Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Garni Krone This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Obertorstraße 2, 78315 Radolfzell am Bodensee, Germany

#12 of 13 hotels in Radolfzell am Bodensee

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 618 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    5.9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Langauge barriers, (one younger girl does speak very good English, she only works part time) Red headed lady.. if you leave things behind in room.. they don’t get turned in.. hmm I sorta think there’s another word for that?

    Very good location in downtown Radolfzell, close to train. Frühstück was included but I was put off by the red headed lady that worked on Mon:Tues as she would passive aggressively call my room when I didn’t come down by 8:30 ish or knock on my door and yell at me in German I guess because it’s the hotels slow season and she wanted to clean up by a certain time to have her break? .. odd. Um I thought Frühstück ended at 10am and I was on holiday but ok? Moving on... also then she would peek at me the whole time I was having breakfast it was really odd and uncomfortable. Besides her, the stay was mostly enjoyable. I really like the hotel and how quaint it was and location. I was there during Fastnacht and it was really cool to watch the parades and festivals from my window in the town square below. Also lots of shops and restaurants all around the hotel. I would definitely recommend to take your phone off the hook when you want to sleep in and bring your own Do Not Disturb sign. In German they seem to not have as many tactful manners.. (or the red headed lady doesn’t) in that area, if you like a little extra sleep; same goes if you don’t want house keeping, which Americans., like our privacy and don’t use housekeeping everyday on vacations.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room with a very cosy bathroom. The bed was too oldfashion, each time one moves the neighbourghood can hear the creaking bed. The parking is a public parking you have to pay for.

    Service was very kind and helpful. The breakfast was good. The hotel is very nice and clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room had two broken panes of glass in the outer windows (there are two windows) one had been removed, but the other had broken glass in the frame. The hotel information on Booking.com says checkout at 10.30 but we were hasseled out of the hotel in a very officious manner at 10.00am - which was not in keeping with the welcome we had received the evening before.

    The location is good and we had a dry, safe place to leave our motorcyles, which was great. The owner was very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs some upkeep on the exterior. The floors are very uneven with a step up or down as you enter a room or bathroom.

    Access to wandering. Close to Stadtpark-very pretty.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    can find no faults, suited us perfectly

    the atmosphere of a 400 year old building was charming and fascinating. Good position from railway station and right in the center of town. Loved it.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no WIFI connection , , , the carpet on the stairs must be stuck to the floor with dirt. window pane missing in secondary glazing. No help with luggage to second floor. breakfast poor ,

    the area the hotel is in.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Steep staircase - no elevator.

    400 year old building with a lot of atmosphere, but modern rooms. Centrally located (in the old town). Secure bike storage. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked for a simplified invoice for company reasons, but they haven't done it. Parking is near but you have to pay attention not to exceed the allowed time limits.

    The hotel itself is an old building and some parts of it are kept in medieval style. I felt like a modern traveling merchander :-)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Having to move 3 times due to only having 3 rooms for my Party and not 5 as booked. The manager had no spare rooms due to a big local Festival at the weekend. He did manage to obtain rooms across the road but everyone had to change rooms 2-3 times between the two hotels..

    Fresh bread rolls for breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No fans available and it was roasting in our room. I asked for some butter at breakfast and the lady gave me the look of death. We came back to the hotel late one night around 1AM. The door was locked and we had to ring the intercom. I man answered. He snapped "go around to the back door like you where told when you checked in". We weren't told anything of the sort by the wee girl that checked us in. I know the Germans can sometimes be rude but he was just being a eejit.

    Good sized room an location was excellent. Good water pressure and tidy. It did the job.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is very poor and the treatment of the staff is very bad they have forced us to check out at 10am because they wanted to leave

    noting

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    old feshion room, not renowated since ages, poor breakfast.

    room was very clean, and water was hot :), heating in room ok. Very silent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, comfortable and welcoming staff. They kept reception open especially for me (had a delay with the train in Stuttgart).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No restaurant

    The bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very good, room accomadations were perfect!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible experience

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was good. Room was lovely. Situation excellent.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower/bathroom size

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non friendly staff, early check out time

    Good Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom was small, breakfast basic.

    Restaurant was very good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accommodation simple and overpriced. Beds are uncomfortable and breakfast buffet basic.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reception not available in most of the time, breakfast not great. Wooden staircase and floor and one could hear in the room very clearly people walking up the stairs or in the corridors.

    Decent and clean hotel. Nice "oldish" style if you like that. Polite and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I shared a double room with BR with a friend. Our room was fine, but the bathroom was HORRIBLE, so small I did not dare to take a shower, my friend could hardly get into that shower or out of it. To get into this broom closet bathroom, I got bruises from the door - a very unpleasant experience. Considering the price for the room, this bathroom is unworthy of the hotel standard.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was extremely hot when we stayed there, we asked for a fan but hotel had none! Extremely hard to sleep , receptionist couldn't really care if we had a fan or not! We were thankful it was only 1 night

    Loved the location very central to work into town. Restaurant was closed when there but restaurant across road was good. Although quite noisy later in evening and as our room faced the restaurant and we had to have the window open as it was so hot it was noisy

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is simple, with very basic amenities, but is quite charming, in the center of Radolfzell. It's close to the train station, lake, and some excellent restaurants. Breakfast and Internet were included. Quaint, old-fashioned, and very pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The car park in the rain.

    The location, the staff,the food , a lovely building. The car park could have been closer.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Uncomfortable bed

    Ok staff, nice restaurant, decent location, free bicycle storage

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beautiful church, but clock-bell starts at 6am

    Close to town centre with easy parking. Walking distance to lake and town

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    fab location right in town centre five minutes from lake and station

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no aircon

    excellent location

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Gorgeous little inn. Staff were wonderfully helpful. It's old, quaint and perfectly adequate for a trip to Radolfszell. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No laundary facilities.

    Krone is old, but our room had been refurbished and was very comfortable. Staff, breakfast and restaurant were very good.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Guests also reviewed these properties: