Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel-Restaurant Buger Hof

Am Regnitzufer 1, 96049 Bamberg, Germany

#7 of 8 B&Bs and Inns in Bamberg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 535 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 66

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    Cosy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather a long (though pleasant) walk (40 minutes) from the town centre. The hotel is actually in the small suburb of Bug.

    Friendly staff who spoke good English. Good sized room with free WiFi. Nice breakfast buffet. Plentiful free parking spaces. Tasty schnitzels in the evening! Good local beer. Traditional old world feel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Exceeded expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom facilities were a little older and the curtains were very thin so the light came in early

    The staff were very kind, the included breakfast was excellent and the location was romantic and beautiful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Owners very friendly. Rooms were clean and each has a balcony. Parking in in their own yard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    As far as I could tell, there are only shared bathing/toilet facilities for each floor. This didn't bother me or my son; I don't think my granddaughter was thrilled, but that is somewhat understandable.

    Room was clean as well as the shared bath/toilet facilities. Very friendly owners. On site parking. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    Out of town but a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out of town but a great location. Beautiful walk into town along either the river or the canal. Bus stop opposite. Beds comfortable. Single room spacious. No en-suite but that was known at booking. Breakfast more than adequate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.8
    The hosts are very nice, helpful and attentive to all that the guests need. I recommend the stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared External Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hosts are very nice, helpful and attentive to all that the guests need. I recommend the stay at Buger Hof. The place is very clean, breakfast delicious and altogether i felt very good. It is a good place for those travelling on a strict budget. I traveled with a dog, which was well received!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.8
    Rooms were clean and well-maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shared bathroom is not for everyone.

    Rooms were clean and well-maintained. The staff was courteous. The location is great for exploring nearby Bamberg without being in the bustling town itself. Great value for its money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.2
    Gorgeous facility! Looks like it fell out of a fairy-tale book! Very peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I knew I would be sharing a bathroom, but was surprised it was co-ed. Maybe this is normal in Europe? Since I was travelling alone, I found this a bit unnerving and was very cautious to use the bathroom when I was alone.

    The staff was very polite and accommodating. They not only provided a very tasty breakfast, they were very helpful in figuring-out public transportation. Since the location is not near downtown, it was extremely quiet, providing some excellent sleep. The bus stops right across the street, though, so I didn't feel isolated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    Had a great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The ventilation in the bathroom and in the room let a little to be desired and the wi-fi signal wasn't quite reliable in the evening.

    The location, near the city park, was great for us. Although it is quite a walk to downtown (30-40 min) we've enjoyed every minute. We used the bus only when we were to tired after visiting the city. The building is quite old but is refurbished and it is very clean. The room was cleaned every day. The sisters Christine and Linde are very nice hosts. They gave us a city map (very useful), they answered every question we had and spoiled us with dishes not appearing in the restaurant menu, just because we asked them. The breakfast is rich enough and everything is fresh. And nothing compares with a cold beer, in the evening, in the beer garden.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared External Bathroom
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared mix sex bathroom facilities

    Spotless, staff lovely. will return. Only downside was we we had shared mixed showers and toilets, these were spotless only down side was the inconsiderate people who did not always leave the bathroom as they found it. A beautiful hotel in a lovely setting

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    5.8
    Room was clean but very basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    toilets and bathroom were shared for all guests on the floor. The toilets are from another century. The showers too were broken and water everywhere. Very unclean and unhygienic. TV has only a few German channels.

    Room was clean but very basic. linen were clean. buffet breakfast was good. The staff are very friendly. The man and the two women were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.8
    Great overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was an excellent location away from the noise of the town centre but within easy walking distance of the wonderful old town. We ate on the beer garden/ terrace in the evening and enjoyed a lovely meal that was certainly value for money. The staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    6.7
    Four day long accomodation in Bamberg (job interview)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared External Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room is worn out. Some new plastering and repainting or similar of inner walls is necessary. The TV set or remote control needs to be repaired, also the heating radiator under the main room window does not regulate correctly. The electric sockets in the bathroom and also in the bedroom are missing or there are too few of them. The last day, when I was departing, I asked the reception clerk to call the taxi, because I had missed the public bus. The taxi driver came quickly and he drove me to the main bus station. But when we finished the taxi-ride, he charged me 16,40€. I think that's too much for just about 3 - 4 km long ride and one piece of luggage in the boot. And he didn't even give me the bill.

    Delicious an various breakfast foods are big plus!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    6.7
    Fine for a overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room (shared bathroom) was very basic, dated (like the rest of the hotel) and smelled stuffy. Toilet facilities could be fresher

    Good breakfast Good, new mattress

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    6.3
    peaceful neighborhood, river and it's walkway were close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like that my room did not have a bathroom of its own but the floor shared a bathroom.

    peaceful neighborhood, river and it's walkway were close, pleasent staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    8.8
    Nice, quiet Hotel with awesome owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared External Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No stores nearby for water or snacks. No bathroom in my room; there were other rooms with bathrooms though.

    The owners of this hotel were extremely friendly. It was very quiet and breakfast was great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    8.8
    Riverside peace
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Allthough shared, they were really good, spacious showers, which are better than having your own when it's tiny and only partly working - as is so often the case. Anyway, for such a good price, a good shared shower is perfectly reasonable.

    The people running Buger Hof were very friendly and helpful, which is really nice when you're travelling on your own. I usually ate dinner there which was always very good and a fair price. Although not in the centre of Bamberg, it's a pretty and quiet place with regular, quick, cheap buses or about an hour's walk in through the parks by the river to reach the city centre. I'd certainly go back!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    7.9
    the owner is very nice, rooms are good and big and the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls were very thin, i could hear everything the people next to me were doing, which kept me awake

    the owner is very nice, rooms are good and big and the breakfast was nice

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    9.6
    The staff was very welcoming, helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very welcoming, helpful and friendly. They even came to our door on our only morning there to remind us of the breakfast times. The breakfast had a lot of options and the coffee was very good. We would definitely suggest this hotel to friends.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    3.3
    Not recommending, quite pricey for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was totally outdated, rooms were full of dirt and mold. It was not really nice ce experience.

    Not much

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.0
    Room was dirty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty. Very few outlets in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, great location, quaint yet modern. Loved it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    An excellent trip.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing I would not like.

    Everything

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    everything especially stuff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything especially stuff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.6
    Memoravel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect place and staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.9
    Good for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi did not extend to outlying rooms

    For the price it was very good. It was basic but clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.1
    Not perfect but OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Wi-Fi connection was too slow. Very bad internet...

    everything was OK

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.1
    Basic but good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic but good value for money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Warm, friendly restaurant & hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Warm, friendly restaurant & hotel. What a treasure.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.2
    Meals excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meals excellent value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.6
    I would book here next time, too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doors whizz off by wind.

    Kind staffs, delicious beer, and located on calm region.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice stay close to the beautiful town only 10 minutes biking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location near the river, cosy and new beds, I felt...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location near the river, cosy and new beds, I felt very much at ease

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.5
    Very friendly owners, tasteful breakfast, nice surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly owners, tasteful breakfast, nice surroundings.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.8
    Very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Quiet neighborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet neighborhood Great food

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.8
    Cozy and kind people, nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's the best that you Get to the hostel by taxi if you have big luggage.

    Cozy and kind people, nice breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    7.5
    Great place if you have a car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place if you have a car. Breakfast great. Comfortable but not glamorous room but do have to climb some stairs to the rooms.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    6.7
    The friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Wifi connexion in rooms

    The friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    7.5
    Extended weekend in Bamberg
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Public transit service stops early ar night. Nothing I can blame the hotel for.

    Conveniently located budget location. I had more than what I paid for.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    7.1
    large room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    towels were old and grey .

    large room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    7.9
    It was close enough to our event, the people very accommodating, comfortable room, and good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfasts were absolutely the best!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    8.8
    Simple breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi didn't work in our room. No shampoo or body shampoo.

    Simple breakfast.The lady working there doesn't speak English but is very nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    7.5
    Clean, good breakfast, nice location close to river, cycling...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean, good breakfast, nice location close to river, cycling path through the park to the centre of city

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    6.7
    - friendly staff, ready to help with everything
    • Solo traveller

    - quite far out from the town center (although buses pass often, it takes more than 30 min to get to the central bus station) - except for the quiet park and river, the surroundings (Bug) don't have much else to offer. There is only one "Italian" restaurant which does not serve great food. - there is a common bathroom. - internet connection is quite poor in some rooms.

    - friendly staff, ready to help with everything - good service (daily room cleaning) - quiet location - generous breakfast

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    8.3
    The breakfast was surprisingly sumptuous and hearty, with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The downside of this family-run hotel is probably its location, which is quite a far stretch away from the Bamberg Hauptbahnhof. It took us meandering detour to find this place at night on foot, for the public transport there was only sporadic and it is only reachable by one bus (The name of the station is Bug Mitte).

    The breakfast was surprisingly sumptuous and hearty, with a wide variety of food available for our choosing. The atmosphere was in general homely and cozy; its brightly furbished walls and well-ornated interior create a comfortable ambience for living.

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    7.5
    Bamberg is a fantastic old city, I am returning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Although I didn,t really read the hotel details in detail, I would not book a hotel again without a shower/toilet en-suite. Long walk to facilities.

    Bamberg is a fantastic old city, I am returning! Rather a long bus ride to city centre.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    3.3
    Room had the slight smell of mold and the feeling of...
    • Solo traveller

    Room had the slight smell of mold and the feeling of moisture. The restaurant smells like old fat which gives an unhygienic impression. Lights in many parts the hallways were always out, everything is in the dark and one has to look for the light switches. It creates an unwelcoming and uncomfortable atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    7.9
    1. The staffs were good.
    • Solo traveller

    1. The smell of bathroom wasn't good. They tried to make clean though. 3. Far from citycenter. It took 50 min on walk. It was okay for me because I loved to walk and the neighborhood was beautiful. But when we have heavy luggage, it would be problem. I think they should notice how can get there. I emailed to them before I droped there. Because I couldn't find the way to go there but they didn't reply. I think they didn't check email. So it would be good to notice how to get there on their website.

    1. The staffs were good. 2. Breakfast was great. 3. The food of restaurant was good as well. 4. I think they were trying keep clean.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    6.7
    Good breakfast choice of renewed food which was clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom was 'tired' - needed some maintenance. No shaver socket.

    Good breakfast choice of renewed food which was clean and decently laid out. Good, hot tea. Pleasant and prompt service. Friendly.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    7.9
    I had a basic but clean room with balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was a bit dated with purple walls and white melamine furniture.Communal showers and toilets.

    I had a basic but clean room with balcony.A nice riverside walk into town.The owner was very helpful.I left before breakfast was served so I can't comment on that.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    9.2
    The whole hotel is very comfortable and the staff is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is quite far from the city center, about 5 km, but there is a bus stop just in front of the hotel.

    The whole hotel is very comfortable and the staff is friendly. The room is big enough and there is also a balcony. The breakfast was perfect - yoghurt, strawberries, ham, cheese, bread... very nice place and affordable.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    6.3
    The ladies are smiling and helpful but do not speak Italian.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The hotel is in an isolated area outside the center. Upon entering you feel an unpleasant odor

    The ladies are smiling and helpful but do not speak Italian. Breakfast is good typical Germanic. Parking in the private area

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    8.5
    very friendly owners,also very helpful and obliging.
    • Solo traveller

    very friendly owners,also very helpful and obliging. speak good English. the breakfast is very good.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    9.2
    Hosts were friendly and supportive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hosts were friendly and supportive

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    8.3
    almost everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    almost everything.host welcoming and helpful food good, quiet location,right on a bus stop. nice river walks possible.good quality beer served.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    9.6
    Clean, great value, comfortable beds, fantastic showers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A decent walk to town. But bus is right outside should have used it sooner.

    Clean, great value, comfortable beds, fantastic showers.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    9.2
    Like being just out of downtown 20 min walk through park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Like being just out of downtown 20 min walk through park. Nice owners

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    5.8
    Parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Outside of town, restaurant closed. Toilet and shower down the hallway

    Parking

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    9.6
    Nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice staff

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    5.8
    free parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Towel looks not very tidy

    free parking

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    7.1
    Quiet and attractive location, a bit outside the centre of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Shared toilets/shower room.

    Quiet and attractive location, a bit outside the centre of Bamberg - 3km walk/cycle along the river.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    7.9
    The location is very beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The frequency of the bus that takes you to the town is 30'

    The location is very beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    8.8
    Pretty much everything was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location

    Pretty much everything was good

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    7.5
    Rooms need horizontal surfaces & Electrical outlets to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms need horizontal surfaces & Electrical outlets to charge electronic devices.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    10
    Friendly atmosphere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly atmosphere!

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    7.9
    The breakfast was very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Rooms were colder than we liked and my bed was rather uncomfortable.

    The breakfast was very good! The two ladies were friendly as well.

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Guests also reviewed these properties: