Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Boutique-Hotel Lohspeicher Garni This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Obergasse 1, 56812 Cochem, Germany

#12 of 32 hotels in Cochem

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 219 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    I would stay here again in a heartbeat, staff and location were wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room we were in was on the top floor and was very hot. They provide fans, however. For a summer stay again I would ask for a room on a lower level.

    Fruhstuck was great. Very good selection, well chosen. This was the only place we stayed that gave us a bottle of water in the room. Nice extra touch! The staff was wonderful and had lots of helpful suggestions. They seemed like they liked to get to know their visitors.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    The location is great, so close to all the action - but also...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    While it was easy to sort out in the end, dropping luggage and parking required a little extra effort.

    The location is great, so close to all the action - but also a few doors away from the market to be quiet. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Warm welcomes at this quiet and central location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Do yourself a favour: if you're driving there, park near the church, then walk up to the hotel's parking spot to figure out where you're going. It can be stressful looking for this parking place while driving through crowded pedestrian streets.

    I was welcomed with a big friendly smile! The location was really great, and not just because it was in the heart of the city, but also because it was tucked away along a side-street, so it was also very quiet!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The location was perfect, the owners were great and it was very quiet. Cochem was a perfect place to stay in the Mosel Valley and the hotel was wonderful!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.6
    Centric, clean and amazing service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great. Maybe they could put a little curtain to cover the round window in the Studio room. The light that comes through it is a bit too bright.

    The hosts were excellent. Detail and service oriented. Always open and willing to help. They made us feel at home. The place is very clean and centric. The breakfast was delicious and with a decent variety of choices. There was even the possibility to have eggs al gusto! They were delicious!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.6
    I wanted more time to sit at the window or in the garden. Lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place would be difficult for anyone who had trouble with a few stairs to the entrance. For us, it was fine.

    The owners were friendly and talented. Their croissants tasted divine. The suitehad a view of the castle and was cozy yet not small.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel for a short stay at a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in went super smooth and we were in the room in no time. The view to the castle was great! The rooms were cute. Bathroom is very small but it works. It's located just off the town square so amazing location. Owners are very nice people.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    Loved our stay in Cochem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking from parking with luggage was a little challenging in the rain.

    The hosts were fabulous and our breakfasts and dinner were outstanding. Location was ideal.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    9.6
    Perfectly located gem in a quaint German town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is small so large groups might have trouble getting rooms.

    Friendly, efficient owners who accommodated our late arrival. The breakfast was lovely as well.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    9.2
    Good stay in Cochem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is close to everything. The rooms were clean and the restaurant at this hotel is very good! The staff was pleasant. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Excellent breakfast, great location, friendly staff and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast, great location, friendly staff and lovely town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Located in thge centre of the town, no parking but public parking local.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    No bedside light

    Comfortable bed, excellent breakfast, friendly owners

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Amazing staffs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing staffs!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Terrific staff. The best!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect. Do not miss it

    Exceptional

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    5 star! I will stay there when I return to Cochem.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Instructions on parking before arrival could help future guests.

    Breakfast was delightful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Owners were very helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owners were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    10
    Lovely setting in the heart of town, with fantastic hosts and a delicious breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful setting. Lovely couple that made us feel so welcome, delicious breakfast. Perfect location!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Friendly staff. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    8.8
    Cochem charmer with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom odor - a minor annoyance solved by openining a window.

    Central location, friendly staff, room decor, great view

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    10
    Our stay at this charming hotel was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our stay at this charming hotel was perfect. The owners were welcoming and very helpful, making our first stay in Germany delightful!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    5.4
    The breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location very difficult to reach. The bed was not of the quality you would expect for the price, and the pillows were lumpy. The studio room had minimal natural light.

    The breakfast was very good. The bathroom in the studio was very nice and spacious. It was very quiet.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    9.2
    Very nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Difficult to access by car. I thought the patrons can get the privilege to drive their car through the old town to pick up luggage even during curfew. The hotel should ask the city hall to facilitate such service outside the busy summer months.

    Very nice place.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    8.8
    Welcoming and nice hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Welcoming and nice hosts. Helpful. Friendly. Very wonderful gourmet meals. Fancy and delicious, and pretty good value compared to other meals that were not as special. Rooms are comfy and some have a cool castle view.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    8.3
    Friendly welcome, enclosed parking available at a distance,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking quite a way uphill. Bringing luggage in and out a hike. Our room was on the top floor, with slanted ceilings, including the bathroom. Not as nice as the pictures. Perhaps if we had been able to eat at the restaurant, we could overlook shortcomings. I would stay facing river next time.

    Friendly welcome, enclosed parking available at a distance, for a fee. Clean room, elevator.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    10
    This lovely hotel made the perfect home base along the Mosel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This lovely hotel made the perfect home base along the Mosel. We spent 3 nights in the Standard Double Room and found that it perfectly suited our needs. Others have complained that it’s small, but we found that its size was pretty standard for a European hotel. The sleep quality was excellent because it was silent at night and the bed was extremely comfortable. We found the room cleaned to perfection upon arrival. The hotel proprietors are absolutely lovely and speak great English. The breakfast spread was excellent and a perfect start to each day. Some reviewers have complained about the Wifi, but we were on the top floor and it seemed that all prior issues had been resolved. It worked perfectly for us. The location is perfect – just off the historical town square and a short walk to the train and KD line. On the Saturday evening of our stay we ate at the restaurant in the hotel and it was outstanding! My husband and I enjoy fine dining and the chef’s creations were superb! We highly recommend treating yourself to a meal there.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    9.2
    I picked the hotel based on the restaurant (only serves...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel provided parking in a secure underground parking garage, but it is located a distance from the hotel. The GPS gave directions to hotel, which didn't seem like a road (also too many people walking around). We parked a few blocks from the hotel and walked to check in and ask about the parking. We were given directions to avoid the tourist areas and it was an adventure driving to the garage but we found it. Path to the hotel includes many steps and is tricky with rolling suitcases. But once you are at the hotel, it was worth it.

    I picked the hotel based on the restaurant (only serves dinner Saturday and Tuesdays so plan accordingly) and it was even better than expected. The breakfast buffet in the morning was wonderful. The hotel was in the center of everything and the room (Suite) was spacious and comfortable. Large bathroom with rod to dry clothes in shower. Elevator made getting luggage to room easy.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    10
    Fisrt of all, the staff was very friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to Declare!

    Fisrt of all, the staff was very friendly. The breakfast was complete and very tasty! The best point of the hotel is the Restaurant!!! Ingo is an excellent chef and his dishes are extremely tasty! I would definitely choose this hotel again!

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    6.0
    kind staff, nice location and good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bedbugs! I stayed only one night, but I am badly bitten by bedbugs. still too painful. This hotel has to get rid of bedbugs very urgently.

    kind staff, nice location and good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    10
    The hotel is in the center of Cochem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The only negative is that the hotel has no place to store luggage before checkin or after checkout. On our last day we had a few hours before we were due at our next location and could not store our luggage at this hotel.

    The hotel is in the center of Cochem. Our rooms were comfortable and clean. The owners were friendly. We were able to eat at the restaurant one night of our stay, and that was a wonderful experience.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    9.5
    The hotel, although initially hard to find is close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It was hard to find at first, but a local cab driver helped us quickly

    The hotel, although initially hard to find is close to everything. The staff were so good to us and the food was out-of-this-world

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    7.9
    The hotel was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The location in the city is fantastic. The region??? Not so much. I always heard such great things about the Mosel valley but honestly the only thing I remember are lines of tour buses and the unfortunate detritus they disgorge and inhale at each city and point of interest. The whole place is not worth the time and money!!! Which is unfortunate because it certainly seems to have been a great destination at one time. Equally unfortunate for nice businessmen and women in the region.

    The hotel was very good. The food was okay and the owners very nice and professional.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    10
    Anna and Ingo are most gracious hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints about hotel or staff! Church bells right outside so bad if you prefer to lie in.

    Anna and Ingo are most gracious hosts. Amazing continental breakfast. Very comfortable, cozy room. Excellent shower. Best location.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    10
    We arrived during the low season and out of regular office...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, short stay, but definitely worth it.

    We arrived during the low season and out of regular office hours. This could have been disastrous, but the concierge called us before hand and told us how to check in.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2015

    10
    The room was incredibly spacious and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No complaints.

    The room was incredibly spacious and comfortable. The restaurant was excellent and a must do if you stay here. It is charming, cozy, and the food is to die for. The hotel is run by the owners, who make you feel like family and are willing to help with any need.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    10
    The owners were great and the breakfast was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We like everything.

    The owners were great and the breakfast was fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    8.3
    nicefood
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    nicefood

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    10
    Sunday brunch was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stairs required to enter hotel.

    Sunday brunch was amazing!

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    10
    Friendly owners, very clean, excellent breakfast offerings...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly owners, very clean, excellent breakfast offerings with gourmet touches.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    10
    The staff was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    8.8
    The location was perfect, right in the market square, lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No Wifi in the rooms, only in the lounge area.

    The location was perfect, right in the market square, lovely breakfast and great big rooms & beds!

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    9.6
    Great helpful staff, very nice room, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    weak wifi in room

    Great helpful staff, very nice room, great breakfast

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: