Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ritter St. Georg 3 stars

Alte Knochenhauerstr. 12, Inner-city, 38100 Braunschweig, Germany

#19 of 36 hotels in Braunschweig

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1061 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is in an old wood structure building from the 15th century. That means you shouldn't be too tall since the height of the ceiling is comparatively low with the beams under the ceiling. The rooms are nice but air conditioning is not available. In summer this is a problem .

    The Hotel Ritter St. Georg is located in an old wood structure building from the 15th century. It is nicely modernized and is located in a quiet small street almost in the heart of the town. Everything is available in walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing I dislike a bit was the breakfast, not much choice and the breakfast room was quite cold, not enough warm, some people were wearing their jacket and scarf, even if the rest of the hotel was warm.

    I liked everything in this hotel, especially the staff and its position, near the bus station and the pedestrian area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds could have been more comfortable and the pillows were somewhat empty. Also, the bathroom had a faint urine scent.

    I loved the 500 year old hotel. Staff was extremely nice and welcoming. Breakfast was small but delicious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - The Wi-Fi signal was almost not working in our room - The breakfast could be a bit better, the choice was rather poor, however, everything was fresh

    - The location of the hotel is great if you plan to explore the beautiful city center by foot. - The room was not very modern, but very clean and spacious. - The hotel has a cozy and green inner yard

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Atmosphere, location, bed, room. Bathroom-part a bit dated (1980's ?), cheap adequate breakfast (no "English-breakfast" related things), internet a bit slow. So nothing sky-high, except maybe the location and outside-look, but all between just good and very good, and sympathetic overall.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    WiFi could be better, more scrambled eggs and bacon at breakfast would be nice too ;-)

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Cozy atmosphere and a wonderful room. Right in the center of the city, walking distance to everywhere

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice old stile hotel in an historical building in city centre. Got a very quiet room facing the back yard/garden. Internet worked fast and breakfast buffet offered a wide choice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Last time when I stayed in the hotel the breakfast was a bit better. This is my third time staying in this hotel. so some improvements concerning breakfast should be visible.

    The staff was very nice and very helpful!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our door opened out onto the communal courtyard which was a bit of a noise and smoke pollution problem. Several groups took turns to sit outside our room smoking and talking - not very loudly during the day - but the door was broken and we couldn't tilt it to hold it fast and keep out most of the cigarette smoke or make it secure - anyone could have just walked in on us. So we jammed a chair against it to stop the door opening too far. People talking late at night / early morning drove us silly so we asked the management to shift them inside, which they did. People are so thoughtless in these situations. But there was no other ventilation at all and not even a fan and definitely not aircon, so not the best situation.

    A character historic building in a great location - within good walking distance of the city centre and yet accessible easily by taxi. We had a lot of heavy bags so they put us on the lowest possible level which was very helpful. Breakfast was typically plentiful and varied. Beds very comfortable and the WiFi worked extremely well too. The staff were excellent with directions and help.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double room is very small and dark. The air is too humid. The ceiling is very short. Breakfast is very simple and not so tasty.

    Historical hotel with lots of characters. The full apartment is very nice and new, wash & dryer included. Great location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi, slow and not in all parts of the room Shower was constantly moving from too hot to too cold, not possible to have stable temperature

    Good crew Good breakfast Excellent situation Good beds

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Entry: The hotel closes at 10pm. I had a long trip from Seoul to Berlin and then to Braunschweig, arrived at 10:15 and it was closed. I had no phone or internet, so it took me a while not to panic and find the phone in nearby store (that are mostly closed in a small town at 10:15pm). The hotel staff have provided me the keynumber to enter the hotel. It was fine, but still not good for a person in a new place at night without phone. They've should inform the keynumber in advance. There was no notice about closing at 10pm either. WIFI: That's the awkward thing here. They provide a free coupon with id/pw for wifi, but it is valid for only 1 HOUR/ 1DEVICE. It took me a while to figure out, that you have to register online (in German) to get a full time access for 1DEVICE with unstable speed. Staff says nothing about it.

    Nice location. The most of historical buildings are within 10-20 minutes of walking distance. The old German style hotel looks exotic. I didn't find the air conditioner in the room, but the weather was cool and I believe it is not that hot in old style buildings, so should be fine.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything.

    The hotel is located wthing walking distance of the main square. The receptionist made us feel very welcome. She provided us with a city map and drew a complete walking tour for us which we followed and liked a lot. When we left the hotel we left something behind and the receptionist spared no effort to return it to us (and succeeeded before we left Braunschweig). The room was spacious and comfortable. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom is old and in perfect working order and spotless. Breakfast was fine. Would really recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Huge mismatch between the prince paid and the standard of the hotel. Location.

    The visit was to attend the Hannover fair, and the hotel was listed on Booking.com as an option for those visiting the fair and was rated at the top of the list. Considering the excessively high price, the hotel turned out to be a huge disappointment, and on top of that was very far from the fair with no direct public transport. I ended up taking a taxi for 135 Euro. This taught me a valuable lesson that information on Booking.com can be misleading.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are old fashioned and pretty small. The ceiling is too low. A person above 1.90 m should bend his head to avoid crashing on the roof.

    Great location, kind stuff and cozy and clean rooms

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needs vegan breakfast options bit over priced

    The lady at the desk was wonderful..sweet ..helpful and spoke English :D The building is so stunning outside so historical and is near the center...great location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi got expired at middle of night and reception was closed at 10:00. So could not use WiFi At night when I came to room the whole room was cold. Later I realize that Cleaning staff kept the windows open and heater was not working.

    Good: Location, breakfast , Staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms are a bit small and cramped. I guess this depends on the kind of room you select.

    The hotel is in quite a central location which makes it easy to go to places by walk. This was quite helpful. The hotel has a very old building appeal to it which was a welcome change to all the flashy hotels otherwise. Breakfast was good and tasty. Most importantly, the staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking is a problem (Parkhaus small and expensive). Breakfast was sub-everage. The room was simple - TV VERY small and not working. I wouldn't want to stay there again.

    It's close to city. Interesting Building.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Low ceilings, specially under the shower. After certain time if you arrive, you have to get the code for a little safe box where you get the key. No one told me that but I was lucky and I saw someone picking up his keys and he gave me my envelope with keys and instruction.

    All good, the room was super large and the bed was enormous and super comfortable. Defiantly worth the money!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift, but understandable as this is a very fine historic building.

    We booked two rooms (Adult couple + Adult friend) but at the last minute the excellent staff provided an alternative, the flat. This was ideal.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Italien restaurant that was working togheter whit the hotel i order Pizza i get like a frozenpizza 13 euro my wife order pasta whit beef its was like the beef was heated up for several times not good !!!!

    Verry good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No AC, or at least it was not working on a unusually hot day.

    The building is amazing, andold burgemeister's house, nicely restored. Staff was friendly, specially the young guy. The breakfast was quite good and it was served in a beautiful dining room.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None, everything was great.

    A great place to stay. Excellent location, very nice rooms with regular cleaning, good breakfast with a variety to choose. All the personnel is extremely nice too.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air condition plus 32 degrees C mean very hot climate at the room

    Antique 15 century hotel at the centre of historical city - superb

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb location right in the centre, beautiful old building with quaint rooms and staff is very friendly and helpful as most of the Germans;)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cheap adequate breakfast, no parking, crazy atmosphere and allergy has begun probably due to old building.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really large rooms. Nice staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old building and the way it was built many years ago was very facinaiting and also the athmosphere inside.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, and good comfort in a historic location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nostalgic, rustic

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    None

    Great location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    difficult and costly parking

    friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was class...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv

    Historic building and old world charm.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel staff were extremely helpful and the room was amazing. Restaurant food was also excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too hard

    Nice old building

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    ROOM ON 3RD FLOOR AND NO LIFTS

    VERY CLEAN HOTEL LOCATED CENTRALLY WITH GOOD TRANSPORT FACILITY . CHECK IN AND CHECK OUT IS VERY EFFECIENT

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and standard was very ordinary to German standard. And as always, clean. The breakfast was good and tasty in a nice environment.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's age, character and location. Low beams in bedroom. Wonderful room for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Internet connection is a point to improve in the hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location, nice historical building, friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful very friendly people

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bathroom feels old from the 90's but it's clean

    Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor internet connection , at least in my room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wi-Fi connection

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The internet acess is bad. Should be exist a better connection.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More light in the room would be usfull

    Staff was very nice and helpfull. Location is great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't have negative comments

    The employees are very nice and willing to help

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi needs improvement. Although it's free, it's really slow , also it went down at 9.45pm on my first night's stay and could not be fixed until the following day because there is no staff overnight. Very Frustrating!

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It would have been great to have some shampoo and body cream in the bathroom (all there was was shower gel).

    The room was beautiful and the dining room (where we had breakfast) was spectacular. Perfect location.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The stairs were steep for me, an 80 year old, but they did offer me some useful exercise.

    we liked the style of the building and the entire atmosphere Superb nreakfast - excellent bread rolls

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Overall everything was very good. If anything, just beware that the shower is not for very tall people. Also, if you have problems with steep staircases, ask for a room in the ground floor.

    Location is excellent, walking distance to everything. Nice German breakfast; nice staff. My room (17) had excellent wifi signal. I arrived after 10 pm; I told them beforehand and they e-mailed clear instructions on how to retrieve my key from a box.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No air conditioning, it was very hot in the room in the attic. The stairs were really very steep, not suggested to elderly people

    Location, Staff, breakfast

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    We were delayed and we arrived late. We found the hotel door closed. No mention of a tel number to call. We have called the tel in our reservation from booking (WRONG). At midnight we had to look for a new hotel!!!! No excuses from the hotel because : we had to Look at the WINDOW of the hotel to find the tel number !!!!!!!!!!!!!???

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Hotel was lovely and I was welcomed but the staff. The staff were helpful and answered all of my questions. They helped me connect to the wifi which was a little confusing.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lack of a working refridgerator was a big minus. This hotel is not for people with bad feet since the stairs are quite steep.

    The smallness of the hotel, the location and the room (or actually 2 rooms).

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would prefer coffee facilities in room. If we'd paid normal rates I think value for money would have dropped considerably

    Special Offer €59 for the both of us with breakfast and the Hotel has real character. Room spacious and extremely comfortable. Car park 50m away. Town centre 300m.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was very friendly, hotel is super cool and old but very well refurbished. Very nice and clean. I love the funky old layout of the building. Was great for a romantic getaway. Früstuck was so so lecker.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wifi very slow ventilation in the bathroom spread zigarette smoke into all rooms

    historical building cosy rooms rich breakfast close to city centre public transport available

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful building, helpful and friendly staff!

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Desing and location

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Magic place, unforgettable interior, wonderful people. This hotel has a great personality.

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No parking.

    The staff were super friendly and helpful, the room was big and comfortable and the breakfast was tasty. Also a great location.

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    internet not available 4 days poor coffee for breakfast

    location

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Room 33 has unuseful bath. First 3 day no WI-FI access all over the hotel. Last day WI-FI access at only rexeption.

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -

    we loved the staff. we liked the clean rooms we liked everything

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Slow checking. Receptionist wouldn't stop talking. Very friendly, but unnecessary

    Excellent location. Comfortable bed

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    They are very helpfull and give a good service. Room has good size and good location from the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Building with character, easy walking distance to the city centre

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Low ceilings

    Friendly staff and a great restaurant

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel urgently needs renovation Shower extremely uncomfortable

    Location

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some asian cuisine can be added in the breakfast for asian coningent

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    At least possibility to refrigerator.

    Friendly environment, good location, nice place to stay on vacation

There are also 37 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Ritter St. Georg traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: