Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Garni zur Post

Marktstraße 17, 38855 Wernigerode, Germany

#6 of 25 hotels in Wernigerode

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 400 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 26

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    Defintely an excellent option to stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful building! Lovely decorated restaurant! Shared bathroom and toilet are clean! Bed is comfortable! Enough sockets for charging electronic devices in the room! Friendly host! Good buffet breakfast! Excellent location!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Comfortable hotel conveniently located in the heart of Wernigerode with free breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    A good value for the price, was considerably less expensive than other properties in Wernigerode. The room was perfect for a single traveller, comfortable bed, washbasin in room and importantly for the modern traveller a powerstrip so I could charge all my electronics. Bathroom facilities were shared but very clean. The location is very convenient, just a minutes walk from the church square and an 5 minute walk from Westernator bahnhof where you can catch trains and buses towards the Brocken. Additionally as part of the stay I was provided a booklet that included free bus trips and restaurant coupons, that saved me quite a few dollars. Breakfast was very good, the traditional German staples of Muesli as well as various breads, meats and cheeses with either tea or coffee provided.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    Nice charming old "Gasthof".
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice charming old "Gasthof". Excellent, quiet location, close to the market square in the charming old part of the city. Was there first time in 1990, and have been there a couple of times since.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Incredible value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect. If I have to be really picky I would comment on the pillows, but I have seen it commented before and I saw that they replied and said they would buy better ones next time, so I know it will be taken care of :)

    Excellent service. Beautiful fresh rooms, always clean. Lovely breakfast, and perfect location. Ideal for solo female travellers - ideal for all travellers!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.2
    The room is so nice, big, clean and comfy, although the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is so nice, big, clean and comfy, although the bathroom is external (very clean), there was a Sink in the room;) perfect location in the center of old town Wernigerode, its about 15 mins walk to HBF Very nice host family, as I didn't had the breakfast they also deducted the price ^^

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    5.4
    Too smoky . . . unfortunately
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was too smoky everywhere; not only my room, but also hallways and breakfast room. I came down with cold because of the smoke. It looks like my room was directly above a smoking room. This is shame because hotel decor itself is cute and attractive. They were inflexible about changing rooms unless it is direct booking.

    Breakfast was reasonable. Location was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    9.2
    Charming and comfortable stay in the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Floor was a bit dirty, but everything else was perfect.

    Lovely old-style (but well kept) furnishings, very friendly staff and the location is quite good - plenty of nice restaurants/shops/attractions (situated in the old city center).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    9.2
    great traditional style accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location, quirky accomodation yet very comfortable, clean, quiet and private. The hotel service was excellent and the hosts very accomodating. Very good value for a short stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    9.2
    I will return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows - very, very soft, even by German standards.

    Location just off the Market Place. Family owned and staffed. Very friendly and helpful. Some spoke excellent English and the non-English speakers took real trouble to understand and to make themselves understood. Both bedroom and en-suite were quite large, spotlessly clean and comfortably furnished with guest controlled heating. Good breakfast though would not appeal to some US or UK guests - typically German, nothing hot but a plentiful buffet of cereal, yoghurt and fruit; cold meats, cheeses and eggs; excellent selection of bread and jams; really good coffee, a bit strong for my taste but my request for a jug of hot water was no problem and it appeared again each day without my having to ask. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    8.8
    Great location in centre of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    Although close to the main square this was a quiet place to stay. Very clean and comfortable. The extensive breakfast buffet was very good. A great base for exploring the very attractive town and about 15 minutes walk from rail station (including narrow gauge steam rail).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldnt reserve parking. Non english speaking staff. Breakfast a bit boring.

    Excellent location. Big room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    This is a good value family run hotel in the historic town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a good value family run hotel in the historic town centre. Great breakfasts and really helpful host.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Highly recommended base for visitors to the wonderful Harz Mountain Railway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Location, comfortable room, peace and quiet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.6
    Would definitely recommend a stay at Garni zur Post.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Central position; helpful and kind staff; nice, comfortable, clean room; wonderful breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    My third visit to this excellent hotel with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My third visit to this excellent hotel with friendly staff. Ideally located in the centre of this historic town. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.6
    Tolles uriges Hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tolles uriges Hotel !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Hostess was very nice, room good, fruhstuck good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was saggy. Problem with internet.

    Hostess was very nice, room good, fruhstuck good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.3
    Very comfortable 3 star hotel with good breakfast and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very comfortable 3 star hotel with good breakfast and very nice staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.2
    very good location but quiet and good for sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very good location but quiet and good for sleep

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.3
    Quiet comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English spoken or info in English

    A very clean hotel with some character with good location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    10
    Very comfortable, very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very comfortable, very clean. Centre of town but had a quiet single room at back. Shared toilet and shower not a problem. Great little town. Would definitely stay again.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2015

    9.2
    The staff was very helpful and understanding my needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I didn't like that as a non-smoker I had to go through the smoking area to parking lot at the backyard and I also could smell a little bit of smoke inside the hotel at some point. My room was located above the kitchen perhaps, so at the lobby I could smell kitchen too, but not in my room, so that's OK - I guess there is not much, what can be done about it. I could use some soap at the shared toilet upstairs.

    The staff was very helpful and understanding my needs. The room was nice and cosy, also well equipped. The breakfast was standard, but very tasty. I can imagine coming back. :)

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    10
    Great staff, location, and food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great staff, location, and food!

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    9.6
    The room was so cute!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was so cute! Only 2 min walk to the market place.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    8.8
    Everything, the amazing and extremely beautiful city of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything, the amazing and extremely beautiful city of Wernigerode. Hotel next to beatiful Market Square.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    8.3
    Price and location in centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Price and location in centre of town.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26

Guests also reviewed these properties: