Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gasthof Petra

Ludwigstraße 5, 87561 Oberstdorf, Germany

#20 of 20 B&Bs and Inns in Oberstdorf

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 386 hotel reviews

6.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    5.5

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    5.4

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are 10 bedrooms and one female and one male toilet. That's simply not acceptable these days. The window frames were wooden and rotten. The room stank of sweat.

    The views are astonishing but then this is Oberstdorf. You could stay in bus shelter or on a park bench and still wake up enthralled by the location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are so old and worse than pictures shown. The bathroom door is transparent which makes stay with family inconvenient. Smoking room was given and no electric kettle is provided. For the price paid the facilities are not worth it.

    Location is good as it was right in the town and breakfast was typical german which is full.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find since it's an add on to a restaurant with a different name. Sign not visible from street. WiFi didn't work. Walls not soundproof. Could hear every door shutting, every key turning, people's steps on corridors.

    Very helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little strange not having at least a screen to seperate the shower from the rest of the room. We had all women in one room and men in the other so it was fine but a little strange.

    Hotel was clean, room spacious and loved the balcony

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff in the Italian restaurant we ate in were off hand almost rude.

    The hotel was very traditional with great mountain views. There was a good choice of included breakfast. Very central 10 minutes to cable car, 20 minutes to the ski jumping stadium. Town itself mostly pedestrianised very pretty lots of cafes bars and restaurants

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slow internet

    We had a room with a nice wood balcony towards the beer garden. You have sunshine all afternoon and can enjoy the sun set after a hike. Great. The place is in the middle of the village.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Easy parking, excellent breakfast, friendly staff and clean rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That my credit card was charged Twice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and Breakfast

    Very good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that the restrooms were not in the bedroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom down the hall, see thru shower in the room, no toiletries

    Location; very friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was outside and only 2 for all the guest.

    Nice location, center of the town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shared toilet, but it was ok really

    Do you like chicken and the best beer "in the world" then this is for you.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charger and bed sight light not working on one side

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For our use it was great no negative observations - enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No hair dryer. No soap or other toiletries. Spartan breakfast with limited fruit choice and for example no honey or cereals. Bread choice was good though. So good enough for my group but I can see how other guests could expect more. Heating was not turned on on a reasonably cold spring weekend (0-10ºC). Overall it seemed overpriced for an 11 people apartment for 2 nights: 444€ (plus local city tax)

    Location in the village but just outside the center should allow a quiet rest even in the peak season. The 3 rooms in the 11 people apartment were quite big (bigger than it looks in the pictures). Big bathroom too. 2 very long balconies. Clean. Other reviews mention the chicken smell from the downstairs in the corridor, but as our apartment was at its end we did not have this problem.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    NO PRIVATE TOILET IN ROOM. We had to use common toilet on the floor. We had one big room with old beds and furniture. And even the shower cabin was in the same room. Absolutely no toiletries....not even soap. Very Basic breakfast. Not worth at all. Their main business is not the hotel but a restaurant...which is in the same building. Stay away if you are looking for a comfortable place.

    Nothing.....except location.

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We had a hard time finding the location because the sign was small (it's above the Wienerwald) but eventually located it. Then we couldn't find the front office and walked to the second and third floors looking for it. Eventually, we found out you have to go in the restaurant to fill out the paperwork, pay and get keys. Including that information when someone reserves that room would be helpful. The internet was not reliable and sometimes the connection is dropped, however, beds are comfortable and we had a good night's sleep.

    We stayed at Gasthof Petra for a family ski vacation with our two young boys (4 &6). The room itself was fine and clean. There was a balcony facing a playground and we never ran out of hot water. The walls are not very thick so one has to keep that in mind when talking or if bringing younger kids. Also, no bathrooms in the room but one you share down the hall (which were clean.) Breakfast was fine with lots of various breads, meats, cheeses, fruit, soft boiled eggs, juices, and coffee. One of the nice men working there (who spoke English) made hot chocolate for our boys for breakfast and our boys enjoying saying "hi" to the owner's dog who was roaming the restaurant in the morning. The location is great and just a few minutes drive to where we went skiing and a few minutes to the Therme, which was great to go after skiing. We were more than happy with it and would stay again.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The property is on the second floor of the chicken restaurant and the smell in the entrance was terrible up to the door of the apartment. The quality was really poor, I can say that I have never stayed in such poor quality property in Germany for the last 15 years. The facility requires urgent renovation and solution for that terrible smell....

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room was not what I expected from the photos provided on line. The room was completely open such as a loft with the shower open for all, my wife had to take showers when the boys were not in the room.

    The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No FREE WiFi (limited only to 1 hour after registration at a third party provider)

    Very friendly stuff. The Gasthofs restaurant is excellent for having a dinner. Overall quite good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The corridor to the toilets was rather cold

    Close to the skicenter and cosey shops of Oberstdorf

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the shared toilet No facility for a cup of tea

    Central location good evening meal (paid for as extra) allowed us to check in early

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Difficult to work out exactly how to check in. Need to go in Wienerwald - this could do with being clearer

    Good value for the area. Nice breakfast

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Shower was in the bedroom with no walls. Shared bathroom.

    Friendly staff.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Browse Gasthof Petra traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: