Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of AKZENT Hotel Restaurant Roter Ochse This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Hochstr. 27, 56321 Rhens, Germany

#1 of 1 hotels in Rhens

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 612 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.8
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room- Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom door was a sliding glass panel which did not fully open and was dangerous. It also did not occlude any visibility of the toilet! Unfortunately found cockroaches in the bathroom. The whole place is a little tired. The beer garden outside is a mess; could be nice but is currently being refurbished.

    Restaurant was good. Location was nice. Bedroom was fine with some shortcomings.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    3.8
    Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room- Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we were given did not correspond the picture on the website. Was able to upgrade after some resistance on their side. Had to pay extra. The restaurant was not open for the hours advertised. WiFi was totally unaccessible in the bedroom.

    Breakfast was good. And, to be fair, since we didn't seem particularly enamoured by our dinner, they did halve the menu price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.1
    Pretty little town with easy river, bus and trainlinks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Guest house
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Your hotel name should be better linked to the display on the hotel and save me walking half a mile past it with my suitcase.

    Pretty little town with easy river, bus and trainlinks

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful, thoughtful and friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room- Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful and friendly staffs and the hotel offered us a free regional train card that helped us a lot to travel around without any hustle to buy tickets on machines. Very thoughtful bonus. A big thank. A great atmosphere of Easter. Kids enjoyed it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Good value for the money. Genuine, family owned hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was weak and slow.

    Clean rooms in old town setting right next to Rhyne. Very helpful staff and excellent breakfast. Homemade patte was the best. Beds were comfortable and bathroom small, but great shower. Would recommend staying.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.2
    Restaurant and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room- Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room wasn't clean on check in, but they switch our rooms to a clean one immediately.

    Right in the center of Rhens, the hotel itself is modern but being along the wall, maintains a medieval flair. The restaurant is excellent as well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.2
    Owners were wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room- Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owners were wonderful. Tried very hard to ensure their customers were happy staying there. They succeeded! We appreciated their enthusiasm, and recommend staying there. Restaurant staff were equally helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    5.8
    Not worth the stay at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Guest House
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have been cycling the Rhine & Moselle rivers for one month, staying in a different hotel/B&B every 2nd. night. We have been doing this for 14 years. Never have we encountered an impossibly small room such as this. We are 5'1" and 5'6" weighing 105 and 135 pounds. Were we any larger people it would be virtually impossible to get around in the extremely small room as there is no room to step. For the price, it was outrageous! It was also very noisy in the hall ways.

    The room upgrade was to the highest standards using high end product. The breakfast was first class.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    6.7
    Can't understand the way renovations/modernisations...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room- Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't understand the way renovations/modernisations are made in old houses. A thin sliding glass door to the bathroom/toilet directly in front of the bed side is just not a sane solution. Use of bathroom in the night requires turning on the light which indirectly lights up the room via the glass door. Having a noisy ventilator running in the bathroom for 15 minutes after a simple hand wash also seems a bit unnecessary and irritating particularly at night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    The owners were lovely and even though we arrived late they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room- Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We struggled to find a parking place but it is a small place and we arrived around 10:30pm.

    The owners were lovely and even though we arrived late they were welcoming and friendly. Great breakfast and great family room with big bunks.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    The owner and his family were so welcoming and he was also...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room- Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The owner and his family were so welcoming and he was also the chef. We ate twice at their restaurant and the food was plentiful and a great value. I highly recommend this family hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.5
    Lovely small hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room- Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Huge range of food served for breakfast. The dinner was of a very high standard. Room was clean and tidy and was cleaned every day. Lovely small village with a good atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    8.3
    Rhens is a small quaint town and the hotel is centrally...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Guest House
    • Stayed 1 night

    A minor complaint was that we could only get Wi-Fi on one device at a time.

    Rhens is a small quaint town and the hotel is centrally located. We didn’t stay at the main building of Hotel Restaurant Roter Ochse but in an annexe directly across the road. Modern, decent-sized, clean, comfortable room & bathroom. Coffee & tea making facilities provided in the room. Breakfast was included in our package and was delicious. The host was very friendly and helpful and spoke good English. Would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    6.3
    The hotel is actually attached to the busy restaurant below...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room- Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is obvious lack of space in this hotel.The kitchen,the restaurant and the rooms are all close and there is oily smell coming from the kitchen to the corridors and the rooms. The rooms are clean and relatively newly renovated but stuffed-you can hardly walk around.The breakfast is standard rate.

    The hotel is actually attached to the busy restaurant below in a small sympathetic village by the Rhine.The restaurant is convenient, there is not much choice around.The staff is friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.9
    The staff were very welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room- Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows. It's a German thing but these square .5 metre flat pillows are horrible. Not supportive to the neck so I woke a few times due to it. Otherwise there is nothing I would complain about.

    The staff were very welcoming. Food was exceptionally good and the chef came to the table to chat with us, explaining his dishes. It's a family business and you feel welcomed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    10
    A comfortable, family run hotel, in a picturesque village on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room- Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A comfortable, family run hotel, in a picturesque village on the banks of the Rhine. The restaurant was excellent, serving fresh local produce. Many thanks to the family who were very helpful advising us on our sight seeing itinerary and who made our stay so enjoyable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    9.2
    Nice early Christmas trip to Koblenz
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Guest House
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed could be better. After first night, it became less comfortable.

    Service was very good, friendly people. Good restaurant. Always willing to give advice/hints on things to do in the area.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    5.8
    Let's have honesty !!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Guest House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a room in a historic hotel. On arrival, I was told they were full. So I was put in the ANNEX. Spartan, characterless, and some Distance away. I felt this was dishonest.

    Good breakfast. Rhens is a beautiful place.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    10
    Perfect location for exploring the Middle Rhine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room- Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect location for visiting the Rhine Valley with train and river cruise stops in Rhens. Accommodations were lovely (and quiet), recently upgraded, with an excellent restaurant right down stairs with many wild game selections, very good breakfast as well.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    9.6
    Nice little hotel, not all luxuerry but made up by nice staff and clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room- Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    1 minor thing for location: one road was blocked due to roadconstruction why i drove 1 hour to find a detour. I would like to be informed about that

    Dinner from self shooted wild, for 15 euro a grand buffet. Very nice staf, enjoyed them. Good room (little high). Touching to see the old man work on the breakfast wich is good, very good coffee. Good value for money

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    7.1
    Great breakfast with a lot of food and amazing coffee (which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room- Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in process was just bad ! It was clearly said parking is available, but when we arrived I was told by the staff I should keep looking for my own. After talking with the manager one of the employees found a parking lot for me. During the check-in, staff wasn't friendly at all, got NO explanation about anything. After 10 minutes of waiting I just got the key with the number on it (however check-out process was very good). Location is average, after 5PM it would be hard to find what to do / to eat until you prefer to drive for at least 10 minutes out of this location.

    Great breakfast with a lot of food and amazing coffee (which you will not find in 4/5 star hotel). Room are pretty good. Very good value for the money. The check-out process was very friendly, the guy explained us what we can find in the area and suggested some places to visit (comparing to a very bad check-in process)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    7.1
    Lovely little hotel with nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of little flies in all corners of the bedroom.

    Great staff, could have done with air con but it's an old building and the weather was unusually hot. It has a beautiful private courtyard where you can sit and eat/drink.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    5.4
    Very average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room in Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift. Very inconvenient when you are on the top staircase room with luggage and a child. A curious lay out of the hotel and staircase not pleasant. There seemed to be a lot of flies around breakfast time. Perhaps that is because the hotel is near the Rhine river. Rhens is a very quiet, small village. Some may like that. Others may not.

    The evening cooking is probably the best aspect of this hotel. A good evening meal which was well cooked and with fresh ingredients. A short walk to the Rhine river, with lovely evening views.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    5.8
    Nice historic town. Hotel seen better days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room in Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not well maintained, the shower did not grip the rail and had to be hand held. Staff seemed preoccupied and somewhat unhelpful. For example we arrived after a 20 mile hike and were pretty much ignored by 2 of the staff until the owner came after a 5 min discussion with another resident about his plumbing. At breakfast when I asked the waiter if they had any more bowls he just opened a cupboard and handed me a stack while I had 2 cups of coffee expecting me to put them by the cereal. There were a lot of flies around the breakfast area.

    Lovely old town and the hotel is situated right in the old city walls. A historic building but in need of some attention.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    8.3
    The hotel is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room- Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rhens is quaint and old but tiny and there was really only 1 or 2 restaurants that we could find. It is definitely a very local place. Next time I might look to stay in Boppard.

    The hotel is very good. A wonderful breakfast and a good dinner in a nice conservatory/courtyard restaurant. The room was comfortable and great with bunk beds for the children.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.3
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room- Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many steps, no lift. Rooms could be bigger for the price requested. Some hotel parts need renovation or are under construction.

    Location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful heritage hotel in a lovely village on the Rhine
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room- Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite noisy and a little hot and stuffy

    Great sized room and generous breakfast in a superb historical building

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.9
    Very friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room- Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly staff!!! The hotel's garage was offered to us. The meat from roe, boar and deer was beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    Overnight stay
    • Couple
    • Double Room- Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little on the small side.

    Excellent location. Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    The staff during breakfast were extremely helpful and we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Guest house
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff during breakfast were extremely helpful and we loved having a kettle in our room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Very nice clean and flexible
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice clean and flexible

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Will certainly be staying here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly and welcoming. Great food - breakfast and dinner Great location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel in nice town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room- Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient location in centre of lovely small town. Nice restaurant & comfotable rooms

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    8.8
    (very) good hotel for 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room- Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    too small room but for the price it was good for 1 night

    Good breakfast and situation

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    We had a very nice stay at this hotel, the restaurant serves...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room- Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a very nice stay at this hotel, the restaurant serves delicious food and we would gladly book a room again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.3
    Rhens room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Guest house
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine.

    Rooms were nice, clean, and quaint. What was expected.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    very enjoyable stay, will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room- Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift

    Excellent restaurant on site Parking easy Very well kept and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room- Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    no elevator

    modern bed and bathroom, very friendly and helpful staff, very good food in the courtyard, extensive breakfast choices

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.3
    Good location in a charming Rheine village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room- Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location in a charming Rheine village.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Great place, lovely town, fantastic staff and great food and wine
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room- Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely staff who even kept the kitchen open late for us as we were stuck in traffic

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    We lived this hotel, the town and the people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room- Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful small town; convenient to Koblenz and surrounding area. Easy commute to Marksburg Castle.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    highlight of our trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room- Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Everything. Beautiful location. Good food Comfortable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    8.8
    Restaurant was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room- Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    not much going on in the village.

    Restaurant was very good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    Unique historical buildings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Guest house
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited facilities in town

    Quiet, ambiance, access to transit and boats

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room- Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    All goo

    Friendly staff and comfortable room in a lovely village setting near the river..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.6
    A great place to spend a night or a few days.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff eas fun and helpful. The restaurant was quite good, with a few interesting twists on some dishes. The rooms were very good value.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    10
    Nice rooms and restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice rooms and restaurant

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    The owner was extremely welcoming and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room- Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was extremely welcoming and very helpful. I will definitely stay again in the future. Highly recommended

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    9.2
    Excellent choice for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Guest House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent choice for money.Very good restaurant in the Hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    7.1
    Great location fabulous restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room- Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms at the rear on the 3rd floor are a fair old hike!!

    Great location excellent food

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    5.4
    Hotel fair value, Restaurant is another story.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room in Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    we took dinner at the restaurant and was not good at all. the bathroom need some renovation.

    Location, fair price for the room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    7.1
    Fabulous food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room- Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much in the village nowhere else to eat when we stayed Room small

    Food in restaurant very good Clean good shower Good pillows

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    8.3
    Good overnight stop on the Rhine, and lovely town to walk around
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    On site parking.

    Fresh baked croissants for breakfast. Host spoke excellent English.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    8.3
    Dont forget to ask for the wifi code at the reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room- Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dont forget to ask for the wifi code at the reception.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    9.2
    Hotel restaurant in a small village clise to Koblenz.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No lift, however not a priblem on 1 st floor.

    Hotel restaurant in a small village clise to Koblenz. Parking convenient and breakfast great. The owner was really friendly and helpful. Dinner was delicious.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    9.6
    Excellent resterant Sunday barbecue not to be missed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking was ok but might be issue in high season

    Excellent resterant Sunday barbecue not to be missed. Beds very comfortable. Quaint village surroundings, close to river and boat stop.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    6.3
    The pub 100 metres up the road on the opposite side.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Photo which we saw on booking.com wasn't actually a photo of the hotel but of the town hall down the street. All furnishings were cheap. Carpet in hallway was stained. Shower wouldn't stay up so had to hold it. Could hear next door's bathroom as if they were in our ensuite (which had a sliding door which kept getting stuck and could only be opened from the outside....) I won't go on.

    The pub 100 metres up the road on the opposite side.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    8.3
    Very warm welcome from the lovely owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Quite a limited breakfast but perhaps because I think there was only our family and another family staying, not a problem though as the coffee was good. Cleanliness on the surface was quite good until I dropped something on the floor which rolled under the bed. The cleaner must never have cleaned under the bed since the hotel was built! We run a villa cleaning company so I know how important good cleaning staff are and the staff here need telling. Also the shower door needs a good scrub! Super little hotel though.

    Very warm welcome from the lovely owner. Super restaurant with local specialities such as Venison and wild Boar. Restaurant staff very nice and looked after our little boy with colouring in things.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    9.2
    Rhens is a beautiful town at one end of the Romantic Rhine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rhens is a beautiful town at one end of the Romantic Rhine. It is a smaller less touristy town, and very beautiful. The hotel is wonderfully located, with a short walk to the river or the old town center. The staff is great. The rooms have new fixtures and beds, and are very comfortable, especially for the quite reasonable price.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    10
    Room and service was excelent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room and service was excelent. Restaurant was very good. In the historical centre of Rhens Beautiful city to stay and take trips. Will recommend it to my family and friends

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    9.2
    The village of Rhens, small but perfectly formed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I wanted to stay longer!

    The village of Rhens, small but perfectly formed. We were in the annexe which is undergoing complete refurbishment. My room was refurbished and was lovely, clean and comfortable. The manager is very helpful and knowledgeable and the breakfasts were plentiful. By train, ten minutes to Koblenz and ten minutes to Boppard. Perfect

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    7.5
    Located in the centre of a small town just outside of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was a little too small. The bathroom, though clean, had old fixtures. Wifi access is not straight forward.

    Located in the centre of a small town just outside of Koblenz. Easy access by road and rail. Staff was very welcoming. The breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    10
    We had a wonderful 2 night stay here, everything was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a wonderful 2 night stay here, everything was very comfortable from arrival to departure.We had dinner both nights at the hotel and the food was excellent. The owner is very friendly and helpful, (also a great chef), he also suggested the route we should take for our very first Rhine Cruise,from which station to get on and off,(to visit the best towns) to where to start and finish the cruise. The breakfast was also very good. We had a fantastic time and would definitely stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    5.8
    The room was but comfortable and spacious but.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    ...We booked this hotel specifically because of the very good reviews for it's restaurant, but we arrived there on a Wednesday in peak season to find the restaurant closed (this was not indicated on the booking.com profile and it still isn't, several weeks later, after having mentioned it to the management). Alternative restaurant options in Rhens we're very limited (and also away from the river) so we went to Boppard and found a lovely place to eat on the riverside. Next time we would definitely choose Boppard, as it offered a lot more in the way of hotels and restaurants, many of which were located right on the river bank, which is not the case for Roter Osche in Rhens. The Roter Osche wifi signal was very poor in our room.

    The room was but comfortable and spacious but...

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    7.1
    Regarding room 8: very good bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although the room was large, it had a strange configuration making the use of space difficult. At €92/night, overpriced.

    Regarding room 8: very good bathroom. Electric water kettle, coffee and tea a nice touch. Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Leaving the place after my stay

    Everything. The hotel is beautiful, clean, tidy, the staff are all friendly and helpful, I couldn't give the place more praise. If you're going to the Rhine valley you have to stay here, trust me.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    9.6
    The staff is very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is very quiet and comfort near the River Rhein. It is very convenient to take a boat trip . All is great!

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    7.5
    Liked how the place had developed and now has a central...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Unusually the weather for this part of Germany was very hot this week and so really missed having air conditioning in the bedrooms.

    Liked how the place had developed and now has a central courtyard with restaurant - a nice place to eat on a warm day

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    10
    The tea making facilities in the room were very welcome and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The tea making facilities in the room were very welcome and unusual for Germany. Let's hope others follow their example. The staff were very helpful at breakfast and giving directions for our onward walking travel.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    7.5
    Breakfast was very good and lots.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The door to the toilet could be a solid frost for more privacy.

    Breakfast was very good and lots.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    10
    Very friendly staff, helped me find medicine when all the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Very friendly staff, helped me find medicine when all the store closed!

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    7.1
    Room located 3rd floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room located 3rd floor. too far for me with big luggage.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    10
    The bed was so comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    The bed was so comfortable. Lovely room and the bathroom one of the best we have had. The village was just beautiful with old buildings.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    6.7
    Most of the staff were nice, nice hotel in a nice little town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Restaurant and bar close early

    Most of the staff were nice, nice hotel in a nice little town

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    10
    Quiet, clean, nice staff
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    wifi signal could be stronger

    Quiet, clean, nice staff

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: