Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel & Restaurant Krone This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Rheinstraße 37, 56348 Kestert, Germany

#3 of 4 hotels in Kestert

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 305 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wanted a property close to the river Rhine with good facilities. We found a brilliant location and a splendid hotel and excellent food in the restaurant. They catered for a gluteen free evening meal . Breakfast was a good selection buffet style.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Perfect location, warm welcome and delicious food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is third time we have stayed at this brilliant, family run hotel and it never disappoints. Right on the Rhein, you can sit on the terrace sipping beautifully chilled local wines whilst watching the ships sail past - a perfect location along this glorious stretch of the river with history, myth, castles and day trips within a moment’s reach. The food is excellent, local cooking, hearty and tasty, and breakfast is generous and delicious. The folks here are so friendly and did everything to help make our stay relaxing and fun. We loved our balcony room with a river view. Danke schön für eine wunderbare Zeit!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.0
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view we had was poor. The check in and out was poor, we were given no information about breakfast which was in another building. They seemed to ignore us .

    the hotel was next to the rhine

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.9
    Lovely family run hotel right on the banks of the Rhine
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. The village it is in is very small so you will need to travel to see things or for other places to eat.

    Lovely location right next to the Rhine. Short walk to the station to get train to Koblenz and other destinations. Continental Breakfast was good with freshly baked bread rolls We ate at the hotel one night and the food was good but with limited choice. We had a big roomy apartment which was excellent for a family although at the top of several flights of stairs

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful for the money. Fantastic location right on Rhine river. Very homey. Dated, but very clean and comfortable rooms. No elevator- and rooms may be a bit of a distance that carry stuff. But, terrific place that met our needs exactly. Close, free parking. Good breakfast, very nice service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.8
    Nice Stay on the Rhein River
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps the owner may consider to update the WiFi offered. Signal is weak most of the time.

    This is my second stay at the hotel. The welcome, staff courtesy, helpfulness and accommodation of guest needs supersede any guest expectation. Room is simple, but adequate. Bed and bathroom is fine. They offer a good breakfast buffet. The accommodation is fairly priced. Will return

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent in every way. A perfect Rheinland experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful, warm welcome, delicious food, delightful environment beside the Rhine; especially enjoying an evening drink as the sun goes down. Perfect location for ferries across the water and ideally placed to visit the Romantische Strasse. absolutely loved it and can't wait to return next year!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    8.3
    Great place from which to explore Köblenz and the Rhine valley area. Great overnight accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Important Note To Road Travellers Approaching From The South! Hotel Restaurant Krone lies on the east bank of the River Rhine. Whilst there is an excellent nearby car ferry service (€5.60 for car and 2 passengers) from the West Bank, our car's satnav routed us to the West Bank from our starting point in Austria (most routes starting in in southern Germany, Austria and Switzerland did the same). Beware - the car ferry ceases early. You may end up (as we did) having to make a long and complicated detour via Köblenz to cross the Rhine and get to this destination! You have been warned!!!

    Superb bedroom and extremely comfortable beds. Breakfasts were superb with plenty to choose from and all items freshly prepared each day. Evening meals were very good and worth pre-booking a table as lots of locals eat here at night (always a good indicator of quality).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.9
    The view from the hotel is absolutely stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't have a menu in English so ordering food is a bit tricky. They speak basic English and the staff is very friendly and helpful so no huge issues.We couldn't use the sauna as it was in a different building and you have to ask for a key and walk to the other building next to the hotel which is not ideal so we did not use it at all. We did use their laundry services as we were travelling around in Europe for 2 weeks and by Wednesday we had loads of stuff needed to be cleaned. The service costs 10 euros but you don't have to do much just hand it over to the receptionist and they will take care of it, by next morning it was ready to be collected. All in all it was a really good experience but they should invest a few Euros into an English menu to make tourists life a little bit easier.

    The view from the hotel is absolutely stunning. You don't even want to leave just admire the nature. If you cross the road you've got plenty of good opportunities to take photos and the whole area is magical.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.9
    Ok for a night while visiting the region
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not very modern facilities but everything works so no complaints. staff does not speak English but we got by.

    Quite big room, everything worked as expected, breakfast included plentiful if not highest quality

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.2
    Trendy, modern hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coming by bicycle, the extra 10km from the Rhein seemed a long haul. More suited for car access.

    Air conditioning, large modern room. Beautiful toiletries. Staff really friendly and most helpful. Restaurant meal and wine selection - fine.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful and Romantic Stay at the Rhine River
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing special to mention.

    Overall an excellent experience. From the moment of check in to the check out, we are totally satisfied. Room is well layed out with a balcony overlooking the Rhine river and the banks. We had lunch upon arrival and dinner in the evening. Food is excellent in terms of quantity and quality. Nice service. Owner makes sure he is feasible and asks if all is well received. Good breakfast spread to choice from as well plenty of car park space. For a small hotel as such, we had an awesome stay and experience. Highly recommended, good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    10
    Perfect location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is directly next to the Rhein river, the location is perfect. The waiters and waitresses are very friendly. The food in the restaurant is very nice.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    Perfect in every way for an authentic Rheinland experiencr
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything!

    A perfect location for getting around this wonderful part of the Rhein. The friendly welcome is outstanding and nothing was too much trouble. The food was delicious and everything exceeded our expectations. We could not have asked for more from this authentic Rheinland experience.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Room is very clean and comfortable
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I prefer to have more beverages for breakfast

    Room is very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.9
    River-view room, breakfast, atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    River-view room,breakfast,atmosphere

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.9
    not a lot of information from the owner on where breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not a lot of information from the owner on where breakfast was, they speak little english

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Spacious unit with 4 beds and a sofa, good breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious unit with 4 beds and a sofa, good breakfast, perfect for a family stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    8.8
    Relaxed and freindly hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice, hotel, Great Food, very nice friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    8.3
    On the river
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the river

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.8
    Great value hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice room, fantastic value

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    We had a great duplex room and the hotel was on the banks of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a great duplex room and the hotel was on the banks of the Rhine

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.3
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    facility is so basical - not really 3 stars. especially bathroom, very small and so out of date.

    location. it is directly face river.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    GoOd
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to reach the location by gps

    Vieuw is breath taking

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    5.0
    nothing except location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing.

    nothing except location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    Location, staff, food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, staff, food...everithing was just perfect to refill the batteries during my business trip in Germany😊 Fully recomend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    7.9
    The breakfast was very nice, good variety and plentiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I was shocked to read in the brochure in the room that a change of bed linens would cost 5 euro per person. We've traveled a lot, and this is the first time I've ever seen something like this.

    The breakfast was very nice, good variety and plentiful. The bathroom was spotless, always a plus! We had dinner in the restaurant one evening, very tasty and reasonably priced, and the decor was charming.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    8.3
    The cuisine was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The cuisine was excellent

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    7.5
    Good quality for good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Good quality for good price. Friendly staff, good food, nice breakfast

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    8.8
    excellent stay friendly folk.
    • Solo traveller

    dinner menue very disappointed.

    excellent stay friendly folk.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Guests also reviewed these properties: