Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Welcome Hotel Wesel This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Rheinpromenade 10, 46487 Wesel, Germany

#1 of 8 hotels in Wesel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 403 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Executive
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The prices have significantly increased over the years. Whereas in the past, it was fair value, the hotel is more a three star than a four star hotel, this stay was definitely on the expensive side. We invited family members for breakfast, and the charge was Euro 20.00 per guest, which is ridiculous when you consider other hotels we are frequenting.

    We have stayed at this hotel many times. The location is a bit remote, unless you plan on taking wonderful walks along the Rhine river, which we enjoy very much.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite Executive
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive considering the region and the comfort offered ( no water boiler at the room, very basic toiletry, ...) Hotels in Berlin are as expensive and with higher comfort level.

    Location, size of rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Standard
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints really. Places like this tend to attract families. Parents should not let their children run loose at the breakfast buffet.

    We were pleasantly surprised by our room. The hotel is all suites and we have stayed in many others throughout Europe; this was probably the nicest one we have seen. It can better be described as a small apartment and if I were single, I would be happy living in a place like this! The breakfast was good and the attendants took good care to make sure tables were ready and that the food items were kept stocked. This is often lacking in hotel buffets, especially towards closing. I have to commend the breakfast staff. The property is just outside the main city and is located on the Rhine river. There are many outdoor activities that you can take part in.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite Superior
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is quite old, and you can feel it, no AC in the rooms, no AC at the gym which is terrible. Gym is poor quipped. Breakfast was disappointing, cucumber and tomatoes are the only veggies, scrambled eggs tasted loke made from powder, no healthy muesli, only ready made with sugar, why you are not using local bakeries? The bread was tasteless, made with caramel to look like wholegrain, and so on.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Executive
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no bathtub which we prefer over a shower. However this is not a criticism just a comment on what we would like.

    ease of access to main cycle routes

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Standard
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception at arrival was rather cold...better when we checked out. Hard mattresses and no toppers. Shower curtain . Rooms and bathrooms are dated.

    Quiet area. Good breakfast with friendly staff. Spacious junior suite, very clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Standard
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was noisy outside of our room with dogs barking, early morning truck deliveries and some of the hotel could be heard when outside having a smoke.

    Most of the staff were friendly, good food.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Superior
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike

    The location of the hotel on the banks of the Rhine in a quite parkland area away from the town. Not cheap, but worth every euro. We ate and enjoyed the cuisine each night at the "pub" in the grounds of the hotel. Try a bottle of the house Riesling, it is wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite Standard
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wasn't so happy with the cleanliness of the room this time. Floors and surfaces were clean as always but the cupboard handles (and the surfaces around them), door handles, switches etc. were quite sticky which shows that the room hasn't been deep-cleaned for a while. No other complains.

    I don't even remember how many times I have stayed at this hotel and I always enjoy it. Good location, nice facility, spacious and well equipped rooms, nice staff and great breakfast. The wifi is always good and there is amble parking available. What more can one ask?

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite Standard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All k.

    Breakfast selection very good and with a view of the river very relaxing. Free Wu-if was good for business use.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite Standard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet location, not too far from the motor way and there was a nice breakfast. The room was spacious with what was needed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite Standard
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast ++ Bed ++

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite Standard
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice place and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite Standard
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very good. The breakfast quite OK. See additional remarks on 'value for money'

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite Standard
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good place if you like to live nera the nature. Nice staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite Standard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of amenities in the rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite Executive
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amenities is poor

    Location and spacious suites

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite Standard
    • Stayed 3 nights

    should have a kettle in the rooms with tea and coffee making facilities.

    Excellent location, great staff and the food is also excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite Standard
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The junior suite was overlooking beautiful scenery of the river. It was spacious, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Standard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    facilities

    location quite

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite Standard
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was great nothing wrong

    Very clean hotel. Great room. Friendly staff. Breakfast and dinner are really nice. lot's of choices.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Executive
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    old furniture and small beds.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite Standard
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great hotel with excellent staff and facilities.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite Standard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything !

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    It is not cheap but the price is really worth it considering the room you get.

    Very nice hotel situated on the Rhine river and only a short walk from the city center of Wesel. The staff were extremely polite and did their best to accommodate us with our two toddlers. They gave us a room with easy access and helped us with feeding chairs for breakfast and in the hotel lobby. The room was very clean and featuring a full kitchen which the hotel should advertise more as it is a very nice feature. The breakfast is good and generous. The Wi-Fi worked well during our stay and connecting to it was straight-forward. I have stayed in this hotel before and I will again in the future.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    poor wireless network, poor level of English of staff.

    Very nice junior suite, excellent breakfast, next to city center but also in the middle of nature, quiet, good bikes available for renting.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi is free only for 24hours No air-conditioning in the room There was no room service(food),only buffet in the restaurant with a very poor choice.

    Great and delicious breakfast Nice and big rooms, very clean

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    All the glasses were dirty with finger prints, in the room....." Keep all the children in second room for breakfast.....

    Would go again, and stay longer. Beautifull hotel and staff. Sat looking at the barges sailing on the Rein, from my room.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The couch in the living room looked a bit tired. There was a smell of stale pee in the toilet, I suspect from the toilet brush.

    the hotel has very impressive architecture and the rooms are very well equipped. The guy who checked me in was very polite and even if the booking.com reservation had not come in yet (I booked 1h before staying) he did everything he could to help me out. The location is ok-ish. Although a long walk to the center of Wesel, it is on the river which is nice. The Wi-Fi internet is fast and solid. The breakfast is really awesome.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's in a lovely setting on the Rhine and we had a view overlooking the river. The suites were large and comfortbable. We were served a buffet supper which was excellent and this was matched by the breakfast. The staff were very helpful and obliging.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The food didn't match what was offered at the menu. Kitchen said it was, we noticed it really wasnot. The waiter was very kind and deducted it from the invoice.

    The kindness and service from the staff. The waiter in the restaurant was very good.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Cleanliness, staff, service, quietness were all excellent.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing that I did not like.

    Everything is nice and clean. Breakfast is great. Free parking.

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All good

    The room and the food/ restuarant. Being next to the Rhine.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    ligging in the middle of no-were

    gratis parking ruime kamer

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hard bed

    Friendly Staff. Great location by the Rhine.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no air con

    everything,staff was good nice location great

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything but in particular the suite was fabulous and the proximity to the Rhine was great.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was extremely hot, air conditioning or a fan would be helpful

    Modern spacious apartments and location

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely location right on the river Large outside area for relaxing and dining Easy parking

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A kitchen is great... but no mugs or cutlery or means to boil water!

    Large rooms with seating and restful lighting

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    • Group

    Everything - upgraded to a Junior Suite overlooking the magnificent Rhine - unforgettable!

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    beautiful location, on-site free parking, good breakfast, rooms are large and clean, staff friendly and helpful.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Guests also reviewed these properties: