Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Stadt-gut-Hotel Rheinischer Hof This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Hedwig Str. 11, Ruettenscheid, 45130 Essen, Germany

#7 of 68 hotels in Essen

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 890 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    2.5
    Scams / bad offer
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Seems like they are scams Reducing the price and offering some tiny room in the attic / loft Not a good way to proceed as a hotel / entrepreneur

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    7.1
    Hotel far too noisy for me. I need more than 2-3 hours sleep a night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Far too noisy for me. I averaged 2-3 hours sleep a night over 3 nights. The internal noise was relentless. I expect a certain level of noise in hotels but this was the worst I have experienced. There just did not seem to be any 'quiet period'. During my stay, the very loud noises continued until maybe 3am and started again around 5am. My room was not suitable for a 3 night vacation.

    Location, friendly staff, breakfast, free public transfer pass, free mineral water in room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2018

    8.3
    If you visit Essen, and you don't need a super high standard, then stay in this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived very early, before 10 am, but got our room immediately. On top of that we were invited to take breakfast, a service we didn't pay for. For a *** hotel the breakfast is plentiful and of high quality. Additional services are free lunch bags and tickets for public transport. So in this hotel you get a lot for your money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2017

    8.3
    The is very friendly and tried everything to make our stay...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Found quite some long hairs on the floor during my morning yoga, not so pleasant.

    The is very friendly and tried everything to make our stay even more pleasant. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2017

    10
    Warm and customer-centric hospitality.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic service and hospitality in a cosy hotel of charming character. I was (and other guests were) served a hot cup of welcome tea upon arriving on a cold and rainy night, what a delight. The room was clean, cosy, quiet. The smorgasbord of breakfast offerings was lovingly prepared to cater to all palates. Guests were also offered a packed lunch, a lovely goodbye touch. Moreover, I had left my phone charger behind but they called and offered to mail it back to me.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The accomodation included breakfast and free transportation inside and outside Essen using the majority of available means (underground, trains). The personnel was very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    7.9
    All in all nice place for short stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    3rd and 4th Floor with Suitcase and without Elevator are a bit astonishing.

    Very nice location. Not far from the city centre and public transportation. Has a wonderful breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2017

    7.9
    fantastic breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the small room was ok , but taking into account the size, it is too expensive

    fantastic breakfast free lunch box tot take with you very friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2017

    9.6
    Very nice hotel. Fantastic value for your money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room and my bathroom were really small .. overall ok for a 2-days business travel, but surely a bit small No elevator

    Very nice hotel, really conveniently located in Essen The breakfast was fantastic, a lot of choices

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2017

    8.3
    Friendly staff, great breakfast options!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Provide more recommendations for site seeing or how to use public transport.

    Staff were very friendly and always greeting with a smile. Breakfast spread was very good. Room was decently clean (some dusty areas).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2017

    8.8
    Friendly hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Third time i stayed here, and plan to stay more often, while i have to visit Essen for work. Nice, charming, friendly hotel, not to 'business like' (which I very often find too impersonal). Friendly and helpful staff, nice rooms, good breakfast, good location, watercooker in the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly, helpful staff. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly, helpful staff. Good breakfast (although no soya milk, which I pre-ordered). Clean, light single room - small, but cozy - and full marks for the tea/coffee making facilities, very rare in Germany. The free voucher for public transport was very helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2017

    9.6
    Nice stay with lots of extras
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, it was a very nice stay.

    Good breakfast selection and you will get a lunch bag if you want. You will also get a train, bus and underground ticket for free which you can use for the area. I went to Dusseldorf and Dortmund with this ticket.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2017

    10
    Gerne und mmer wieder!!!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This was our third time staying here - that's how much we like it. Once as a couple, once with 2 children, once as mother and daughter. Can't believe it only has 3 stars as the official rating. Staff are incredibly helpful, breakfast buffet is a joy to behold, location is fantastic........

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2017

    9.2
    Excellent choice for Essen and its surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom's vent automatically turned on with the light, so after a while it tend to be bothersome. There's no elevator, this could be a problem if you're travelling with someone that have problem getting up with the stairs.

    The buffet breakfast was awesome! A lot of delicious options including German specialities :) The staff is very kind and always available to help you. And in addition, you have public transportation for free!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was litlebit small, but it was nice and cleans.

    The lunch box was nice (a got it in chek out moment). The personal was excellent. The room was excellent. I liked the staying at this hotel a lot.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2017

    7.0
    Basic hotel with good conditions.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No elevator in 4-floor building. Very simple design of fernitures but you can not complain about stay.

    Was Okay, nice crew, helpful. Hotel very close to metro station. Room was simple but relatively big as well as bathroom. clean bed and bathroom. Price quite high because of fair in Essen.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2017

    8.3
    Very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were friendly. The breakfast was exceptional as it even catered a wide selection of food for vegetarians. The location was a couple of minutes walk from the underground which was very handy.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2017

    9.6
    Great Friendly Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff are very helpful and accomodating. The Hotel looks old from the outside but it is very clean and comfortable. The breakfast had a good selection. The room was comfortable and warm, the bathroom was a bit small but it was fine.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2016

    6.7
    Staff very friendly and helpful, especially the lady that...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was too soft and linen not great. Room had strong smell of smoke, which made it hard to sleep. Not sure how, but possibly adjacent occupants were smoking inside and it circulated.

    Staff very friendly and helpful, especially the lady that works the night shift. Great location close to the metro

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2016

    10
    Excellent service, very polite and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent service, very polite and helpful. Very generous breakfast buffet, and at the end a nice little lunch-box to take away for free. Tons of books on the walls and even in the rooms - mostly on or of Goethe, a joy for everybody interested in literature. All in all one of the nicest hotels I stayed in the last couple of years!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2016

    10
    Wonderful hotel in a great location in Essen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The staff was very welcoming. They offered me a drink when I arrived and let me relax in their breakfast area during the check-in. I was given a map and shown the locations of restaurants and bars. I was also provided tickets for public transportation during my stay. Breakfast had a wide variety of options beyond the typical German breakfast you find in most hotels. At checkout I was given a bagged lunch. Wonderful hotel and staff!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2016

    9.2
    Highly recommended, small private hotel, very welcoming, even after Brexit vote!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    On street parking, but managed to park outside the hotel without a problem.

    Staff were extremely attentive and welcoming, including towards our dog who was along for the trip!. First class choice of breakfasts. Packed lunches available for our departure.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2016

    10
    Great hotel, so many plus points
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small bathroom. But we were there for only 1 night so no problem at all

    Really great: excellent breakfast, free welcome drink, free lunch bag, free tickets for public transport (tram/bus etc), we had a 3 person bedroom and the 3rd bed was also a real good bed. Also free parking in the surroundings of the hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    9.2
    Exellent breakfast, very nice and friendly stuff, clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no elevator, shower and bathroom were small.

    Exellent breakfast, very nice and friendly stuff, clean rooms, lunch boxes, metro tickets.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    8.8
    They prepared us a bag for taking breakfast on the road!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pillow

    They prepared us a bag for taking breakfast on the road!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    9.2
    Very good breakfast, very friendly people, quiet but central location
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Thank you very much for lunch box and it was great to get a ticket for the public transport.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    10
    Everything specially Breakfast!
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing basically!!

    Everything specially Breakfast!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    10
    One of the best hotels I`ve ever visited (even better, than some 4-5 stars hotels). Super friendly a
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super friendly and helpful staff, amazing breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    10
    Excellent location from which to visit the Folkwang Museum and Grugapark.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The free lunch packets were a pleasant surprise, and free car parking in the area around the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2018

    10
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great hotel. Breakfat and a packed lunch every day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    8.3
    Close to Rüttenscheider;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    small room;

    Close to Rüttenscheider; easy check in / out;

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    10
    The best breakfast we ever had in hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The best breakfast we ever had in hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent breakfast with very extensive choice, and very...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast with very extensive choice, and very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2017

    10
    Nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Clean room. Very friendly and helpful stuff. Great breakfast. Perfect location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    10
    Friendly staff, surpises on the top included in price, the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room for 1 is little bit small, but very cosy. Without lift

    Friendly staff, surpises on the top included in price, the best breakfast i have ever had

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    9.2
    As always: Great service, free public transport and free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As always: Great service, free public transport and free packed lunches included. I always try to book this hotel when going to Spiel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2017

    10
    I would diffidently stay there next time I’m in Essen
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No elevator but not a deal breaker if you travel light

    Super clean and close to everything, great breakfast and friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    8.3
    fine place to stay, is in center , do not complain about parking space
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good breakfast, very nice people, reasonable parking on the street

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2017

    6.7
    good time
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Problem with parking around to the hotel especially buses. Delices breakfast. good places for night talking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2017

    10
    It is a good place for staying in essen.
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The internet coverage was not good in the room.

    It has a friendly staff and ofcourse so helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2017

    10
    Excellent location in Rüttenscheid
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location in Rüttenscheid Very comprehensive and high quality breakfast-buffet

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2017

    8.8
    Room was getting a little hot despite window open and no fan...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was getting a little hot despite window open and no fan or air conditioning available

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2017

    9.6
    Packed lunch after breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Packed lunch after breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2017

    10
    Very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was a very pleasant stay. The staff was extremely friendly and the breakfast was great!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2017

    7.9
    Excellent breakfast and very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent breakfast and very friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2017

    10
    Very goog for any need!'
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was great! A bigger room would be excellent!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2017

    10
    Very good place to stay if on a trip to Essen
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to be mentioned here.

    Friendliness of the staff, free ticket for the length of stay for VRR (local transportation)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2017

    8.8
    Cozy luxury
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent breakfast, provided dinner even after restaurant was closed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2016

    9.6
    First time traveler-couldn't have chosen a more perfect hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast selection and quality extraordinary. Rue 11 menu and quality were first class! Entire staff friendly and accommodating. Booked for 2017!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2016

    10
    Simply a very good place and i would easily come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Surpassed my expectations and made my weekend trip smooth and easy to enjoy. The breakfast is a real treat.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2016

    9.2
    The breakfast was super!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was super! The Staff is attentive! Also, tickets on puplic transport and lunch!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2016

    9.6
    Nice place, nice atmosphere :)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Free Wi-Fi was ok, but there were some moments it has disappered.

    Nice personel, great breakfast, free lunch box :-)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2016

    10
    Best place to stay in Essen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Location was great, legendary breakfast, free lunch boxes when you ask for, free metro tickets during your stay

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2016

    10
    Excellent and charming little hotel in Essen
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no elevator

    Very nice breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2016

    9.2
    Great family run hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great family run hotel in a lovely area close to transport links and lots of restaurants and bars nearby.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2016

    8.8
    Short stay in Essen
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Comftable, clean & friendly In good location for Essen zentrum and opera

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2016

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really great breakfast. Clean and renovated rooms. Great staff. Convenient location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2016

    7.9
    + when we arrived we were asked if we wanted something to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - it wasn't very bad - just neutral - but I didn't find the staff at the reception very welcoming and warm. However, they did what they needed to and answered all the questions - it was just very formal with no smile. - very low pillows - I had to fold mine two times in order to get the right height - NO LIFT - we stayed in the third floor - not such a big problem for us but if there are elderly people or couples with children - it's worth remembering

    + when we arrived we were asked if we wanted something to drink (soft drink) and we asked for orange juice and water + nice, comfortable beds + very warm water + never in my life have I seen such a variety for a breakfast buffet (including home made salads and yogurt) + AMAZED by the offer of a little lunch bag to take with us for the travel!!! It included sandwiches, juice, boiled egg, healthy snack (apple) and little sweets - hasn't happened to me even at a 3-4 star-hotels

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2016

    9.2
    The Breakfast is one of the best for a hotel of this type ...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The door to the shower cabinet in our room (22) is not suitable for a person of above average build. Indeed a person of average stature would struggle. A sliding door would be far more suitable.

    The Breakfast is one of the best for a hotel of this type in Western Europe.

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2016

    7.9
    When booking the hotel a 'Hotel Kombi' ticket is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed there to attend Techno Classica classic car show and found the price of Euro 170 for a double room per night a bit steep.

    When booking the hotel a 'Hotel Kombi' ticket is included which gives free travel on trains, trams and busses. The breakfast buffet is very varied and plentiful; wifi for one device is also included in the price.

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2016

    9.2
    First time I was surprised getting free ticket for all...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    A bit noise from staircase, but totally everything is really great.

    First time I was surprised getting free ticket for all publik transport for 24 hours on check-inn at reception, second time of REALLY GREAT BREAKFAST!!! and third time when I've got a lunch- bag after check-out from this hotel. Staff is very friendly! good location!

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2016

    9.2
    I was at the Stadt-gut-Hotel Rheinischer Hof for the IPM...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    The hotel is small and developed on four floors. It needs the elevator! For the room: the pillow should be less softer.

    I was at the Stadt-gut-Hotel Rheinischer Hof for the IPM Essen 2016. The Hotel is in a good position (very close to the metro) and the staff is very kind. The breakfast was very good with an international buffet. The rooms are very clean.

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2016

    7.5
    Good staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom needs major renovation. Too loud ventilator in the bathroom. No toiletries except for soap. Quite old facilities. They turned off the heating during night.

    Good staff. Nice breakfast. Decent internet. Very nice location. Clean.

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2015

    7.9
    Small hotel not far from Messe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Price, but to be expected at this time of year.

    Small hotel not far from Messe. Quite back street. Lunch bag included. Good breakfast. Staff attentive to questions.

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2015

    10
    Made to feel welcome as soon as you entered, rooms were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Made to feel welcome as soon as you entered, rooms were very comfortable and the lunch bag on checking out a pleasant surprise. Will definately use this hotel again.

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2015

    9.6
    Friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Room was a bit hot, but it was August....

    Friendly, helpful staff. Super breakfast and nice to have a lunch bag to take away. Transport tickets are a great idea. Lots of good restaurants nearby and fairly easy to park. Walking distance to the modern art museum.

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2015

    9.2
    Andre at the reception was just great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No elevator, and the outside of the building was being rennovated, construction works started around 8 - we couldn't sleep late because of the noise. Good for us - had more time to enjoy great breakfast!

    Andre at the reception was just great! We arrived to Essen for AC\DC concert with no tickets bought in advance. He helped us to get the tickets as well as gave lots of recommentations as where to eat, what to see, where to park. Free parking just 100 meters away on the market square. Great breakfast and free lunch box (grat to take to the day trip to the zoo). Also we were given a free public transportation ticket (never used it as we had a hired car, but i have to mention it anyway)

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2015

    9.2
    Breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast was excellent. Included many things that you wouldn't expect at place where the breakfast is included in Germany. It was nice to walk to the U-bahn station in less that a couple of minutes to get anywhere in the city. Stay also includes a public transit card good for you stay anywhere in the city.

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2015

    8.8
    This hotel has an excellent situation, mid-way of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the sheets were a bit too short ( but then again i'm very tall )

    This hotel has an excellent situation, mid-way of the historical center of Essen ( Dom, shopping ), and with the Gruga park and the Folkwang museum ( contemporary arts ) on the other side. excellent place to get everyone happy in the family :) also, lots of restaurants in the surroundings. We'll be back for sure to dig out some more the very strong cultural scene of the Ruhr Gebiet.

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2015

    7.5
    Once again (we have stayed here before), the friendliness of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Once again (we have stayed here before), the friendliness of and help from the desk staff was excellent. Breakfast is still of a very high standard. And the free local transport tickets were also very much appreciated, saving us a lot of money during our stay. Location is good for us: 15 mins walking or 2 tram/underground stops from Hauptbahnhof/main station and in the very nice district of Ruttensscheid.

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2015

    9.2
    Nice hotel, very good staff, clean rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    I had a room at 4th floor but there is no elevator. But it is a minor detail for lazy people like me :D

    Nice hotel, very good staff, clean rooms. Also the La Rue 11 restaurant attached to the hotel is very nice and perfect kitchen. Very good and big breakfasts with lot of food to choose. Would recommend to everyone.

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2015

    6.7
    -The breakfast was really great.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    -Thehotel did not have the lift you have to carry your suitcases 3 floors up. -The room was really small. -The price is high compare to the facilitiess they offer us. -You can heard noises from the other room easily.

    -The breakfast was really great. -The location was fine and they also gave us free transportation card during our stay in Essen. -They also offered us brunch meal.

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2015

    9.6
    The room was smallish but cute, well-furnished, nice bed,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    The only bad thing about this hotel is the lack of elevator, can be a bit annoying if you're on the top floor with luggage, although they will help you carry things.

    The room was smallish but cute, well-furnished, nice bed, decent bathroom. Staff were friendly. Breakfast was decent. Decor was quirky.

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2015

    8.8
    The customer service was outstanding!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    It's a 3 star hotel so you get what you pay for in terms of facilities and comfort. However the beds were super hard and there is no lift so you will get fit if your room is on the top floor.

    The customer service was outstanding! The staff could not do enough for you and ensured you had everything you needed. There was a want for nothing!

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Stadt-gut-Hotel Rheinischer Hof Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: