Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel & Restaurant Sonne This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Hauptstrasse 28, 79199 Kirchzarten, Germany

#6 of 10 hotels in Kirchzarten

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 217 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    Can't wait to return again next year!
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    no elevator

    Beautifully renovated 17th century hotel, with lovely ambiance, fabulous spa and most of all friendly, attentive, wonderful staff! Such a pleasure to stay there again. I highly recommend this hotel and believe it deserves 5 not 3 stars. Nothing was too much trouble and every comfort and need catered for by the fantastic people who work there....many thanks to them all.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.2
    The most kind staff we have seen!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Design Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was not working well specifically in our rooms (but in most other rooms it was apparently fine). Very noisy church bells outside our window.

    The most kind staff we have seen!!! What an amazing group of people!!! Great breakfast and excellent dinner!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful few days in the Black Forest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The price of dinner was rather expensive and the menu did not change daily. the position of the hotel was good and convenient for the bus and train which were free for guests.

    Breakfast was excellent with a large variety of different food available. Dinner was also good' The staff were very pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    Super Hotel, great staff and lovely breakfasts
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was all great.

    This is such a lovely hotel. It's my second visit and I highly recommend it. I stayed in the new part of the hotel again, so I can't vouch for the older rooms. But the room was light, clean, spacious and very well taken care of. The mini bar was filled with wine, beer and sparkling water. The breakfast is delicious. Very tasty and fresh, with delicious coffee or a wide selection of teas. The real bonus for me is the sauna area. Lovely way to end each day, spacious, clean and very relaxing, a big fluffy white gown, fresh towels with a big jug of sparkling water to re-hydrate.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    10
    A charming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Each room was uniquely decorated. Everything was newly renovated and modernized but still maintained the charm of a Gasthaus in the Black Forest. The food was also excellent.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    9.6
    Lovely, friendly, cosy small hotel in the Blackforest.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cleaners came 4 times to clean the room the morning I was leaving while I was getting ready to leave. This was very irritating.

    Very nice staff, lovely room, nice food.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    7.5
    Good and not so good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff need to be more attuned to English. Room far too hot and leaving window open not a option due to noise outside. Breakfast only average and not enough choice

    Spacious room. Location good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.6
    ENJOYABLE STAY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good organised hotel. We enjoyed the food, both breakfast and one dinner. Provision of free local transport is a real bonus.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator

    Character of the place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    8.8
    Very well maintained, very good room size, very modern and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very well maintained, very good room size, very modern and conformable setup in very old property.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    9.6
    The room was a little cold and the bedsheets rather thin.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a little cold and the bedsheets rather thin. Reckon it was unusually cold for the time of the year.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    Great place in Schwarzwald close to Freiburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hospitality of the owner, willingness to adjust to the preferences to the guest

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    9.6
    great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we thought there was more than just 2 saunas, but it was great anyhow

    Sauna and amazing kitchen (food)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    9.6
    Should be 4 star rated!
    • Group
    • Maisonette Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wonderful courteous and friendly staff comfortable accommodation and fabulous food

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    4.2
    The breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Maisonette Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else

    The breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    9.2
    A quiet place with lots of history
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A quiet place with lots of history

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    9.2
    Very clean hotel and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Design Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No a/c

    Very clean hotel and friendly staff. Food in restaurant was amazing.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    9.2
    I was lucky to have a room in the new part of the hotel (rm...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was lucky to have a room in the new part of the hotel (rm 31) which was lovely, bright, with a minibar and I was very happy. However a friend who was also staying was in a rm 24 which was very different, bit dark, not so cheery. The sauna was FAB

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    6.3
    The room was very nice , clean and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We arrived after 3.30pm where our room was not ready. No apologies. We had to carry our bags ourselves (including my 70year old mum) up 3 flights of stairs with no help offered. Also we were never offered the special pass to enable free bus travel. Only after we asked (and had already spent $20 that day on travel) did they supply us with the card. Again no apologies Very dissappointing service.

    The room was very nice , clean and spacious. Great location.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    10
    Loved this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing negative

    Loved this place! Perfect German experience. And as a decorator by profession, I especially loved the decor in our room. The food at dinner was the best we had while in Germany, also.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    9.6
    Fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Fantastic location. Exellent hotel - very clean and confortable room, very well designed, friendly staf, good breakfast, fine restaurant. Really good place.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    9.6
    Family run hotel that took pride in catering for their...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all

    Family run hotel that took pride in catering for their guest's .breakfast was excellent.jonas card a bonus for getting around the black forest.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    9.6
    This hotel had everything - our room was very stylish and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    This hotel had everything - our room was very stylish and extremely clean. We ate here 2 nights out of the 3 we stayed because the food was very good. The breakfast was also excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    8.8
    The location and Friendliness of management and staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Hotel had no lift therefore inconvenient for elderly persons to climb the stairs.

    The location and Friendliness of management and staff. Also good local amenetis

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    9.6
    Very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very helpful staff. Beautiful room.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    6.3
    the view was fabulous
    • Solo traveller

    the view was fabulous

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    9.2
    lovely staff, always helpful.
    • Solo traveller

    lovely staff, always helpful. Relaxing sauna and chill-out room

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    10
    Everything was just as promised.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    -

    Everything was just as promised. Location is perfect, parking is included, stuff very nice, warm and friendly, food good.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    10
    Almost everything
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi in the evening was interrupting frm time to time

    Almost everything

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    10
    all was superbe
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    all was superbe

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    7.5
    Good stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good stop over

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    10
    Extremely friendly staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extremely friendly staff; excellent restaurant; free use of the train to Freiburg

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Guests also reviewed these properties: