Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ritter Hotel 2 stars

Große Rittergasse 79, Sachsenhausen, 60594 Frankfurt/Main, Germany

#16 of 17 B&Bs and Inns in Frankfurt/Main

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 403 hotel reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    7.2

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were a bit noisy due to thin walls (street noise did not disturb). Everything was clean but might require a bit of renovation.

    Location is nice, the staff member is friendly and helpful. Very "German" part of Frankfurt - a lot of pubs and stylish houses.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street is full of pubs and it was very noisy until late at night /4 am /. The shower was old and needs renovating.

    The staff is realy helpful. The room and bathroom were clean. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast was also good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very loud, stuffy rooms, near zero amenities

    Awesome location in the heart of party city Sachsenhausen. Great if you want to easily turn in after long night of fun. Fast, free Wi-Fi

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Located at the bar area. But you can shut the room windows to sleep, just leave the toilet window opened. Or you can use the earplugs provided.

    The hotel is Artifact. The service is very good. We had 2 heavy luggage, the staff are very initiative to take them. Though we live on 3rd floor!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free parking, the buffet breakfast not worth the price, too little choices.. the bar is located at the ground floor of the hotel, kinda noisy.. cleanliness of the room needs improvement..

    Near to most of the top attractions and shopping malls

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself is really nice, however it should be noted that it is located above a pub and there are plenty of pubs in the area, so you can hear the music until late at night. However, in your arrival kit you receive ear plugs, which is a nice detail from the staff. If you don't mind the noise and even want to party until late, you will find staying here very enjoyable.

    The hotel is nice, comfortable and was super clean. The personnel was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was a bit unstable. Water would suddenly cool down or go super hot.

    Everything was perfect. The hotel location was very good. Right in the middle of the pubs and nightlife area, though it might get a bit noisy at night, especially on weekends. It is like 20 minutes maximum walk from the downtown area and 10 minutes walk from the famous Iron Bridge. The room was easily accessible, very clean, and well organized. The staff were super nice, friendly, and helpful. Loved the place and would definitely consider booking there again if I go back to Frankfurt :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is in the bar district which we did not know prior to booking. Drinking and singing at pubs outside till 5 am pretty much every night. Would not recommend unless you are a party animal.

    Staff was Excellent, gave us options of rooms, helpful, very courteous and room was what we expected.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room was very spacious and had a lot of character. The river was only a small walk away and very close to a lot of great restaurants and shops

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't know there wasn't a elevator... I had two big bags, and it was kind of difficult. Fortunately the staff helped me but I would have liked not to worry about it

    The staff was very kind and everything that I needed or if I had a question, they soon tried to help me.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the staff didn’t speak English so a lot of mimics was needed. But everyone was really nice and kind all the time. Also the neighborhood of the hotel was a bit weird and poorly illuminated at night. I don’t know it it was because I spent only weekdays in town (Monday/Tuesday).

    We got an upgrade to a studio apartment that was very well located and cozy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisey at night as the hotel is located near pubs

    Great location. Older style hotel. We arrived at 7 am and the night staff made up a room for us so we could check in early. They were amazing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very difficult to park close by. That being said, the hotel suggest a secure multi-story car park about 400m away which costs about €5/night. In my opinion, breakfast not worth it for €7 - very basic: bread, cheese, coffee and croisants. Nearest U-bahn station is not close - about 900m.

    Nice location situated in the old town. Lots of late night activity. Not recommended if you're looking for peace and quiet - it's located opposite an Irish pub. However, building is very quiant and carries a certain charm. Rooms are adequate.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very dirty, water - smelly. Small smelly room with broken doors. Tv wasn't working, window almost fall down. Administrator doesn't speak english. Breakfast was terrible. Old smelly meat, old bread, coffe wasn't drinkable. And breakfast room was dirty small and dark and cold. They didn't explain us everything, for example we went for a walk in evening. When we came back at 11am the doors was locked. We did ring the bell about 20 times and no one didn't open a door for us. So after trying to call them on phone (no one didn't pick up the phone), half an hour staying in cold we started to panic. BUT thank god my friend thought trying to open doors with our room key! And it worked. We were finally in. Thats crazy and why the f they didn't told us. So this is seriously the worst place where I've ever stayed. And I could speak more and more. It was not worth even 59€ what we paid for one night + 7€ a breakfast each.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor communication from staff. At breakfast noone who could speak German or English. Breakfast poor. Website misleading as it is not as represented. Non-smoking rooms smell of smoke. Can be a noisy neighbourhood.

    Location. Close to Struwwelpeter Restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since there are bars all around and in the hotel building, it is really extremely loud almost all night long and one cannot sleep well. The price is far too high for this kind of stay.

    The location is quite interesting, but too noisy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains were falling down and didn't fit the window There was a kettle but no cups/tea etc No phone in room TV didn't work Above an extremely noisy pub open til 4am

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked this hotel, I was going for old world charm. Our room may have bee part of an addition. Awkward entry down circuitous hall & no ambiance in the room. Awkward bath tub showe setup & hot water/furnace tank in bathroom too. What was supposed to be a cool bar in basement was painted pink with fake stone linoleum covering the original stone. Took cab from/to airport as public transit was 50+minutes.

    Character of neighborhood & proximity to good German restaurants. Staff was nice & rooms were clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was incredible! I was alone and needed a bit of guidance. I was going to take a taxi from the hotel to the train station but the individual working at the front desk (Jerry?) gave me a better option with public transit. THEN, if that wasn't enough, he accompanied me with an umbrella to the tram stop that I needed to go to. He explained to me where I needed to get off and made the whole thing super easy. What incredible service!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nearest parking 4 blocks away, facility is run down, light and plumbing fixtures falling off ceiling and walls. Walls thin. Could hear every cough from neighboring room. Generally dirty appearance, I couldn't wait to leave! Booking.com sort was for breakfast included, was charged 7€ extra.

    Location Central in town

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were houseflies in the room and washroom which kept buzzing throughout the night. Don't they have to sleep too? The pillow was so soft, it was almost like not having a pillow. The pub downstairs was incredibly busy on a weekday night and of course, I couldn't get any sleep until 2 or 3 a.m because of the noise, despite using the complimentary ear plugs.

    The room was big, all facilities were adequate, the location was incredible and the receptionist checked me in quite effectively in spite of the language barrier between us.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a very nice place to stay with very comfortable rooms, very polite staff and very good location. Happy to stay there, but unhappy that found it too late)) there are a lot of bars near the hotel, sometimes it to loud, but very fun) see you next time, zàijiàn!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very old classic german building. Staff is very helpful and friendly. I was thinking it would be very noise at night, but the owner kindly provide mute earplugs, even it is not so noise, the room is clean and bed is comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was little noisy at night, but you should know its a party district

    Location and very friedly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expected Comfort for the price they gave us

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from thin walls and ceiling; terrible smell of old bathroom pipes and drains

    Staff very helpful and polite

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dusk

    Nice receftion was helpfull

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress too soft

    Kindness of the staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not that comfortable...

    Location was good...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is cooperative and location is near to centre

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot drinks in the room

    The room was very good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift but not a problem ...

    This hotel was in a great location for our needs ... everything we wanted it for

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast is delicious and inexpensive. and near by there are many bars to have fun.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and historical place and building

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    raining

    I am so satisfied

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nice Personel. Hotel in great location. Safe area and pretty close to the Frankfurt center. Walking distance about 1 km.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty! Not quiet at all nosie all the time so do not think you'll sleep.

    Location was good in a fun area, but above a noisy bar! No sleep.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was good. The staff there are friendly and helpful. The area is so cool at night. Had a nice trip. Will go back again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much could be better at this price.

    great position, good value for money, great nightlife all around, good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very odd place

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything.

    Run down, old, pokey, toilets terrible.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No 24/7 reception. Had to come to the hotel before 1am to get my room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great central location in the middle of all bars and restraunts

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Considering the value on offer everything was very acceptable.

    Hotel was very good value,easy access to the city,unobtrusive staff,clean room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the beds

    too noisy and terrible beds.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Submitted via mobile

    nosie

    The location is OK, the price is very cheap for staying in the centre of Frankfurt.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great!

    An beautiful and interesting antique building with character and all the modern comforts

    Stayed in July 2017

There are also 41 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Browse Ritter Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: