Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Stadt-gut-Hotel Rheinischer Hof 3 stars

Hedwig Str. 11, Ruettenscheid, 45130 Essen, Germany

#7 of 68 hotels in Essen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 904 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Far too noisy for me. I averaged 2-3 hours sleep a night over 3 nights. The internal noise was relentless. I expect a certain level of noise in hotels but this was the worst I have experienced. There just did not seem to be any 'quiet period'. During my stay, the very loud noises continued until maybe 3am and started again around 5am. My room was not suitable for a 3 night vacation.

    Location, friendly staff, breakfast, free public transfer pass, free mineral water in room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived very early, before 10 am, but got our room immediately. On top of that we were invited to take breakfast, a service we didn't pay for. For a *** hotel the breakfast is plentiful and of high quality. Additional services are free lunch bags and tickets for public transport. So in this hotel you get a lot for your money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Found quite some long hairs on the floor during my morning yoga, not so pleasant.

    The is very friendly and tried everything to make our stay even more pleasant. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic service and hospitality in a cosy hotel of charming character. I was (and other guests were) served a hot cup of welcome tea upon arriving on a cold and rainy night, what a delight. The room was clean, cosy, quiet. The smorgasbord of breakfast offerings was lovingly prepared to cater to all palates. Guests were also offered a packed lunch, a lovely goodbye touch. Moreover, I had left my phone charger behind but they called and offered to mail it back to me.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The accomodation included breakfast and free transportation inside and outside Essen using the majority of available means (underground, trains). The personnel was very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    3rd and 4th Floor with Suitcase and without Elevator are a bit astonishing.

    Very nice location. Not far from the city centre and public transportation. Has a wonderful breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the small room was ok , but taking into account the size, it is too expensive

    fantastic breakfast free lunch box tot take with you very friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room and my bathroom were really small .. overall ok for a 2-days business travel, but surely a bit small No elevator

    Very nice hotel, really conveniently located in Essen The breakfast was fantastic, a lot of choices

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Provide more recommendations for site seeing or how to use public transport.

    Staff were very friendly and always greeting with a smile. Breakfast spread was very good. Room was decently clean (some dusty areas).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Third time i stayed here, and plan to stay more often, while i have to visit Essen for work. Nice, charming, friendly hotel, not to 'business like' (which I very often find too impersonal). Friendly and helpful staff, nice rooms, good breakfast, good location, watercooker in the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly, helpful staff. Good breakfast (although no soya milk, which I pre-ordered). Clean, light single room - small, but cozy - and full marks for the tea/coffee making facilities, very rare in Germany. The free voucher for public transport was very helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, it was a very nice stay.

    Good breakfast selection and you will get a lunch bag if you want. You will also get a train, bus and underground ticket for free which you can use for the area. I went to Dusseldorf and Dortmund with this ticket.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was our third time staying here - that's how much we like it. Once as a couple, once with 2 children, once as mother and daughter. Can't believe it only has 3 stars as the official rating. Staff are incredibly helpful, breakfast buffet is a joy to behold, location is fantastic........

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom's vent automatically turned on with the light, so after a while it tend to be bothersome. There's no elevator, this could be a problem if you're travelling with someone that have problem getting up with the stairs.

    The buffet breakfast was awesome! A lot of delicious options including German specialities :) The staff is very kind and always available to help you. And in addition, you have public transportation for free!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was litlebit small, but it was nice and cleans.

    The lunch box was nice (a got it in chek out moment). The personal was excellent. The room was excellent. I liked the staying at this hotel a lot.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator in 4-floor building. Very simple design of fernitures but you can not complain about stay.

    Was Okay, nice crew, helpful. Hotel very close to metro station. Room was simple but relatively big as well as bathroom. clean bed and bathroom. Price quite high because of fair in Essen.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly. The breakfast was exceptional as it even catered a wide selection of food for vegetarians. The location was a couple of minutes walk from the underground which was very handy.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff are very helpful and accomodating. The Hotel looks old from the outside but it is very clean and comfortable. The breakfast had a good selection. The room was comfortable and warm, the bathroom was a bit small but it was fine.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was too soft and linen not great. Room had strong smell of smoke, which made it hard to sleep. Not sure how, but possibly adjacent occupants were smoking inside and it circulated.

    Staff very friendly and helpful, especially the lady that works the night shift. Great location close to the metro

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent service, very polite and helpful. Very generous breakfast buffet, and at the end a nice little lunch-box to take away for free. Tons of books on the walls and even in the rooms - mostly on or of Goethe, a joy for everybody interested in literature. All in all one of the nicest hotels I stayed in the last couple of years!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The staff was very welcoming. They offered me a drink when I arrived and let me relax in their breakfast area during the check-in. I was given a map and shown the locations of restaurants and bars. I was also provided tickets for public transportation during my stay. Breakfast had a wide variety of options beyond the typical German breakfast you find in most hotels. At checkout I was given a bagged lunch. Wonderful hotel and staff!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On street parking, but managed to park outside the hotel without a problem.

    Staff were extremely attentive and welcoming, including towards our dog who was along for the trip!. First class choice of breakfasts. Packed lunches available for our departure.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small bathroom. But we were there for only 1 night so no problem at all

    Really great: excellent breakfast, free welcome drink, free lunch bag, free tickets for public transport (tram/bus etc), we had a 3 person bedroom and the 3rd bed was also a real good bed. Also free parking in the surroundings of the hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The free lunch packets were a pleasant surprise, and free car parking in the area around the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel. Breakfat and a packed lunch every day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    small room;

    Close to Rüttenscheider; easy check in / out;

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best breakfast we ever had in hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast with very extensive choice, and very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean room. Very friendly and helpful stuff. Great breakfast. Perfect location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room for 1 is little bit small, but very cosy. Without lift

    Friendly staff, surpises on the top included in price, the best breakfast i have ever had

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As always: Great service, free public transport and free packed lunches included. I always try to book this hotel when going to Spiel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator but not a deal breaker if you travel light

    Super clean and close to everything, great breakfast and friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good breakfast, very nice people, reasonable parking on the street

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Problem with parking around to the hotel especially buses. Delices breakfast. good places for night talking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet coverage was not good in the room.

    It has a friendly staff and ofcourse so helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location in Rüttenscheid Very comprehensive and high quality breakfast-buffet

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was getting a little hot despite window open and no fan or air conditioning available

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Packed lunch after breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was a very pleasant stay. The staff was extremely friendly and the breakfast was great!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast and very friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great! A bigger room would be excellent!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to be mentioned here.

    Friendliness of the staff, free ticket for the length of stay for VRR (local transportation)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast, provided dinner even after restaurant was closed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast selection and quality extraordinary. Rue 11 menu and quality were first class! Entire staff friendly and accommodating. Booked for 2017!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Surpassed my expectations and made my weekend trip smooth and easy to enjoy. The breakfast is a real treat.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was super! The Staff is attentive! Also, tickets on puplic transport and lunch!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Free Wi-Fi was ok, but there were some moments it has disappered.

    Nice personel, great breakfast, free lunch box :-)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location was great, legendary breakfast, free lunch boxes when you ask for, free metro tickets during your stay

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no elevator

    Very nice breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great family run hotel in a lovely area close to transport links and lots of restaurants and bars nearby.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comftable, clean & friendly In good location for Essen zentrum and opera

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really great breakfast. Clean and renovated rooms. Great staff. Convenient location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room is a little small.

    good breakfast and service. And also provide the VRR-Ticket for free.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - it wasn't very bad - just neutral - but I didn't find the staff at the reception very welcoming and warm. However, they did what they needed to and answered all the questions - it was just very formal with no smile. - very low pillows - I had to fold mine two times in order to get the right height - NO LIFT - we stayed in the third floor - not such a big problem for us but if there are elderly people or couples with children - it's worth remembering

    + when we arrived we were asked if we wanted something to drink (soft drink) and we asked for orange juice and water + nice, comfortable beds + very warm water + never in my life have I seen such a variety for a breakfast buffet (including home made salads and yogurt) + AMAZED by the offer of a little lunch bag to take with us for the travel!!! It included sandwiches, juice, boiled egg, healthy snack (apple) and little sweets - hasn't happened to me even at a 3-4 star-hotels

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The door to the shower cabinet in our room (22) is not suitable for a person of above average build. Indeed a person of average stature would struggle. A sliding door would be far more suitable.

    The Breakfast is one of the best for a hotel of this type in Western Europe.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed there to attend Techno Classica classic car show and found the price of Euro 170 for a double room per night a bit steep.

    When booking the hotel a 'Hotel Kombi' ticket is included which gives free travel on trains, trams and busses. The breakfast buffet is very varied and plentiful; wifi for one device is also included in the price.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    A bit noise from staircase, but totally everything is really great.

    First time I was surprised getting free ticket for all publik transport for 24 hours on check-inn at reception, second time of REALLY GREAT BREAKFAST!!! and third time when I've got a lunch- bag after check-out from this hotel. Staff is very friendly! good location!

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is small and developed on four floors. It needs the elevator! For the room: the pillow should be less softer.

    I was at the Stadt-gut-Hotel Rheinischer Hof for the IPM Essen 2016. The Hotel is in a good position (very close to the metro) and the staff is very kind. The breakfast was very good with an international buffet. The rooms are very clean.

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom needs major renovation. Too loud ventilator in the bathroom. No toiletries except for soap. Quite old facilities. They turned off the heating during night.

    Good staff. Nice breakfast. Decent internet. Very nice location. Clean.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Price, but to be expected at this time of year.

    Small hotel not far from Messe. Quite back street. Lunch bag included. Good breakfast. Staff attentive to questions.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Made to feel welcome as soon as you entered, rooms were very comfortable and the lunch bag on checking out a pleasant surprise. Will definately use this hotel again.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Room was a bit hot, but it was August....

    Friendly, helpful staff. Super breakfast and nice to have a lunch bag to take away. Transport tickets are a great idea. Lots of good restaurants nearby and fairly easy to park. Walking distance to the modern art museum.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No elevator, and the outside of the building was being rennovated, construction works started around 8 - we couldn't sleep late because of the noise. Good for us - had more time to enjoy great breakfast!

    Andre at the reception was just great! We arrived to Essen for AC\DC concert with no tickets bought in advance. He helped us to get the tickets as well as gave lots of recommentations as where to eat, what to see, where to park. Free parking just 100 meters away on the market square. Great breakfast and free lunch box (grat to take to the day trip to the zoo). Also we were given a free public transportation ticket (never used it as we had a hired car, but i have to mention it anyway)

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast was excellent. Included many things that you wouldn't expect at place where the breakfast is included in Germany. It was nice to walk to the U-bahn station in less that a couple of minutes to get anywhere in the city. Stay also includes a public transit card good for you stay anywhere in the city.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the sheets were a bit too short ( but then again i'm very tall )

    This hotel has an excellent situation, mid-way of the historical center of Essen ( Dom, shopping ), and with the Gruga park and the Folkwang museum ( contemporary arts ) on the other side. excellent place to get everyone happy in the family :) also, lots of restaurants in the surroundings. We'll be back for sure to dig out some more the very strong cultural scene of the Ruhr Gebiet.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Once again (we have stayed here before), the friendliness of and help from the desk staff was excellent. Breakfast is still of a very high standard. And the free local transport tickets were also very much appreciated, saving us a lot of money during our stay. Location is good for us: 15 mins walking or 2 tram/underground stops from Hauptbahnhof/main station and in the very nice district of Ruttensscheid.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had a room at 4th floor but there is no elevator. But it is a minor detail for lazy people like me :D

    Nice hotel, very good staff, clean rooms. Also the La Rue 11 restaurant attached to the hotel is very nice and perfect kitchen. Very good and big breakfasts with lot of food to choose. Would recommend to everyone.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    -Thehotel did not have the lift you have to carry your suitcases 3 floors up. -The room was really small. -The price is high compare to the facilitiess they offer us. -You can heard noises from the other room easily.

    -The breakfast was really great. -The location was fine and they also gave us free transportation card during our stay in Essen. -They also offered us brunch meal.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The only bad thing about this hotel is the lack of elevator, can be a bit annoying if you're on the top floor with luggage, although they will help you carry things.

    The room was smallish but cute, well-furnished, nice bed, decent bathroom. Staff were friendly. Breakfast was decent. Decor was quirky.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's a 3 star hotel so you get what you pay for in terms of facilities and comfort. However the beds were super hard and there is no lift so you will get fit if your room is on the top floor.

    The customer service was outstanding! The staff could not do enough for you and ensured you had everything you needed. There was a want for nothing!

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed mattress a bit too soft

    Great breakfast and very helpful staff. Perfect location

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room size

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Good location, silent room, clean and comfortable bed, breakfast, very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The bed sags.

    Fantastic breakfast, lunch bag and ticket for light rail traffic for free, very central site

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything perfect (location, cleaning, attention...)

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Stadt-gut-Hotel Rheinischer Hof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: