Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel-Restaurant Schröcker Tor This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Mannheimer Str. 1, 76344 Eggenstein-Leopoldshafen, Germany

#4 of 4 hotels in Eggenstein-Leopoldshafen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 439 hotel reviews

6.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.5

  • Comfort

    5.6

  • Location

    6.5

  • Facilities

    5.5

  • Staff

    7

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place was under renovation, which meant the corridors were filled with construction stuff. This, however, is temporary. The room had a window with no view. The radiators had been removed and the gaps were not painted and presented a shabby appearance.

    Location was great. Close to the KIT campus where I needed to be.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    13" TV and very limited cable channels, noisy, no AC, construction, noisy business on ground floor, paper thin walls, 1/2 hour tram ride to downtown - more expensive tram tickets, very few restaurants within walking distance.

    Staff was nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy, the insulation is not that good. You can hear people talking, all through the night. I am a bit picky with showers, where I didn't like this one. It was broken and not repaired, I don't know since when. The hotel is going through a renovation and I can only hope that it gets better. With the current conditions, it should be more cheaper than the amount I paid.

    The location was really nice, the staff were friendly. Tram stop is a min away from the hotel, and easy access to the city in Karlsruhe.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls are not sound proof. Harder to reach places like in between radiators and higher on the curtain were dusty.

    Friendly stuff. Value for money. Good enough furniture.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at 19:00, the hotel was closed. On the website it was written that the reception is open till 22:00. There was a note that we can find an envelope with my name on it with a key inside. There was no envelope. I called their phone number, they didn't answer, it was late, raining outside. On the 4-th call a man answered the phone and told us where to take the key. Good thing that I could call them from my Ukrainian phone and waste money on international call.

    The room was clean and the bed vas very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no air conditioning in the room, so you have to open the windows. The windows face the road, so it's very noisy, it's hard to fall asleep due to the stuffiness in the room and the noise from the cars.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.Suited our plans for our journey to Austria.

    Staff ordered food from local restaurant for us because their restaurant was closed.Really great staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The whole appearance was bad and shabby: entrance door cracked, Hotel sign moldy, cigarette butts everywhere, sticky table at breakfast. The door to my room could only be closed by locking the deadbolt, because the lock was broken. Even with windows closed at times waves of cigarette smoke came into the room. The bed was broken and only hastily 'repaired'.

    Staff was ok and tried to be friendly, yet was was a little trapped in their 'same old same old'. In difference to the rest of the Hotel, the room was kept somewhat clean. Free parking and very close to KIT. But that is about it.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a non-smoking room, but it was obvious some previous guest did smoke in this room. Also smoke from (people smoking) outside entered the room via the window (when open ofcourse). Pets are allowed in the hotel and there was carpet on the floor making our rooms less favourable for people with astma.

    Basic but descent, proper bed, quiet.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The boss Deni was very nice and kind. Very nice experience there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and clean place. Friendly and accommodating...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Relatively quiet location close to the River Rhine. Provided what I needed a cheap over night stop as I passed through the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of smoke Shower gel/ shampoo empty

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This budget hotel offers good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good parking

    Good clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although named as a "Hotel-Restaurant", the Restaurant is closed down.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English speakers

    The room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is an hour by public transport from Karlsruhe. It is only suitable if you are coming by car.

    Comfy bed. Decent rooms. Everything worked.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not really bad, but furnishings are dated. Not a deal breaker for us.

    Very friendly staff; clean; good breakfast; very accommodating; close to train stop. Excellent WIFI. Never had any problems.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    it is placed in front of the bus stop to the KIT (just a 5 min trip with a frec. every 20 min). The Restaurant is quite good. It is a modest, old, clean Hotel. The KIT campus is so isolated and far away from Karlsruhe that you get the minimum service for a business or academical trip: After your job, back to the hotel and get a shower, wifi, dinner and a bed. No more higher standards.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No fridge in the rooms. Thin walls, lots of noise coming from other rooms and hallway. Restaurant smell goes in the hallway and I found myself and my clothes smelling like the food.

    Berakfast was ok for the price, the lady at the brakfast was always helpful even though she does not speak English. Proximity to tram line S1/S11 and bus 195 to KIT. Proximity to supermarkets.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Walls are not sound proof and I could hear conversations on the hallway or in the rooms with shared wall. Toilet bowl smelled. The smell from the restaurant on the ground level goes all in the first floor where the rooms are and I found myself and my clothes smelling like the greasy food. TV did not have a good reception.

    Breakfast is quite good for the price. Location, close to the S1/S11 tram line and the 195 bus line to KIT. Proximity to KIT. Proximity to supermarkets. The lady at breakfast was always friendly, even though she does not speak English and I do not speak German. Bike parking and free car parking.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    a bit noisy

    staff were very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    excellent value for money: a rock-bottom price for a clean room with a good bed and shower.

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast was quite good.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wifi was poor and I could only get it by the reception

    Nice staff and large rooms

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Bad WiFi, almost doesn't work. Pure breakfast. Old shower, no cabin.

    Friendly helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    breakfast, shower, charwoman

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Locatio

    Food

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly helpful staff. The receptionist/waitress translated the menu for us and was very helpful throughout the stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi did not work.

    Close to Edeka

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No hair dryer. No sleeping light. Relatievely Expensive! Restaurant is close on sunday.

    Close to KIT campus nord. Friendly stuffs.

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pillows on the bed

    Very friendly and helpful staff

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Guests also reviewed these properties: