Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ringhotel Der Waldkater This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Waldkaterallee 27, 31737 Rinteln, Germany

#1 of 7 hotels in Rinteln

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 230 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 29

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Very comfortable hotel, good food, excellent rooms and staff !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very comfortable room, large, airy and spotlessly clean ! Bed was very comfortable ! Dinner was excellent with good choice and breakfast similarly ! The setting is stunning with good walking trails marked from the hotel. Overall an excellent stay in great surroundings !

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    What a delightful place this is. Would highly recommend it so long as it is in your budget!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As I was staying on my own I booked a single room and whilst it was comfortable it was cosy in size to say the least.

    The breakfast was excellent. We had one evening meal which was wonderful. Bed was a 3/4 bed which for a single is a bonus.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel could invest in better beds and pillows
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were very firm and only 1 pillow was supplied each so we didn’t have a particularly good sleep which was a shame

    Quiet location, beautiful views and fabulous breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.9
    Beautifull hotel in toplocation with lovely food and welcoming staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed/matress was a little bid too stiff/hard for me, but my partner liked it. And next time I will take my own pillow. Maybe a topper ( on demand) would solve this problem.

    We had a lovely and quiet room with a balcony overlooking the forest. The staff was very welcoming and the food ( diner ) and breakfast was very good. When we left we got complementary coffee to-go and the windows of our car where cleaned for us. Perfect! Thank you !.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    An excellent hotel in a secluded area, perfect for peace and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gorgeous hotel in a tranquil setting. Very friendly, helpful and caring staff. Good food and drink. The room was spacious with a balcony with a lovely view. Free underground secure parking. The room was spacious, clean and functional. The bathroom is of a very high standard.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable hotel in a fabulous location in the Weser valley. Perfect for a romantic break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee making facilities in room.

    Friendly staff, great location and comfortable room. Very good food and their own brewery on-site, delicious!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing hotel so clean and spacious. Nothing not to like. Lovely room with balcony evening meal was fab as was the breakfast. Super walks in woods right outside the door. Definitely recommend

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    A Calm and Peaceful Forest Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was beautifully set on the edge of a forest on a hill with walking trails nearby. The room had a balcony that looked onto a peaceful glade. Very comfortable beds and nice room layout. The bathroom was spacious and modern. The staff were very helpful and the chef accommodated special dietary requirements with great aplomb. The hotel also has its own brewery that produces excellent beer. A very good breakfast in the morning too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    7.5
    Very nice hotel in the woods.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were pleasant but not especially friendly. Pillow was about 3 mm thick and was only any use if you put the blanket underneath it. You could get extras from the desk, but for the price of the room, could you not simply provide a pillow thick enough for a human to use?

    Very nice hotel in the woods. Great breakfast. Food in the brewery was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel for a stopover, we would have liked to stay longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a thing.

    Excellent location in the forest but only 2 minutes drive from town centre. Room & bathroom had been recently renovated to a very high standard. Dinner was excellent. Secure underground garage and when we left the next morning the car windows & lights had been cleaned for us! Excellent service all round, we would stay again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful modern hotel in traditional German style,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    A wonderful modern hotel in traditional German style, nestling in a beautiful beech wood overlooking the Weser valley.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Fantastic location, so quit, staff friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location, so quit, staff friendly. Everything exceeded our expectations. Defending would recomend..., going be be back agai for longer....

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    High standard of comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable stay after tiring journey

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyable
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could not give a lot of information about surrounding area. Nearby towns or places of interest

    Great breakfast and dinner menu

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All the best!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.9
    A quiet and very comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar shuts too early

    A quiet and very comfortable hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    They have an outstanding Chef, everyone friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have an outstanding Chef, everyone friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.6
    Breakfast room and buffet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited access to garage parking. No help with luggage.

    Breakfast room and buffet

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    9.6
    Very convenient, comfortable and peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Comfort and welcome.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    9.2
    Dejligt stille.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Beds are to the hard side - but I guess Germans like this

    Dejligt stille. Midt i en skov med udsigt over dalen, byen og "bjergene". Og alligevel kun 5 min. fra A2

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    9.2
    Tranquil location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was very hit and miss but didn't detract from our stay.

    Tranquil location. We had an upper floor room with a huge balcony overlooking the forest. Everything for our comfort was provided. A very warm welcome from staff on our arrival. Restaurant was excellent, with a traditional beerkeller feel. To have the brewery vats in the bar/dining area was an added bonus. The food and wine menus were extensive and of high quality. Breakfast was generous and varied.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    10
    A beautiful hotel set in lovely surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely nothing

    A beautiful hotel set in lovely surroundings. Staff were friendly and the food was perfect. tye on site brewery is well worth a taste! The secluded feeling of this hotel makes it feel all the more special b

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    10
    The food they served was excellent the room was nice and I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wifi was not free and and a poor quality signal

    The food they served was excellent the room was nice and I had booked a room for a week later but I had to return home due to my bad health ,but I would return to it any day.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    9.2
    Easy access from the autobahn, a good base for exploring the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Easy access from the autobahn, a good base for exploring the towns, castles and museums in the area. The free underground car garage was a bonus when it rained. They even cleaned the car windows overnight.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    10
    Peaceful, forest setting with good walks into Rinteln and in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel wifi (iCloud) didn't seem to work for us but we had bought an allowance from our phone provider so didn't matter.

    Peaceful, forest setting with good walks into Rinteln and in the forest. Friendly atmosphere and lovely staff. Excellent food and for beer connoisseurs, beer from the hotel brewery.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    10
    They welcomed us warmly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    They welcomed us warmly. A great place for dining and nicely located close to the forest. At the breakfast it was a great surprise for the kids to find Easter chocolates on the table reserved for us. Very attentive staff.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    9.6
    I didn't have dinner but everything else was superlative.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I could make recommendations about how it could be even BETTER, but there was nothing that I disliked.

    I didn't have dinner but everything else was superlative.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2015

    9.6
    Friendly staff - even with very late arrival
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi against fee of 5€/24 hrs. That I only had 8 hours at the hotel.

    Friendly staff - even with very late arrival Modern, clean rooms Quiet Very nice breakfast with great selection of bread, cereal, fruit... Well connected to A2 highway

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    8.8
    room,breakfast,car park,helpfull staff,bear,forest,balcony
    • Couple

    food in restaurant very salty,price little bit too high

    room,breakfast,car park,helpfull staff,bear,forest,balcony

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 29

Guests also reviewed these properties: