Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rhein-Hotel St.Martin

Frankenwerft 31-33, Altstadt-Nord, 50667 Cologne, Germany

#22 of 40 B&Bs and Inns in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1552 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    close to city center and easy to reach main train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    there are many bars downstairs and open till midnight. Music and people talk with each other quite loud.

    close to city center and easy to reach main train station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    Right across the river, all restaurants nearby, nd church...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms

    Right across the river, all restaurants nearby, nd church too just 2 MT distance . Location was very nice . No lifts, u have to climb stairs with luggage, but they r not many. Bathroom s very small. Bed were good nd comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Good and up to expectations apart from no lift
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A pity that there was no mention that there was no lift at the hotel. I am 70, with osteoarthritis and it was no fun carrying bags up and down 3 floors, let alone when I went out without the bags!

    The breakfast was fantastic. Far better than I expected. Getting 10% off a meal at the attached restaurant was an added bonus.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    very helpful and friendly staff, in an old-style hotel more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    no lift (it's an old hotel) but staff carry bags up for you; can be noisy at weekends (thanks to all the nearby, conveniently situated restaurants and bars); the showers need grip handles and a non-slip mat ( a common failing of even the most expensive hotels!)

    very helpful and friendly staff, in an old-style hotel more or less just round the corner from the cathedral, the old market and the station, with easy access to boat trips and uninterrupted bedroom window views on to the Rhine.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    Fantastic location in the old town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tiny bathroom and no lift - which however did not matter too much as our room was on the 1st floor! Finding the hotel was slightly tricky as we used GPS and the hotel is located on top of a tunnel...

    Fantastic location in the old town on the bank of the river Rhein with a wonderful view from our room. Good breakfast buffet served in a charming restaurant full with historic photos. Amazingly quiet location. Public car park is close by and the hotel offers a 50% discount to the going rate.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    6.3
    Location + view of the Rhine great, rest... not so great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a big fan. Unfriendly staff, no elevator, no free wifi, ongoing renovations and a group of people shouting in front of my door in the middle of the night. Felt like a dodgy hostel.

    The location is very good, few minutes from the Cologne Central Station, with a view of the Rhine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location by the Rhine
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are a little dated. Breakfast is included but basic.

    Amazing location on the Rhine, very close to attractions and bars and restaurants. Everything is in walking distance. Good value for money! Very little noise from the street.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.9
    Right on th Reine
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were in was a little noisy and hot. They need a fan or air conditioning.

    Very close to everything we wanted to see. Right on the Reine, which was lovely. Lots of history told on the walls of the dining area. Reasonable price for room and breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    excellent location on the Rhine promenade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    very noisy surrounding until late at night/early morning due to location.

    excellent location on the Rhine promenade. Good breakfast, great restaurant in house. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.3
    Great location, but I wouldn’t recommend for families with children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Note that you share a toilet with a few other rooms which means you then have to leave your room, unlock the bathroom door just to do your business. Our shared bathroom was fairly clean, at least. However, if you are one that needs to go frequently at night this could be seriously inconvenient. I also couldn’t in good conscious allow my 10 month old to crawl on the floor as they carpet looked so caked with filth. Those carpets could use a serious scrubbing, or better yet be replaced. The walls, too, were filthy and grimy. At least the bedding seemed clean. The reception and breakfast area are very nice and very misleading to the rest of the hotel. Also note that there is no lift and our room only had a total of 2 outlets in it, none of which were in or near the bathroom. The breakfast itself was a bit disappointing, but it was ok. I hope that the construction that we saw in the hallway is renovation because this place definitely needs it.

    The location was no doubt the best part about this hotel. Centrally located to bars, restaurants, night life and all attractions. You can reach any attraction just by walking. The staff was friendly too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    Great value for money, close to transport and city shopping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift for luggage although reception helped carry up luggage. Own bathroom but shared toilet. Busy, noisy nightlife just below hotel windows although windows seal well. No aircon on hot summer evening.

    Central, close to the tourist activities to quick to pop back to between activities. Clean and reasonable size room..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    2.9
    Not worth the money! Worst hotel ever. Very bad service. Bathrooms were yuuky! Rooms were smelly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first thing that greeted us as we entered the hotel was the foul-smelling odor. I asked the receptionist and he said that he was smoking. I was not happy at all because I had a baby. I felt dizzy as the smell was kinda drugs or something. Receptionist was not at all helpful. He was rude!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.5
    Simple, comfortable and as I expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower facility in my room was a little dark - it was clean and well maintained, but could have better lighting to make it look a bit more appealing. Also the safety deposit box takes money to use (€1) and doesn't give the money back so if you don't have change you cant use it.

    The breakfast was wonderful - it had a really wide range of foods to choose from, and the staff bring hot drinks to your table which I love. The room was as described and suited my simple needs. The hotel asks that you leave your room key at the front desk when you go out (which is manned 24 hours a day) I really liked this as it means I didn't worry about losing my key while out exploring.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.1
    Except the bathroom, everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite all the pros I have to score the place badly, the main purpose of a hotel is, in my opinion, provide a place for sleep, take a shower and have breakfast. My ensuite toilet-shower was horrible, each time you flush de toilet, water pops up from the shower sink with noises worthy to be compared with the IT Stephen King movie. It appears that the place is being refurbished and other bedrooms with just shower and no toilet have a new installation, but in the meantime, I can't recommend a place with this system of shower/toilet.

    Staff very nice, wonderful breakfast, very clean room and comfortable bed, a little noisy outside but worthy because the location is wonderful by the river full of restaurants, cafes and train station 20 min walk, or 6 min by taxi.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value hotel in the heart of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly and helpful staff. Great location on the Rhine promenade close to old city, shopping, Dome and attractions. Buffet breakfast extensive and great coffee. Old style German hotel with character.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.8
    Nice folks, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice folks, good breakfast. The room was plain but serviceable, and whatever it lacked was made up for by the beautiful location in the pedestrian area right on the Rhine, only a couple of blocks from the Dom, and right next to St. Martin's. It's a fantastic location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.4
    Not good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price is not so friendly and the first room gave me is very stinky, so I have to go back to reception to change to another one, I think the reception is not very friendly to me.

    It is close to the river and good view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.9
    Good choice for a short stay
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoking allowed everywhere, but luckily our room was clean enough and didn't smell. Old fashioned furniture and creepy shower. Empty vending machine.

    Top location, directly on the Rhein river, very close to the main attractions and bars/locals. Friendly and very helpful staff 24/7. Dogs allowed. Good breakfast buffet. Very satisfied for the price paid!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.1
    Nice place, friendly staff, good breakfast, worse equipment
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toilet outside the room, old furniture, hotel without lift, wifi is not for free, very thin wall, all is well heard

    Very friendly staff, good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.9
    Everything was great, except one thing: Our room was at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was great, except one thing: Our room was at the back of the hotel, and at night we were kept awake by drunk tourists shouting in the street. So I would advice you to bring earplugs, or request a room in the front of the building.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.5
    Great location, smiley and helpful stuff, ok breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, smiley and helpful stuff, ok breakfast. The room was not pleasant, nor clean and it was very cold at night (although hitting was on!).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    4.2
    not recommend
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no wifi(need extra payment however), old facilities, toilet outside the room(never stayed in such hotel rooms anyhow), bad smell in the building, light in the bathroom not working...incredible....

    heating is good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    Clean and comfortable B & B in a really great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a rather old fashioned bed and breakfast hotel (not a luxury one) overlooking the river. Twin room with en suite shower was clean and comfortable, breakfast was good and the staff were friendly and helpful.We visited Cologne for the Christmas Markets and the location was excellent, walking distance to all 5 of them (and the chocolate museum) - the furthest one was about 20 mins. Riverside restaurants right outside, many others and shops etc just behind, Cathedral a stroll away. Taxi to and from airport took about 20 mins and cost 30 euros.Would happily return.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    Front desk really helpful, great location and the adjacent Ex-Akten Restaurant (and Manager) great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All was satisfactory.

    The front desk really helpful, great location and the adjacent Ex-Akten Restaurant (and Manager) really good. For those interested in post-war German history, it is a must!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.1
    The location is fantastic.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't hvae free wifi wich you nowadays get in every hostel. The toilet wasn't inside the room although it would totaly have been possible to fit one in. My room was a little mouldy and it is was too noisy to sleep with the windows open. But afterall you can't really complain considering the price.

    The location is fantastic. Next to all the tourist attractions and a 20 minutes walk from the trade fair. The breakfast was very abundant. The price for the loction is unbeatable and I even had views on the river.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    7.1
    Location is great to find bars and restaurants
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed is too small no toilet on room shower water temperature changing from too hot to too cold when using it

    Location is great to find bars and restaurants Also close to the Koelnmesse, 10 minutes by car

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast should be definitely better. No fruits, variety of food is poor. Rooms are in need of an update.

    Excellent location in the old city on the banks of the river. Close to the U-bahn. Parking is in the Heumarkt garage house, which is near. You get a 50% discount on the parking price, when you stay in the hotel. 24h reception.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    6.7
    On the Rhine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WIFI access included, noise from trains throughout the night, but not intolerable.

    Easy to get to from the train station. Near the water and boardwalk. Close enough to major sites. The room was decent and clean. Decent breakfast. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.5
    The location was really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were on the 4th floor, which made it difficult with the suitcases since there was no lift.

    The location was really good. It had an amazing view of the river.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    4.2
    I just liked the location because it was in the center and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold room, poor furniture, shared toilet and the shower plate was too old.

    I just liked the location because it was in the center and close to the exhibition center where i had my meetings.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.2
    Loved the cleanliness and looking out at the river in the morning and the lights at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All minor upsets were dealt with asap. So nothing I didn't like, apart from the usual thoughtless noisy guest or two returning late at night but this is not a fault of the hotel.

    Lovely, beautifully clean room, overlooking the river, don't know if all the rooms do. May be a little noisy in the summer when people sit out late in the bars below, but we were fine. Pillows were square shaped & only one each, so we folded them, bit better. Plenty choice of good food in the continental breakfast. There were no hot drink facilities in the room but I was loaned a kettle & cups when I asked. The plug in the sink stuck but someone came up & helped straight away. A good, friendly, very clean hotel, where we were pleased to have stayed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    very nice place in Cologne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was looking at the back street and only on saturday was very noisy till 2 o`clock.

    The location, the staff, the breakfast. When my daughter came unexpectedly, they made their best she to say with us.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.8
    Simple yet sufficiently cozy hotel at a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a challenge carrying luggages over the stairs. I am just glad that there aren't too many floors to climb.

    Location was the best as it was very close to all the highlights of the Cologne city. I also liked how friendly the staff serving breakfast in the morning. It was such a pleasure to be greeted in the morning with such smile.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.6
    A good stay at a nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was not needed so it was not disturbed, but there was only paid wifi, but it is mentioned at the offer.

    Great location, near to the main sights, near to Rhein. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and big enough for 2. Great value, breakfast was included in the price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    6.7
    ideal location on Rhine in old city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    paid internet in a rather expensive hotel, outrageous. rather standard breakfast, no fresh fruit, canned mixed fruit only. no lift

    ideal location on Rhine in old city

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.1
    You get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My single room was TINY. The ambient noise from the neighbourhood is pervasive and continues well into the night, making sleeping very difficult. Add to that, sound seepage from other rooms and from the hall is unchecked. In particular, the doors separating the hotel's various segments slam shut on their own with thunderous booms (really, they're amazingly loud), which inevitably wakes one up. Distance to the Hauptbahnhof is rather lengthy (15 min. brisk walk) if one is on foot.

    The price is fairly good for an expensive city like Köln. The breakfast room has a marvellous riverside view. The 24-hour reception is a plus. The location is great for visiting the Altstadt, though it's some way from the Hauptbahnhof. Breakfast is quite good, but lacks bacon and scrambled eggs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.1
    Decent breakfast, friendly staff, great location at Rhine...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi connection could be faster. Noise outside at night. Small beds and worn out mattresses

    Decent breakfast, friendly staff, great location at Rhine river.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.3
    Great value for money stay - we would come again if we return to Cologne
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was a little 'tired'. Toilet outside room was 'unusual', needed a key to get in and the water in the hand basin did not work.

    Very central location and friendly staff. Good breakfast in very interesting dining room with lots of historical portraits of politicians. Also excellent value for money. We had a view over the Rhine and the night we stayed was moonlit which was magical..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.8
    Hotel is for high recomendation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no wifi without payment. There is no refrigerator in room.

    Breakfast is very good. Room is big but bathroom is small. Locatin of hotel is more then top!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    Good position, very near for Dom and other famous viewpoints.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No smoking room. Although hotel has done ventilation, but if the former customer smoke in the room, the later customer who is sensitive for smoke will possible feel it.

    Good position, very near for Dom and other famous viewpoints. Nice and tranditional German style breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    I always use this hotel in köln city.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On weekends it can be noisy outside.If the windows are close you dont hear anything. The location is in the entertainment district.

    I always use this hotel in köln city. Its walking distance to Deutz or very cheap to reach by taxi to messe. Staff recognizes me when i arrive, i dont feel like a stranger when i stay in this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.5
    The location and ambience around the hotel make the stay quite special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is hard to find... there is no access from the rear for vehicles, luggage has to be dragged about 200metres across cobble stones to the entrance...

    Its location is great... right on the banks of the Rheine, amidst a marvellous restaurant precinct

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.2
    One of the best Cologne a great city to visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a lift in the building but stairs no problem

    Cheap rate comfortable room very good breakfast. Location very good walking distance to many things and interesting activities near by.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.9
    Location is great, view can be great too
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No fan and no ac = very hot rooms No elevator, loads of stairs On Sat. evening enormously loud from party boats outside

    Location is great, view can be great too

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.9
    If you like peace and tranquility then this isn't the place for you but great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hygiene needs to be worked on in terms of linen and a fridge in the room would be a good idea! I didn't like the pay for your wifi policy either.

    The location is absolutely amazing, everything that needs to be seen in cologne is within walking distance. The train station is also a 10 minute walk away. Since its located in such a busy district with restaurants and bars, it gets super noisy at night, especially on weekends so if you like to go to bed early then you can forget about sleep until 3am. However, it's good value for money and the breakfast is decent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.8
    Clean, comfortable hotel with spacious rooms in a fantastic location with gorgeous river views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift and lots of stairs

    Gorgeous views from our room and atmosphere outside. Clean, comfortable rooms with plenty of space.Breakfast was a nice buffet and included in the price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    6.3
    Be wary of the wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi service seems is a rip off, as when you go there you get charged 4 euros per day, per devise. So lets say if i get a room and have 3 devices I will have to pay separately for each devise. This seem to me as a rip off!

    The location and view was great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    5.4
    Location of the hotel is great.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unhelpful , miserable receptionist . There was not a TV in the room and WiFi was not free. In a Hot weather the drain from the bathroom was smelly.

    Location of the hotel is great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    5.0
    Cheap hotel. You get what you pay. Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed wasn't very comfortable. The bathroom don't have the door, so after the shower all the room was full of humidity. The pillow was too flabby and basically useless. The worst is the street noise, because the location is full of restaurants with terrace and my room was on the first floor

    Good breakfast, friendly staff and excellent position, just in front of the river and at 5 minutes walk to the cathedral. Cheap price

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Awesome value on the Rhine!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were on the top floor and there were a lot of stairs. I knew that going in but that's about it.

    Location was awesome! Right on the Rhine, couldn't ask for a better spot. Huge room (apartment) with two bedrooms. Plenty of space for all four of us.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    3.8
    dont bother
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On top of a very noisy pub and my window was broken and would not shut. Very noisy until 3am. Would not recommend if your planning on a good night sleep. Rock hard bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    Very nice place to stay in the heart of old city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    on the last day in the morning the neighbor doors were slaming all the time. Had no chance to have a sleep((

    Perfect place for short stay. Amazing view from room window. Breakfast is tasty and with a big choice. Everyday-cleaning. Perfect location, reception 24/7. Staff is very friendly and cares about guests. Definitely will choose this place for next stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    5.8
    Close to City centre and next to the river and nice wiew ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are aviable the smoking, and was realy bad smell. Television are can not work simetimes.

    Close to City centre and next to the river and nice wiew , the complain good handly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    8.8
    Great stay,just what needed!-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Building work and materials (rolled up carpet ...) in hall way let it down. don't mind building work ,as understandable but no signs or explaination...

    great view. closeness to town. Staff were great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    8.8
    Super location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator which makes life very difficult specially with luggage moving to and from the room

    Location is amazing Staff is friendly, professional and very helpful The hotel is small but very clean and organizes

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    7.9
    Good location and breakfast for price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed wasn't the most comfortable, and while the room was clean there was a slight feeling of not the most attention was paid to cleaning it (found trash from a previous occupant on the ground for example)

    Helpful staff in assisting me find some things, delicious breakfast with plenty of selection. Great location right by the river.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.6
    Ideally located during the daytime
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Bit of a trek from the train station only when arriving late in the night. The hotel is situated opposite the Rhine, great view if you have a room facing that side. Spacious single room with a fantastic shower. Breakfast was hot and cold food and great offerings.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    5.4
    Not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To old , need some update furniture in room I wish have some machine for make hot water

    Near old town Near cologne church 10 min walk to central station

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel, wonderful staff, and excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't think there could have been any improvements to our stay.

    The location was perfect for our trip to Cologne. We were attending a concert at the Gloria Theatre and it was a nice walk through the shopping area and then back. The staff were wonderful and their recommended restaurant was delicious. Although at first I was taken aback at the request to leave the key when we left the hotel, having 24 hour front desk staff and not having to worry about loosing a hotel key where appreciated and I began wondering why more hotels don't do this.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.8
    beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we were on the first floor and it was a tad noisy

    we had a view of the Rhine, everything was so close within walking distance and the little restaurant was charming

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    6.3
    Good, cheap but not too exciting hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not like the light in my room it was too dim at night time. Also the luggage room should have been locked during the day - it is not enough to have someone next to it.

    The breakfast buffet was very generous - the coffee could have been stronger. The view out of my window onto the Rhein was beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    6.3
    cheap but not great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The doors were making a lot of noise and the staff was replacing furniture in the breakfast room from 23:30 to 24:00 in the night. Needless to say I was woken uplease a couple up times.Also the bed was too short.

    The location andetails breakfast were great, especially considering the low price for the room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    3.8
    We checked in and then requested a refund. My husband has bad knees and couldn't climb the 8 flights
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There are no elevators to the rooms and the rooms were not clean - people with disabilities need to be aware they cannot access the rooms at this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    6.7
    Great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room looked like it was last updated since West Germany was still a thing. I like history... sooo, Pro and Con. Felt kinda dirty. Shared toilet, same thing. Honestly, good enough though. City has free wifi, so pay if you want a SOLID connection. TV had only 5 channels too.

    Great breakfast. GREAT location. And for the price, it was decent. Good if you're on a budget and short trip. No hassles.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic Location and a very nice basic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location in the old part of the city - Altstadt-Nord - close to Dom, Ludwig Museum, shopping areas, and railway station. Wonderful cafes, bars and restaurants close by. For the price you won't find a better hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    7.9
    Fabulous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattresses too squashy and pillows so hard and nobbely. Night staff wasn't correctly informed about about use and charges of the safe. Room wasn't ready on the day of check at 4pm. The breakfast bar could offer fresh fruit.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Fantastic location - view, very close to centre, short distance to train station. Having the restaurant 'Ex-Vertretung' next door. Special atmosphere. Nice breakfast room to start the day in.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    6.7
    sadly hotel wifi is charged, but there is a city free wifi...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    sadly hotel wifi is charged, but there is a city free wifi though signal is poor. i dont like pulling luggage across the rocky road and seemed the car wont reach the hotel front although it does enjoy to face the rhine river.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    2.5
    Horrendous experience! Avoid at all costs!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Where to start?! Myself and my boss booked a two bedroom apartment in the hotel to attend the IMM trade fair. We stayed in the Rhein Hotel St Martin for two nights. We arrived on a Monday evening and were greeted by the staff who informed us we needed to ascend four flights of stairs with our luggage and that no lift was available. The reception staff reluctantly agreed to take my boss's suitcase to the room for her after she explained she'd had a back injury. The room was described as an apartment but it consisted of two bedrooms with a small shared bathroom (shower, no bath) - no tea or coffee making facilities were provided. The apartment was on the top floor of the river facing hotel and the windows were single glazed, meaning that both bedrooms were absolutely freezing in January (especially as the outside temperature during our stay was -6 celsius!). One bedroom had an additional electric radiator, but mine did not. I slept with two duvets, fully clothed and with my coat over the top! Breakfast was basically inedible. The bread (which consisted of a stale baguette and some seeded rolls) was burnt, the fruit salad was from a tin, the selection of meat and cheese was extremely poor. The second day we couldn't face it so opted for breakfast at a cafe outside! On our second evening there, I asked if it would be possible to have an additional radiator in my room to help with the cold and the staff did bring an electric radiator up. Unfortunately this shorted the electricity in the room and every time I plugged the radiator in - the lights went out! I called reception, and no one answered. I called again, again no reply. Not wanting to drag myself all the wall down 72 stairs to ask for help, I sat and waited in the dark briefly before a knock came on the door - which was the reception staff asking to replace a light bulb in the second bedroom.

    Nothing at all.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room smelled like cigarettes and it was very humid. There isn't a lot of airflow/ventilation. But not terrible.

    The location was outstanding!! Within quick walking distance of everything there is to see in Cologne. Suggest parking garage below the cathedral for 24 euro per day.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    8.8
    kind and nostalgic hotel.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not that great heating and lighting system.

    there was normal single bed. not that big room, only toilet was outside of the room and it was not that inconvenient. breakfast was good and the reception and crews are kind.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    7.1
    Good budget hotel, surrounding cobbled streets not so good for a trolley case.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is surrounded by cobbled streets. This makes getting to and from the hotel difficult with a trolley case especially as it is uphill to the train station.

    Reasonably clean and comfortable hotel room. Good buffet breakfast with attentive staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    6.3
    The location of this hotel is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was very cold. The heating was working perfectly but there the problem is probably in old windows.

    The location of this hotel is excellent. Breakfast was perfect.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    9.6
    A great hotel in the heart of Cologne
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I like this hotel. If I had to improve things I could suggest: 1) The wifi is an additional charge (per device) and is quite expensive. If it was included in the room rate that would be great. 2) The only way to improve the excellent breakfast would be to introduce scrambled eggs and bacon in addition to the current selection of cold meats, cheeses and boiled eggs.

    My 3rd or 4th visit to this hotel. The location is excellent, the rooms are comfortable and the staff are very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is a standard traditional German buffet but even when crowded the staff ensure things (like bread rolls, ham, cheese, etc) never run out. A great hotel for exploring Cologne city - I am very likely to return!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    7.1
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free WiFi. Very noisy, you can hear noise from restaurant downstairs as well as footsteps and door closing from all other rooms. Toilet was locked so had to take key with you just to go to the toilet. Room was quite cold despite turning up the heat.

    Great location. Walking distance from station and cathedral. Decent breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    8.3
    Good value and great location in Cologne
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room smelt of smoke and it was cold on the first night. Also could hear the corridor doors banging during the night as the room was next to a shared toilet.

    Proximity to cathedral, train station and old town are great. Whilst an old hotel, it is in the process of being done up and modernised to a good standard. Staff are helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Rhein-Hotel St.Martin traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: