Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rheinhotel Schulz This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Vogtsgasse 4-7, 53572 Unkel, Germany

#1 of 4 hotels in Unkel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 379 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.1
    Bitterly disappointed that we were allocated a room in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bitterly disappointed that we were allocated a room in the rear corner of the property....it was very spacious but there was no view of the river or any sense that we were close to river - this had been the primary reason for our choosing the hotel. I am sure that if one had a room overlooking the gardens or the river then one would enjoy this lovely hotel.....do not reserve Room 61

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    4.2
    Choose your room carefully
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our comfort room, number 62 had no view if we opened a window it was out onto the path, with people able to look in or worse still 2 lovely big patio Windows that were at ground level. Impossible to leave open at night in case someone walked in. Breakfast wasn't good. Bacon and eggs were cold, glad we didn't have dinner here, we ate in a beer house behind the hotel, it was fantastic. Drinks were expensive also.

    It was a lovely hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    4.2
    Very sad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel in reality has two buidings that comunicate betweenthem but with very diffrent tip of confort . The pictures on the booking.com are very selective and not permit to see the wiglly and disconfort of the second. We booked for one room beleeving that will live a 4 stars experience. In reality they gaved us one room in the anex buiding that was horible. The comodities was at leved of 1-2 stars hotel. Open the door made a huge noisy. The beds was very unconfortables. All the comodities begining with the parket and finishing with the light was most cheap things in the market. Something much cheapier would not be possible. Wifi signal not working in our room. Our feelings was that the hotel ouner is laing the people intented sell 2 very diffrents products at same price, presented only one image of them. Speeking with the receptionist, the girl said that I need to speak with the boss next day. The next day was other personas at reception but he said to write a couple of lines as reclamation to the boss. Probably this is their strategy for evitate the discutions. I payed in advance for our staying here and probabely, with my money in their account, doesen't matter for them my feelings. I made a couple o pictured to prouve my opinion and I hope that the Booking.com permit their apparition and this commentary also, for protect other persons in the future!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    Location on the Rhein.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a bit disappointing to our expectations. Hotel parking was hard to find. As the hotel is in a nice small town, I would have liked to have more facilities/things to do in the hotel itself

    Location on the Rhein. View is amazing. Outdoor bar in the evening and a restaurant with panoramic view. Very nice staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.6
    Really please had a nice couple of days
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely helpful staff with under-ground car park. Nice central location and down by the river. 5 minutes walk to the station for Cologne, Bonn and Koblenz

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    I didn't come for the location and leisure, but was pleasantly surprised by this.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would you believe there is nothing to dislike?

    I didn't come for the location and leisure, but was pleasantly surprised by this. The view from the dining room is fantastic and I was lucky to have booked a room with the Rhine-view. Restaurant, breakfast and parking is all great. WifI was the best I've had in years. All the stops are pulled out to make your stay pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    10
    We enjoyed our stay, everyone very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and bathroom very good indeed. However, we were at the back and the stairs were difficult for my husband so would choose a different room next time. Sandra.

    Everything was fine.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    10
    Hypnotic view in first-class hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More storage for personal items (clothes etc.): some open shelving in rooms might be helpful for guests staying a few days.

    The genuine welcoming, helpful and interesting staff. The view of the working ships travelling the Rhine is captivating as are the surrounding castles. The chef is excellent. Rooms and bathrooms are spotless. Nice path in front of the hotel to walk on the shore of the river.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    It was really charming.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was really charming. The view over the Rhine was lovely. Everything was beautifully done and the staff were very good indeed and warm and friendly. It is a high quality hotel with a very long and interesting history.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    7.1
    Good location for stop-over on a longer journey
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    some tiles in the bathroom were broken and the show cabin had some mould. Very dark walkway from the restaurant to the building with the rooms ... kind of dangerous at night

    Very friendly staff and nice location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    10
    An experience not too be missed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, it was perfect.

    This is a wonderful hotel in a beautiful location right on the banks of the Rhine. Everything about it was a good experience. The staff were charming, the room was very comfortable and the restaurant was very good with big windows looking over the river.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    10
    Super hotel with views onto the Rhein.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plenty on offer for breakfast, but the scrambled eggs and bacon in the "warming" dish was a tad "cold" for my personal liking.

    We love this hotel, having visited recently, we went back again. Our favourite room - large and very nicely decorated. Bed super comfy, good en-suite, all very clean - good wifi and room has a lovely terrace to sit out on. Big plus point - all the staff are just so friendly, nice and helpful. Excellent dinner - but sadly the chef would not share his recipe for the best ever pumpkin soup that I've tasted! Free underground car parking. Restaurant with huge glass windows overlooking the ever interesting Rhein river. A definite must visit and stay again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    MOST ENJOYABLE stay THANK you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    MOST ENJOYABLE stay THANK you

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Classic hotel on the Rhein river, beautiful interior. Hotel is located in a quaint central town are
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfortable and spacious room, comfy bed, good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Very stylish, almost like a castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very stylish, almost like a castle. Beautifully located. Nice staff. Decent food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful place, well recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful place, well recommended. Very romantic place!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed the stay but hotel could have been slightly better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had no air conditioning nor any portable unitsenjoyed

    Excellent location and very clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    hôtel, emplacement, repas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hôtel, emplacement, repas... magnifique!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic location and great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Superb location overlooking the Rhine

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.8
    location, breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location, breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.1
    Great location and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not good $ value. Our room did not match up to expectations of photos.

    Great location and breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    I recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast

    The view to the river, nice crew and staff , big room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.2
    great view, large room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    far from the center, medium breakfast

    great view, large room. very quiet

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful quiet place beside Rhine.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful quiet place beside Rhine.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    5.8
    Good
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room furniture

    Location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    10
    High Quality Stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fabulous location, Welcoming and very cooperative staff. Superb cleanliness and nicely decorated and maintained hotel

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    9.2
    Wonderful peaceful city on the Rhine river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy 'cause of construction works on the opposite side of the river, especially at night.

    Wonderful peaceful city on the Rhine river.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    8.8
    The hotel is located directly on the Rhine, which is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Its quite hard to find by car, could be handled better by the hotel. The dining hall with the amazing view wasnt used for breakfast which i think is utterly stupid..

    The hotel is located directly on the Rhine, which is very nice. But its in a very small town and still 20km from Bonn. If you are looking for quiet and peaceful this is definetely the place. Its the old fashion luxury, amazing rooms, pure quality. Everything feels solid and of high quality. We got a massive room with sofa and all, even though we booked just a double room.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    6.7
    The hotel is quiet and calm.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was small and there was the old furniture.

    The hotel is quiet and calm. The hotel is located in a good place near Rhein, but it is difficult to come there by car through pedestrian zone.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    8.8
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant only average. Although the room was very nice it overlooked the back yard and didn't have the view of the Rhine as expected.

    Location. Garage for the motorbike.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    10
    Very nice, spacious and high standard room.
    • Couple

    Very nice, spacious and high standard room. High quality sleeping accommodation. Fantastic breakfast with a beautiful view on the Rhine. Very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    10
    ..a gorgeous hotel with modern facilities directly on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We went to breakfast at 9:00 AM. The trays were picked over and were not replenished....which made the presentation less appealing and not worth the charge.

    ..a gorgeous hotel with modern facilities directly on the Rhein River in a quaint village. The underground parking was convenient and secure. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything. Diagem is a small village on the Rhine; the hotel is also on the Rhine. Very picturesque, lovely places to stroll, dine al fresco, enjoy the view, watch people.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    9.2
    Views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No luggage service

    Views Tranquillity Charme

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    10
    Our room with a balcony overlooking the Rhein.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room with a balcony overlooking the Rhein. The restaurant too was very good and the food excellent

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    10
    The hotel felt like a grand manor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel felt like a grand manor.Rooms were well decorated and the location on the water was wonderful. Ask for a river view.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    7.5
    Everything was nice but there isn't variety in breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything was nice but there isn't variety in breakfast .

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    5.8
    nice of view and room was cleaned
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    far from Bonn city center with my own car.

    nice of view and room was cleaned

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    10
    Modern and cosy rooms, very quiet and on the banks of the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Modern and cosy rooms, very quiet and on the banks of the river Rhine. Super freindly staff. I enjoyed every minute of my stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    10
    Location and view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location and view

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: