Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ritter Durbach This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Tal 1, 77770 Durbach, Germany

#4 of 9 hotels in Durbach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 507 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    relaxed comfortable stay, enjoyed spa and excellent location for walks, cycling and commuting
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 7 nights

    air conditioner worked inconsistently comfort plus room was internal with window onto internal roof but changed to smaller room onto street which was was pleasant and comfortable

    good spa facilities although on different floor levels, excellent massage lovely staff great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Lovely spacious room, clean and comfy bed, very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was amazing.

    Lovely spacious room, clean and comfy bed, very friendly staff who would go beyond what they needed to do to look after you. Hotel is amazing, the spa is very nice, breakfast is 5* and general all round amazing place to stay, would highly recommend to anyone!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Quality hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 1 night

    When travelling on business trip it would be helpful to access sauna before 10am.

    Beautiful hotel in a traditional form. Rooms are well furnished. Location is picturesque Good hotel alround.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.6
    Best Hotel, Best Breakfast, Best Staff and Best Owner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast n dinner are best quality I had in Germany. Elisabeth helped me for a fast check out (I met her 2 days before at the other part of Germany). Owner was very friendly and lead us to the smoking area. Will be there next time for sure.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    6.7
    Good rural vineyard neighbourhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant fully booked, no lift to 2nd floor, room size average

    Welcome drink on the terrace, splendid secure indoor garage suitable for a classic car

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    6.7
    Comfortable yet completely lacking personality, inept service, unskilled, untrained junior staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 2 nights

    just too many young staff who don't know how to look after you, had to lug luggage a long way from the underground carpark up and down 2 lifts, down stairs long corridors, surely in a hotel that aspires to a certain niveau should offer as standard a bell boy?. The welcome drink in the bar was a disaster, as we don't drink german Sekt we asked for a small beer each, this was bought along with a bill...... after a long discussion the young waitress went to discuss this 10 minutes later she informed us that these would be complimentary, on my last visit here no such ineptness, in the evening again staff so junior, so inexperienced behind the bar that they didn't know one spirit or drink from another, not good as this isn't an inexpensive hotel, there are much better hotels nearby i.e. Bareiss in Baiersbron that offer a real welcome and professionalism too boot. Sadly I shall not be returning to Zum Ritter...

    Potentially a good comfortable hotel, very good breakfasts and attentive service from experienced waitresses that I remember from my last visit here, shame the rest of the hotel seems less cosseting.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely stop over with a pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although we booked the room with 2 kids as an option, the room wasn't set up for them and we only had a double bed on arriving. One slept on the sofa but they did bring the baby a cot. The food also stops at 10pm, and there was a mixup where they didn't tell us that part but the chef still made us some food just after this.

    We had a large room with comfortable beds and a balcony. The even had baby towels which was a nice addition. The breakfast buffet was pretty good, a nice selection to choose from. The place is quiet and people are helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Blackforest Trip for Family with Teens
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints but In general reserve in advance for the 1st class resturant. and finding places to eat with kids later in the evening might be an issue since the working ours are shorter than what we are used to back home.

    A rich history dating back to the 1600's. A Scenic location among the beautiful rolling hills in the beautiful blackforest region. The Hotel has a modern interior and a traditional timber exterior facade.The rooms were spacious and cozy, the a buffet breakfast had an excellent variety to on offer. The hotel also has wellness center and spa, and high quality resturants with 1st class cuisine. With vintage cars on site. We stumbled upon this celebrity hide away by chance and it turned out to be a one of a kind experience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.5
    It was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have request car parking, since it was mentioned in booking for free, however they charge me 15 €/day which was unacceptable. The bar is next to reception which make it uncomfortable passing through it when people are sitting their. Too much noise in rooms come from the passing cars

    The hotel design, and the rooms arrangement.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    10
    Like we say in Italian, I could write "Un Romanzo"...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 1 night

    A hotel of such a standing & class makes their guests pay for the parking. It is not the cost that bothers me but the principle behind it. Honestly, if I were the owner, I would be blushing!!!!! This is the least you could offer your guests...

    Like we say in Italian, I could write "Un Romanzo" (a novel) about the things I liked...for they are infinite. Durbach is adorable as a city in a magnificent region and the hotel is wonderful: a mix of history with super modern interior decoration, a perfect match and done with great style & taste. The hotel's facility offers lots of options including an outstanding Spa and great restaurants. Last but not least, I give 20 marks out of 10 (and this is not a mistake) to the staff (to every single person I interacted with) for I have never ever felt so welcomed in a hotel and taken care of. Sadly, I do not speak German (please forgive me), but everyone was super helpful and made my stay memorable. THANK YOU to all. My stay was short but I will certainly return with pleasure.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    10
    really cozy yet stylish hotel just outside Strasbourg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    located max 30mins easy drive outside of Strasbourg in a cute little countryside village...every interaction with staff--at front desk, in spa--everyone was just so very nice & hospitable! the breakfast buffet is super elegant as well as fresh and yummy! the hotel is stylish yet relaxing. modern yet cozy. the room was avg size for Europe, but with a balcony. great bed & bedding. all modern. attention really paid to details. the pool & spa/sauna/steam room areas were so NICE! we needed a "city escape" and decided to "splurge" a little on this place because it seemed PERFECT for a little getaway... and IT WAS!! :) *yes, we really appreciated this hotel!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    One night stop in a lovely hotel with spa facilities and great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was lovely with a great outside courtyard,the staff were very helpful and all spoke English,which was great as we have no German! We ate in the Michelin restaurant,expensive but fab!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Friendly reception, excellent parking garage.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly reception, excellent parking garage. Advisable for (classic / Exclusive) car owners.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Supper stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long waiting at the reception during check-out.

    Delicious food, comfortable rooms and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.6
    We enjoyed out stay immensely. The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Restaurent meals in the hotel were expensive

    Excellent variety of breakfast food, fresh, cooked and cold, served till mid morning

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Super hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super hotel. Very comfortable. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.6
    High Quality Hotel in a quaint village
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The staff were extremely helpful and the facilities were great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous location and hotel, would highly recommend.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Towels in the room were tiny

    Fabulous location and hotel, would highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.6
    Stunning hotel , with very helpful and accomodating staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Stunning hotel , with very helpful and accomodating staff . Breakfast was really good , my daughter especially loved the crispy bread rolls.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.6
    A superb hotel in beautiful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like menu in restaurants

    Stunning location. Lovely spa and swimming pool. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    9.6
    Peacful place with great SPA offer
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hôtel Parking (15euros/night) but if lucky you can find free parking nearby the hotel

    Location, SPA, breakfast, confortable room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    7.5
    The place was clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    One member of staff who took our bags was very helpful along with one waiter in the Resturant under the hotel. However the others we found pretty snooty and just a bit snobby. Just didn't feel very welcome.

    The place was clean

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    5.8
    The staff was helpfull and nice, the breakfast wonderfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very small room, bathroom was micoscopic! poor quality of TV screen and reception, if your looking for calm, don't go there, it's near a busy road, there are tourist buses, tractors, delivery vans and cars all day long,

    The staff was helpfull and nice, the breakfast wonderfull

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    10
    Nice clean hotel and excellent restaurant with both very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had not a single problem. Only very spoiled people will (always) find something to complain.. and the staff can handle them too...

    Nice clean hotel and excellent restaurant with both very helpfull and competent staff. It takes a lot of work to keep all on that level. We appreciated.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    8.8
    This hotels was extremely welcoming of us with our baby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The height clearance on the secure garage was about 2m, so not suitable for larger vehicles or those with a roof of. There is other parking but it is limited. We were travelling as a group and had booked two rooms and unfortunately to hotel did not put us near to each other, but this was a minor inconvenience.

    This hotels was extremely welcoming of us with our baby. We used our own travel cot, although a cot was made available to us. Free of charge the hotel provided a change mat in the room and extra towels. The room was well appointed and the fresh fruit on arrival is a nice touch. The bathroom and bed room were very clean. The manager came to wish our little boy happy first birthday as we sat in the lounge for drinks. I asked if they were happy for us to take our little one into the bar / lounge and we were told he would be welcome anywhere in the hotel. The restaurant staff were friendly and welcoming, offering a high chair, books and juice for our baby. They even brought him a small dessert as a birthday cake - so thoughtful. We also thoroughly enjoyed our meal and the wine that was recommended, mostly because of the positive and helpful waiter and his " nothing was too much trouble " attitude. The swimming pool and wellness centre was lovely. And there were no restrictions on us taking our little one swimming with us, in fact, when we did take him, the pool was empty and we had the whole place to ourselves -luxury! The breakfast this hotel offered was also one of the most extensive I have ever seen, I think every nationality was catered for.....ham, cheeses, cold cuts, eggs, bacon, sausage (various), cereals, yogurts, granola, fruit, pasties, breads, and an entire table of pickles and fish.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    9.6
    Great service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom was a bit small.

    Great service. Wonderful spa facility. very good massage. Great restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant, for an acquired taste

    Perfect

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    9.6
    - great atmosphere
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    - a bit noisy now and then

    - great atmosphere - friendly service - good food - really nice location - fantastic wellness area

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.6
    Excellent breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent breakfast! Friendly and efficient staff

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    10
    Great service, excellent food and good room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom too small, toilet too ctose to door

    Great service, excellent food and good room. Small but good pool and Jacuzzi.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    9.6
    Very comfortable and luxury hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothong

    Very comfortable and luxury hotel

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    10
    excellent hotel and restaurant with competent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    sorry, no complaints at all..

    excellent hotel and restaurant with competent staff.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    9.6
    great facilities and kitchen
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    breakfast service was a bit slow but quality of food was excellent

    great facilities and kitchen

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    7.9
    Breakfast and the spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    room was ok not more than that. restaurant is expensive and it took more than a hour until the food came. Isn't worth it

    Breakfast and the spa

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    9.6
    the SPA, the area, the restaurant, the breakfast all good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    not enough light in the bathroom, no wash cloths and dirty toilet in the sauna area

    the SPA, the area, the restaurant, the breakfast all good!

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    9.6
    Slow WiFi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Slow WiFi

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Guests also reviewed these properties: