Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Xtra Gleis This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Bahnhofstr. 52, 48477 Hörstel, Germany

#4 of 5 hotels in Hörstel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 413 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 39

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    6.7
    Nice small hotel in old trainstation, quite location, though trains passing, good restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Passings train shake a bit one of the rooms, but then it is an old station ;-)

    Restaurant is nice, also outside seating area. Original decoration (rails) inside

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Different experience but great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To be honest nothing bad to say at all. Maybe train traffic makes a bit of noise, but don't forget that you sleep in the old train station. So nothing bad, just a bit different experience.

    Very clean and friendly place to stay. Breakfast exceeded my expectations, it was like in a good 5 star hotel!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Nice hotel in a nice place, definetely would stay here again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were nice and clean. Very nice setting in a small town in an old train station. Breakfast was delicious, anything you could possibly want. Lady at the hotel was very polite and helpful. I have booked the hotel at about 3pm, with expected arrival at 9pm, but we have arrived at circa 1 am the next day and there was absolutely no problem with the keys and reservation. Keys were already prepared in a safebox by the entrance. I have called the lady who was in charge of reception that night right in the middle of the night for the security code and she provided me with the security code without any problem.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    6.3
    Breakfast and catering is nice and enough.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Noisy, it is near a really working railway, which we could not check after the booking. Parking is available only next to the station, there is no private or closed parking options. Shops are nearby.

    Breakfast and catering is nice and enough. All rooms are nice but some of them are tiny.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    6.3
    Nice and clean, very pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would have chosen some other hotel, if we knew the train was running right by the hotel all night. We would like to have known, that the trains pass by the building, noisy and shaking the bed all night long. Didn't leave us rested for further trip to Belgium, because of lack of sleep due to the noice of the trains all night.

    Nice and clean, very pleasant staff. Close to motorway.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.1
    Interesting place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you want to feel yourself sleeping under the rail bridge - this is your choice. Well, even if windows look to the other side, you hear all the trains all the night very well. The only one thing can save you^ if you are too tired.

    Interesting place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    If on this way - definitely will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pure wifi.

    Super breakfast. Nice rooms. Very convenient location near highway. Old railway station building- very interesting place. Nice walking park opposite.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Great location, lovely people, stunning building. Avoid only if you have a problem with trains. ;-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing was a problem.

    The staff were super friendly and helpful. We were made very welcome and the accommodation was excellent. The building is also lovely!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    nice stay in original old Bahnhof - friendly reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    trains close by - at the back of the building - but didn't really bother me (too tired)

    nice comfy bed (single room) - very nice and original decorations - very friendly receptionist

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    4.2
    Bizarre and vaguely depressing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    After an 11 hour drive we made it to our sanctuary for the night. However.... There was nobody at all at the hotel. It was locked on arrival at 9pm, we had to let ourselves in. There was no tea , coffee, water, beer or food or staff of any kind. Nothing apart from the taps. The bizarrely empty hotel felt like an hallucinatory mix of Scooby Doo, The Shining, Barton Fink and due to the endless trains flying by...... Oh Mr Porter. We knew in advance that there was no restaurant open but to find nothing at all was a bit of a shock..... The town was also shut. Great. In the morning a very stressed lady arrived, She said to me ' Why did you come here?' Why indeed....... Lovely rooms, failed concept. Scooby Doo

    Smart clean rooms

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    9.6
    Clean bright hotel with friendly services @ convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can offer little more basic and useful items such as lotion, coffee or tea access. Pillows are too flat.

    Bright, clean, friendly staff, great location close to freeway and nearby attractions, stores. Great ad healthy breakfast offered.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    6.3
    Standard accommodation at the old train station house - good character
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Spare bed not very comfortable. The train noise quite significant - the hotel is the old station house / waiting room so right on the tracks . Not easy to access the first time - fine once you know how

    Friendly staff and open at Christmas when we needed it - others weren't Good character from train tracks inside the hotel under glass.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    6.7
    HOTEL WITHOUT ANY PEOPLE AND FOOD
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no Restaurant, all was closed, only breakfest, and we have booked this Hotel for eating and after that coffe also at our room, but no Person at all was at the Hotel, I would like to now that when I booked the Room, also that the Location was on a Railway station, with Train the hole night.

    Nice big Room, and a nice helpfull girl.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.2
    Perfect for a break during a long journey
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Passing trains make a little noise

    Design, exciting old train station building, comfortable, inexpensive, God breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    4.2
    That we can check in early
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double room was to small, and very dusty.

    That we can check in early

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Short, sweet, with great hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    The owners wife drove down to the bakery to get me some gluten free bread, as her husband had forgotten to tell her!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.4
    Nice but noisy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy as the train line runs next to the hotel and we believe this should be made clear on the booking.com website,

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location for a tour in the neighbourhood. Friendly personnel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Ontbijt

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Good traditional style german hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    all

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    Nice, nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - it is a nice place

    Nice, nice hotel. Nice food, fine location - really value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Stop over in Horstel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, it was perfect

    Perfect location, lovely rooms and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    Very nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit noisy because of trains.

    Good location, very close to Highway. Nice atmosphere of the place and well prepared and delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    10
    Excellent place and very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent place and very friendly and helpful staff. We only stayed one night en route to our holiday destination.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    4.6
    Breakfast was of a good quality and had plenty of choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Arrived at the check in time provided by booking.com (2 pm) to find hotel deserted and locked up. Using phone number printed on door managed to contact someone who said check in was at 3pm and someone would be there to open and allow check in, waited until 3.20 and someone finally arrived and basically gave us a key with no other discussion. Disappointing! Room was OK but hotel is right next to the train line so expect a great deal of passing trains during the evening, however, don't expect to use the wi-fi if kept awake as they switch it off after 12.00pm

    Breakfast was of a good quality and had plenty of choice

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    6.3
    Fine breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The restaurant was closed due to a private party. We were directed to a friend's kebab house, but found out there is a fine German restaurant in the centre of the city. My request for a bed without feathers was ignored. Both rooms had a strong smell, probably from some cheap perfume used in a textile softener for towels and linen.

    Fine breakfast. Modern decor.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    8.3
    It is a unique property - an old train station converted to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Well, trains pass bye throughout the night snd you can feel/hear it . It was ok for me but if you are light sleeper, not the place for you.

    It is a unique property - an old train station converted to hotel. The staff are very pleasant and eager to help. Ichecked in late, still the guymade a quick mesl for me. Rooms are typical German/European type. Basic functional. Clean. Breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    8.3
    The location, the building, the funny railway in the floor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None.

    The location, the building, the funny railway in the floor and above all the staff! We arrived on after 85 km cycling most in poring rain, but we were warmly welcomed, and helped to get the bags from the cycles and the cycles securely stored and even the bags were carried to the room! I suppose this was due to the circumstances we arrived in but still very good!

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    7.1
    Room was good with comfortable beds
    • Family with young children

    Little bit noise as trains passing next to the hotel.

    Room was good with comfortable beds Reception was friendly, waitress helpful, coffee fantastic bud breakfast choice poor.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    10
    It was chosen as being at a convenient location for an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was chosen as being at a convenient location for an overnight break between two days driving across Germany and Holland. It proved to be an excellent small hotel in all respects. The dinner was particularly good and the whole was inexpensive.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    7.5
    restaurant closed monday eve (found this out after booking),...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    restaurant closed monday eve (found this out after booking), but they did order a takeaway from an Italian restaurant which we could eat in their restaurant. could hear the noise of the trains going by, but not disturbed in the bedroom. for some reason we had thought it was a closed line!

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    8.8
    Well decorated property with good theme design in keeping...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    First night great staff welcome but second morning communication of female staff was poor.

    Well decorated property with good theme design in keeping with railway history.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    7.1
    Convenient location when arriving by train, in the old...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Ok for an overnight stay, but restaurant/breakfast felt a bit tired, no wifi reception.

    Convenient location when arriving by train, in the old station building right by the tracks. Fun decor, with train tracks built into the floor. Great for a train buff! Surprisingly quiet.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    10
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Limited wi-if connection on 3rd floor.

    The location...great for family...playground and walking path across the street. Great detail to comfort.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    8.8
    Big room, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Big room, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    8.3
    The staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were very helpful. Enjoyed the bar area. The hotel is very well decorated. It helps if you like trains.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    9.6
    It was a beautiful hotel close to town and very quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That the restaurant was not open every day

    It was a beautiful hotel close to town and very quiet

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    7.1
    Great food, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very plain and uninspired room. Passing trains could be a bit noisy.

    Great food, good location. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    8.8
    Clean, well decorated and very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean, well decorated and very helpful staff. They cooked dinner for us in spite of saying the restaurant was closed that day.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    10
    Quirky hotel with a great restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We thought the hotel was e excellent and can't fault it

    Quirky hotel with a great restaurant. English speaking staff who were very friendly.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

Guests also reviewed these properties: