Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Steichele Hotel & Weinrestaurant 3 stars

Knorrstraße 2-8, Mitte, 90402 Nürnberg, Germany

#77 of 112 hotels in Nürnberg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1898 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not the properties fault but you might want to be aware of the noise from outside. Daily garbage truck around 7AM, lots of glass bottles being recycled, which is nice, but not when they threw a full container of them into the truck. Sounds like the building is collapsing.. Fire depot right on the corner of the street, constantly coming and going with full ringing sirens. If you are a light sleeper might want to make sure you get a room with windows on the back side.

    Good breakfast Good location Old building and decorations but more than decent overall Helpful staff at the reception Daily cleaning in the room and fresh towels

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything was perfect. The staff were great, the food was brilliant, the young man who served us beer in the small bar was awesome as all hell. The location is on the South-western end of the old town.... jt was clinically clean and the beds were on point. Highly, highly suggested and try their own white wine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There wasn't anything which I didn't like. Everything was great and I hope this hotel stays open for several more decades for other tourists to enjoy! You won't be disappointed.

    Great breakfast buffet with a friendly staff! The hotel was in a great location very close to all the main attractions and museums. I would definitely stay here again! A very clean hotel with a very friendly and helpful staff! The Steichele Hotel is right in the heart of Nürnberg's Old Town!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very warm, a fan would have really helped as we had to keep our windows closed because of the street noise, busy area with tourists and the restaurant itself was noisy. Take ear plugs if you plan on getting a good nights sleep.

    Room was okay . Bed was comfortable, bathroom was clean. The restaurant was good. The location was good , walking distance to all the attractions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It lacked an air conditioner, so we had to open the window to a very noisy street and neighbours across from our building. The beds were increadibly soft, with no support, you just sunk into them. The single pillow given was very flat, but we were supplied with extra pillows on request. The WiFi in room 310 at the end of the passage did not work at all. Could only get signal when I opened the door and stood there.

    Room was spacious and clean with a good shower. All the front staff were very friendly. The breakfast was of good standard with friendly waitresses. The downstairs restaurant served excellent local food, I recommend giving it a try. The hotel is close to the old town, with in easy walk. We would stay here again, if the beds were firmer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lights in the room were too dim to read anything, WiFi in the room was to weak to load email or common apps like Facebook.

    Location was fine, short walk to the German Museum, room was not cramped, dirty, or worn, breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No aircon, was very hot and had to have windows open all night. This would have been fine if it wasnt for the young men in souped up cars who cruised around the streets until the early hours revving up their engines! Finally, on one night when we eventually got to sleep, someone started playing the guitar and singing outside at 4am! Obviously these are things outside the hotels control, but if they had aircon, you could at least keep the windows closed and cut the noise down.

    Characterful hotel and reasonable value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints. The hotel was supernice and the staff very friendly.

    It is traditional Bavarian manor-style property right in the center of town including dozens of oil paintings of past royalty and other artifacts placed throughout the property. Yet, the facities are modern and topnotch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Booking.com information stated that there was private parking provided. However, the available parking was at a public parking garage. Public and private are NOT the same. Our room was on the top floor. It was very difficult to avoid hitting our heads on the sloped ceiling above our very very small room. There was a mistake made on our bill. The desk clerk blamed the mistake on her manager (repeatedly). She never did offer any apology at all and seemed to be very defensive.

    The restaurant staff was very friendly & attentive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The first room they gave me was absolutely horrible. Bathroom was so small that I wasn't able to sit on the toilet without my knees hitting the sink. I had to sit sideways in or do fit in there. Don't even talk about the shower area. It was insanely crumbled and was not cleaned properly. Hairs were all around the sink hole and water was not able to flow through. With these complaints, I first called the reception and told them I didn't like the room. They told me all the rooms are as big as the one I have.. I tried fitting the toilet couple of more times, waited for the water sink to open up but I couldn't bare it anymore and went straight to lobby. Thanks god they were very helpful for arranging another room. One side of the bed was so noisy, probably the springs of the bed was busted. And this was the BIGGEST and probably the most expensive room of the hotel, so it makes me wonder...? Breakfast was average.

    Huge room; actually the biggest room at the hotel according to the lady at the reception. It's the room at the top floor, loft. Huge bathroom, very comfortable. Hotel is right at the middle of the city near the main church. Lady at the reception was very polite when I went to her with my complaints regarding my room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was too hot. It seems the insolation is not sufficient to keep out the heat on the roof.

    Frendly atmosphere and personell. The location is quite good. Very nice breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I suppose the bedding situation could've been slightly better, but on the whole everything was very good.

    Superb location in the walled Altstadt. Great historic building. Friendly and efficient service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A little more attention to detail wouldn't hurt. Used shampoo bottle, forgotten at the top of the shower. Glass shards in restaurant display window.

    Staff were super kind, friendly and accommodating!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

    The location and the staff were brilliant! The room was basic but very clean and tidy and the bathroom had a huge shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no Obvious suggestions Come to mind.

    Great restaurant on property. Breakfast included was well stocked, well prepared, good variety. Well located in old part of Nuremburg.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tiny room, bare bones. Worst internet access.

    Included breakfast was decent. Attached restaurant quite good. 60 second walk from U-Bahn, 10 minute walk to Haupmarkt.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi speed/connectivity

    Good location, close to city center and 150 meters walking distance from Weißer Turm U1 U-bahn. Perfect for visiting the Messe. Nice dinner and good breakfast. Wifi was a bit slow and not always connecting.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problem was with bed and pillow. Maybe too much soft for our confort idea.

    Perfect about staff and we had an excellent breakfast. Confortable and nice the local downstairs to have some beers or wine

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was wonderful. The only minor critique which I can give is for the double bed. Two twins were pushed together to make a double which is absolutely fine however as two sheets were fitted separately, the mattresses pushed apart at times during the night. I would suggest that a double sheet is fitted over the two single beds to avoid this and that the bed covers are larger.

    The hotel is very traditional and has a lovely, cozy atmosphere. It is a family run business which makes it more personal and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The traditional, Franconian food served in the restaurant was excellent with excellent service. I chose the pork shoulder served with dumpling and vegetables, which was very hearty and tasty. The hotel offers local wine produced in their own vineyards to accompany the meal which was very good. The breakfast room had a nice atmosphere, nicely decorated and the tables were covered in crisp, white linen which was lovely. The continental breakfast was super. It had a good selection of cereals, meats, salmon, breads etc and was really good value for money. The location is excellent, right in the centre of town but was quiet in the evenings so sleep was not distributed. Nuremberg is a wonderful place to visit on a city break and if I visit again then I will definitely be staying at this hotel again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the shower tab is small, crampy, but that's to be expected in the old city's hotels. in one of the drawers found someone's strange drawings of genetals (kind a funny in a way, but creapy in the other, also wonder if cleaning service saw that too and didn't touch it same as we...)

    the beds were nice and soft, restaurant below serves amazing food, breakfast was delicious. the room have enough space. convenient shelves above bead and plugs location. overall location of the hotel is great!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel room had not been renovated since the 70s but there was something very charming about that. The bed was comfortable and the building was so so beautiful. You caNNOT beat the location of this place! Right in the centre and yet very quiet. The downstairs restaurant is UNMISSABLE and the breakfast was one of the best continental breakfasts ever!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was on the street side. This meant earing the bells and on Monday morning at around 6.30 they put out the trash,a lot of it, loudly. And because the bathroom has no windows there's a ventilation system. The problem was my neighbor constantly had to go to the bathroom and so I kept waking up. I had earplugs, and they helped only a little. I will skip on the pillow because it's traditional for germans to have it so fluffy. Value for money not so good. If they solved the noise problem it would be very good.

    The hotel has a very good location and it is near a metro station. It's clean and the breakfast was good even if it was on the salty side. There are lots of brochures in the hall.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi does not work anywhere in the building. Im here for 4 days for a business trip and cannot work from the hotel as I was planning to do as the internet does not work at all, not even in reception. No internet access is unacceptable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have had more variety

    Close to the city center and train station. Stayed here to visit the Christmas market and it was a 10 min walk.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet and color of room. Found towels in bathroom that appeared to be used by previous guest.

    Staff in breakfast area were very friendly. Some desk staff not as friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When more guests connect to the WiFi or switch-on the TV sets, the whole system stop working. Unfortunately, the situation has been so for quiet some time already. It is time the administration to do something about it.

    Small, but comfortable, central and clean hotel., with an excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom like a dormitory. Very hot had the heating turned down and the windows open. No facilities for tea or coffee. Beds had no headboards. Only one person could view the TV while in there bed. The covering on the bathroom walls tops and floor was grubby. The shower head needed cleaning out. The stairs carpet after the 1st floor was very worn and grubby. Was expensive for what we received. Many be not all the rooms were as "hostel"like as ours.

    Location was by the under ground station easy and quick to get to the airport. Located in the old town next to the shopping center but on a quiet side street. Breakfast room was very nice expecially the scrambled eggs and salmon. The young lady organising breakfast was very friendly and made sure you had plenty of coffee. Mattress and bedding comfortable. Restaurant and bar downstairs although restaurant is closed on a Sunday.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked a room with twin beds and, rather than the 'usual Spanish' arrangement of the two beds pushed together, one was alongside one wall with the other alongside the opposite wall and they faced in different directions. Not really a problem as the beds were comfortable and we both slept well, it's just not what we'd expected!

    Super restaurant serving local food. Don't be guided just by the menu on display outside or, if you're a guest, in the lift. Ask for a menu (in English if required) and there's much more choice. Both service & food quality are excellent and the wine list is well worth exploring!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel restaurant was very busy so book ahead. We left it too late a got a 1730 slot. Also the wifi signal in the bedroom was very low and kept dropping out. It was also slow.

    The Steichele is only a short walk from about three underground stations. We went to Plärrer as it is on the line from the Airport and then a short walk. Knorrstrasse is a small road just behind the St Jacob church. The hotel is then a reasonable walk to the main market, shops and restaurants. The food at the Steichele was lovely in the evening and the breakfast was fair selection.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small, bathroom was so small you had to leave it to get dried after a shower, won't describe the difficulties in using the toilet

    Good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi advertised, work only occasionally--Lighting in room could be better---Radiator heat, slow to warm room---

    Good location---Public transportation just around corner ( U-BAHN)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 2 English-speaking TV channels, a business channel and the Fake News CNN. Since CNN has very few viewers and lost credibility as a serious news source in the US we suggest you add other reputable English language TV news channels.

    Great small inn hotel on a quiet street on the edge of the Old Town. Parking around the corner. Great for Christmas markets. Great restaurant with cozy bar. Best food we had in Germany. Even if you dont stay here, EAT HERE!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At first I did think the room seemed a little barren and the en-suite a little dated; but then I actually decided that was appropriate. Everything was scrupulously clean and worked well except the Wi-fi connection which was very sporadic: this might have been as we were on the top floor. And getting out of my side of the bed with a very sloping roof, care was needed!

    This, to me, was a relatively small, Germanic hotel; not some big, formula hotel where you could be anywhere in the World. Friendly, helpful staff. Excellent location for the city centre. Lovely breakfast. Comfortable beds with options how warm or cool you wanted the room. Restaurant, which was obviously popular but we didn't get round to going to. Nice cosy bar.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first night we were accommodated in unpleasant room that did not match with the photo of our reservation. After we found out that the heating system did not work and had to move us to another room. In the second room also had a problem with heating system

    The location of the hotel is perfect and the also the breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very central located,close to metro and trains. Good breakfast. Helpful personnel.I had problem with the wifi signal and they changed me the room. Will definitely stay there again if I go again to Nuremberg.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was kind of small and dark. The light fixtures were not ideally placed. The neighbourhood next to the hotel is a little red-light district, not a big deal, but also not so appealing.

    The location. Very near the city centre. The underground parking is just across the road and there is a metro station nearby. The main station is not too far.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant closes on a sunday sadly.

    Real old world charm. Fantastic restaurant great service. All staff i met were so friendly. It is family owned and run and it shows because i felt valued as a customer. Restaurant full of locals eating really beautifully presented and tasty german food. Located 200 m from weisser turm U bahn station within the city walls the hotel is only about 25 mins from the airport by public transport

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little hard to find the first. I think the rooms going to be a little bigger along with the bathrooms but everything was sufficient

    Restaurant was excellent. The breakfast was also very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We liked the friendly and professional manner in which the staff interacted with us. They were more than happy to help with all matters; in fact, I was referred to an excellent shoe store in the vicinity. The owner/operator was extremely friendly and accommodating and spoke excellent English. The location was perfect...very close to the Old City Centre & Markets.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a buffet breakfast with different sorts of local cheese, sausages and bread, muesli and other delicious products, the coffee was also very fine. The location is in the middle of the historical city, near the shopping streets and in the same time near the subway and 10 minutes away from the central railstation. The rooms are small but warm and clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lighting in the room was a bit weak for reading and the bath could use better shaving light.

    The hotel was friendly, well located and has a very good restaurant moderately priced. We had dinner there both nights.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on top floor so slanted roof made it very difficult for person on that side of bed to get in and out

    Staff very nice, dinner good, Location great to walk to many museums and sights in old town

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I can't think of anything I didn't like about the hotel!

    The hotel is family owned and operated, and you can tell because of their attention to detail. The restaurant served excellent meals. The hotel is located inside Altstadt, the historic walled city. Even though I had a car, all the sights were close enough to walk to.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small rooms, but couldn't beat the price.

    This is small quaint hotel next to an historical neighborhood and easy walking to many sites. They serve a very nice meal, seemed to be a favorite in the neighborhood, and a very good breakfast. They seem to have upgraded the rooms fairly recently. If they had a place to put your luggage to unload it, it would be very helpful. It is clean and well maintained. My wife and I enjoyed it and so did our friends with whom we were traveling.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A great personable welcome when we arrived, and a room which was comfortable and had character. Easy to walk into the centre of the old town or to the train station. The restaurant next door was good value and had a good selection of local wine.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personal is ignorant and arrogant. We booked a double room, but were provided originally with twin, mentioned arrival time between 12 and 13 hours, but we get keys of twin dirty not ready room. They did not want to check in us even at 15:00, I had to tell, that I would call booking.com support to get cheekined. We had to change 3 (three) rooms, until we finally got clean and double, an hour later after mandatory checkin time. Receptionist were unwilling and arrogant

    Breakfast and location are really good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel. Great location. Staff helpful and friendly. Good comfortable room. Breakfast was great. The hotel is in the old centre with parking very close at a public parking biulding cost 12 euros with hotel parking ticket

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would have liked an elevator since we stayed on the top level and had to carry heavy suitcases up the stairs.

    the location and the setting were amazing. We loved the food and the family atmosphere. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy wooden bed with only one soft pillow

    Quick check in, breakfast included. Easy to access from airport and 3 metro stations within 300 metres. Ticket for a single journey 3 euros

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked a lot about this restaurant but just be sure not to book rooms 107 or 110. They are adjacent to the breakfast room and you will get woken early by a lot of noise.

    Convenient location. Clean and well kept. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets in the room. The lift, also with carpets, was very hot. Some furniture and doors need little repairs.

    The wood decoration and the simplicity of the room. The quiet environment.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lack of air conditioning which was probably understandable in a 120 year historic hotel. The most disappointing part of our stay was the fact that the hotel advertised that it offered an airport shuttle which turned out to cost 100 euro, or more than the cost the room! Very misleading! The airport information booth was very helpful, calling the hotel about the shuttle and informed us of the cost and let us know our options, taxi at about 20 euro and the U at about 3 euro per person. Otherwise a great hotel and restaurant!!

    Room very roomy. comfortable with en-suite bath. Like most historic European, there was no air conditioning and, with temperatures in the mid-90's, it was very warm. Breakfast was very good with a wide range of choices including wonderful, and flaky pastries. Dinner at the on-site restaurant was exceptional with the baked apple slices the perfect ending!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very dated decor and furniture. Extremely hot single room under the eaves, no air conditioning. There was admittedly a heatwave!

    Central, but quiet location. Nice breakfast room and outside terrace and good choice of breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No suggestions here.

    Fabulously helpful staff at a quiet, characterful hotel with an excellent restaurant, all at a good price. It is in the old town, so good access to all the sights. We'll be back!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a bit poor, but lovely staff. Very welcoming and nice.

    Nice and comfortable beds, ok breakfast, but a bit pricy for what was offered. Lovely restaurant outside.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great little place. Outstanding service and very clean. Great food too. Unlucky for me, no airconditioner on the hottest day (32 C) of the year, so an uncomfortable night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furniture. Staff doesn't wanted to say us, that they have their own parking zone. Parking is paid, but for it's location it's ok.

    Good location, in center of Nuremberg. Breakfast was good. Staff is helpful and gave us city map, and helped with choosing of good restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air conditioning -- but it wasn't too hot. The wifi worked well in our room, not so well in the room of our traveling companions. Our 4th floor room had big "dormers" around the windows, I had to "duck" getting in & out of bed. Our companions' room was much more compatible with movement -- but, hey, you can't have everything in a very very old, charming down town hotel!

    The location is a BIG plus. We enjoyed the authentic old-city-charm, the family-owned-and-managed attention to guests, the great restaurant. We absolutely would stay here again if we are in Nuremberg. Atmosphere, accommodating, helpful giving directions . . . it was perfect for our three night stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel facilities seem quite dated and in need of major refurbishment. While the room is clean, the facilities show their age and this is not something for housekeeping, but rather for management, to address. While the hotel was OK as a base for exploring the old city in a one night stay, we would not recommend booking an extended stay.

    The hotel is perfectly placed for exploring the old city centre and its location is by far it's most attractive point. Parking is available in a public parking, almost across the street from the hotel, against a special fee of 12 EUR (as against 16 EUR, if paid at the parking). The breakfast was good, with quite a lot of options, and they started serving it really early which came in very handy for us. The room was clean but basic, and the overall value for money ratio was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant was closed Sunday night but also local restaurants too, so if you came back to hotel unfed you were stuck for getting a meal.

    Central location, old world atmosphere, friendly, helpful staff, easy to find safe parking very close by, good food, drink, great breakfast choice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found the staff very friendly. Especially at breakfast! And by the way, breakfast was AMAZING! And the restaurant had wonderful food! I found the location was perfect: 10-minute walk from the train station but just 2 blocks from the Old Town, quiet, clean and comfortable : )

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Nice Location with bar and restaurant (did not eat there, but was popular). Room were more than spacious. Has elevator if you bring a lot of luggage. Lastly, a nice little breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, the hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly. Wifi was good and the restaurant was amazing! Great food and the house wine excellent!! Will definetly reccomend!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location about 15 minute walk from the main train station and attractions in the old city. Room was clean and comfortable despite being older and a little narrow.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It happened a bug with the internet in my room's floor and I couldn't have the wi fi connection. The staff wasn't friendly.

    The location is good , close to the old center and to the train station. The breakfast is good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was lucky to get spare room at very latest moment for International Fair. Very good location and value for money. good breakfast, clean rooms, polite stuff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Might be too expensive if there is no special offer.

    Very close to the city center and main railway station. Nice breakfast and personal. The room is well organized.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think there is not a thing to not like, everything is really good!

    They were nice and it is really close to downtown. In fact i forgot a book and as soon as i realized i contact them and they immediately send it to a friends house in Germany.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    shower glass panel didn't always close perfect. couldn't hang my wet running t-shirt entrance is locked for the night and you have to wait for the staff to let you in. Though they were pretty fast for the restaurant, most others in old town are better, though I didn't drink wine which is their specialty, and only ate there once I like harder pillows I didn't like the breakfast coffee

    great location I liked the wooden style of the room two hair dryers to choose from :) nice breakfast variety easy invoicing process

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine. The hotel is in a very convenient place. Walking distances from the old town's centre. The atmosphere of the rooms and of the whole building in general was worm and friendly. The staff was fairly kind and the breakfast was really good! Bonus the really nice apple pie in the breakfast's buffet! :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Faster wi fi, but wi fi is poor all over Germany, so nothing out of the ordinary

    Super clean and for such an old building it has been professionally fitted out. Really suited my need and probably better than a posh hotel at twice the price.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet connection was bad and in some rooms even not possible to connect. The prices around the fairs season are very high.

    The hotel is at the old part of the town. Very close to the shoping streets and old town. Personel is very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much to complain about but only one english TV channel (CNN)... Adding BBC News would be nice for the foreign traveller. While good to very good, breakfast should offer more choices like Famous Nuremberg sausage, croissant, chocolatine...:-(

    Super location in the ''Aldstadt'' very close to Weisser Turm subway station, fantastic Franconian food restaurant and Weinhouse, very NICE staff! Would go back without hesitation.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heater was not that efficient so the room was little bit cold

    Location was great , breakfast was really good , staff was really friendly , internet was really good

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little hard and pillow too thin. My room was right next to the lift so the first night I was woken up by the noise. Shower was a bit weak.

    Clean, nice location,nice atmosphere, good breakfast, good restaurant.. good price.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: