Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Residence Bremen 3 stars

Hohenlohestr. 42, 28209 Bremen, Germany

#27 of 65 hotels in Bremen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 520 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance to parking lot is extremely narrow. Not the fault of the hotel but just be aware!

    Great breakfast. Wonderful location in a lovely neighborhood. An easy walk to everywhere in Old Town. Large room with comfy beds and nice view. Gracious staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything here was great. The room is small but quite delicate. The staff pay attention to details to provide the best service to customers, in particular, the receptionists are very helpful. Plus the breakfast is awesome. I'd definitely come back if have the chance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was as expected and described except that there were a five or six step staircase that I have to lug my baggage up to get in the from door. Anyone for whom that could be a problem I advise to avoid this hotel. Even though the hotel advertises an elevator my room still required that I lug my luggage up a couple of steps. When booking I recommend specifying that you want a room with that does not require going up and down the two step stairway to get to your room.

    The hotel was as expected and described except that there were a five or six step staircase that I have to lug my baggage up to get in the from door. Anyone for whom that could be a problem I advise to avoid this hotel. Even though the hotel advertises an elevator my room still required that I lug my luggage up a couple of steps. When booking I recommend specifying that you want a room with that does not require going up and down the two step stairway to get to your room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sound isolation is poor but had earplugs in the room so night was a tight sleep !

    Historical building. The restaurant interior ! Everything else was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect!! Even better than we imagined. Very honest staff. The room was huge and the breakfast was excellent. Strongly recommend for anyone who visits Bremen.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would be better if during breakfast there were more vegetables available The floor in the bathroom and room were cold

    Hotel's atmosphere, I think the hotel has a personality compared to other hotels Breakfast was great. The bed was really cozy The heater in the room with the bed was adjustable, which was good, because I easily get cold The bar downstairs was cute

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea, coffee or milk provided. Also it would have been nice to have an English user manual in the apartments for appliances, tv, heating etc.

    Beautiful apartment and extremely friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to report here.

    I really found this place "value for money" - Very friendly and helpful staff, although English language skills is always an issue in Germany. Great breakfast, and comfortable room. To get to and from airport just jump on tram-line no 6 - it will take you 100 meters from hotel! And hotel is in walking distance from all Bremen sights. Recommended!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is a real issue here. The hotel car park is certainly secure but is extremely small. Guests who check in late in the day may have problems getting their car parked in the hotel car park.

    Excellent location, within walking distance of the HBF and the centre of the city. I'd describe this hotel as 'cosy'. It was clean, comfortable and had everything that you'd need for an overnight stay. I'd use it again if I was in Bremen.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much really, but It might have been nice if we knew us that the parking entrance was very narrow. We have a small van and it left not more than half an inch space on both sides with mirrors turned in. The elevator is very small and not suited for a wheelchair.

    The staff are one of the most friendly and helpful people we've ever encountered. The classic atmosphere of the hotel is charming, spacious rooms. Location is in a very quiet street on walking distance from the main Railway Station (5 min), city centre (15min) and the beautiful Bürgerpark (10min) Did I already mention the great breakfast?

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The description of the elevators size and that it not started from the entrance level. There were no good fireescape from top level.

    The staff was wery flexible and understanding and did all they could in order to make your stay at comfortable as possible.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was just a little soft for us. We prefer a really firm one. However, each to his own!

    The location was perfect. The room was compact but space was well utilised. The hotel provides a really good breakfast with lots of variety. Lovely fresh fruit, fresh crusty rolls and a cooked option if one wants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing could be better - it was a fantastic stay.

    I loved every moment of my stay. The staff were wonderfully friendly, helpful and took care of my every need. The location is outstanding, being merely a 10 minute walk away from all the major sights, and the train station is literally 5 minutes by foot down the street. The single room was actually quite large, super comfortable, clean and in pristine condition. Even being located so close to the train station the double-paned windows made for a perfect night after a long day seeing Bremen. The breakfast is truly out of this world - the variety seemed endless and there's more than enough to suit any taste! I highly, highly recommend this property when staying in Bremen and would do so again. As far as the narrow passage to the parking goes - it is an old house from approximately 1900. That being said, if one drives very slowly and carefully it's really NOT a problem. I had a large car and managed it both in and out completely alone!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying 10 euros a night for parking Had some ants in room but staff immediately gave us a better room so good result at end

    Location was excellent as was bremen.staff very helpful.train station nearby but could not hear geternally. 5 minutes walk to centre.would stay again

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - a minor issue: our room had one wall in the middle, with a metal frame that can be a little dangerous maybe during the night. I wonder if a kind of cover could be put on this frame...

    - breakfast was super rich, tasty, accurate and suitable for various needs - the hotel is near the tram stop, on the main lines taking to airport and city center - staff people are kind and helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No internet s signal in my room

    We left too early for breakfast and had no internet signal in the room, but its amazing Value for money anyway. Cheaper than hostels for a large clean comfortable room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked a bigger bed (I thought I reserved a double). The room was clean and relatively comfortable, but smelled faintly of smoke (I am certain I requested a nonsmoking room).

    The staff were lovely--warm and accommodating. And the breakfast buffet was four star lavish and delicious.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast was too poor, for using the spa you need to pay, small garage with not many places (you also have to pay)

    Nice little hotel, room well decorated

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    shower cabin was not so clean.

    Perfect location,nice staff and breakfast was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not too much choices at breakfast

    Nice room, with all what you may need, and exceptional position

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No kettle in the room

    The bed was awesome and the general ambiance of the hotel enhanced our Bremen experience.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows were flat, even when double folded

    The breakfast was very good, huge variety and good quality

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, the high quality breakfast, staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast served by very polite and kind staff members. Very good location: close to the central station and tram stop.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    but facilities are kind of old fashion. the room is very tiny.

    service and breakfast were good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to carry my suitcase up two flights of stairs as there was no lift.

    The room was spacious, nicely decorated and spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit noisy due to the proximity to the train station

    The staff was great, as well as the location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice quiet area. Good breakfast. Sweet historic building. Very close to the train station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator, no aircon, no minibar, very slow WiFi

    Good location, excellent breakfast, nice traditional ambience

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small size shower, squeaking bed and non soundproof walls

    Clean hotel and good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hospitality staff in reception is no good

    Breakfast its complete

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cosy and clean. The hotel is situated comfortably close to the OVB Arena and Hauptbahnhof.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a charming traditional small hotel with welcoming staff, very comfortable and relaxing. The breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in May 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room facing the railway might be noisy in the night for senseble people, my room was changed to other side so it was good for me; wifi was not working at all in first room but after changing the room it was good; parking passage might too narrow for a big car!

    Location is within a comfortble walking distance to city center, room good size, receptionist lady in the afternoon was super nice, breakfast is good!

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Pillows were too soft. Gave no elevation.

    Superb value for money. Sky Sports and Bundesliga piped to the room, superb cleanliness, lots of sockets, pillows and all the other small things that other hotels forget. Bacon and sausages at breakfast - a total rarity in Germany. Great hospitality and a mini-bar at reception.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Delightful and most accommodating staff. Location just 5 minute walk from bahnhof and even less from a tram stop that took us to city center. On a residential street with early 1900s Bremen Haus architecture. Far better than the glossy chain hotels

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit noisy at night as railway station is very close

    Staff was very nice and responsive. The hotel is close to public transport. Breakfast was very good.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was a window in the bathroom looking out into the bedroom. Not much privacy using the toilet/ shower with someone else in the room. Very odd design.

    The room itself was lovely, the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good bed, good breakfast. Super localization.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice structure, close to main station, quite large selection for breakfast, comfortable and large rooms

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent staff and service, very good location - calm place near to the public transport and center of the sity

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very friendly staff in good location for town and station

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a perfect appartment in A separate building, so for the breakfast we had to Go outside.

    Nico room (appartment) with A delicious breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lift could be bigger

    The ease of getting around the city and the friendliness of staff

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    lack of security BOX

    good place.beautiful location!

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The second room I was in was pretty small.

    Free WIFI, staff were friendly

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Price is too high.

    Very friendly staff, rooms are clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The noisy bathroom door.

    The location of the hotel, closeto the centre and the tram. The selection for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A very comfortable hotel but nothing particularly memorable - even writing this three days later.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Genuinely friendly hotel 2 mins from the hauptbahnhof and 10 mins walk to the centre of the beautiful city of bremen.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Be aware that reception closes at 23hr

    Nice old style hotel with great breakfast and a good value for money

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Browse Hotel Residence Bremen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: