Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Naturparkhotel Zum fröhlichen Landmann This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Hausmatt 3, 79585 Steinen, Germany

#1 of 4 hotels in Steinen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 413 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 33

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.8
    food was reasonably good, room could be cleaner
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were dissapointed about the cleaning, there was still garbage from the previous owner, and the floor was too dirty to let our baby crawl. The bed linnen were ok. we left the rooms cleaner than we found them.

    The food was reasonably good, the staff was very friendly. at breakfirst you could order extra things like baked eggs or latte macchiato with no additional costs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommendable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is a lovely hotel in a beautiful area surrounded by nature. The room was very spacious -enough for a couple with 2 children- and clean. There's a big park with a nice playground for the children. Breakfast was superb!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    The hotel totally exceeded our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel totally exceeded our expectations. The location was perfect, even a play area for the kids was available. Further evening meal was super, breakfast was super, personel was very attent and friendly. We travelled by motorbike and they offered a perfect inside parking. We stayed for 2 nights, certainly a place to go back too. (HIGHLY RECOMMENDED)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    Good one-night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Diner is quite expensive, but worth it.

    Characteristic accomodation, in a small village in the mountains. Friendly staff, good food (diner and breakfast).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable beds but avoid the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff efficient but not very welcoming; very noisy- seems to be no sound insulation from other rooms; lots of noise from children's playground; set menu for 30€ - no choice and food oversalted and not particularly good. No vegetarian options; breakfast ok but rotten apples in fruit bowl- some fresh fruit would be nice; room felt a bit cold towards the evening.

    Views and location; very comfortable bed and soft pillows; good bathroom

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.2
    This was excellent accommodation as usual, with good food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a bus party in the restaurant on this visit so it was a bit noisy ! Not always like that though.

    This was excellent accommodation as usual, with good food and wines in a cosy restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.8
    a little bit of heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    no elevator to the 3 rd floor was tough as had to lug bags up and down

    unfortunately we only had dinner and breakfast there - both were excellent. We arrived late and the restaurant was closed at 9.15 pm but the chef was kind enough to make us dinner - outstanding !! rooms were great, spacious and comfy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    10
    Very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just pls I hope to make more item in the breakfast vegetarian and halal food also

    The staff is very friendly and very hospitality and helpful the place in perfect area which is very beautiful natural and u feel very peaceful normally I go there

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    8.8
    Great value for money. Super breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only downside was actually not the fault of the hotel but there were some roadworks going on on one of the roads leading into the hotel which meant a longer than usual journey up to the location. Again this is not the fault of the hotel but worth mentioning none the less.

    Breakfast was particularly good. Wide spread and choice and the bread was always warm and fresh. Rooms are clean and well appointed.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.2
    We were given a HUGE room which must have been an upgrade...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much English spoken but managed to communicate nevertheless!

    We were given a HUGE room which must have been an upgrade from the one we booked. It was very tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. It included a lounge and dining area. Views over the mountains were lovely and it was very peaceful. Very helpful to have mesh over one of the windows to keep the insects out. Superb breakfast with great range of food. Excellent evening meal - 4 courses for €45 with other options too.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    9.6
    the size of the junior suite, their hospitality and the diner were definitely great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    maybe a pool?

    The size and price of the junior suite. The shower and the view are awesome. The breakfast, their hospitality and the diner were definitely great!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.1
    Large rooms
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms interior is mostly functional Little view from the balcony - view to the rear side Balcony could be accessed from the street

    Large rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.6
    Perfect place for a little getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice place, cosy and warm. Family run place with friendly staff. Excellent food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable pleasant stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    10
    Tranquility
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant is very nice and the room was comfortable. Beautiful view of the Black Forest and the mountains.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    7.5
    a bit far from in the woods, but it means it was quit
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator

    a bit far from in the woods, but it means it was quit

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    9.2
    Great stay near the mountains
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at nine and still got some dinner :) clean, spacious room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    7.1
    Very good food and breakfast and excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was an attic with quite a few beams from roof to floor obstructing bed etc.

    Very good food and breakfast and excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.6
    Breakfast, surrounding, huge room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many mosquitoes in the room

    Breakfast, surrounding, huge room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    9.6
    Perfect stay in wonderful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great room, perfect breakfast, starS-worthy restaurant, friendly and professional staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    8.3
    Nice location, clean and comfortable room, friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Internet login process was archaic. The signal in the room was so weak it could not be used.

    Nice location, clean and comfortable room, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    8.3
    Superb location in the middle of the black forest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were very close to have a problem with our reservation. Reservation done through booking and confirmed by received e mail . Although info indicates opening hours till midnight we were lucky to arrive at 11PM as we met the last employee leaving and already in his car . 10 min later we would have been in front of a closed hotel with no possibility to enter. They indicated they had not received reservation from booking but still if opening hours are till midnight abnormal to leave at 11. Design of shower results in water splashing overall on bathroom floor Wifi system not handy. Each tool (Ipad/IPhone) requires a separate code registration which get downloaded from reception computer. Not informed about it at time of request . In addition not informed about the process at arrival and as employee left immediately no internet till the next morning No lift. Problem for people with limited mobility

    Superb location in the middle of the black forest Nice new and modern room(junior suite) with scandinavian ambiance. Very clean Fantastic huge bathroom with very nice and efficient italian shower but see below Nice breakfast with a vaiety of products

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    10
    The dinner was excellent and the breakfast buffet rich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really nothing

    The dinner was excellent and the breakfast buffet rich. Friendly stuff specially the owner couple more then friendly with a personal tuch. Very nice and stylish rooms. We spent a rememberful weekend. We will certantly come again.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    9.2
    the spacious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    there is no elevator to the 2nd and 3rd floors which makes it dificult for parents with babys and young kids and for older people.

    the spacious rooms. the friendly staff and owners. the food at the restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    9.6
    A hidden gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A hidden gem

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    9.2
    Very comfortable, large, refurbished room which was on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nil.

    Very comfortable, large, refurbished room which was on the second floor. Food was enjoyable but rather over-salted. Storage for bicycles.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    10
    The location was beautiful evening meal was excellent as was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The location was beautiful evening meal was excellent as was breakfast

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    10
    I liked it all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Internet doesn't work so well.

    I liked it all. Great value for money....beautiful surroundings

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    7.5
    Excellent breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A lot of dust under and around the bed.Noisy kitchen staff at the rear where we had our room.

    Excellent breakfasts.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    10
    All the staff were more than helpful .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    All the staff were more than helpful . I am sure this is the best hotel we have stayed in and the staff and amenities were perfect.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    9.2
    Location, the hotel itself, the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, the hotel itself, the staff

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    10
    Really kid friendly property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Low quality of WiFi signal

    Really kid friendly property. Large playground, lots of things to do. Nice trail in the forest (for walking)

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2015

    10
    Location good for leisure and a visit to the Black Forest,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location good for leisure and a visit to the Black Forest, as well as for business trip to Lörrach and near-by Basel.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 33

Guests also reviewed these properties: