Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Kurpfalzstuben 3 stars

L 14,15, 68161 Mannheim, Germany

#6 of 38 hotels in Mannheim

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 379 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very convenient location close to main railway station, which suited me as I was making day trips to other towns nearby. Quiet too. No tea or coffee making facilities, but this is a feature tha many European hotels lack. Also no lift or air conditioning, and it would be very hot in summer.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift might deter travellers with heavy luggage

    Perfect location for townhouse stay two minutes from Mannheim station. Comfortable, well-equipped, very quiet room. Slept with window open. Great breakfast with wide choice - muesli, rolls, cold cuts, smoked salmon, eggs to order.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs can be a challenge but you are made aware of this when you booking (They offer help with heavy cases)

    Lovely welcoming Family owned Hotel near the railwaystation. Excellent breakfast at beautifully set breakfast table.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints whatsoever!

    Top notch, friendly service! Exquisite breakfast! Very comfortable hotel! The checkout at most hotels are 1100 or 1200. The Hotel Kurpfalzstuben had a checkout of 1300, ideal for when you had a late evening out!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has the spiral staircase and no elevator.

    The atmosphere is amazing: there are natural flowers everywhere, which spread the smell, the decor fits perfectly to the idea. The room is clean and comfortable. They also give 3% discount, when you pay by cash (and it is always nice to get a discount :-))

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to report.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, great atmosphere like by good friends at home, very clean room and hotel, great location very close to main railway station. I was worrying before the trip about very noisy street but it was NOT the case and was just like it is when you are living in the city. Nice breakfast room and very good food. For sure I will book next month this hotel again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not realize that the hairdryer was in the wardrobe in the room (I would expect to find it in the bathroom) so I could not dry my hair in the morning.

    The receptionist was very kind. The breakfast was nicely served. The hotel is a bit old-fashioned but in a nice way.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly family run hotel with lots of attention to detail, close to the station. Enjoyable breakfast, including the choice of egg for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That I did not stay for a week but I will next time I visit Mannheim.

    Nothing is better than outstanding service with a smile. This family operated hotel is number 1 on my list of accommodations and I have travelled a lot. The breakfast is just outstanding. The location cannot be better. The rooms are on the small size but super clean and comfortable. Love it. Just love it!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Central location. Comfortable beds in good clean accommodation with very helpful and pleasant staff, who were very cheerful and assisted us as best as possible when we had parking problems. Good choice of food at breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had no problem with this, but it is useful to know that there is no elevator.

    Small, family-run hotel, with very nice service, very nice breakfast. Very quiet, despite location close to the main railway station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect, really perfect family/-operated hotel, where you definitely feel yourselves as at home. A lot of small wonderful things, old porcelain in the corridor, small statues, angels, decorative pillows added to the comfortable beds with high-quality cotton linens and pillowcases made my standing there outstanding. I have stayed in the many hotels in Mannheim and this one is absolutely my number one. Even it's сost 10-15 euro more than other non-chain hotels there it was worthwhile (every euro!). Highly recommended! The only moderate disadvantage they do not have elevator, so prepared to it. Extra advantage is its location close to railway station, city center, University, Rosengarten and Mannheim theater.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor was a bit out-dated, but well maintained and not a problem at all. The only thing was the shower, which could do with an upgrade.

    Spacious room, good breakfast and very helpful staff Parking was cheap and a nearby private parking space. Our room was on the courtyard side of the building and it was very quiet at night, however still right in the middle of the center.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that we didn't dislike. A small fridge and kettle in the rooms would be a benefit.

    The very welcoming staff- a family hotel I understand. Centrally located in the city, trams and trains within a block. 15 minutes by train to heildeburg and 35 minutes to Frankfurt airport. The breakfast and the effort put into the presentation of the tables was second to none. Would take my mum and grandmother there for breakfast. Good size well presented rooms. City is major field hockey centre. Fields just 10 minutes away on tram.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi was a bit slow and difficult to connect to at times.

    Very friendly staff, super clean rooms, and a nice free breakfast. A very good value. Close to the main station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I paid 30 Euros more than somebody I met at hotel for same room. I will be more careful in future when booking through booking.com and have done so ! A following trip to Salzburg I booked first through booking.com and found than a much cheaper price at another website !

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great accommodations in a great location. The staff was very friendly, great breakfast, room was perfect for a single person, and the rate was very affordable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent hospitality, family run and charming. Room was very clean and comfortable. The location can't be better next to the station and right in the city center.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is very elegant for this price. Fresh roses were on the breakfast table and that made my day bright and cheerful ! とてもエレガントで、滞在しているだけで気持ちがゆったりできました。お勧めです。

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park was a little way away from the hotel. No lift, which we knew but the stairs were quite steep and carrying 3 cases up 2 long sets of stairs was very hard for us.

    Good breakfast and location was great for Christmas market and station. Lady owner was very helpful and available too.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no elevator in the hotel. Maybe I missed this info in the hotel description and for sure it would not be a factor which had a potential to change my decision to stay in this hotel, but it was quite difficult to make my way on a second floor with a luggage.

    Hotel is closely located to the station and is easy to find on the main street. Room is spacious and clean, breakfast was also good. The best part: I came late and forgot to inform hotel about my arrival time, but still there have been a person waiting for me!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was renovasion going on same time we were there, but that was a minor inconvenience.

    Hotel staff was awesome. They had the answers to our questions before we could ask them. Location is great and breakfast is also very good. We got what we wanted for two nights stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom : Water overflowing from shower into thé room.

    Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    a bit old, but clean

    atmosphere, breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No negatives

    Greatest breakfast! Something there for everyone and beautifully presented. Free indoor secured parking 3 min walk from hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like everything in this hotel 💖

    I love it! Hotel with soul!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything is fine. the service is great. I would like to revisit this hotel if I travel there again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean,functional and excellent place

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was at another location, but was inside and safe

    Very nice staff, friendly and cosy atmosphere. Excellent breakfast. Nice rooms

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small details: no lift, unconfortable bath and cold bathroom.

    The breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    perfect location, .. very friendly staff, good breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room and difficult access to the rooms (narrow stirs with no elevator)

    Good location and nice friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was amazing.. staff very courteous.. bedding was nice..

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a bit noisy and smelling due to the neighbouring ethnic restaurants

    Very central location. 5 min walk to train station and city center.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Overall I like to stay in this hotel. Receptionist is friendly, she let me early check in and offered me breakfast. Food is delicious. The room is clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very nice and confortable hotel.good location right next to the train station and also public transport on your door step. clean room with confortable beds,good breakfast and very good wi-fi! room was facing the inner yard so it was nice and quiet

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    End of August the over heated rooms (> 30 C) towards the busy and loud avenue are a bad choice given the unbearable noise level almost all night long (parties, music, traffic, drunk people, ...). The backyard view must be calmer and therefore advisable.

    Good location near the train station and close to the city Center. Nice and warm welcome. A bit oldish but rather charming. Rich breakfast included in the room rate.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It was very hot while we were in Mannheim, no air conditioning at the hotel but no AC anyplace else either. Room on upper floor was very hot. Fan was provided, staff did everything possible to help.

    clean, pretty, comfortable

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    If you are after a hotel close to the central station this couldn't be much closer. Staff were friendly and the room comfortable. Breakfast was a continental breakfast but all bread, meat etc very fresh. Coffee good too.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location of the parking lot several blocks away.

    The location was close to the German Christmas markets but on a main street with a great deal of traffic. The food at the restaurant was quite good and the staff at the front desk and restaurant were outstanding!

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location unbeatable. I was given a better room than I had booked and paid for.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Group

    No lift in the house

    Very cozy small Hotel with family character.

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bathroom and bedroom small, but practical.

    Ideal for station. The cosy breakfast room and friendly service provide a special homely atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were problems with the wi-fi availability

    Excellent breakfast, big spacious room, romantic decoration of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The sweet old couple doing their best to make me feel home :-)

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent location and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No elevator

    Location,staff,clean

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the hotel does not have an elevator

    location, cleaniness

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room was facing the main road. It was very noisy even at midnight!

    Very cozy

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I liked the personalness and helpfulness of the proprieters

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This hotel has a very individual style - not part of a national or international company. Very good location for travellers, and small and charming.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I asked for a quiet room, and was given one, in spite of the hotel being in the centre of Mannheim.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A few yards from the main station, a small, friendly hotel, with an excellent small and informal restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No lift

    The location is great

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Welcoming, and spotlessly clean

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Guests also reviewed these properties: