Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Untere Sandstraße 32, 96049 Bamberg, Germany

#19 of 36 hotels in Bamberg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1166 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast buffet offered an excellent choice, but due to a coach load of tourists and other wa very busy and noisy. Some residents were even queuing for tables.

    Great location and very close to most tourist attractions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    From the website, the hotel looks really beautiful, like a transformed palace. But then they gave us the room at the backmost building, feel like nothing close to what we imagined. Then we found out there was no air-con, and it was a hot summer night. We had to open the window to cool down, but then we stayed on the ground floor. We couldn't open the window whole night - thief might climb in while we were sleeping. The window cannot be adjusted to open so slightly that thief cannot come in. So we have to bear with the heat through the night. We also found the drinking glasses are dirty.

    Location and Breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have a bit more variety, also fresh juices.

    Charming building. Beatiful gardens. Walking distance to the heart of the so nice Bamberg’s old town. Professional service. Underground parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At our arrival we were first offered two rooms up under the roof, as far away from the reception as possible and only accessible by a staircase. Not nice for people in their seventies! Only after severe complaints we were moved to two rooms at ground floor. In this way at least one hour that could be used to explore Bamberg was wasted. And it created a bad first impression!

    Breakfast OK

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionists were not very friendly.Acted as though a Smile would hurt!!!!

    Great breakfast buffet.great Restaurant and bar staff. JUST check - in staff on Saturday cold and unfriendly. Same on Sunday NOt friendly - sie ist total FEHL AM PLATZ (Namen nicht aufgeschrieben - klein, schlank).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Underground spa and fitness didn’t meet our expectations. The rest of our stay was perfect.

    Huge family room, great breakfast, stunning buildings in a quiet area very close to the city center. We loved it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fitness facility was two dumbbells, a bench, and two cardio machines. The fitness facility was the only reason I booked the hotel...

    Beautiful. Clean. Large rooms. Excellent staff. Amazing breakfast. It is located next to reveal great restaurants, and on the top of the Sandstrasse, which is known for its nightlife.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the photos of the hotel appear like it’s an old palace, most of the rooms are in the back annex which is no better than an average business hotel. Overpriced for the quality of the room, location, and service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant looks a bit old fashioned and I noticed some tap/bath parts were slightly old, I hope these will be renovated soon.

    The property was way bigger than I imagined, it looks almost like a castle and I liked going from my rooms to the facilities (front desk, restaurant, spa) through interesting glass corridors. The spa was very affordable (4 euros) and super relaxing, with clear instructions to use the baths by myself.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The housekeeping staff threw away a paper carrier bag with some paper products I had purchase which was upsetting but the management reimbursed me for the replacements.

    Beds were great. Room was spacious. Staff were friendly. All in all it is a great hotel in a lovely little city, we rode the bus if we were tired(we are in our eighties. But the distance into the old part of Bamberg was certainly walkable. Buy four tickets at a time at the bus station kiosk.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Assistance with luggage on arrival and departure. More items on dinner menu (both food and wine) being actually available (explained as being in the process of changing dinner menu but nothing had been added to replace entrees that they were "out of"????. But, the food and wine that was available was excellent!

    Almost everything!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a 4 star hotel but did not even have a minibar in the room. The bathroom was very small (two people cannot be at the same time in the bathroom). Overall, the hotel looks old ... a renovation would be quite good. Last but not least, the breakfast was pretty poor, meaning that there were not many options one could eat. I have been in many 4 and 5 star hotels and this is definitely one of the worst 4 star hotels in Germany.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What is with Germany not allowing hairdryers to have an on switch stay on? I asked the front desk and she said that's so people don't leave it on. Really? I have arthritis and to hold down the button while drying my hair aggravates the pain. Whom ever thought this a good idea either doesn't have any hair or is a guy in his 30's with healthy hands. By the way....our shower leaked all over the floor because the rubber trim piece that goes on the bottom of the tub door was never adequately fixed. It kept falling off even after we told the housekeeping ladies about it.

    The staff was very professional and helpful. The food was fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was 12Euro per night. A bit pricey but not terrible.

    Nice rooms! Definitely an impressive facility. Very nicely appointed. Big bathrooms. Very helpful staff. It's one of those hotels where you are impressed as soon as you drive up and park! Very close to restaurant/bar/brewery district. Only a 5 minute walk to good food and good beer!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't mind the lack of air-conditioning, but a fan or ventilator would make the room more comfortable.

    Large hotel in a good location. Pet friendly (although pets not allowed in restaurant). Lovely historical building. Popular with tour groups.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and very comfortable, spacious room overlooking the river. Vey near the bridge over to the concert hall. Excellent staff in the restaurant-one of the waiters spoke better English than us!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing job done refurnishing and transforming the insides of an old, antique building. Now everything within the apartment looks modern and convenient. They also have unbelievably comfortable beds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner in the room. We didn't get the wifi to work.

    Very kind and service minded personnel, perfect breakfast, a clean and comfortable room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast buffet was not that great - too crowded and staff could not keep up with refilling the foold.

    Very nice rooms, 5 minute walk to Old Town Bamberg, easy parking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As usual with most European hotels, there is no air conditioning, so if you're there in hot weather, the room will be toasty. They do provide fans.

    Parking is right next to the hotel. The hotel itself is a historic building within walking distance of many sights. It is right on the river with footpath into the historic town. There is a nice outdoor area for drinks. Breakfast is very nice. Staff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was excellent and the prosecco a bonus. The location of the hotel was within 5 minutes of the old town and situated along the river with beautiful walks nearby.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just a little pricey and as I found out at check-out, cheaper than Booking.com if I had booked direct!!! This is concerning.

    Close to the venue I was attending.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't say that stuff in the restaurant was nice. Bar was closed. During the breakfast it smelled liken hospital after desinfection.

    Old style, but nice hotel. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were too warm for us. We'd have liked to have been able to control the temperature more easily.

    Big, comfortable beds in well appointed rooms. Very good wifi. Excellent breakfast: lots of choice and high quality fare. Very convenient for visiting the town but still quiet and secure.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was a bit tricky. Should have better signs for exit.

    We liked the atmosphere. The staff were really wonderful. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet..

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff not very welcoming Very impersonal hotel, lack personality and style even though is supposed to be a palace. The decore was not there, the smell in the elevator was very unpleasant The staff was very unaware of our precense and only helpfull on the second attempt I won't recommend this hotel to any friend or family member of mine Just coming from rothenburg where we Stayed in a fantastic hotel it was really shocking . We could not get out of there fast enough

    The bed was confi and the breakfast was good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a swimming pool.

    Breakfast excellent. Great location for the old town and sightseeing.dinner also very good and excellent value. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Temperature regulation (cooling) in the room should be improved ! (we were "forced" to sleep with all windows wide open)

    Excellent staff, spacious room, comfortable bed, good breakfast, good atmosphere in general

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Somehow they saw us coming. They stuck use in a room far in the corner with a small roof window. So when I complained, the day we were leaving, they said that we should have said something earlier. Why must I complain first to get a room with more light. Superior room it was POOR (small window, not en .

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The personell was not very welcoming or helpful/serviceminded,- as we would expect and have experienced in this hotel, some years ago. The room was very hot,- no AC, and the room did not feel fresh. No parking service. Stressful atmosphere during breakfast.

    Nice food for breakfast. Clean room with nice bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioning or forced ventilation at 30 C. The WiFi was slow and limited to 2 devices. The breakfast buffet was average.

    The location, the bed and walk-in shower were first class.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too large and impersonal

    Location good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive, pillows are too soft, new building (was expecting to stay in the older part)

    Breakfast, sauna and spa, big toilet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning

    Wonderfuul location in a quiet palais clise to the city centre

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 17 nights

    No fridge in the room especially in the warmer weather

    Breakfast buffet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    huge space of the bedroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi-access was not stable there

    Very friendly staff, nice rooms, great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was within expectations

    All the breakfast items good and also cleanliness and environment at hotel is excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That you have body lotion and conditioner

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Surprised that there was a fee for use of the spa, but it was only 4 euros.

    Great breakfast, easy parking (12 euros per day).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hallways are a little dated and need a refresh, but rooms are nicely appointed.

    Location was great! Breakfast buffet was really good to.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great variety

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location, quiet, breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check out at 11.

    Wonderful champagne breakfast. Quiet and comfortable room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location, Parking, walking distance from old town

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above. Only criticism coffee not strong enough.

    Good choice. Coffee not strong enough - but that's personal taste.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice Hotel. Good Location. Good Breakfast. Very Convenience Parking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast Poor internet I think they trade on their reputation

    Excellent location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel smells food. It seems that they are always cooking.

    This hotel is located in a beautiful building and close to the center.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing we didn't like

    A really lovely hotel. The breakfast was indeed fabulous as the website claimed

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    SPA is CHARGE its must be standart free

    Historicall

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was perfect . Cleaning was generally good .

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing to dislike.

    Everyting - an excellent hotel. Good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great rooms, restaurant. Breakfast superb. Close to town and sights.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is great for an easy walk into the old town. Secure parking. Breakfast is amazing. Staff was kind and helpful. A beautiful hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness if the hotel which is in white tone

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of noice from the ventilation. My Room was very far from the reception.

    Greate breakfast, good lokation

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful breakfast with lots of variety. Great location in a serene setting within an easy walk but just far enough away from the old city.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park was full.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Service

    Good:The room had a bed.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff could of been more friendly and helpful. Not worth the price for the stay.

    Location was great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was average

    Location and service at the bar

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice staff and good food for reasonable price

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no air conditioning in any of the rooms. During hot summer days you simply cannot sleep.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing was perfect

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Excellent breakfast buffet. Comfortable room. Very helpful young staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen smell everywhere

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the air in the room was sticky when we arrived

    the breakfast buffet is very good and generous

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning and if opening the windows for some cool air it was a bit noisy from the street.

    The breakfast buffet is awesome!!!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Place smelled mouldy and was overpriced.

    Breakfast scrambled eggs were amazing.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little pricey, but still worth it

    Excellent location in the centre of the city, and still quiet

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very hot on the 3rd floor, under the roof.

    Clean, comfortable...

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff could have been a little more helpful at the front desk.

    Great hotel in a good location close to the center but quiet and close to a river walkway. Great breakfast, room spacious and clean. Would stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    We especially liked the excellent breakfast. Furthermore, it was absolutely lovely to come out and enjoy a walk at the river. Finally, our dog was treated very well.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Would have appreciated a better choice wines for dinner.

    Breakfast. Friendly service at dinner. Private underground garage beneath the hotel with access from the hotel.

There are also 41 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: