see any obvious filth. Pool area was a bit spooky.

    Staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good value for money. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sauna.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient location for motorists (near A7), free parking, good breakfast, friendly staff. Good option for a short stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to autobahn, comfartable bed, clean, cheap.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cheap and cheerful: friendly, warm and so on and so forth.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good breakfast and Goode facilities. Good language skills

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    -Room was 2 small for 2 people -Internet is slow

    -Ok breakfast -Has Sauna&Swimming pool -Clean -5 min drive to city center

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is very poor and you don't have many alternative if don't eat pork meat.

    Nice room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good location for an overnight stay close to the motorway. Breakfast was fine .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin beds booked. Double - bed received. :-(

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was ok for one night

    location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very warm in the room with no air conditioning

    Ok hotel with free parking. Good breakfast included in the tariff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not able to serve alternative to cow Millk even though We asked before Arrival.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good value hotel. Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, comfirtable, modern room. Swimming pool a bonus. Good breakfast. Great price

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The double room was too small. It looked like they have converted a single room into double. This is the second time we were staying at this hotel and the last time we stayed the room was a bit bigger.

    Nice and quite place. The provide lovely breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is pretty far away from the city center. For us, this was an advantage, but maybe not so for people wanting to visit the historical center.

    Very clean, comfy bed, good breakfast. Very quiet room. Free parking. Good facilities (although no time for us to go to sauna or pool). Very good quality-price relationship. Would gladly come back.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It would have been nice with an extra pillow available in the room.

    The rooms were nice, clean and comfortable. The staff was professional, nice and helpful. The breakfast was good. A surprisingly good hotel for this price. The fact that it was quite far from downtown turned out not to be a problem, because busses pass by all the time.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Given the distance from the town centre (2.5 km), more detailed information on how to get there from the train/bus station would help visitors. The price is good for the location but it would be more user-friendly to at least have some bus route numbers or links to the local transport network timetables on the hotel website. Göttingen's bus system is efficient (but you need to factor in some waiting times, esp at weekends).

    Excellent breakfast, comfortable and quiet room - and the availability of sauna and pool was good value although I didn't use these. Would stay here again. Staff were all helpful.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The coffee challenge: The first morning I had to ask for coffee as no one came. The second morning no one was around to ask and I had to leave without coffee. The third morning though, someone came and asked whether I wanted a coffee. As the location is quite far from the train station and town centre, I wonder why no bus time tables and explanations of best bus routes into town are provided (despite me asking).

    Great breakfast choices. Quiet rooms. Nice showers.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    • Couple

    Although we knew the restaurant was not open on Sundays the information in the room mentioned the restaurant as being available all other days. On our return Monday evening we were told the restaurant was closed until 18th January. Fortunately we had earlier picked up a leaflet of a snack bar that delivered. The receptionist helped us order. Full marks to her, thank you. We chose this hotel because it had a restaurant. Otherwise we would have stayed in the town centre nearer the station. We only discovered this late on our last day, whilst waiting in reception for our takeaway, that we could have ordered coffee or tea from reception. There was no information about this in our room. The scrambled egg was over done both times. Towels are rather thin.

    Quiet and relaxing hotel. Very obliging staff who helped us order a takeaway. See other comments box. Good breakfast on the whole. Nice to have radio in the room.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    heating was not on in the room when we arrived, and reception did not advise us that we should turn heating on manually our selves... arrived 0100 departed 0830 - slightly pricier for quality but wouldnt hessitate to revisit,

    receptionist arranged secure parking in garage, breakfast was decent and people kind. location was saught out for a pitstop enroute from switzerland to germany- close to the highway..

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    If one had to nit-pick, the hotel isn't in the centre of town (but that's not necessarily a bad thing).

    Very well-equipped rooms and the hotel even has a swimming pool and sauna free for use at night. Extremely clean. Staff at the reception were very friendly, service staff at the restaurant (Gasthaus Rennschuh) as well; not to mention the food was pretty good.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    I did not like the pillows and the quality of the bath towels. The internet signal was very bad in the bedrooms. I asked for two beds, and when I arrive at bedroom, the beds were together as double bed.

    The breakfast is fantastic. The mattresses of the beds are very comfortable

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the family room (for three people) is rather small, and dark, it is rather for one night stay than for a longer period of time.

    good localisation near motorway and gas station, and not far away from the city centre of Gottingen. Nice small restaurant with regional food, good breakfast,

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Family with older children

    Booked a room with three single beds, room had a double bed and an extra fold-out bed moved in.

    Good bathroom with tub. Hotel also had a pool and a sauna. Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A lot of mold in the shower stall. Unfortuntely, our room picked up the people outside talking until late, and the road noise was quite loud... ask fora quieter room, you might have better luck.

    Easy on and off the highway ... lots to do in the area and a lrge assortment of restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We had a really nice stay at hotel Rennschuh. It's located on a busy road but it's surprisingly quiet at night. Room was clean, spacious and modern. Breakfast was really lovely. We walked in to the city centre and found a nice route that meant you were away from the main road (there's a countryside path if you turn left and then left again at the lights. Straight on up a country road then left again - it's a shared cycle/pedestrian route)

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room was really old like from 80's, a single bed where I couldn't fit and I couldn't easily enter in the bathroom. I stayed for 5 nights in this room when they had rooms really new, given to Germans for one night. Some of the staff were speaking really poor English and it was really hard to connect to the wifi.

    The breakfast was good and the hotel was general clean.

There are also 45 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Rennschuh traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: