Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rheinhotel Loreley - Superior This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Rheinallee 12, 53639 Königswinter, Germany

#9 of 12 hotels in Königswinter

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 133 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Paid WiFi

    5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    10
    We have stayed here several times as we like the location . Hotel staff always helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rhine view
    • Stayed 1 night

    No minibar in room , but service was good. Downstairs terrace . Service very slow for high season .

    Excellent Hotel in Great location . Old nostalgia Hotel with beautiful charm . Rooms modern Very nice balcony rooms with Rhine views

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.8
    Rhein Retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rhine view
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spiders on the balcony ceiling in the evening!

    Excellent location, super friendly staff, EXCELLENT view of the Rhein. It's also a great historic hotel that looks sharp. Good breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.3
    Beautiful location, nice old building with view over the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are expensive, compared to other hotels: internet 4,50 euro per day; parking 10 euro. Room simple and too far to get internet.

    Beautiful location, nice old building with view over the river. Nice atmosphere for lovers of Grand Hotels. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.8
    Lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rhine view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ate the first night in the hotel Restaurant. The food was good but the attitude of the waiter was awful. He brought the wrong wine, brought water we hadn't ordered and then brought us the wrong meals. He refused to change the wine but stormed off to find our correct meals. He was on duty both of the other nights we were there so we ate elsewhere. Only one chair on the balcony, they didn't have another one we could have. Not much point offering you a smaller room with a balcony if you can't sit out.

    Reception staff were welcoming and helpful. Breakfast buffet was good. Beautiful old building in a gorgeous location by side of Rhine. Easy to find and parking secure.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    We like Königswinter and surrounding area for quiet weekends . Htl Loreley is excellent base .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No free WiFi on floor 2 . Stairs to reception . (there is a lift in ground floor but not always open )

    Breakfast & Dinner in Monopol room beautiful . Rhine view. Good table . Service great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.6
    Very nice Hotel, The decor is like going back to 1920s , but all modern facilities available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No minibar No Safe in room

    Check in Quick , efficient and flexible Restaurant Excellent . Ate there every night of our stay Marble floors, pillars stairways beautiful Very clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and friendly stay with great views. F
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in room. No tea and coffee facilities. No free wifi

    Grand and panoramic Restaurant. Good food. Very friendly and helpful staff. Splendid vista. Quiet. Big room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.1
    Price and comfort
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you need to go to Bonn (which I did,for meetings), it takes a half-hour or so by tram (which stops very close in front of the hotel), but the are less frequent at night.

    Price and comfort

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    Lovely old world decor in a hotel with the convenience of easy to navigate mass transit nearby.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the desk were freondly, and helpful. The breakfast was delicious and the waiter at dinner was very friendly and porsssiinal. My room with a stunning crew of the Rhein was well-appointed and roomy. The bathroom has a lovely view of the mountains. I flew into Frankfurt and took an ICE and two regional trains then walked for eight mins to get there. On the way back I took the 66 UBahn (conveniently right outside the hotel) to siegburg then the ICE to frankfurt. I took the 66 every day into Bonn. Very convenient.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    A pleasant place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the decor is a little tired, but the hotel is in the processing of refurbishing some areas. There was some delicious cake at breakfast on the first day but sadly none on the following days.

    Very welcoming, friendly and helpful staff. Location right on the riverfront. The balcony and the view from our (superior) room. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    6.7
    beautiful lobby and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the impressive old time charme of lobby and restaurant does not reach up to the 3rd floor rooms (that look a bit dated 90s style). the hotel's selling point is its history and the great location, but at 125 Euros a night you may expect a room a little pre-warmed instead of chilly when you arrive (especially with very few guests staying in off season and the hotel knowing what rooms they asign) and a better quality of breakfast (these undefined cheeses sliced off these square industrial sized packages are probably acceptable in a youth hostel, but look particularly out of place in such a fine setting, fresh breadrolls arrived 45 minutes into breakfast when we had to head out to catch the train --- possibly the bakery opened late due to change to Summer time, but even breadrolls re-baked in the restaurant oven would have been a better alternative than toast).

    beautiful lobby and restaurant. very friendly staff and excellent location overlooking the Rhine.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful classical hotel overlooking Rhine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rhine view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No toiletries in bathroom other than liquid soap. No shower cap for shower. No tea/coffee making facilities in room. No English news channel on TVs. Free wifi only with laptop.

    Excellent breakfast choice. Very comfortable bed. Pleasant and helpful staff. Beautiful building.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning.

    Location!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.8
    Location,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms need to be upgraded. No free wifi!

    Location,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    The room was large and well appointed, very nicely decorated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The room was large and well appointed, very nicely decorated

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Great old hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel on the river. Good storage for our bicycles. Good breakfast. We were given an upgrade to a riverview room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.9
    The staff are really friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff are really friendly. Good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice, but overpriced for what is being offered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rhine view
    • Stayed 1 night

    For that price, I would expect Free Wifi and a more spacious room. Bath was (seriously) 1m x 3m. So much overpriced.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice building and beautiful view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be nice to have free wifi

    very nice room, comfy bed, we got an upgrade for a room with view of the river.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    Vey Nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entrance could be made more obvious than it is currently look like.

    It will be much better if more hot food will be provided for the breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    exquisite old building and the rooms where perfect and quite. Breakfast great and you are looking over the Rhein river.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    9.6
    a first rate base for visiting Cologne and the Rhineland
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful baroque building with lovely restaurant overlooking the Rhine. Particularly friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    3.3
    Breakfeast and View.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The oldest room that I ever see like 1970s.when I want extra pillow from lady in reception. She looked at me like I am alien.than she said OK. I told her to bring one more.she answer a strict NO!!! Than she bring blanket instead of pillow.

    Breakfeast and View. When you see both of it its like OK. But when you walk in the room it's like nightmare.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    9.2
    Perfect location on the bank of the Rhine in a lovely town.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was small and basic (tiny TV), and perhaps did not match the overall grandeur of the place. But at the price I could really not count this as negative.

    Perfect location on the bank of the Rhine in a lovely town. Charming belle epoque decor, everything clean and comfortable. Very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    6.7
    Beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel uses T-mobile services for Internet. And T-mobile charges 5 euros per day. The hotel advertises that Internet works in the room. Well, it did not work at all in my room and after 1 hour of my use of the service (after paying the 5 euros) in the hotel restaurant, the service stopped and the electronic communication from T-mobile was my 24 hours was up. I did not pay another 5 euros for more time, of course, and when I explained this to the very unfriendly hotel manager upon check-out, she, and the hotel, washed their hands of the whole thing. It was not their problem. It was between me and T-mobile. When I tried to present the point that the hotel should take some responsibility for the services they recommend, and that most hotels now provide Internet for free, the manager cut me off and suggested I be on my way. It was a frustrating experience, not because I got so little for my 5 euros, but because the manager had such blinders on as she talked with me. I think she thought I was going to insist on a deduction of 5 euros from my bill, and while I certainly do think that's what the hotel should have done, the more disappointing thing for me was the complete lack of acknowledgement or understanding of the situation. The manager was not a nice person.

    Beautiful location. And nice hotel.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    6.7
    Hotel has a wonderful exterior and interior, as far as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bedding made strong noises!

    Hotel has a wonderful exterior and interior, as far as public areas are concerned! Rooms are clean and nice in size, but furniture style is deep 80s! Everything well kept, but the bedding structure needs refreshment!

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    9.6
    Wide range of food at breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wide range of food at breakfast

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    7.9
    location, terrace - dining area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    room was cold at arrival not good bedding and mattress

    location, terrace - dining area

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    7.9
    Very friendly staff, good position in the town, fantastic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly staff, good position in the town, fantastic food. Wonderful view.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    10
    Great breakfast, good parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Need Wi-Fi

    Great breakfast, good parking.

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Guests also reviewed these properties: