Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Restaurant Falken This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Oberdorfstraße 95, 72270 Baiersbronn, Germany

#4 of 25 hotels in Baiersbronn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 171 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 23

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Comfortable hotel, ideally located for exploring the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Rinkenberg
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Due to the position of the bathroom relative to the eaves of the house, there was relatively low head room when using the over-bath shower. Might be more of a problem for some people than others.

    My room was large with a section for the bed and another for a table, settee and chairs. It also had a lovely geranium lined balcony with excellent views over the hillside and into the distance. There was good lighting in the room, something I very much appreciated. The bed was very comfortable and it was great to have a socket next to the bed and other sockets available in addition. There were such comfy bathrobes provided for the duration of the stay. Excellent storage space. I particularly liked the fact that water, fruit and sweets were provided when I arrived. The Wifi was excellent and meant that I could easily research the places I planned to visit in the area. The free parking was easy to find. The decor is traditional and I found it charming. Breakfast was wonderful - eggs in whatever way you wanted them with bacon if desired, then the usual selection of breads, cheeses, meats, and fish along with cereals, fresh fruit and fruit juices and hot drinks. Coffee seemed to be bottomless and was delicious. The absolute bonus of this hotel is the hostess/owner. She was a mine of information and was more than happy to spend time showing me the local walks and attractions. Lots of maps and leaflets available. One thing I was told when I arrived was the hotel participated in a scheme which allows guests free use of all rail, road and some ski lift transport in a fairly wide area during their stay. Would have loved to have stayed longer as there was so much to do.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay in a beautiful part of Germany, highly recommended, we will return - vielen Dank !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No improvements needed - excellent stay from start to finish.

    The warm welcome, excellent traditional decor, clean and spacious rooms, fantastic breakfast buffet and extensive, varied and tasty restaurant menus. The very friendly owners and staff made our visit extra special.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful room, breakfast, and hosts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Hirschkopf B
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, it was wonderful.

    The breakfast and staff were super great! She waited up for us and was super nice. The room was cozy and came with fruit, candy, and bathrobes. Overall a really wonderful stay for a great price!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful relaxing holiday; just what we wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Hirschkopf B
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Super large room with balcony and view over the hills and forest. Superb breakfast. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Loved the Games Room - what a bonus!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    We enjoyed our stay;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Hirschkopf A
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We enjoyed our stay; the room was big and the bed was extra comfortable. Breakfast was very good, also for a vegetarian (a vegan might wish to give heads up for the hotel about the diet). Lot's of different cheese types, several bread types, eggs (made for you the way you wish), coffee served to the table. Restaurant was also very nice, meals were big and service good. We were also happy with wellness services, very relaxing weekend in total. Extra thanks to the lady in reception, we felt very well taken care of!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel for 'getting away'
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Rinkenberg
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A lovely hotel in a nice village in the Black Forest. The bedrooms and bathroom is of a good size and mine had a balcony. The breakfast had a good choice of items. The evening meal menu is good and the food is excellent. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The hotel has a wellness suite and the massage was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    8.8
    A very nice hotel with a good restaurant and very helpful staff! Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Hirschkopf A
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really, apart from we requested a room on the front of the hotel for view across the valley, but we got a side room. That said, Susanne did explain that the hotel was full and apologised, which is fair enough.

    A very nice hotel in a great location for exploring the Black Forest. Susanne was very helpful and provided us with information on the local swimming pool and walks etc. The restaurant served a great menu and food was excellent. Breakfast was more than adequate with a great selection of food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.5
    Lovely hotel and restaurant, nice balcony, great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Hirschkopf B
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    V poor Wi-Fi. Nothing nearby so unless you take the car out....you are eating in the hotel.

    Lovely hotel and restaurant, nice balcony, great breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    We enjoyed our stay with excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Hirschkopf B
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise until late at night.

    Excellent breakfast - vast buffet choice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Hirschkopf B
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing breakfast, very nice room and helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Wunderbar!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Stöckerkopf
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We thought the whole experience at the hotel was marvellous and would certainly return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    6.3
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Hirschkopf A
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was nothing special: average breakfast, room, hotel.

    The room was quite big!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    See above. We shall return & recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Hirschkopf A
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Besides excellent breakfast dinner cuisine was superb. Size of room & comfort was best we had for two weeks. Management was outstanding.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    9.2
    Good value large rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Now looking a little dated

    Very helpful staff, very good breakfast and evening meal. Large rooms with balcony

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    7.5
    The hotel had a nice restaurant downstairs with an extensive...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was a little dated looking.

    The hotel had a nice restaurant downstairs with an extensive menu and offered a good breakfast. The room was spacious and had a good shower.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    10
    Altho receiving an email from the hotel informing us that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The sound of the next door rooms lowering and raising the blinds as some kind of novelty, down, up, down, up......

    Altho receiving an email from the hotel informing us that they have the day off on a tuesday and to get the keys from the bar next door, the owner met us and took the time to show us the room and explain in excellent English the facilities (including sauna etc), breakfast etc. There is a lift to most floors and easy access from the carpark at the rear. The hotel is beautiful and just like the pictures. Breakfast is excellent with a great choice. The owner also took the time in the morning to help out with some suggestions for sight seeing etc

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    10
    Friendly and well run.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unable to fault the hotel in any way.

    Friendly and well run. Converted to half board for the last 4 days of the holiday. Terrific value at 17 euros per person ... you get a four course meal for that! Thoroughly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    10
    The property, furnishings and most of all the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The property, furnishings and most of all the staff were just great. The restaurant was beautiful and the food exceeded some that I have had in 5 star hotels. I am big on clean and it was clean every where. In summation, I liked it all.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    9.2
    This hotel is near the top of a hill, so the views from any...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experiences. Just some preferences. Room bathroom was modern, but tiny, and half the time one had to hunt down the receptionist just to get some questions answered. Also, despite what Google maps will tell you, this hotel is a bit of a bike from the train station.

    This hotel is near the top of a hill, so the views from any of the rooms are going to be pretty much amazing. Facilities come with a spa, and hotel guests are guaranteed a table in the hotel's restaurant, where the food is World class Swabian cuisine. Our room was simple yet stylish.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    8.3
    Great single room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lady in the restaurant has no smile. Except this, nothing.

    Great single room. Spacious shower room.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    10
    We had a wonderful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a wonderful stay... hope to come back again! Great room and delicious breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    10
    A very nice hotel with very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The small town where it is is not that nice

    A very nice hotel with very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful large room with great balcony, easy walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Beautiful large room with great balcony, easy walking straight onto Black Forest hills. Excellent food large portions,

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 23

Guests also reviewed these properties: